Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6
Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax, (Read 5578 times)
Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Re: Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax,
Reply #30 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:20pm

hadrian_now wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:18pm:
It's interesting that the French supreme court has just thrown out the new socialist government's plan for a 75% tax on the wealthy.
You can put taxes up as much as you like but you will only get the upper middle income people, not the wealthy. Maybe that would satisfy the lefties.
The wealthy are always two steps ahead of the tax man.
Does anyone remember Kerry Packer sitting in front of a Senate committee and telling them that anyone who pays more tax than he has to is a mug.

Too right!

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

gold_medal

Reply #31 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:20pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 1:11pm:
Maqqa wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 12:12pm:
It's interesting to note:

(1) The ones who thinks the rich are not paying enough tax are the ones not earning enough to be classified as rich

(2) The ones who thinks the rich are not paying enough taxes probably don't know how much tax the rich pays

Did you know that tax was first introduced to tax the rich only ?

I read that in one of those wealth creation books.

Somehow greed incorporated turned it around to aim it at the poor and the rest is history. Now the poor are trying to reclaim lost ground and again greed incorporated is resisting Sad

except that todays poor would be classified as rich by those standards.  todays poor has housing food medical care education and govt help. back in those days the govt did none of that.

hadrian_now

Reply #32 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:24pm

According to the ATO tax calculator, the tax to be withheld from a gross weekly of $800 is $109.

Disclosure: anything I write may be deemed to be extremist, particularly if it is critical of the ALP or Greens. Look away now if squeamish.
Life may be too short, so have a laugh & enjoy.

Big Dave

Reply #33 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:32pm

hadrian_now wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:24pm:
According to the ATO tax calculator, the tax to be withheld from a gross weekly of $800 is $109.

That's not what the pay slip in front of me says. Dated 13th of sept 2012 I earnt $885.55 gross  (which is a big pay for me) I payed $215.00 tax.

Reply #34 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:33pm

gold_medal wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:20pm:

(1) The ones who thinks the rich are not paying enough tax are the ones not earning enough to be classified as rich

(2) The ones who thinks the rich are not paying enough taxes probably don't know how much tax the rich pays

Somehow greed incorporated turned it around to aim it at the poor and the rest is history. Now the poor are trying to reclaim lost ground and again greed incorporated is resisting Sad

except that todays poor would be classified as rich by those standards.  todays poor has housing food medical care education and govt help. back in those days the govt did none of that.

Does it matter what yesterday's standards were?

Today, the poor still can't get dental treatment or good quality food to prolong health and wellbeing. They are homeless and cold in winter.

Many homeless people are homeless because they can't get mental health care and have been neglected by the government.

You live in dreamland longy.

hadrian_now

Reply #35 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:34pm

Then you haven't quoted your TFN, you're being dunned for child support or your boss is a crook!

Disclosure: anything I write may be deemed to be extremist, particularly if it is critical of the ALP or Greens. Look away now if squeamish.

Big Dave

Reply #36 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:36pm

hadrian_now wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:34pm:
Then you haven't quoted your TFN, you're being dunned for child support or your boss is a crook!

Or you are wrong. I work for startrack express who are owned by qantas.  I doubt people would be whinging if they were being taxed $100 and earning $800.

hadrian_now

Reply #37 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:38pm

http://www.ato.gov.au/menulink.aspx?42587

Do the math!

Big Dave

Reply #38 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:38pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:33pm:
gold_medal wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:20pm:

Does it matter what yesterday's standards were?

Today, the poor still can't get dental treatment or good quality food to prolong health and wellbeing. They are homeless and cold in winter.

Many homeless people are homeless because they can't get mental health care and have been neglected by the government.

You live in dreamland longy.

So aborigines aren't poor then?

Big Dave

Reply #39 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:40pm

hadrian_now wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:38pm:
http://www.ato.gov.au/menulink.aspx?42587

Do the math!

How much tax do you pay?

hadrian_now

Reply #40 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:45pm

Where do you get off? That's my business. But I sure as hell know what I should be paying . . .as little as possible!

Big Dave

Reply #41 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:48pm

hadrian_now wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:45pm:
Where do you get off? That's my business. But I sure as hell know what I should be paying . . .as little as possible!

You getting a bit touchy because I proved you wrong?

hadrian_now

Reply #42 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:53pm

You haven't even looked it up have you . . .too difficult?
No seriously, unless there is something you haven't already disclosed (and I can't imagine why you would want to disclose your private business), then there is something wrong with your figures.
For a start you said $800, then you said $885 wasit?

Big Dave

Reply #43 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:59pm

Mate you reckon that a person earning $800 gross is paying $109 tax. I told my missus is she just laughed. You are joking aren't you?

FRED.

Reply #44 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:02pm

Big Dave wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:59pm:
Mate you reckon that a person earning $800 gross is paying $109 tax. I told my missus is she just laughed. You are joking aren't you?

The following rates for 2012-13 apply from 1 July 2012.
Taxable income
Tax on this income
0 - $18,200
Nil
$18,201 - $37,000
19c for each $1 over $18,200
$37,001 - $80,000
$3,572 plus 32.5c for each $1 over $37,000
$80,001 - $180,000
$17,547 plus 37c for each $1 over $80,000
$180,001 and over
$54,547 plus 45c for each $1 over $180,000