Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 
Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax, (Read 5591 times)
Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Re: Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax,
Reply #45 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:05pm

Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax,

The answer to this question is that they pay far more than a fair share.

25% of people pay 65% + of total tax.

No matter how you look at it that is a R A W deal. Sad

The problem is that this 25% are generally silent.  They are resigned to being ripped off by both major parties.  All the bleating about taxation comes from the bottom 75%... Roll Eyes

This is the reality lefties.  Read it and stop your whinging.  You comrades are the slave masters, you comrades control the electorate........for the time being anyway. Sad

gold_medal

Reply #46 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:06pm

Big Dave wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 2:59pm:
Mate you reckon that a person earning $800 gross is paying $109 tax. I told my missus is she just laughed. You are joking aren't you?

for goodness sake... LOOK UP THE ATO SITE and work it out for yourself. if you are paying more than that then you are obviously not claiming something you either arent entitled to (like the $6000/$18000 threshold) or something else.

gold_medal

Reply #47 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:10pm

Swagman wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:05pm:
Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax,

The answer to this question is that they pay far more than a fair share.

25% of people pay 65% + of total tax.

No matter how you look at it that is a R A W deal. Sad

The problem is that this 25% are generally silent.  They are resigned to being ripped off by both major parties.  All the bleating about taxation comes from the bottom 75%... Roll Eyes

This is the reality lefties.  Read it and stop your whinging.  You comrades are the slave masters, you comrades control the electorate........for the time being anyway. Sad

http://catallaxyfiles.com/files/2012/05/Lions-share-2009-10.jpg

a basic principle of 'fairness' is equality. in taxation matters that means
1) everyone pays the same dollar amount of tax
2) everyone pays the same percentage amount of tax

thats called fairness.

but no, to be GENEROUS (ie more than fair) we adopted progressive taxation rates where low earners pay very little either in dolar terms or percentage terms and higher earners pay more. The high earners get the same roads, the same schools and the same govt services as the poor and yet are asked to pay 8-100 times as much. it is an act of generosity. But the response from you lot is....

IT IS NOT ENOUGH

greedy buggers.
work harder, study harder. take more risks

Big Dave

Reply #48 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:10pm

$18,201 - $37,000
19c for each $1 over $18,200

So even the second lowest income earning bracket is paying nearly 20% of each dollar they earnt. Surely they are dire need of that 20%. So that's just under $100 tax for  a $500 pay.

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #49 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:12pm

The problem with the wealthy in Australia is not that they are rich, its that they are unproductively rich....its unearned prize money, bonuses and corporate welfare wealth....Taxation on the New Bogan Rich is entirely justifiable.... Smiley Smiley

World Wide Working Class Struggle

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #50 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:15pm

Am just reading Who Wants to be a Billionaire by Paul Barry, a biography of James Packer.

It points out that James' father, the late, unlamented potty mouthed bully, Kerry Packer, paid a lower rate of tax than his gardener.

In NZ, mega wealthy property developer and dabbler in politics, Bob Jones, once proudly boasted the only tax he paid was GST.

I assume Swag and his fellow right wingers would applaud.
« Last Edit: Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:22pm by Peter Freedman »  

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

FRED.

Reply #51 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:19pm

Big Dave wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:10pm:
$18,201 - $37,000

So even the second lowest income earning bracket is paying nearly 20% of each dollar they earnt. Surely they are dire need of that 20%. So that's just under $100 tax for  a $500 pay.

126.00    TWO DIFFERENT RATES  TAX FEE AND TAX
« Last Edit: Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:33pm by FRED. »  
FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au  

Big Dave

Reply #52 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:26pm

Will anybody out there please help me. These people believe that people earning $800 gross get taxed $100. I've got my pay slip right here and you are $100 off. The figures you posted before fred  proved this BS download wrong. You richos just can't handle the truth that you earn  more money than you need and your tax doesn't affect you standard of living. Poorer people it affects their families tremendously.

FRED.

Reply #53 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:29pm

Big Dave wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:26pm:
Will anybody out there please help me. These people believe that people earning $800 gross get taxed $100. I've got my pay slip right here and you are $100 off. The figures you posted before fred  proved this BS download wrong. You richos just can't handle the truth that you earn  more money than you need and your tax doesn't affect you standard of living. Poorer people it affects their families tremendously.

36.00                      TWO FIGURES
                                   ONE IS THE TAX FREE               THRESHOLD  AND THE OTHERS NOT

gold_medal

Reply #54 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:35pm

Big Dave wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:10pm:
$18,201 - $37,000

The whol maths thing seems to have you greatly confused....

http://calculators.ato.gov.au/scripts/asp/simpletaxcalc/main.asp

go there and it will tell you your tax amount.

FRED.

Reply #55 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:40pm

Big Dave wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:26pm:

DAVE  i have sent you a P MESSAGE

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #56 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:42pm

we clearly have an unproductive distribution in wealth so while we have to rip right into the rich with taxation - we have to tackle how wealth is being channeled - no more prize money and professional sports for instance...., more of an emphasis on intelligence, insight and wisdom rather than physical appearance.... Smiley

gold_medal

Reply #57 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:46pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:42pm:
we clearly have an unproductive distribution in wealth so while we have to rip right into the rich with taxation - we have to tackle how wealth is being channeled - no more prize money and professional sports for instance...., more of an emphasis on intelligence, insight and wisdom rather than physical appearance.... Smiley

like you 400kg rotund appearance that children run from in fear and small objects orbit?

corporate_whitey

Archivist
Reply #58 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:48pm

gold_medal wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:46pm:

like you 400kg rotund appearance that children run from in fear and small objects orbit?

careful...your Mullet is moving dumb 'rse... Smiley

gold_medal

Reply #59 - Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:51pm

corporate_whitey wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:48pm:
gold_medal wrote on Dec 30th, 2012 at 3:46pm:

careful...your Mullet is moving dumb 'rse... Smiley

so now that you have been released from your latest mandatory detention at Her Majesty's Pleasure your new belief is that world's ills are mullets and bogans? last time before that was Nazis and before that athiests and Celts and a million others.

You are insane and in this case you DO have the certificate to prove it.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6