Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6 
Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax, (Read 5567 times)
imcrookonit

Re: Do High Income Earners Pay Enough Tax,
Reply #75 - Dec 31st, 2012 at 11:43am

Of course someone on $180k is not in the middle.  If someone is on that, they are a HIGH income earner.   

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #76 - Dec 31st, 2012 at 12:00pm

Of course someone on $180k is not in the middle.  If someone is on that, they are a HIGH income earner.   

What if they have 25 kids?

Reply #77 - Dec 31st, 2012 at 1:15pm

aquascoot wrote on Dec 31st, 2012 at 6:06am:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Dec 31st, 2012 at 5:44am:
180k is not middle income.

andrei is fairly correct.
most of the very rich pay very little.
$180 k is a level where many of the most productive people in the economy operate.
your best IT people, the cream of tradesmen, engineers, your best farmers, financial services workers
, many small business owners will spend quite a lot of time in this bracket.

at 47 % tax, you are putting them on 1/2 wages and many just ease up . thi may be a good thing for them persoanlly. some will get into the very destructive and economy distorting games.....negative gearing Sad, leverage in shares Sad
investing off shore Sad, private super(expensive and removing productive assets out of business investment and having them "mpth balled" Sad.

so whilst no one is starving on $180 k, by exclusively attacking them, the public really shoot themselves in the foot.
many of our brightest science, medical, business people up root and head of to dubai, hong kong , singapore, where they are welcomed with open arms.

I'd say you spend quite a bit of time dreaming ... I was a tradie for many yrs, didn't know a single one that made $180 000 .... sure, there were building companies that make that, but none of the tradies working for them ever did ... I think your figures are well off ...

Reply #78 - Jan 1st, 2013 at 7:19am

John Smith wrote on Dec 31st, 2012 at 1:15pm:

$180 k is a level where many of the most productive people in the economy operate.
your best IT people, the cream of tradesmen, engineers, your best farmers, financial services workers

at 47 % tax, you are putting them on 1/2 wages and many just ease up . thi may be a good thing for them persoanlly. some will get into the very destructive and economy distorting games.....negative gearing Sad, leverage in shares Sad
investing off shore Sad, private super(expensive and removing productive assets out of business investment and having them "mpth balled" Sad.

so whilst no one is starving on $180 k, by exclusively attacking them, the public really shoot themselves in the foot.
many of our brightest science, medical, business people up root and head of to dubai, hong kong , singapore, where they are welcomed with open arms.

I'd say you spend quite a bit of time dreaming ... I was a tradie for many yrs, didn't know a single one that made $180 000 .... sure, there were building companies that make that, but none of the tradies working for them ever did ... I think your figures are well off ...

john , its a matter of skills (and increasingly this is where the  prosperity will have to come from.

sure, your right, the average light bulb changing sparkie or washer changing plumber is on $50k

but heres a few that may interest you.
these are just ones i know.

a welder who also got a scuba ticket and learnt how to do underwater welds showed me his tax return for working on mining projects.  $650 k.

now he could and may go anywhere in the world. mite lose him if he feels that the numpties in OZ resent him.

a seismic IT analyst on a seimic mapping ship can earn over $500 k.
again, plenty of work for these guys OS if we tell them they are selfish pricks for earning so much.

a mine management engineer on a coalfield in qld can easily earn 400 k.

which country produces the most coal,  not oz,  indonesia,  easy trip to go work there.

which country produces the most iron ore, not us sweden.
good lifestyle there.

btw, sweden recently moved or is moving a town of 30,000 people to mine the biggest iron ore mountian in the world.

no outrage, no green , red, black tape.  the people want to be prosperous.

our miners want to dig up some outback piece of crap land and need to negotiate with half the government agencies in oz.

we can continue to shoot ourselves in the foot.
we can continue to see the brain drain.

BTW a couple more for you.

australias barista of the year has moved his operation to seoul
1/2 the job vacancy ads, in medical mags, for surgeons and registered nurses are for tax free jobs in the emirates or saudi.

and people wonder about waiting lists.

the world job market is global. our best financial and business people will be head hunted.

sure the mine worker who holds up the stop go sign or puts out the slippery when wet signs in the dunny at bhp isnt going anywhere. but once you lose your best mining technical people, your best docs and nurse, your best medical researchers . all becuase you thought it was a good idea to kcik them in the guts for earning more (the definition of envy)
you will be left with an economy of pawnbrokers and tattoo parlours. 

Wink Wink Wink

Reply #79 - Jan 1st, 2013 at 7:59am

Swagman wrote on Dec 31st, 2012 at 12:00pm:

What if they have 25 kids?

Not many ppl have 25 kids and i bet you cant name 1 rich family with that many. Even if you could they wouldn't be in hardship @ 180k.

Reply #80 - Jan 1st, 2013 at 8:01am

Who are timbo and samthecat?

Reply #81 - Jan 1st, 2013 at 9:51am

aquascoot wrote on Jan 1st, 2013 at 7:19am:
John Smith wrote on Dec 31st, 2012 at 1:15pm:

john , its a matter of skills (and increasingly this is where the  prosperity will have to come from.

sure, your right, the average light bulb changing sparkie or washer changing plumber is on $50k

but heres a few that may interest you.
these are just ones i know.

a welder who also got a scuba ticket and learnt how to do underwater welds showed me his tax return for working on mining projects.  $650 k.

now he could and may go anywhere in the world. mite lose him if he feels that the numpties in OZ resent him.

a seismic IT analyst on a seimic mapping ship can earn over $500 k.
again, plenty of work for these guys OS if we tell them they are selfish pricks for earning so much.

a mine management engineer on a coalfield in qld can easily earn 400 k.

which country produces the most coal,  not oz,  indonesia,  easy trip to go work there.

which country produces the most iron ore, not us sweden.
good lifestyle there.

btw, sweden recently moved or is moving a town of 30,000 people to mine the biggest iron ore mountian in the world.

no outrage, no green , red, black tape.  the people want to be prosperous.

our miners want to dig up some outback piece of crap land and need to negotiate with half the government agencies in oz.

we can continue to shoot ourselves in the foot.
we can continue to see the brain drain.

BTW a couple more for you.

australias barista of the year has moved his operation to seoul
1/2 the job vacancy ads, in medical mags, for surgeons and registered nurses are for tax free jobs in the emirates or saudi.

and people wonder about waiting lists.

the world job market is global. our best financial and business people will be head hunted.

sure the mine worker who holds up the stop go sign or puts out the slippery when wet signs in the dunny at bhp isnt going anywhere. but once you lose your best mining technical people, your best docs and nurse, your best medical researchers . all becuase you thought it was a good idea to kcik them in the guts for earning more (the definition of envy)
you will be left with an economy of pawnbrokers and tattoo parlours. 

Wink Wink Wink

none of the examples you mentioned can be considered tradesmen except for the scuba diving welder, and yes that does happen to be a highly skilled and higly paid trade simply because there are not many who can or want to do it . If you are going to site tradesmen as example you should make sure you are talking about tradesmen .. why do you feel that you have to decieve others to make your point? Unless you of course doubt your own position.

Reply #82 - Jan 1st, 2013 at 12:03pm

settle down johnny. Cheesy Cheesy

i'm very confident of my position that we need to nurture our best and brightest.

we do this at the institute of sport.  no socialists there. its total individualism and competition to bring out the best.and then the best get every dollar the government can spare and the fatties and slow people get told to piss off

same with our smartest , the governmernt can get great outcomes in this area, but not by constantly giving the retards a leg up and trying to weigh down the achievers with more and more burdens to "level the playing field" Smiley Smiley

Pages: 1 ... 4 5 6