Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment (Read 2044 times)
Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment
Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:33pm

http://au.news.yahoo.com/technology/news/article/-/15793263/labor-mp-sorry-for-a...

A federal Labor frontbencher has apologised for describing Tony Abbott's work as a volunteer firefighter as a "stunt".

The Opposition Leader has been a volunteer firefighter for more than a decade, and was this morning deployed to fight fires at Nowra on the NSW south coast with the Davidson Rural Fire Service.

Mr Abbott yesterday said he would be on "standby" to help out given the fire emergency gripping large parts of the state.

Federal Housing Minister Brendan O'Connor this afternoon responded to Mr Abbott's comment on Twitter, describing it as a "#standbystunt".

Mr O'Connor later deleted the comment and said: "Apologies for any offence. I respect and acknowledge the critical work of all our volunteer firefighters including Tony Abbott."

NSW Premier Barry O'Farrell took to Twitter to describe Mr O'Connor's initial comment as "unhelpful" during a fire crisis.

He said Mr Abbott helped fight fires in the Lane Cove National Park in 2004 and the local community was grateful.

Television news cameras and photographers were in Nowra this morning and filmed Mr Abbott driving one of the fire trucks.

In a statement issued this morning, Mr Abbott said he had delayed his holidays to help fight the fires.

Labor backbencher Graham Perrett has commended Mr Abbott and the other volunteer firefighters for their efforts, but added: "A lot of volunteers get up and do their work on behalf of the community everyday without putting out a press release."

But Liberal MP Jamie Briggs says there is always a lot of media interest in what Australia's political leaders are doing, especially during a bushfire crisis.

"People do like to see commitment to volunteering - not just from the community, but from their political leaders - and that's something Tony's done for a long time now," Mr Briggs told ABC News

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Re: Labor MP apologise to Abbott for comment
Reply #1 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:36pm

adel, phil, buzz

you are all disgusting for calling it a stunt

no matter where you political compass points - volunteering should be appreciated by all Australians

Abbott's been doing this since 2000 - this is in addition to his duties as a Minister and now Opposition leader

Labor and Greens are dogs - worse than dogs for condemning Abbott

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Reply #2 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm

Maqqa wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:36pm:
adel, phil, buzz

no matter where you political compass points - volunteering should be appreciated by all Australians

Abbott's been doing this since 2000 - this is in addition to his duties as a Minister and now Opposition leader

If the ankle was fair dinkum he'd have done the job without calling the press. Phony Tony's office put out a press release the ankle was doing this, what a low life scum to capitalise on people dying.

progressiveslol

Reply #3 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:27pm

skippy. wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
adel, phil, buzz

If the ankle was fair dinkum he'd have done the job without calling the press. Phony Tony's office put out a press release the ankle was doing this, what a low life scum to capitalise on people dying.

Pretty sure gillard called the press for her time on TV and the sexist biatch left it to the men to fight the fires whiles she just pranced and platituded around.

BatteriesNotIncluded

MediocrityNET: because
people died for this!

Reply #4 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:30pm

adel, phil, buzz

But it is a stunt!!

*Sure....they're anti competitive as any subsidised job is.  It wouldn't be there without the tax payer.  Very damned difficult for a brainwashed collectivist to understand that I know....  (swaggy) *

Reply #5 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:32pm

adel, phil, buzz

Heat got to you ?

I said NO SUCH THING
I'm sometimes a little sceptical about Abbott's action man, Putin like moves - but I keep my private thoughts to MYSELF
O'Connor should have done the SAME

( ... though given his run of ... STUNTS, I wouldn't blame ANYONE for questioning his motivation, at times)

He did the RIGHT THING - in apologising, post haste

« Last Edit: Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:41pm by buzzanddidj »  

KJT1981

Reply #6 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:35pm

skippy. wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 2:41pm:
adel, phil, buzz

Do you have a link to people dying in these fires Skippy or is it just another one of your lies?

Reply #7 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:54pm

Poor Tony Abbott has his motives questioned and the feral right go into melt down.....If Tony Abbott wants to fight fires he can go ahead.....It does nothing to change my opinion of him what so ever.....Abbott is still a flake!!!

Reply #8 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:00pm

adel, phil, buzz

It is a stunt and a very poor one at that....Since Abbott has been exposed to scrutiny all we see from the Mad Monk is these photo opps and bullshit stunts.....Abbott is not above criticism and has shown time and time again he is an opportunist wanker.....Your hero is as pathetic as you Macca!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

progressiveslol

Reply #9 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:10pm

philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
adel, phil, buzz

It is a stunt and a very poor one at that....Since Abbott has been exposed to scrutiny all we see from the Mad Monk is these photo opps and bullshit stunts.....Abbott is not above criticism and has shown time and time again he is an opportunist wanker.....Your hero is as pathetic as you Macca!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

lol please dont cry. Abbott didnt mean to show up how pathetic gillard is.

KJT1981

Reply #10 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:13pm

adel, phil, buzz

Smiley Smiley Smiley

I guess that would that make you an  non opportunist wanker.

Reply #11 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:13pm

progressiveslol wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:10pm:
adel, phil, buzz

Smiley Smiley Smiley

What a piss weak comment from a piss ant prick.....If you think Abbott stunt reflects badly on Julia Gillard for any reason you are too stupid for words.....Abbott is an opportunist much like your pathetic self!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

KJT1981

Reply #12 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:14pm

philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 3:54pm:
Poor Tony Abbott has his motives questioned and the feral right go into melt down.....If Tony Abbott wants to fight fires he can go ahead.....It does nothing to change my opinion of him what so ever.....Abbott is still a flake!!!

Life must be a bitch being a leftie.

KJT1981

Reply #13 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:15pm

philperth2010 wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:13pm:
progressiveslol wrote on Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:10pm:
adel, phil, buzz

Smiley Smiley Smiley

What a piss weak comment from a piss ant prick.....If you think Abbott stunt reflects badly on Julia Gillard for any reason you are too stupid for words.....Abbott is an opportunist much like your pathetic self!!!

Smiley Smiley Smiley

Look losing his temper. Get ready to duck the handbag.

Reply #14 - Jan 9th, 2013 at 4:42pm

pity they dont ask the station he is attached too....before they condemn for a stunt..

its a shame their mate brown couldnt also be out there...especially in Tasmania where the greens have systematically stopped burn backs. and closed down the Timber companies... who did do burnbacks..but whats the point of saying anything.

I have never seen Tasmania burn like this before...

has anyone else?