Thanks Labor for Tony (Read 1561 times)
sir prince duke alevine

Thanks Labor for Tony
Mar 21st, 2013 at 11:20pm

Let's get one thing clear for all those out there who actually believe Tony is the soul responsible for Labor's detrimental problems; this myth has very little substance if we look at the history of events.  In fact, if we look at Tony's opposition style it is intrinsically negative and completely void of any inspiring alternative.

History tells us that in early 2010 Rudd and his team of 4 met to discuss their policies and at that meeting Rudd was pushed by Gillard and Swan to drop his ETS agenda given its failure to pass the Senate. So, if we want to congratulate Tony on anything its nothing more than his constant opposition to anything of significant importance.  However, Rudd's scalp is not Tony's for the taking; its Gillard's and Swans.  And from that one decision made by Rudd thanks to his two deputies, Labor began its roll down the hill.

The election result in 2010 was also not of Tony's doing, but rather Gillard and Swan.  Even to this day when the electorate is asked why they don't like Gillard, it is not because of Tony's "better alternative" or because of Liberal party's better policy. The one theme that is always brought up is of Gillard's betrayal of Rudd, and her "knifing" of her leader. Fortunately, Australia has had quite stable governments for the duration of the Federation in comparison to others, which has resulted in very few coups. In addition, our stability has portrayed the government as quite irrelevant to the average Australian's life, and so many in the electorate, the majority I'd say, are simply not intune.  This is made clear when all we hear is, "Rudd was democratically elected, how could she get rid of him?" Which is obviously complete inaccurate, and only goes to show how much Australians misunderstood.  So, given all of this it is very understandable to see the anger in the electorate for Gillard. She killed their leader. She took power "undemocratically". 

All of the above, of course, has NOTHING to do with Tony. It could've been Slipper as the opposition leader, and as long as he had pushed his party to go against the ETS which resulted in the meeting of Rudd and his kitchen table, the outcome today would be completely the same. It was Gillard's lust for power and more than likely Rudd's lack of respect and support within his own party that has actually led to where we are today.

This of course leads us into many problems.  For one, we are about to elect in September, a man who is yet to have an approval rating in the positive. He is simply the man we don't like less. He isn't inspiring. He isn't our leader. Put simply, all he is is not Gillard. And this is, put plainly, scary. We are about to vote in a person who has had almost no vetting; a person who has had so many differing opinions on issues that it is almost impossible to tell where stands on anything. We are about to vote in a party of people who consist of many we've tried before and previously kicked out, others who can only be seen as conservative radicals in modern politics, and lastly those that we know little about but even if they are any good they'll be a small voice in a party gone so far away from their founding ideals that Menzies would be turning inside his grave.

It's very, very telling that today we have yet again had Tony make yet another gaffe, which I'm sure he'll make amends for after having his usual moment of hindsight. It's also very telling that we have been listening to the education minister to be continually blame our addiction to smaller class room sizes as the soul problem in our education system; no one's bother to tell him that perhaps it was part of the problem and now it's time to look at the next problems rather than simply blaming the teachers.  Instead, we're too busy focusing on Gillard and Labors infighting and poor policy decisions.

It is very uninspiring what we are now going through. And that, in my opinion, is the worst thing you could ask for from your elected representatives. Like I've said before, leading by mandates and pampering to the masses is not leadership. Leadership should be academic.  It is very very easy to sit back and be conservative, and claim that the best thing a government can do is nothing.  And to only ever do anything that has the majority support of an uninterested electorate, many of whom wouldn't understand the legislation put before them and its merits or downfalls.  But truth be told, progression is what has made Australian society what it is. It's what has made all developed world what it is. It has been those leaders who didn't just sit back and say, "Well the electorate thinks its a good idea".  "In the national interest" was not just a catchphrase. It's been those leaders who've governed in the interest of society, and we didn't have to necessary like them, but we respected them. We don't have this today. We don't have it in Gillard. We don't have it in Tony. And that is very, very sad.  No real alternatives. No read leader to choose and be proud of. Only the usual pampering on lacklustre mediocre issues that can never make our society an absolute great.

Well done Gillard. Well done Labor. You've really out performed yourselves today.
« Last Edit: Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:57am by sir prince duke alevine »  

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

sir prince duke alevine

Re: Thanks Labor for Tony
Reply #1 - Mar 21st, 2013 at 11:49pm

I have more venting needed.

When I look at the current conditions of our politics at the moment, what I can see is that we've completely forgotten to be realistic and to look at the bigger picture.  Our biggest debates at the moment are around 2 issues, one of asylum seekers, and one on the carbon tax.  Both of which have yet again not been helped by Gillard and her team, and Tony has been allowed to spread these issues into the community to a point where such mediocre concerns have become all we talk about. 

Let's look at the actual reality on asylum seekers. For the past 3 years we have been obsessing about 30,000 people who are fleeing from turmoil in their lives.  And when we talk of these 30,000 people we act as if we are under some sort of siege; these people are going to come take our freedoms from us. They are going to take all that we've worked so hard for and we'll be left with nothing.  This reminds me so very much of The Walking Dead, where the same idea is being demonstrated, people fleeing for the lives, simply looking for nothing more than a safe haven and for survival. And yet, these "unknowns" are seen as the enemy, and rather than use our human instinct to help we use our human instinct of survival to deny and denigrate.

Over 42 million people are fleeing for their lives.  Countries like Pakistan have over 1 million refugees on their "borders."  We have 30,000, and we are obsessing over it as if it is the biggest travesty brought on us. The argument has gone to such simplicity that we are now spending HOURS on HOURs debating the term "illegal" and we've completely forgotten the human side. All because our politics has allowed it. Our politics has allowed our society to completely get engulfed in this completely lacklustre issue by world standard. And as a result, it's lowered our common denominator. We are almost no better than barbarians, tyring to protect our own from anything else that touches. We aren't acting like a modern and civilised society. Thanks to our politics.   

Now let's look at the carbon tax. What can we say. We are upset Gillard "lied."  And yet we are happy to see Tony "change his mind" because of hindsight.  And yet I don't think it has anything to do with her lying, but rather the mediocre debate going on about the "cost of living" pressure brought on by the carbon tax.  The possible $10 rise per week, which is supplemented for those with the most need anyway.

The result of this mediocre debate is we end up with real problems being left untackled.  Recently many companies have closed shop citing the high Australian dollar and energy costs.  Yes, energy costs can be attribute to the carbon tax. But wouldn't a person, looking at the  bigger picture of it all, consider that the solution here isn't getting rid of what is really quite an intuitive policy that is designed for modernisation of our economy, but rather looking at actual energy cost increases that have been occuring over and over and over and over again, and also looking at the problems relating to the Australian dollar? the result is simply going to be that Tony may end up getting rid of the Carbon Tax. He'll save those businesses for 1 or 2 years IF (and it's a big IF) the prices go down. And then in one year, after the next energy increase above inflation, and our lack of participation in the currency wars maintains our over inflated dollar, we'll be right back where we started.  But only this time we'll be with business as usual, not looking towards a better future with better ways of doing things and being a world leader in ingenuity.  Once again, completely uninspiring. Completely missing the big picture.   

No wonder we are left in the position we are in, when we have spent our entire time trying to save what isn't under threat, and trying to save pennies and missing out on millions.
« Last Edit: Mar 21st, 2013 at 11:57pm by sir prince duke alevine »  

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Innocent bystander

Reply #2 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 1:48am

I don't think the fact that over 30 000 queue jumpers that have lied and scammed their way into the country to retire on centrelink benefits for life ( according to the department of immigration ) is a non issue, neither do the voting public apparently, they realise that it won't be just 30 000 and in fact the number is uncapped and would likely hit 100 000 lying scamming centrelink for life bludgers under another term of gillard.
The only way to stop the boats is to stop gillard.  Wink+
As for the carbon tax, people were struggling with their power bills as it was so what was gillards answer when people were crying out for relief?, make then even more expensive, I've never seen a pollie so out of touch with reality as gillard.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #3 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 6:27am

A good portion of those 30,000 are hardly fleeing persecution. They're fleeing sub-standard living conditions after having seen just how gutless and gullible the current government is. Who wouldn't think sponging off taxpayers while not having to work at all isn't a better life???

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #4 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:40am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 6:27am:
A good portion of those 30,000 are hardly fleeing persecution. They're fleeing sub-standard living conditions after having seen just how gutless and gullible the current government is. Who wouldn't think sponging off taxpayers while not having to work at all isn't a better life???

Without getting stuck into the debate, what I'll say is this is exactly what I mean - completely obsessed debate without substantive facts or any intelligence.  And it's become acceptable.

Reply #5 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:42am

Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 6:27am:

over 90% are found to be genuine refugees .... can you try to get it right at least once?

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #6 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:45am

Grin Grin Grin S H A M B L E S  Grin Grin Grin

Labor had a Leadership spill and the winner was Tony ABBOTT  Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #7 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:48am

I am no supporter or fan of the Labor Party or Julia Gillard, I think my record on here backs that one up.

But I will add that Tony Abbott has done precious little to cause any of this popularity fall himself.

I don't think Abbott will be a good PM. I think he's a good attack-dog Minister (which is just what Howard used him for) and he can hammer guys in parliament but I don't see him as a leader.

Labor is on 29-31.
I think this is in spite of Abbott not because of it.

Honestly, I think if the Liberals were currently led by Turnbull, Labor would be on 21-23 primary vote.

Gillard, Rudd, Swan, Emerson etc etc - the list is endless.
Making a policy, being cast-iron on it, then dropping it a year later as if they had never said anything about it.
Swan's surplus.
He shouldn't have committed to one, he didn't need to. But he did, then he drops it.
Gillard didn't need to say no carbon tax, she simply didn't need to say that.
It's just one policy drop after another - none of this has to do with Abbott or the Coalition.

All Abbott has to do is shut up, say nothing and just watch the other side fold internally.
All that yesterday had nothing to do with him at all, they are collapsing within.

Problem is, this is a party actually supposed to be leading the country.

I do, however, think that at some point in the future Malcolm Turnbull will be the Prime Minister - and Australia will be the better for it.

Reply #8 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:20am

I seldom agree with Andrei but he is bsaically right.

The areas where this is wrong is where his negative tactice have been decisive.

His opposition to the ETS put the skids under Rudd and was the first and biggest step in his demise and has followed through to his effective but dishonest attacks on Gillards honesty and the carbon tax that well lets just remember that he had recomended in the first place.

Keeping the boats comming has also been decisive from Tony. His attack dog routine has worked well especially the way it has been supported by the media.

Reply #9 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:36am

Will an attack dog be a decent PM? Or even marginally adequate ? In phony tonys case I say no. He has been in public life for over twenty years and has never shown leadership skills, why will this be different?
Th media need to turn their attentions to Abbott now, the Labor circus is over, the media need to scrutinise Abbott on how he is going to make things better, as if there is anything wrong in the first place. See, when phony becomes PM he will use the entire time doing the only thing he knows, attacking Labor, but people will be expecting him to deliver just like he has been promising. The worst thing for phony tony is when the election is held and he wakes up as PM and says to Margie," what the bugger do I do now"?

Reply #10 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:39am

Skippy, the problem there for Labor (and I know they desperately want to turn the focus to Abbott) is that their circus isn't over.

If they had replaced Gillard or there had been a challenge and she decisively won - then there would have been respite for her.

As it is, what played out yesterday made the circus even worse.

It won't focus on Abbott while they are still providing so much 'entertainment' and copy for the Press though.

Rider

OnTheRoad
Reply #11 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:45am

skippy. wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:36am:
Will an attack dog be a decent PM? Or even marginally adequate ? In phony tonys case I say no. He has been in public life for over twenty years and has never shown leadership skills, why will this be different?
Th media need to turn their attentions to Abbott now, the Labor circus is over, the media need to scrutinise Abbott on how he is going to make things better, as if there is anything wrong in the first place. See, when phony becomes PM he will use the entire time doing the only thing he knows, attacking Labor, but people will be expecting him to deliver just like he has been promising. The worst thing for phony tony is when the election is held and he wakes up as PM and says to Margie," what the bugger do I do now"?

BS - the most basic of tests is how long has he been opp. leader? How many times has his leadership been questioned by his own party? How many attacks to his leadership has he had to defend?

Facts talk, BS walks. Hope your shoes are comfy mate  Wink

Reply #12 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:55am

Rider wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:45am:

BS - the most basic of tests is how long has he been opp. leader? How many times has his leadership been questioned by his own party? How many attacks to his leadership has he had to defend?

You are not very bright are you? I am not surprised. Abbotts leadership has been questioned just about as many times as Gillards, you best come out from under your rock a little more often, when the press is not full of leaks about Gilards leadership it is full of leaks about Phony tony and Turnbull. No need to resort to lies, nuf nuf, phony looks to have it in the bag, good, dickheads that support the women basher deserve him. Roll Eyes

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #13 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:55am

Rider wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 9:45am:

Your party keeping you because Labor's utter political incompetence has provided fantastic polling results is hardly a test of Tony's leadership.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #14 - Mar 22nd, 2013 at 10:00am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Mar 22nd, 2013 at 8:48am:
I am no supporter or fan of the Labor Party or Julia Gillard, I think my record on here backs that one up.

But I will add that Tony Abbott has done precious little to cause any of this popularity fall himself.

I don't think Abbott will be a good PM. I think he's a good attack-dog Minister (which is just what Howard used him for) and he can hammer guys in parliament but I don't see him as a leader.

Labor is on 29-31.
I think this is in spite of Abbott not because of it.

Honestly, I think if the Liberals were currently led by Turnbull, Labor would be on 21-23 primary vote.

Gillard, Rudd, Swan, Emerson etc etc - the list is endless.
Making a policy, being cast-iron on it, then dropping it a year later as if they had never said anything about it.
Swan's surplus.
He shouldn't have committed to one, he didn't need to. But he did, then he drops it.
Gillard didn't need to say no carbon tax, she simply didn't need to say that.
It's just one policy drop after another - none of this has to do with Abbott or the Coalition.

All Abbott has to do is shut up, say nothing and just watch the other side fold internally.
All that yesterday had nothing to do with him at all, they are collapsing within.

Problem is, this is a party actually supposed to be leading the country.

I do, however, think that at some point in the future Malcolm Turnbull will be the Prime Minister - and Australia will be the better for it.

I have to disagree.

When Nelson & Turnbull were Leaders of the Libs the Coalition's polls were at record lows and Rudd Labor were in record highs.

Nelson & Turnbull did not offer a political alternative.  They were weak and they failed in making in-roads into Labor's popularity.

I admit that I was apprehensive when Abbott was elected leader but he almost got the Coalition over the line in 2010 and but for a couple of turn coat Independents he would have done the near impossible and defeated a first term Govt which enjoyed record popularity.

So what if he's been negative?  In opposition you oppose.  Abbott gave the Coalition a weapon (get rid of the unmandated carbon tax) to beat Labor up and that's what he has achieved.