Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 
How will Abbott stop the boats? (Read 4719 times)
Peter Freedman

Wellington
Re: How will Abbott stop the boats?
Reply #45 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:56pm

A high proption of asylum seekers arrive via Malaysia or Indonesia. How they get there I don't know, but if they come from Sri Lanka or Iran it is doubtful if they travel overland.

They don't go to China because it is a dictatorship, or to Japan because it is overcrowded already, though its population is dwindling.

Australia places asylum seekers in concentration camps, sometimes for years, leaving many with mental illnesses and suicidal.

If that is soft c-k treatment then, red, you and I have a different understanding of the term.

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #46 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:59pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 4:03pm:
Big Dave wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 3:43pm:
When the relevant legislation is amended and the human rights lawyers have their loopholes closed I believe the boats will slowly decrease over a few months and then stop. Word gets out quickly. The people smugglers get payed most of their money when refugees get to Australia. That's why they mostly take young people. It's because they are healthy and can make money working and pay off their debts to the smugglers. if people don't get granted a visa then the smugglers don't get payed most of their money. Money !!!!! That's all the whole thing is about. That's a big reason why the human rights lawyers love people smuggling. They are making a fortune.

I find it hard to believe people smugglers don't demand cash up front.

Many asylum seekers die before they get to Australia and many who do make it don't have the income to pay off a debt.

Do you have any evidence to back up your claim?

I think the answer to my question is "no".

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

Lobo

Reply #47 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:17pm

The Real Benefits For Asylum Seekers In Australia
David Koch
Jul 14|07:09

My blog last week about the politicisation of Asylum seekers and refugees prompted quite a bit of reaction and I promised a number of readers that I’d do some research on the actual financial assistance they receive.

There are so many misleading rumours and “facts” around at the moment regarding asylum seekers and the benefits they get from the government.

One hoax email in particular is doing the rounds telling people that “illegal immigrants/refugees” receive thousands more in welfare payments than Australian pensioners.

Emails like this are completely fabricated and made up purely to conjure up negative sentiment towards asylum seekers.

If you’ve received an email which looks like this you should delete it, tell whoever sent it to you that they’re an idiot, and learn the facts…

First of all, refugees are not illegal immigrants. It has never been illegal in Australia to arrive on shore without a visa seeking asylum. In fact it’s one of the rights within the UN’s declarations on refugees which Australia helped to write.

When an asylum seeker arrives in Australia, they do not get any Centrelink benefits. While their status is being processed, and if they meet certain criteria, they can be eligible for financial support from the Asylum Seeker Assistance Scheme, administered through the Red Cross. This amount is 89% of the basic Centrelink allowance. This means approximately $405.84 per fortnight – over $260 less than a pensioner.
Once an asylum seeker is recognised as a genuine refugee, after a long and highly scrutinized process, they are given permanent residency and are then entitled to the same Centrelink, schooling and health benefits as anyone else. No more, no less.
The normal Centrelink welfare payment is $456 per fortnight, for a refugee with permanent residency and an Australian-born person. A pensioner in Australia receives $671.90. Over $200 more each fortnight. Even with family/parenting benefits, a refugee’s benefits would still be less than a pensioner’s income.
For an asylum seeker to qualify for any payment under the Asylum Seeker Assistance Scheme, they must have lodged an application for a visa 6 months before, not be in detention, and not get any other payment or benefit.
To get a permanent residence as a refugee, the person has to prove they are a genuine refugee fleeing persecution, go through character, security and medical tests, and sign an Australian Values Statement.
‘Boat people’ are asylum seekers. Refugees are asylum seekers who have been approved and given a visa. None of them are ‘illegal immigrants’.
The above facts come from the Department of Immigration and Citizenship, the Refugee Council of Australia, and from the Red Cross. A lot more reliable than a random email from a friend of a friend.

Before you make a judgment on asylum seeker policy, know the facts.

For more info, have a read of these:

- Myths about refugees and asylum seekers: the answers

- Response to lies and hoax emails – Refugee Council of Australi a

- Media Blunders on asylum seeker claims

- Assistance for Asylum seekers in Australia - DIAC

- Related articles: Avoid the POlitical Spin - Some Facts About Asylum Seekers

http://www.kochie.com.au/the-real-benefits-for-asylum-seekers-in-australia

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #48 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:32pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 11:37am:
I have asked this question numerous times. Those who claim the boats will stop under a Liberal government have ignored it.

Well, red baron et al, what's the answer?

No doubt by implementing the successful policy of the Howard era with some modifications which will deter your average country shopper eh.
Sure as hell Labor and the Greens are clueless on this issue.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #49 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:36pm

skippy. wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:51pm:
Armchair_Politician wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:40pm:
skippy. wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 5:21pm:
Yea, I reckon, a lot. Labors policy is just as draconian as Howard's.

No, Labor's policy is just far less effective than Howard's.

Name the difference? Come on.  Are you going to tell the lie that TPV make the difference? I am over playing with  party hacks like you put up or bugger off, office skirt.

The Coalition are competent, Labor is not.
Makes all the difference in the  world skip. Smiley
Deep down you know this already.

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Reply #50 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:44pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:36pm:

Name the difference? Come on.  Are you going to tell the lie that TPV make the difference? I am over playing with  party hacks like you put up or bugger off, office skirt.

Thanks chook, at least your honest. Yes ,the policies are identical.
So phony tony is full of sh it.

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #51 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:47pm

skippy. wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:44pm:

Yes he is skip.
He's a politician after all, and being full of it comes natural.
But despite his handicap, he will stop the boats as sure as the sun rises.
After all, the Coalition is competent, Labor is not.

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

KJT1981

Reply #52 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:53pm

Australia places asylum seekers in concentration camps,

You are a delusional psycho twat Freedman.

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #53 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 8:45pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:56pm:
A high proption of asylum seekers arrive via Malaysia or Indonesia. How they get there I don't know, but if they come from Sri Lanka or Iran it is doubtful if they travel overland.

They don't go to China because it is a dictatorship, or to Japan because it is overcrowded already, though its population is dwindling.

Australia places asylum seekers in concentration camps, sometimes for years, leaving many with mental illnesses and suicidal.

If that is soft c-k treatment then, red, you and I have a different understanding of the term.

What, no going up the chimney?
I think you are clueless as to what constitutes a concentration camp eh.

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #54 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 8:57pm

The Concise Oxford Dictionary describes a concentration camp as "accommodation for political prisoners, internees, etc".

The main features of a concentration camp are that people are kept behind fences, guarded day and night, not allowed to leave and have little contact with people from outside the camp.

All these apply to so-called "detention centres".

AaLF

Reply #55 - Mar 24th, 2013 at 10:24pm

Big Dave wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 6:50pm:
AaLF wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 5:46pm:
red baron wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 4:07pm:
Talking about international obligations. How many refugee boats head for Indonesia? None How many go to Japan - none. How many go to China? - None. How many go to Malaya - None. How many go to Singapore? - None.

Not many vacancies there.  They all have plenty of people already.   australia invited them by going over there and shooting some.  That tends to catch the peoples attention.

We are the soft  co...s of the South Pacific. Good place to sponge the rest of your life or at least it has become so under Labor.

You're stuffed.  You want to run around playing Amerika's deputy??  And now you've soiled your little backwater lurk & you are stuck with the consequences of fame.  Enjoy.     Wink

Go and blow yourself up douche! Australia hasn't shot any Iranians, Pakis, Bangladeshis or Sri Lankans and they are coming out here. Get your stupid facts straight you anti-white racist .

Australia's Gun-Ho policy has been more successful than 'put another shrimp on the barbie.'  Iranians have Iraq on one side & afghanistan on the other.  You're famous.  Pakistan has afghanistan next door.  Again, you're famous.  Sri-lankans have Australia interfering as U.N. observers.  Face it, you are now world-famous.  And with fame comes the baggage of assylum seekers. 

And like humpty-dumpty you cannot put things back the way they were.  And the tide is going to keep on rising and rising.

"They took the whole Palestinian Nation,
And locked us in this reservation....."

some Ozzy vocab: bugger fkd dam f*ck bugger bugger smacking bugger*ng farked fu#ckers effing smacking

Big Dave

Reply #56 - Mar 25th, 2013 at 4:33am

AaLF wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 10:24pm:
Talking about international obligations. How many refugee boats head for Indonesia? None How many go to Japan - none. How many go to China? - None. How many go to Malaya - None. How many go to Singapore? - None.

Not many vacancies there.  They all have plenty of people already.   australia invited them by going over there and shooting some.  That tends to catch the peoples attention.

We are the soft  co...s of the South Pacific. Good place to sponge the rest of your life or at least it has become so under Labor.

You're stuffed.  You want to run around playing Amerika's deputy??  And now you've soiled your little backwater lurk & you are stuck with the consequences of fame.  Enjoy.     Wink

Go and blow yourself up douche! Australia hasn't shot any Iranians, Pakis, Bangladeshis or Sri Lankans and they are coming out here. Get your stupid facts straight you anti-white racist .

Australia's Gun-Ho policy has been more successful than 'put another shrimp on the barbie.'  Iranians have Iraq on one side & afghanistan on the other.  You're famous.  Pakistan has afghanistan next door.  Again, you're famous.  Sri-lankans have Australia interfering as U.N. observers.  Face it, you are now world-famous.  And with fame comes the baggage of assylum seekers. 

And like humpty-dumpty you cannot put things back the way they were.  And the tide is going to keep on rising and rising.

Stop talking crap. The only reason people want to come to australia is because it's a good country. It's nothing to do with any other rubbish.

Reply #57 - Mar 25th, 2013 at 5:09am

Big Dave wrote on Mar 25th, 2013 at 4:33am:
AaLF wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 10:24pm:

Stop talking crap. The only reason people want to come to australia is because it's a good country. It's nothing to do with any other rubbish.

Then why do we get such a low percentage of the worlds asylum seekers?

Infarction

Reply #58 - Mar 25th, 2013 at 5:39am

Geographical location.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #59 - Mar 25th, 2013 at 6:11am

skippy. wrote on Mar 24th, 2013 at 7:44pm:

If the policies were identical, as you claim they are, Gillard would have reinstated TPV's. As she hasn't done so, you're wrong yet again!

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6