Another sample of dumb ALP politics (Read 547 times)
RightSadFred

Another sample of dumb ALP politics
May 22nd, 2013 at 7:23am

http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/political-news/conroy-backs-tv-bookies-20130521-2j...

So its widely known that most seem sick of that dope Waterhouse showing up with his cheezy smile during sporting events bringing to the forefront ..... live gambling on things like next player to do a fart or some other moronic stuff yet the moron Conroy does the following:

Communications Minister Stephen Conroy brokered a deal with the television industry to allow betting companies to continue spruiking live odds during sports broadcasts, despite the growing public backlash against the spread of gambling culture.

So if there is nothing in this politically, what kick back is Conroy getting that will probably cost his party votes ?

This really comes back to these mythical ALP values they keep talking about, what kind of workers party gives the green light to the big end of town to milk the workers via gambling ?

Re: Another sample of dumb ALP politics
Reply #1 - May 22nd, 2013 at 7:30am

RightSadFred wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 7:23am:
http://www.smh.com.au/opinion/political-news/conroy-backs-tv-bookies-20130521-2j...

So its widely known that most seem sick of that dope Waterhouse showing up with his cheezy smile during sporting events bringing to the forefront ..... live gambling on things like next player to do a fart or some other moronic stuff yet the moron Conroy does the following:

Communications Minister Stephen Conroy brokered a deal with the television industry to allow betting companies to continue spruiking live odds during sports broadcasts, despite the growing public backlash against the spread of gambling culture.

So if here is nothing in this politically, what kick back is Conroy getting that will probably cost his party votes ?

This really comes back to these mythical ALP values they keep talking about, what kind of workers party gives the green light to the big end of town to milk the workers via gambling ?

wonder what Wilkies take on it will be... gambling in your face....

I watched 4 corners... and those sicken ing smiles of all the Waterhouses got to me..so phony.. dont they have any conscience at all...I dont watch the football so didnt know just how much airtime Tom gets on channel 9 . but this guy can talk the talk thats for sure....glib, doesnt miss a beat... as for conroy I wonder whats in it for him to be honest... he likes freebees doesnt he????

RightSadFred

Reply #2 - May 22nd, 2013 at 7:43am

cods wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 7:30am:

So if here is nothing in this politically, what kick back is Conroy getting that will probably cost his party votes ?

I watched 4 corners... and those sicken ing smiles of all the Waterhouses got to me..so phony.. dont they have any conscience at all...I dont watch the football so didnt know just how much airtime Tom gets on channel 9 . but this guy can talk the talk thats for sure....glib, doesnt miss a beat... as for conroy I wonder whats in it for him to be honest... he likes freebees doesnt he????

No doubt Conroy is getting something out of this, the ALP won't.

I record the NRL and play it back about an hour after it starts so I can zip through the adds and scrums (which are a joke in league, I am an ex rugby player) and I zip through when that dick waterhouse shows up.

Armchair_Politician

Reply #3 - May 22nd, 2013 at 7:57am

RightSadFred wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 7:43am:

I record the NRL and play it back about an hour after it starts so I can zip through the adds and scrums (which are a joke in league, I am an ex rugby player) and I zip through when that dick waterhouse shows up.

He'll probably pop up post-election as a lobbyist for one of the major betting companies after having lost not only government but his seat too!

Scott Morrison DID wipe the floor with Bull Shitten!!! Smiley Smiley Smiley

Reply #4 - May 22nd, 2013 at 8:47am

Armchair_Politician wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 7:57am:
RightSadFred wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 7:43am:

He'll probably pop up post-election as a lobbyist for one of the major betting companies after having lost not only government but his seat too!

there is so much money in gambling for govts....

isnt it about time we knew just how much the govts reap from all forms of gambling????/..

they are the biggest PIMPS as far as I am concerned..

they go on about pokie reform as if they really give a poo about the affects they have on people and their lives....and at the end of the day a pittance gets spent on it and nothjing gets done...

its a joke..

RightSadFred

Reply #5 - May 22nd, 2013 at 9:06am

Gambling uses the theory of skiming or dipping your bucket in the river of stupidity.

Of course governments get something financial out of gambling but what politically does the ALP get out of supporting live interactive gambling ? Conroy is a Con job.

The effects of poker machine gambling are so over inflated its laughable.

There are a small % of problem gamblers in society ...... they will find a way to gamble no matter how nanny our state ets.

Reply #6 - May 22nd, 2013 at 9:31am

RightSadFred wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 9:06am:

Gambling uses the theory of skiming or dipping your bucket in the river of stupidity.

Of course governments get something financial out of gambling but what politically does the ALP get out of supporting live interactive gambling ? Conroy is a Con job.

The effects of poker machine gambling are so over inflated its laughable.

There are a small % of problem gamblers in society ...... they will find a way to gamble no matter how nanny our state ets.

thats not what I was referring too really the govts both State and Feds take the biggest BITE out of your gambling dollar...lotto.scratchies.dogs.horses.. you name it... now we can gamble on the out come of the election...its pathetic..we can gamble on the first try the last try...no wonder they are arresting more and more in india and Pakistan for cricket corruption.... yet its the govt that scores the most...hypocrites of the worst order..its ok though they give the Salvos a extra  few dollars to help with the counselling..

they make Fagin look like Mother Therese...

do you think its right that kids are being more and more exposed to this form of 'entertainment" making it look like its the norm.... everyone dreams of winning lotto.. I do.. but thats all we do dream.. but I have seen some in the shops buying hundreds of dollars worth of picks.....this wasnt the norm years ago...

Reply #7 - May 22nd, 2013 at 9:46am

And yet if Conroy had banned it as when the pokie issue was on the boil you'd all be screaming "NANNY STATE"
Again as you were when pokies was the topic.

Hypocrites Angry

But yes Fred, the ALP have shot themselves again
And Rudd's white-anting again as well

RightSadFred

Reply #8 - May 22nd, 2013 at 9:48am

Personally don't care as whether you gamble or not is a matter of self control.

WRT to live gambling again it does not personally bother me as I record and play through that kind of rubbish, again its a matter of self control.

I oppose social engineering exercises like the nanny state control of gambling while governments hypocritically tax it.

This is an issue for the ALP who have a political opportunity to get some political brownie points yet they prefer to score another own goal.

Question for you...... when do you think personal accountability starts ?

You seem to want to make the government responsible for all social issues.

If that is the case then we need to ramp up that human cloning so we can make more compliant/consistent human beings which the state can control via a bluetooth or wifi connection.

RightSadFred

Reply #9 - May 22nd, 2013 at 9:56am

Dsmithy70 wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 9:46am:
And yet if Conroy had banned it as when the pokie issue was on the boil you'd all be screaming "NANNY STATE"

Hypocrites Angry

dsmithy70

I personally don't care one way or the other about gambling live or not. Yes I do gamble occasionally in a social sense, don't need a government to tell to do it or not or where to do it.

I prefer the government was more indifferent about gambling not promoting like Conroy the conjob is, not sure where your hypocrisy angle comes from ...... you might need to check what is exiting your back side.

Pokies reform was a dumb dirty deal Gillard made. You can make all the dirty deals you like with independents/ greens but ultimately in a democracy you need to answer to the electorate. On the pokies reform it was a big F fail for the ALP who completely misjudged the electorate on that in particular their so called traditional voters. Poker machines are more profitable in lower income areas, especially in Sydney's west..... its a massive industry like the mining industry will defend it self.

Reply #10 - May 22nd, 2013 at 10:02am

RightSadFred wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 9:48am:

Personally don't care as whether you gamble or not is a matter of self control.

WRT to live gambling again it does not personally bother me as I record and play through that kind of rubbish, again its a matter of self control.

I oppose social engineering exercises like the nanny state control of gambling while governments hypocritically tax it.

This is an issue for the ALP who have a political opportunity to get some political brownie points yet they prefer to score another own goal.

Question for you...... when do you think personal accountability starts ?

You seem to want to make the government responsible for all social issues.

If that is the case then we need to ramp up that human cloning so we can make more compliant/consistent human beings which the state can control via a bluetooth or wifi connection.

sorry to see you think that.. because no its not the case...

what I am saying is... the govt allows these things to take place gambling of all kinds is regulated by the govt...even selling of raffle tickets is regulated BINGO is regulated.... they in other words ALLOW it..

in most cases they take the biggest cut.. to the point now where they cannot live without the gambling tax... thats a fact..

and I believe its wrong and we are kept in the dark as to how much they are reaping from something they claim to be concerned about the overall affects..

as for personal accountability.... thats easy for those who do not have problems with addiction...I dont gamble never have pokies dont interest me horse even less.....but I did smoke and it took me about 20 years of trying to give it up.....so I have a small idea how difficult it can be...

you do not see the excitment of gambling.  thats good but if you had a member of your family that was intoxicated by it...you would see how addictive it can be...its in the brain and no different to any other addiction except it is very very expensive... I would say more so than drugs..

should the govt make trillions at the expense of the "weak"...I dont think so... once upon a time you had to go looking for a place to put a bet on now you pick up the phone.dont even have to leave the house.

to easy mate..its wrong.

Reply #11 - May 22nd, 2013 at 10:04am

Dsmithy70 wrote on May 22nd, 2013 at 9:46am:

Hypocrites Angry

there will always be those calling NANNY STATE that goes for all sides....but making it easier and easier to put a bet on.[anything] in my way of thinking...is not good govt.

RightSadFred

Reply #12 - May 22nd, 2013 at 10:12am

Interesting assertions and question dodging.

So we write nanny state laws for the tiny minority that have no self control yet these nanny state laws do nothing for their lack of control ?

Sorry can't even see you attempting to answer the question, self accountability is always there regardless of any nanny state laws...... that is problem gamblers will find a way to gamble no matter what and this is without even bringing illegal gambling.

Governments regulate gambling so they can tax it, they really don't give a stuff about problem gamblers.

There is a real world out there of high stakes gambling both legal and illegal...... you need to get out and see it.

Just go down to Randwick on track day, I see many working class types rolling out bundles of hundreds to their bookies.

I know a receptionist who is a professional gambler making over 5k each week end, she drives a Porche to work.

« Last Edit: May 22nd, 2013 at 11:22am by RightSadFred »  

woof woof

Reply #13 - May 22nd, 2013 at 10:40am

if you knew about sport and trading you can make alot of money on price fluctuations in any sporting event, anyone living outside of Oz can do this live on the net, but in Oz we have to ring up wait for an operator and then put the bet on wait 30sec, but by then the price has gone.

do the math on this, back a team to win at $2.00 for $500 then lay that team at $1.20 to lose $300.

Obviously most of you wont have a clue what I am talking about so I'll do iyt for you

Team A $500 @ $2=$1000 of which $500 would be profit.

Lay Team A some one then has to back them at $1.20 to take your $300 that your putting up means they have to bet $1500.

Now.

If your team wins you get back $500 profit, but you also backed them to lose so you have to pay out $300, you still infront $200 if they go on to win.

Now if they lose you will lose your $500 win bet, but you will collect the other persons $1500, so on this side you'd be infront $1000.

Easy to do but due to us not being able to bet live on the net on sport we can't take advantage of that. But if I go live in NZ with that matty fellow I can do it every game on every sport????