Is free trade killing off aussie businesses ? (Read 4366 times)

Re: Is free trade killing off aussie businesses ?
Reply #15 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:05pm

BigOl64 wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 7:02am:
Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 21st, 2013 at 11:27pm:
So how come all of the fruit growers are having to kill off their crops and set fire to them just because it is no longer viable to can fruit in this country when the imported stuff is clealrly of inferior quality ?

Well the main problem is people like you pansi and crook demanding cheap product and are willing to accept cheap at any cost. Quality Australian product cost more, for a few reasons, one of which is we tend to pay our workers a decent wage.

Do crap on how you buy cheap overseas products and then act all surprised and indignant when Australian businesses close down, be they farmers or retailers or manufacturers.  Angry

but don't aldis use a lot of local produce ? And not only that don't aldis pay their suppliers ON TIME unlike your mates at coles and woolies who screw everyone.

so unlike you f.ckface, I do support local industry just not when it comes to whingers like old gerry buying his stuff from the same chinese factory as the online supplier I buy from Sad

Reply #16 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:11pm

freediver wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 9:47am:
Free trade is good. It does not make sense to destroy our own economy and harm the global economy to save uncompetitive businesses. That would be incredibly shortsighted.

We have a lot of very expensive things that improve our standard of living that we could not hope to produce locally to anywhere near the global standard. We can only afford all these things because of free trade.

FD,
does that include cutting down our pear trees because imported pears are a few cents cheaper?

I saw it on Today tonight on Thursday night -
thousands of beautiful pear trees being bulldozed & burnt due to free trade -
farmers going off the land - bankrupt - 1000s of jobs lost.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #17 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:20pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:05pm:
So how come all of the fruit growers are having to kill off their crops and set fire to them just because it is no longer viable to can fruit in this country when the imported stuff is clealrly of inferior quality ?

Well the main problem is people like you pansi and crook demanding cheap product and are willing to accept cheap at any cost. Quality Australian product cost more, for a few reasons, one of which is we tend to pay our workers a decent wage.

Do crap on how you buy cheap overseas products and then act all surprised and indignant when Australian businesses close down, be they farmers or retailers or manufacturers.  Angry

but don't aldis use a lot of local produce ? And not only that don't aldis pay their suppliers ON TIME unlike your mates at coles and woolies who screw everyone.

so unlike you f.ckface, I do support local industry just not when it comes to whingers like old gerry buying his stuff from the same chinese factory as the online supplier I buy from Sad

Actually you have stated on more than one occasion you only buy cheap and as we all know cheap comes from OS where they pay children a few cents a day to make crap for the likes of you.

I buy Australian when it is available and I don't whinge about price, because I know it employs people and helps Aussie businesses. You and you cheap mates are the ones at fault here. Screwing Aussie businesses  to save yourself a few dollars.

Lie all you like, your long history of posts are the ones that show your true feelings toward Aussie businesses and their employees.

Keep buying cheap junk for overseas suppliers, but don't be a scumbag hypocrite and show bullsh1t feelings for the Aussie businesses and workers you bugger over.

Reply #18 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:20pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:11pm:
freediver wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 9:47am:
Free trade is good. It does not make sense to destroy our own economy and harm the global economy to save uncompetitive businesses. That would be incredibly shortsighted.

We have a lot of very expensive things that improve our standard of living that we could not hope to produce locally to anywhere near the global standard. We can only afford all these things because of free trade.

FD,
does that include cutting down our pear trees because imported pears are a few cents cheaper?

I saw it on Today tonight on Thursday night -
thousands of beautiful pear trees being bulldozed & burnt due to free trade -
farmers going off the land - bankrupt - 1000s of jobs lost.

yes bobby this is NOT what free trade should be all about Sad

http://au.news.yahoo.com/today-tonight/consumer/article/-/17695681/crops-up-in-f...

Crops up in flames

Farmers are forced to set fire to more than 750,000 peach trees because they can no longer compete with cheap foreign imports.

Australian farmers are under threat as fruit and vegetable canneries are forced to close down or move off-shore unable to compete with foreign imports.

Tony Latina, who farms peaches in the Goulburn Valley, was hoping to pass his farm to his son but he fears his hope is going up in flames like his peach trees.

Mr Latina says 70 per cent of his orchard will be torched in the coming weeks, a scene that will be repeated across the Goulburn Valley.

"I've been growing fruit for 40 years and never did I think it would come to this day," Mr Latina said.

"It's hard to accept and it's devastating."

He says the local cannery was originally taking 32,000-tonnes of fruit from his farm in 2011 but now they only need 13,000 peaches.

"It takes eight years to get the peach trees to their peak but it takes only three or four days to burn them," Mr Latina said.

Fruit and vegetable canneries across the country are either disappearing or axing their suppliers, affecting job employment and growers.

Australian food manufacturer Simplot's processing plant in Devonport has been given two months to prove it can be viable. If the plant closes down, 300 jobs will be lost and 130 growers will have no where to send their peas, beans and carrots.

Mike Badcock, vegetable farmer in Tasmania, says farmers don't know where to turn to next.

"We're continually being squeezed for the price of our products," Mr Badcock said.

It's costing farmers hundreds of thousands of dollars to pull out trees but they say leaving them in the ground is not an option.

Fruit flies are an increasingly problem when trees are left in the ground, which can lead to diseases.

Chief executive of Ausbuy Lynne Wilkinson is urging us to buy Australian produce in order to save our farmers.

"Unfortunately we are doing this to our own people," Ms Wilkinson said.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #19 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:22pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:20pm:
Crops up in flames

Farmers are forced to set fire to more than 750,000 peach trees because they can no longer compete with cheap foreign imports.

Australian farmers are under threat as fruit and vegetable canneries are forced to close down or move off-shore unable to compete with foreign imports.

Tony Latina, who farms peaches in the Goulburn Valley, was hoping to pass his farm to his son but he fears his hope is going up in flames like his peach trees.

Mr Latina says 70 per cent of his orchard will be torched in the coming weeks, a scene that will be repeated across the Goulburn Valley.

"I've been growing fruit for 40 years and never did I think it would come to this day," Mr Latina said.

"It's hard to accept and it's devastating."

He says the local cannery was originally taking 32,000-tonnes of fruit from his farm in 2011 but now they only need 13,000 peaches.

"It takes eight years to get the peach trees to their peak but it takes only three or four days to burn them," Mr Latina said.

Fruit and vegetable canneries across the country are either disappearing or axing their suppliers, affecting job employment and growers.

Australian food manufacturer Simplot's processing plant in Devonport has been given two months to prove it can be viable. If the plant closes down, 300 jobs will be lost and 130 growers will have no where to send their peas, beans and carrots.

Mike Badcock, vegetable farmer in Tasmania, says farmers don't know where to turn to next.

"We're continually being squeezed for the price of our products," Mr Badcock said.

It's costing farmers hundreds of thousands of dollars to pull out trees but they say leaving them in the ground is not an option.

Fruit flies are an increasingly problem when trees are left in the ground, which can lead to diseases.

Chief executive of Ausbuy Lynne Wilkinson is urging us to buy Australian produce in order to save our farmers.

"Unfortunately we are doing this to our own people," Ms Wilkinson said.

[/quote]

Jeez buying cheap overseas product not working out as well as you thought, well so long as you looked after yourself, that's all that matters now doesn't it?

Reply #20 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:23pm

BigOl64 wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:20pm:

Actually you have stated on more than one occasion you only buy cheap and as we all know cheap comes from OS where they pay children a few cents a day to make crap for the likes of you.

I buy Australian when it is available and I don't whinge about price, because I know it employs people and helps Aussie businesses. You and you cheap mates are the ones at fault here. Screwing Aussie businesses  to save yourself a few dollars.

Lie all you like, your long history of posts are the ones that show your true feelings toward Aussie businesses and their employees.

Keep buying cheap junk for overseas suppliers, but don't be a scumbag hypocrite and show bullsh1t feelings for the Aussie businesses and workers you bugger over.

so you think that buying chinese made crap from harvey norman is buying australian ?

what a tool Sad

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #21 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:32pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:23pm:

so you think that buying chinese made crap from harvey norman is buying australian ?

what a tool Sad

Where did I say that? Typical lying scum.

No need to be a total flog, we are all aware that you would kick a cripple if there was some money to be saved.

Even when Australian product aren't available,I, unlike you retard DO NOT buy cheap chinese sh1t because I think it's a bargain. Only morons buy cheap sh1t and are constantly baffled when they are continually replacing it.

Friggen lying hypocrite.

Reply #22 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:33pm

Thanks Nail,
yes - that's the Today Tonight video:

http://au.news.yahoo.com/today-tonight/consumer/article/-/17695681/crops-up-in-f...

I hope Freediver watches it.

Forget about BigOl - he's just a troll.

Reply #23 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:39pm

BigOl64 wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:32pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:23pm:

what a tool Sad

Where did I say that? Typical lying scum.

No need to be a total flog, we are all aware that you would kick a cripple if there was some money to be saved.

Even when Australian product aren't available,I, unlike you retard DO NOT buy cheap chinese sh1t because I think it's a bargain. Only morons buy cheap sh1t and are constantly baffled when they are continually replacing it.

Friggen lying hypocrite.

yeh like Holden and Ford cars which by the way if you hadn't noticed are NOT Australian owned companies but still they get favourable treatment from the government whilst the Aussie farmer has to burn their own crops Sad

Reply #24 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:42pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:33pm:
Thanks Nail,

Bighole wants to argue just for the sake of arguing as usual. I told him that I source most of my stuff from aldis not because it is cheaper but because it is reasonable quality and a lot of it is sourced locally from suppliers who get paid on time !!

but bighole shops at coles and woolies which source their produce on the cheap from china where they use human manure as fertilizer. No wonder he talks a lot of sh.t Cheesy

Reply #25 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 2:02pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 1:42pm:
Thanks Nail,

Bighole wants to argue just for the sake of arguing as usual. I told him that I source most of my stuff from aldis not because it is cheaper but because it is reasonable quality and a lot of it is sourced locally from suppliers who get paid on time !!

but bighole shops at coles and woolies which source their produce on the cheap from china where they use human manure as fertilizer. No wonder he talks a lot of sh.t Cheesy

Very true Nail,
all the Govt. needs to do is to protect certain industries just like the Europeans & Yanks do.
They call it free trade but they do protect certain industries & especially farmers.
Farmers are going out of business for the sake of a few cents price difference in their products.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #26 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 2:23pm

Thanks Nail,

So you know this as an absolute fact do you?

bugger, you have no idea that everything you say is just another fvcken lie.

Nearly all of these products you buy for that german company I buy direct form the farmers at our local market. But bugger if being a filthy liar helps you, so be it.

Mind you, you might buy all your produces for that german company, but you have crapped on endlessly about buying everything you can from overseas sources instead of Australian businesses. You have posted on hundreds of occasions about how you refuse to buy local, so bugger you!

Reply #27 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 2:37pm

BigOl64 wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 2:23pm:
Thanks Nail,

So you know this as an absolute fact do you?

bugger, you have no idea that everything you say is just another fvcken lie.

Nearly all of these products you buy for that german company I buy direct form the farmers at our local market. But bugger if being a filthy liar helps you, so be it.

Mind you, you might buy all your produces for that german company, but you have crapped on endlessly about buying everything you can from overseas sources instead of Australian businesses. You have posted on hundreds of occasions about how you refuse to buy local, so bugger you!

yeh just like you said i was lying about the latex foam pillow that you could buy for $25 at bigw Sad

bugger off mate. no wonder you were voted 2nd worst troller on this forum Sad

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #28 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 3:19pm

freediver wrote on Jun 22nd, 2013 at 11:15am:
The cultural advantage we have over China will stay with us for a long time. China is benefiting from the low birth rate, education and adoption of technology and engineering, but still suffers due to political issues and an education system that focuses on rote learning and stifles creativity. It will take at least a few generations for the Chinese to shake off those burdens.

Eventually they probably will equalise, but this will not happen by lowering our standard of living. It will happen by raising China's (and eventually other Asian countries that are further behind).

The rise of China and India will significantly increase the global economy and the rate of technological change. There will be a huge long term market for our resources. Our future is not that of peasant food growers, but of wealthy miners and intellectual/technological leaders.

And this is all going to happen when?  Before or after the petroleum dries up and we are forced back to coal burning (easy with 80% still in the ground).

Who on earth can think that we can have a viable economy by equalising our serfs with the serfs of China and India?  Where lies any possibility of trade when there are no imbalances in materials produced and in incomes to purchase finished goods?  And if WE are the purchasers of finished goods - how then do we compete other than as a Third World Banana Republic?....

I recall Ahr Julia saying that 'Asians will become middle class consumers of high quality finished goods' - and we are ALL supposed to be rich miners, offering dirt to the factories and foundries for final solution - and make a massive profit by buying back those finished goods ourselves?

Look at the way our dollar is dropping NOW - and how this is affecting this womderful economy or ours and raising the price of those same finished goods right now.

Footnote:=  "wealthy miners and intellectual/technological leaders."  What - six wealthy miners and 500 well-heeled professors?  We are currently over-run and run by 'social scientists' - how then export their wisdom to the PTW (Previously Third World - dogs in the moonlight, man).

I'll be back when I finish planting out the gardens....

Shocked      Cheesy      Grin      Roll Eyes

ADDS:-  Looking above me at the bun fight - I see that the troll don incomprehensiblo has had an effect... Tongue Tongue
« Last Edit: Jun 22nd, 2013 at 4:08pm by Grappler Deep State Feller »  

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #29 - Jun 22nd, 2013 at 3:44pm

My fervent belief is that the One World Economy - designed and run to benefit the rich middle men while disenfranchsing economically those at either end - will end in a welter of blood and fire....(not the Salvos).

One in 16 working age Australians unemployed, times two part employed - minus those on pensions....

Massive and escalating social and economic divides.

Social disintegration due to a multiple set of reasons....

"The Boible says 'Beat yer armour into tractors!  I says beat your fruit grower tractors into armour!"... sorry Ned Kelly...

(Year 2189 ANZRS (Australian and New Zealand Restoration Struggle) Day:-

"..as the Parade turns into George Street, we see at the head the very much decorated Fruit Growers Armoured Corps, who fought from Mildura all the way to Canberra, never missing a single battle and holding Battle Honours for each stop along the way.. there they are on their Regimental flag... Batlow.. a terrible fight for the Apple Corps there and a steadfast defence for over nine months... next to that the Twin Pears of Stanthorpe and Orange, both terrible battles costing so many lives... Stanthorpe the Golden Cherry clasp..... Goulburn and Yarra Valleys and the bloody fight for Peargrowers Co-Op Hall, a moment in history that will live forever.... an truly illustrious unit passing by here now - with the President taking the salute humbly with bowed head for these brave men and women....these few survivors covering no more than twenty yards of this march.. but holding a high place in the esteem of the Australian people.....as the First To Fight, thus suffering enormous casualties until Australia joined in, and committed the Wheat Growers and the Rice Mill Hands, next in line....then from New Zealand, brothers and sisters in arms, the League of Sheep Shearers, now so few in number that they are grouped with the CheeseMakers and Cattle Hands, while the Forestry workers make up a small contingent right behind....They are followed by the much larger group - the Retrenched Factory Workers Division, famous for the Ford and Holden campaigns"....
« Last Edit: Jun 22nd, 2013 at 3:50pm by Grappler Deep State Feller »