On the brink -Could you live on 35 dollars a day ? (Read 5857 times)

Re: On the brink -Could you live on 35 dollars a day ?
Reply #15 - Jul 1st, 2013 at 9:44am

warrigal wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:26am:
Sir lastnail wrote on Jun 29th, 2013 at 1:19pm:
Life under a Tony Abort Government !!

Don't miss it !!

4 corners on Monday.

http://www.abc.net.au/4corners/stories/2013/06/27/3791178.htm

Could you live on $35 a day and pay for your food, clothing, transport and other bills? That's what single unemployed people are entitled to on the Federal Government's Newstart allowance.

Australia's economy - and unemployment rate - might be the envy of countries around the world, but it doesn't mean poverty and unemployment have been eradicated.

Welfare agencies say that many individuals and families are just one or two pay cheques away from financial disaster and homelessness. Worse still, with the mining boom coming off the boil, experts predict more people will find themselves out of work.

Next on Four Corners, reporter Geoff Thompson finds out what it's like to lose your job, your home and find yourself dependent on welfare. What he discovers is sobering. Ironically, while economic growth is generally good news, it's also pushed up the cost of living, making life for the unemployed even tougher. A Senate Inquiry report released this month concluded the current unemployment benefit is set too low. For many of the people Four Corners spoke to, accommodation absorbs most of their money, even with additional payments for rent assistance. Running a car and eating nutritious meals becomes close to an impossible dream. The result? Their world contracts and they can find themselves cut off from society.

Could you live on $35 a day

Yeah, But we are not supposted to do this, by the elitists in the comunity, we are supossed to disapear of the face of the earth and not be seen.

And Not live on their tax payers money.

A Topic for the wealfare forum, but it's been taken down by the admins here.

No, Health & Welfare is still up.

Just checked, it's working fine for me.

Reply #16 - Jul 1st, 2013 at 7:29pm

If life on the dole was easy everyone would be on it.

Reply #17 - Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:31pm

freediver wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 7:29pm:

The ones who would be content with little more than a subsistence living are the same ones who today drag their heels in the workplace.

From personal experience I would far rather the bludgers remained on the dole than that they come and work in the same team as me.

Needless to say, there are 10 times more bludgers in the workplace than on the dole queue.
« Last Edit: Jul 2nd, 2013 at 8:41am by Lord Herbert »  

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #18 - Jul 1st, 2013 at 9:20pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 1st, 2013 at 8:31pm:

The ones who would be content with little more than a subsistence living are the same ones who today drag their heels in the workplace.

From personal experience I would far rather the bludgers remained on the dole than that they come and work in the same team as me.

Needless too say, there are 10 times more bludgers in the workplace than on the dole queue.

Good point - and many bosses encourage it since anyone too good is viewed as a threat to them and not under their control...

Man - where is this country going?

AuschtraliKonzentrationsLager I - NZ is II.

Lionel Edriess

Reply #19 - Jul 1st, 2013 at 9:26pm

If work was merely work and you got a fair day's pay for a fair day's work, and you got a guaranteed payout at service's end, everyone would be doing it!

When, and if, do we get our pensions now?

Toughen up, Australia!

warrigal

australia
Reply #20 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:39am

Herbert you are the biggest most Ignorant person on this forum.

IF you expect people to work provide jobs to them.

Don't have a Job for a person, have a career for them.

There is a difference.

Have any of you Ignorants here actually watched the story from the link to th abc tv website, before you make any futher comment shere whatch the story,

It should be made compulsory for all centrelink staff, centrelink phycologists that make decession about people and all job network staff to watch.

The story talks about the assistance given by welfare support agencys, and in one case food vouchers given to the welfare recipient.

Then the go off with the welfare payment and there vouchers to buy food.

they come back and talk to the abc reporter about  what food they have got and what other neccessitys they have bought.

The reporter then asks how much money do you have left,and most of them only have $30 to $40 dollars left.

No one can continue to live on that for the remaining 2 weeks.

Here is the solution the Australian government needs to GET off its arse and provide Jobs to people, maybe these one year jobs in the Australian army jobs need to me made available to this age group of people rather then just the young, or those that haven't decided what there doing as yet, (those on the gap uni year after school or during there uni years.)

If you WANT PEOPLE TO WORK, MAKE JOBS AVAILABLE TO THEM, THEY SHOULDN'T HAVE TO WALK THE STREETS TO LOOK FOR THEM.
« Last Edit: Jul 2nd, 2013 at 7:40am by warrigal »  

If you can create a big enough lie about someone IGNORANT people will bellieve it.

The bigger the Arshole you are on this forum, the more right you have to stay.

Reply #21 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:05am

warrigal wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 6:39am:

You're only saying that because I'm a black fella. I'm still waiting for the rent on my land, Warrigal. I accept Visa Card, PayPal, and American Express.

There's so much work available that the government is bringing in 200,000 migrants and refugees each year to fill these vacancies.

The story talks about the assistance given by welfare support agencys, and in one case food vouchers given to the welfare recipient.

they come back and talk to the abc reporter about  what food they have got and what other neccessitys they have bought.

The reporter then asks how much money do you have left,and most of them only have $30 to $40 dollars left.

In my local  town centre there's a taxi rank, and guess who are the ones you most see queuing up for an expensive ride home?

The local dole bludgers and Disability Support Pensioners. Cigarettes in their mouths, shopping trolleys loaded to the brim, small dirty-looking toddlers by the half-dozen, and the inevitable carton of VB stubbies.

They live better than the working people. All day they're carousing at the local cafes with their mates. Cigarettes. Grog. Babies. Taxis.

I genuinely don't know how the hell they get away with it.

What I think is absolutely NUTS is the government bringing asylum-seekers onto the Australian mainland and then setting them free to wander around without any apparent source of income. 

That is a recipe for crime, rape, gang-formation, people-bashing, etc.

Reply #22 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:09am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:05am:
There's so much work available that the government is bringing in 200,000 migrants and refugees each year to fill these vacancies.

Refugees aren't brought in to fill job vacancies.

warrigal

australia
Reply #23 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:26am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 9:05am:

You're only saying that because I'm a black fella. I'm still waiting for the rent on my land, Warrigal. I accept Visa Card, PayPal, and American Express.

In my local  town centre there's a taxi rank, and guess who are the ones you most see queuing up for an expensive ride home?

The local dole bludgers and Disability Support Pensioners. Cigarettes in their mouths, shopping trolleys loaded to the brim, small dirty-looking toddlers by the half-dozen, and the inevitable carton of VB stubbies.

They live better than the working people. All day they're carousing at the local cafes with their mates. Cigarettes. Grog. Babies. Taxis.

I genuinely don't know how the hell they get away with it.

What I think is absolutely NUTS is the government bringing asylum-seekers onto the Australian mainland and then setting them free to wander around without any apparent source of income. 

That is a recipe for crime, rape, gang-formation, people-bashing, etc.

I WOULD SAY THE SAME THING TOO YOU HERBERT IF YOU WERE A WHITE ANGLO EUROPEAN PERSON.

You are one of the I don't care about people brigade, that is why you think it is acceptable for migrants to be brought in by the government for what jobs are available.

Your right there are jobs available, Employers screaming for workers, there just not made available to the job seekers that need them. like the man with the fork lift licence in the abc four corners story, that has too walk the streets dropping off resumes. and then only having $40 left after he shops for food, and picks up his welfare food parcel.

its just complete IGNORANCE of other people out there.

If you can create a big enough lie about someone IGNORANT people will bellieve it.

warrigal

australia
Reply #24 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:33am

Here is the solution for the Australian government to act on.

KICK DOWN DOORS and make jobs available to the job seekers. A job seekers gets a Employment placement in their skilled and trained area of work, like we had in the CES years.

Employers don't get a choice they get a person that needs to Work.

SIMPLE and effective.

No unemployment

Reply #25 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:59am

warrigal wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:26am:
like the man with the fork lift licence in the abc four corners story, that has too walk the streets dropping off resumes. and then only having $40 left after he shops for food, and picks up his welfare food parcel.

This is something Tony Abbott will  be fixing.

No more remaining on the dole queue because you can't find the job that suits you.

Here you have someone bludging off the dole because he insists on a forklift drivers job. He won't take anything else. He doesn't want a job where he can't plant his lazy arse on a seat all day long.

Well, Abbott's got news for this type of wanker.

No more cherry-picking the job you want. You take the job you're given, and if that means you've got to be on your feet instead of on your fat arse all day ~ then that's too bad.

You look for the job you want on your own coin, not the taxpayers at Centrelink.

Doctor Jolly

Reply #26 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:06am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:59am:
warrigal wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 10:26am:
like the man with the fork lift licence in the abc four corners story, that has too walk the streets dropping off resumes. and then only having $40 left after he shops for food, and picks up his welfare food parcel.

This is something Tony Abbott will  be fixing.

No more remaining on the dole queue because you can't find the job that suits you.

Here you have someone bludging off the dole because he insists on a forklift drivers job. He won't take anything else. He doesn't want a job where he can't plant his lazy arse on a seat all day long.

Well, Abbott's got news for this type of wanker.

No more cherry-picking the job you want. You take the job you're given, and if that means you've got to be on your feet instead of on your fat arse all day ~ then that's too bad.

You look for the job you want on your own coin, not the taxpayers at Centrelink.

Problem is, who would employ someone who will leave as soon as a forklift job comes up somewhere else.

In the end its a net drain on the economy to employ people outside their skill set.
Firstly it makes all their previous training costs a waste, and secondly the employer who takes them on will have to incur the expensive costs of re-hiring when they inevitably move on to their desired job.

Reply #27 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:14am

I've just received a FLASH NEWS REPORT from the Centrelink News Team that Warrigal has finally been dug out from his hiding place and is at this very moment being taken to a place of employment at a local factory in the city's Industrial Estate Complex.

Keep viewing for further news as updates come to hand.

The Rudd government has convened an Emergency Meeting in the wake of this tumultuous event.

The UN Secretary General is expected to make an announcement shortly as a result of these epic revelations. 

« Last Edit: Jul 2nd, 2013 at 12:38pm by Lord Herbert »  

Reply #28 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:26am

Doctor Jolly wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:06am:

Problem is, who would employ someone who will leave as soon as a forklift job comes up somewhere else.

60% of unskilled and semi-skilled factory workers are employed on a day-to-day casual basis ~ so the question is irrelevant. Bosses are used to seeing their workers come and go. I myself did casual work for 6 years before my permanent retirement.

Doctor Jolly wrote on Jul 2nd, 2013 at 11:06am:
In the end its a net drain on the economy to employ people outside their skill set.

It's more of a nett cost if these cherry-pickers are warehoused indefinitely on Centrelink benefits while they wait for the job they want.

'Multi-skilling' became the catchcry at least 30 years ago. No more petulance at not being able to find exactly the job you originally trained for. Today's Australian taxi drivers and bus drivers almost all have skills certificates that have nothing to do with transporting people around the place.

Reply #29 - Jul 2nd, 2013 at 12:44pm

jees you're all heart freediver.

Hey I've got a great idea for the government !! Lets bring in more cashed up foreigners to buy up properties that the locals can no longer can afford and lets give them tax concessions so they can't lose on their investment. A lets encourage them to ripoff tenants who are on the dole so they can use them to pay off their investments for them. It's a win win for greed !!

Hey but aren't they already doing this ?