Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14
Who Are The Real Bludgers. (Read 13974 times)
ian

Re: Who Are The Real Bludgers.
Reply #45 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 12:17pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 11:32am:

I got the 13 billion of write downs right didn't I, but using some flowery accountant speak you want to make out that it is nothing Sad
No you didnt mate, the 13b is the total loss to investors, not the total loss against housing.
just stop ignoring the real issue that negative gearing is a tax avoidance racket. What other investment allows you to claim expenses from a day job that is totally unrelated to the investment whilst owner occupiers have to take it up the arse from over inflated house prices and interest payments because dear old ian thinks it's his god given right to hoard more properties that what he needs to live in Sad

I have more concern for the massive welfare bill of 168 b which is clearly being rorted by so many rather than hard working people with actual jobs attempting tio legally minimise tax. If we create  a society which supports the work ethic like we used to have then most of our current financial issues in this country will dissapear. All people like you have is negativity towards the hard workers in our country but nothing against the parasites and free loaders. Australia has become a welfare dependent state, expecting hand outs, free houses the list goes on without any expectation of actually working to acheive these things. thats the real issue.

Reply #46 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 12:44pm

ian wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 12:17pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 11:32am:

I got the 13 billion of write downs right didn't I, but using some flowery accountant speak you want to make out that it is nothing Sad
No you didnt mate, the 13b is the total loss to investors, not the total loss against housing.

they are claiming those losses on their day job idiot. The loss to the tax revenue stream is massive !! Stop denying that it is a massive tax evasion scheme Sad

ian

Reply #47 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 12:48pm

Right, their day jobs, their actual jobs where they work for a living. And you must make a loss to claim a loss. Get it?

Reply #48 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 1:25pm

ian wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 12:48pm:
Right, their day jobs, their actual jobs where they work for a living. And you must make a loss to claim a loss. Get it?

yeh they had to buy some paint to paint their  investment property. Tell me which owner occupier gets those concessions ?

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #49 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 1:32pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 1:25pm:

yeh they had to buy some paint to paint their  investment property. Tell me which owner occupier gets those concessions ?

Which owner occupiers get slapped with CGT ?  I know I wouldn't want it, but since you are one rent payment off being homeless, capital gains on a home you don't own is no biggie I suppose.

Try an easier subject, this one way beyond your limited intellect. Since pillows also seem to baffle you at times, Im suggesting pencils, HB or not 2HB, what was the question?

Reply #50 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 2:45pm

BigOl64 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 1:32pm:

Which owner occupiers get slapped with CGT ?  I know I wouldn't want it, but since you are one rent payment off being homeless, capital gains on a home you don't own is no biggie I suppose.

Try an easier subject, this one way beyond your limited intellect. Since pillows also seem to baffle you at times, Im suggesting pencils, HB or not 2HB, what was the question?

only if they sell of course Wink

they have to pay tax on a profit they gained from doing no work just waiting for a capital gain. My heart bleeds for them  Cry

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #51 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 2:55pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 2:45pm:
BigOl64 wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 1:32pm:

only if they sell of course Wink

they have to pay tax on a profit they gained from doing no work just waiting for a capital gain. My heart bleeds for them  Cry

So will you be recommending CGT be imposed on home owners as well, or you just want to whinge and b1tch about not getting the write offs?

Like I said this subject is way beyond you.

Reply #52 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 3:28pm

Mnemonic... Quote:
Social security for everyone, including the rich, is a fair policy.

Wrong.

The rich are never in need of social security for the very good reason their wealth is enough to finance their lifestyle through various investments and leasing of property, etc, etc.

Mnemonic... Quote:
I just don't like it when the rich complain, because with all the wealth they have, I would think they don't have a reason to complain.

Wrong.

The rich complain when they see Socialist governments under Labor redistributing their wealth to the poor through draconian taxes and levies.

50 businesses go bankrupt in NSW each WEEK because of rental costs for business premises, business taxes and insurance, penalty rates and compensation for 'Mediterranean Back' sending them to the wall.

How many times have we seen stories of early retirees investing all their life savings in a franchise at the local shopping mall, only for this to go bust within a few weeks because the advertising didn't match the reality?

Mnemonic... Quote:
If you're rich, shut up about your problems because you're doing better than most other people.

I don't agree. You're taking a socialist viewpoint here. If the rich have legitimate complaints, then let's listen to them.

Just ask Bob Jane how easy it was to go from hero to zero in the financial world.

Torpedo

Reply #53 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 4:42pm

Quantum wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 11:47am:
So if someone who owns a company that makes nuts and bolts, they should employ someone who is trained to be a painter? They should then provided painting opportunities for this person while the nuts and bolts production comes to a halt because they can only no longer afford someone to makes the bolts. 

Yeah, that sounds about right, it would even be easier to just give the business to the unemployed to run it, may as well, since the employers don't really get any choice. So assign these employees in charge of everything: paying the rent, resolving customer relations, insurance claims/workers compensation, arranging loans, collecting debt, human resources, any bureaucratic government issues, PAYING TAX! - not to forget: BUYING US OUT FIRST, at their OWN Expense.
Oh no, they don't have the money.
Well, how about that, save it and TRY it when you have the money to buy. Just like we did. SAVED IT, by working hard, saving every bit to start this bloody business!!!
fckrs

If GST rises by 5%, then your income must also rise by 5%. Which means you will either become unemployed or underpaid. Choose wisely

BatteriesNotIncluded

MediocrityNET: because
people died for this!

Reply #54 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 5:02pm

The real bludgers exist off insider trading combined with inherited wealth!

It's also known as luck....  bludgers are defined as lucky... but of course we all know that!

;) ;)

*Sure....they're anti competitive as any subsidised job is.  It wouldn't be there without the tax payer.  Very damned difficult for a brainwashed collectivist to understand that I know....  (swaggy) *

Mnemonic

Reply #55 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:47pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 3:28pm:
Wrong.

The rich are never in need of social security for the very good reason their wealth is enough to finance their lifestyle through various investments and leasing of property, etc, etc.

It's not about need, but about keeping an advantage. Social security is like a clock that doesn't stop. It prevents the poor from being "left behind," but also prevents them from catching up to the rich. If everyone gets the same treatment, everyone will more or less stay where they are. The rich will still be rich. The poor will still be poor. The clock doesn't stop ticking for anyone. Nobody goes backwards.

It's not about need, but about stinginess. The rich always want to stay ahead.

Wrong.

The rich complain when they see Socialist governments under Labor redistributing their wealth to the poor through draconian taxes and levies.

Their wealth isn't being redistributed. They are keeping their wealth. Income tax isn't a redistribution of wealth. People with higher gross incomes will always have higher net incomes. Relative inequalities will remain.

Like I have said a number of times in different places, a market-driven system isn't truly objective. Pay grades go up exponentially. An income tax forces the relationship between income and effort/value more or less back into a linear relationship. If people don't like this view, it's because they love money more than the economy itself. If they really cared about the businesses they worked for, they would get a pay cut and stop complaining about taxes.

50 businesses go bankrupt in NSW each WEEK because of rental costs for business premises, business taxes and insurance, penalty rates and compensation for 'Mediterranean Back' sending them to the wall.

In that case they should cut taxes on businesses and do something about inflated property prices. Allowing people to become rich doesn't actually help the economy anyway. What does help the economy is allowing businesses to become rich.

If I was going to improve the income tax system, I would redirect a portion of income taxes back to the businesses they came from instead of the government -- provided they invest the money in something useful -- like R&D or purchasing capital goods. The government may have less revenue and be poorer, but at least businesses would lose less money.

Surely, a good, loyal employee would love to pay "taxes" to a business rather than a government? Cheesy

Of course, a huge number of people would hate the idea, from all across the spectrum -- from the high-paid Andrei to the low-paid tradesperson. The unions would hate it. Nobody wants a pay cut.

How many times have we seen stories of early retirees investing all their life savings in a franchise at the local shopping mall, only for this to go bust within a few weeks because the advertising didn't match the reality?

I think they simply made some bad investments there. If they had put their life savings in a bank, this would have been less likely to happen.

I don't agree. You're taking a socialist viewpoint here.

Is this an attempt to discredit my view? Cheesy

My view is more like "socialism for the people, capitalism for businesses." That's the way I think it should be. Allowing people to become rich doesn't help the economy. If they lose their job, they should receive the bare minimum required to find another job. Social security doesn't help people become rich, so that's fine with me.

In the meantime, the income tax system should be fixed so that a portion of it goes back to the business if it promises to invest it in something useful. Gross income should just be an ego-booster that says, "Mate, you did a good job there." It shouldn't mean the employee gets to keep the money. Company taxes should be cut for domestically-owned businesses -- ideally right down to zero. R&D and the purchase of capital goods should be subsidised to encourage innovation.

Basically for me, people shouldn't be rich. Businesses should be rich. In an efficient economy, the majority of people are poor and firms are bristling with activity and their coffers are full.

If the rich have legitimate complaints, then let's listen to them.

I've been listening to their complaints and most of them are for personal gain and self-benefit, not for the benefit of the businesses they serve. It's the "all about me" attitude.

Just ask Bob Jane how easy it was to go from hero to zero in the financial world.

Zero? Bob-Jane T-Mart's seems to be doing fine under his son.

Mnemonic

Reply #56 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:59pm

Wrong.

As for "socialism" under Labor, I think that's a misplaced label. Governments appealing to people's selfishness isn't "socialism," because socialism is about making sacrifices for collective gain. Like U.S. President John F. Kennedy said, "Think not what your country can do for you, but think what you can do for your country." Social security is one of those sacrifices. It's not a redistribution of wealth because if it was, there wouldn't be rich and poor to speak of in this country. "Wealth redistribution" is just an argument people often use to scare people into thinking that society is under the shadow of some fictitious socialist demon that has our worst interests in mind.

There is no socialism here. Wealth is not being redistributed. Income tax is not wealth redistribution. It's just there to fix the curve in the relationship between income and effort/value -- and higher gross income earners always have a higher net income.

Getting back to what we were talking about, social security isn't wealth redistribution -- not if everyone, including the rich, get it. If nobody is better or worse off, that means that no wealth redistribution is happening. The socialist conspiracy is the rich man's, not the poor man's favourite fantasy, because if it really happened, it would justify the rich man's propaganda.

If socialism was really happening, the rich man wouldn't be rich anymore.

Reply #57 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:19pm

Like I have said a number of times in different places, a market-driven system isn't truly objective.

What is?

Mnemonic

Reply #58 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 8:06pm

freediver wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 7:19pm:
What is?

It's not so much a question of "is there anything better?" The problem is people thinking they deserve every single dollar they get in their gross income.

Reply #59 - Aug 13th, 2013 at 9:08pm

Wrong.

Mnemonic wrote on Aug 13th, 2013 at 6:47pm:
It's not about need, but about keeping an advantage.

Nope. It's all about maintaining a basic living standard despite not receiving an income from a job. Period.

Their wealth isn't being redistributed.

Wrong. The higher taxes for the rich (49% in some cases) are redistributed by the government through Centrelink to finance welfare payments for the lower socio-economic groups.

In that case they should cut taxes on businesses and do something about inflated property prices. Allowing people to become rich doesn't actually help the economy anyway. What does help the economy is allowing businesses to become rich.

Wow. You're a full-blown communist aren't you? What you're advocating here is exactly, and precisely, and ideologically what communism was saying when it first started in Russia.

And it was precisely because no private person was allowed to get rich, that the entire country lived in dire poverty until communism was finally ditched.

Surely, a good, loyal employee would love to pay "taxes" to a business rather than a government?

Now I KNOW you're joking.

During the entire Industrial revolution in the UK, the poor buggers who worked in the factories and in the mines had to buy all of their needs from shops run by the companies they worked for.

Result: Their wages were ripped right back off the employees at the company shops ~ leaving them with little more than slave wages for a beer or two on a night off.

I think they simply made some bad investments there.

Not quite. Many are given false statistics as to the expected income of certain businesses in the local shopping areas.

If they had put their life savings in a bank, this would have been less likely to happen.

um ... yes. Well spotted.

It amazes me how many otherwise sensible and hard-working people will put all their financial eggs in the one basket, close to or in their retirement years, buying up a franchise to sell ice cream, or cut keys, or sell bric-a-brac ... and then soon to be seen weeping on ACA or This Day Tonight because there weren't enough customers to sustain the business. And they're forced to live in a caravan park.

Stupidity carries its own punishment.

My view is more like "socialism for the people, capitalism for businesses." That's the way I think it should be. Allowing people to become rich doesn't help the economy

That's Economic Marxism. State-controlled businesses allowed to generate capital for the State coffers ... while the peasants remain on subsistence wages.

My Russian aunt who I lived with for 4 years as a boy, escaped across Siberia to get away from the horrors of Stalin's dictatorship.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 14