Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 22
They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat. (Read 23007 times)

Re: They Are Simply Too Poor To Eat Meat.
Reply #150 - Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:27pm

Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:05pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:03am:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:32am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:36am:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:34am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:39am:
muso wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:33am:
There are examples where they pool their dole, share a house for next to nothing per person, smoke drugs and drink alcohol.

You sure we're not talking about envy here?

Do you think the government should try and stop people spending welfare on illicit drugs?

Through education?  Most certainly.

Exactly. Educate them that if they fail drugs testing they lose their welfare.

No, I certainly couldn't condone a draconian policy like that.

No, and those who do deserve to be removed from the gene-pool.

By whatever means necessary... Angry

because that's less draconian, right?

Reply #151 - Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:28pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:35pm:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:57am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:39am:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:29am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:18am:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:16am:
Oh how draconian - stopping people from using welfare payments to break the law.

Roll Eyes just terrible....

Would you also stop people who are not on welfare from using their money to break the law?

If not, why not?

It's not legal for anyone to buy and use certain drugs - you do know that.....don't you?

The laws are already in place.

Shocked

So, you're telling me that nobody breaks the law?

Really?

Where on earth did i say that?

Welfare payments should not be used to purchse and use illegal drugs. And every means should be used to ensure it does not happen, including drug testing.

Do drugs = no welfare - simple.

Do you have a point to make, at all.... Huh

Here in australia we are supposed to be presumed innocent. Subjecting so many ppl to drug tests when the majority are not using drugs is ridiculous and a violation of their rights. Should we test EVERYONE for drugs regardless if they are on the dole?

why do they stop for to test for drink driving? Or driving under the influence of drugs? This is no different. You want the benefits that come with driving, you accept the conditions ... you want the benefits that come with the dole, you accept the conditions.

FriYAY

Reply #152 - Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:42pm

Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:11pm:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 5:33pm:
Kat wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 5:18pm:
... wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 2:54pm:
This thread almost seems like a competition to see who can concoct the dumbest scheme to punish the unemployed.I can't pick a clear winner yet, but keep it up, you're all still in the hunt for the coveted title.

They're very good at that, but have yet to come up with one single thing which actually benefits the unemployed.

Not one. In the three-four years I've been a member, not one idea that would help the unemployed, beyond the old, tired 'Get a job' and 'bludgers'.

It's all abuse and denigration, but notice how petulant they get when I give some back, it's then me who's the worst in the world.

Poor Kat, always crying for your self... Roll Eyes

So what part of not taking illegal drugs, not smoking, not drinking alcohol and eating the correct foods do you think will be harmful to the unemployed?

Their health would suffer maybe?

Their budget, huh?

Their extended family, they'd suffer i guess?

The trees are blocking your view of the woods man.

Well, what sort of reaction did you expect, when you try to tar all unemployed as drug addicts, hey?

I'd bet that the percentage of unemployed who do drugs would be actually lower than the general populace.

If for no other reason than that they simply couldn't afford it.

As long as you (and others) keep trying to drag all the unemployed down to fit your (incorrect)
stereotype, you'll get neither sympathy nor agreement from me.

No, I don't begrudge an unemployed person the odd foil of pot, and never will. Their lives are miserable enough, they
are entitled to their relaxation too, I do  not, however, support the use of 'hard' drugs by anyone, employed or not
(so don't even go there).

And no, I'm not going away...

I expected you to address the points i made to you. I never tarred anyone, that's just a lie.

You bet the % - just like SOB - facts will do.

I'm not stereo typing anyone - more hysterics.

The highlighted bit was the only thing on topic......and you agree with me....ffs.

As for going away!! No one asked you to - it's not about you Kat, crikey. Roll Eyes

FriYAY

Reply #153 - Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:44pm

John Smith wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:28pm:
Oh how draconian - stopping people from using welfare payments to break the law.

Would you also stop people who are not on welfare from using their money to break the law?

If not, why not?

It's not legal for anyone to buy and use certain drugs - you do know that.....don't you?

Shocked

Really?

Welfare payments should not be used to purchse and use illegal drugs. And every means should be used to ensure it does not happen, including drug testing.

Here in australia we are supposed to be presumed innocent. Subjecting so many ppl to drug tests when the majority are not using drugs is ridiculous and a violation of their rights. Should we test EVERYONE for drugs regardless if they are on the dole?

why do they stop for to test for drink driving? Or driving under the influence of drugs? This is no different. You want the benefits that come with driving, you accept the conditions ... you want the benefits that come with the dole, you accept the conditions.

Don't do it Joan, it only hurts your brain trying to converse with SOB

warrigal

australia
Reply #154 - Aug 20th, 2013 at 4:00pm

Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 3:00pm:
This thread almost seems like a competition to see who can concoct the dumbest scheme to punish the unemployed.

Having to go into centrelink and sit with all the bogans is punishment enough, if that doesn't make you want to get a job nothing will. 

Unfortunately most unemployed people don't get to go and sit a centrelink, they are just ignored by centrelink in the hope that they will just disappear of the face of the earth.

this attitude doesn't solve the problem either.

If you can create a big enough lie about someone IGNORANT people will bellieve it.

The bigger the Arshole you are on this forum, the more right you have to stay.

FriYAY

Reply #155 - Aug 21st, 2013 at 10:04am

Figures......

chirp chirp...

warrigal

australia
Reply #156 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 4:03am

warrigal wrote on Aug 20th, 2013 at 4:00pm:
This thread almost seems like a competition to see who can concoct the dumbest scheme to punish the unemployed.

Having to go into centrelink and sit with all the bogans is punishment enough, if that doesn't make you want to get a job nothing will. 

Unfortunately most unemployed people don't get to go and sit at centrelink, they are just ignored by centrelink in the hope that they will just disappear of the face of the earth.

this attitude doesn't solve the problem either.

So it comes down to weather a unemployed person can afford to buy their accommodation, and then not be able to afford to buy food, or be able to afford to buy food , but not accommodation, and be forced to live off the generousity of other family members.

sad

« Last Edit: Aug 22nd, 2013 at 7:27am by warrigal »  

If you can create a big enough lie about someone IGNORANT people will bellieve it.

The bigger the Arshole you are on this forum, the more right you have to stay.

Reply #157 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:11am

Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:41am:
They've got no food cos they've blown their dole checks on cigarettes and pokies ... f#ckem!  Grin

Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #158 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:12am

Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 9:20am:
Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:47am:
Innocent bystander wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:41am:
They've got no food cos they've blown their dole checks on cigarettes and pokies ... f#ckem!  Grin

My God, you're an offensive little pr1ck, aren't you?

Go away, get some facts, then come back.

But if all you have are false stereotypes and denigration, pyss off!

Geeez whats up with you?, having a bad run on the pokies.  Grin

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #159 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:17am

Quantum wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 5:51pm:
Kat wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 4:19pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 3:36pm:
mantra wrote on Aug 16th, 2013 at 8:08am:
'The one discernible item in a family budget is food … so if you see lamb chops selling for between $40 and $50 a kilo, a working family on a tight budget can't afford that.''

According to figures from food relief agencies, about 370,000 Victorians will experience food insecurity this year - a term used to describe a lack of readily available, safe and nutritious food.      Sad

Even those who aren't on a tight budget would rarely spend $50 a kilo on lamb cutlets if they needed meat. Meat and vegetables generally are quite inexpensive at the moment and you can buy some nice cuts of beef at around $10 a kilo if you look for it.

Coles sells beef mince now at $5 a kilo if you're desperate.

Chicken wings are always around $2 a kilo and chicken breast is about $8 a kilo at the butcher.

Obviously it would be extremely difficult to live on the dole - but it's not necessary to spend much on food if you're careful about how you prepare it. Add lots of vegetables to any sort of meat and it can feed you for a few days.

There wouldn't be too many families living just on the dole. They get all sorts of allowances now which props it up considerably.

How true Mantra .. how true.

It's sad to see that those who whinge the most, do so because they blow their money needlessly on futile things such as cigarettes, alcohol and fastfood.  Little wonder govts are considering addressing this issue by monitoring the expenditure of those receiving social security payments.

Why do some people persist with this idea that we should have the right to dictate how they spend their money.

I couldn't care less, it's their business, not ours.

Despite what some may think.

Money given is different to money earned. An employer can't tell an employee how to spend their money because they have worked for it. A government can put conditions onto money it gives out.

All government payments are conditional anyway. You can't get an aged pension if you are 20. You can't get newstart if you have a full time job. Putting a condition of how much money you can receive as spendable cash and how much will come as some form of voucher is in no way wrong or radical. It is just the terms given to anyone wanting something off the government.

Considering the government tells people already how to spend their money (as in; this is how much of your money you are going to give to the government in the form of taxes and Levies), then telling people who are given money to live off to actually spend that money on things you need to live with is hardly shocking.

sounds sensible quantum,  the fact pecker disagrees with you means its almost certainly correct  Smiley

Reply #160 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:19am

FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:32am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:36am:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 9:34am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:39am:
muso wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 7:33am:
There are examples where they pool their dole, share a house for next to nothing per person, smoke drugs and drink alcohol.

You sure we're not talking about envy here?

Do you think the government should try and stop people spending welfare on illicit drugs?

Through education?  Most certainly.

Exactly. Educate them that if they fail drugs testing they lose their welfare.

Wink Wink Wink  good response,

Reply #161 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:22am

FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:25am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 11:16am:
FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 10:57am:
Do you think we should give people welfare and let them spend it on drugs?

What are your policy parameters?

Do you just want to stop them spending the money on illicit drugs, and that's all?  Would alcohol and cigarettes be OK?

What about entertainment?  Can they go to the cinema?  If so, are they allowed to see violent films, or just G-rated Disney flicks?

Would you allow them to spend their money on tickets to a Nickelback concert, or just Michael Buble?

Can they spend their money on junk food?  What about ice creams: can they buy their kids an ice cream?  Coke?  What about bottled water?

Undecided

Spending welfare payment breaking the law would be top of my list.

I'd gradually rule out cigarettes as well. Alcohol could be looked at in future.

And a facial metal detector test as well - people on unemployment should be made look employable. You rock up looking like a half dead vombie with a face full of matal - you're just not having as go.

If you buy bottled water you're a dam drop kick... Grin Grin

Wink Wink too true, i know one bludger who got F*CK  OFF tattooed on his forehead,  sort of rules out retail work

Reply #162 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:29am

If not, why not?

Shocked

Really?

Yes it is different. Drink driving kills ppl. Also everyone doesnt have to submit to get their license.

Reply #163 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 5:30am

FriYAY wrote on Aug 19th, 2013 at 6:44pm:

If not, why not?

Shocked

Really?

Don't do it Joan, it only hurts your brain trying to converse with SOB

Just goes to show I prolly made a point you didnt agree with

True Blue...

Reply #164 - Aug 22nd, 2013 at 7:05am

not unless you are a bogan like the rest of them... maybe you haven't realised this yet...  Undecided

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"

Benjamin Franklin

Pages: 1 ... 9 10 11 12 13 ... 22