12,000 natural attrition (Read 1161 times)

Re: 12,000 natural attrition
Reply #15 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:23am

Maybe they will be able to join the other 14,000 plus, that went before.  Thanks to Campbell ( the job wreaker ) Newman.      Sad    

But Crook - wouldn't you agree that a lot of public servants are overpaid bludgers?

imcrookonit

Reply #16 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:34am

Well if you want to look at it that way, the same could be said about any company.  Are there not good and bad everywhere?.  Is it not the same as bosses?.  Are there not overpaid employers?.  CEOs that get paid more than a division one lotto ticket.      Sad

#

A fool is certain: an
ignorant fool, absolutely
so

Reply #17 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:39am

Bobby. wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:23am:
[... - wouldn't you agree that a lot of public servants are overpaid bludgers?

Having worked in both private and public spheres, I reckon there's no substantial difference. The pay's generally a bit better in public service, but not substantially.

Sorry to rain on your onanistic parade.

Reply #18 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:41am

John Smith wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 9:35pm:
aquascoot wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:49pm:
i would never count public service job losses as real job losses as they dont exist in the real economy.
they are a win for the real economy , and as such, should be counted as a bonus.
we (the private sector) dont want to employ any of those public servants though, as they are tarnished goods. it would take years to retrain them in efficient work practices.
personally, they should all be parked in extensive 'work for the dole ' projects, and be made available to the private sector to do menial tasks like washing our cars, cleaning our toilets, maybe fetching the mail.
tony is aiming way too low with these numbers. i'd close canberra down and operate the country from kirribilli

and there is the reason why you'll never be put in charge of anything bigger than your vege patch.

you are indeed correct john.
the extensive intrusive and largely useless bureacracy is unlikely to fall upon its sword, even though this would undoubtedly be in the national interest.

still if tony can put them on a diet, whittle away some of the waste, make their lives uncomfortable , well, its a step in the right direction.

the smart business person  (ie  me)  just looks at the system. plays the hand canberra deals us. and gets on with flying as low under the radar as possible.

i spoke to some of my millionaire chinese neighbours about the election. they have 0 interest in it. theyre too busy chasing $$$$ to worry about such trivialities Wink Wink

Pantheon

Woke

Reply #19 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:29am

Rider wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:18am:
aquascoot wrote on Sep 5th, 2013 at 8:49pm:
i would never count public service job losses as real job losses as they dont exist in the real economy.
they are a win for the real economy , and as such, should be counted as a bonus.
we (the private sector) dont want to employ any of those public servants though, as they are tarnished goods. it would take years to retrain them in efficient work practices.
personally, they should all be parked in extensive 'work for the dole ' projects, and be made available to the private sector to do menial tasks like washing our cars, cleaning our toilets, maybe fetching the mail.
tony is aiming way too low with these numbers. i'd close canberra down and operate the country from kirribilli

Correct on all counts   Smiley

I second that..

[b][center]Socialism had been tried on every continent on earth. In light of its results, it's time to question the motives of its advocates.

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #20 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:20pm

Well if you want to look at it that way, the same could be said about any company.  Are there not good and bad everywhere?.  Is it not the same as bosses?.  Are there not overpaid employers?.  CEOs that get paid more than a division one lotto ticket.      Sad 

Companies operates to generate profits - so the analogy is incorrect

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #21 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:22pm

I don't mind if Rudd have a go at the LIBs with facts

But there are so many instances where he's outright lied

Natural attrition is not slashing yet Rudd continues with this line

There are no $70B blackhole and he continues with this line

While I admire Rudd's electioneering in 2007 - in 2013 he is a dog

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Life_goes_on

400kms south of Yobsville, Qld
Reply #22 - Sep 6th, 2013 at 9:31pm

# wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:39am:
Bobby. wrote on Sep 6th, 2013 at 8:23am:
[... - wouldn't you agree that a lot of public servants are overpaid bludgers?

Having worked in both private and public spheres, I reckon there's no substantial difference. The pay's generally a bit better in public service, but not substantially.

Sorry to rain on your onanistic parade.

I've worked in both and I'd say private enterprise pays way better than the PS. I did the whole grade system - levels 1 to 12 and left as a SES grade 1 to go to private enterprise purely for the bucks. The first job I went to paid about 70% more for about half the responsibility and a decreased workload. Granted, there's a lot better balance now, but the public service still has a big problem with people leaving to go chasing the bigger $$$ outside the PS - i.e. "natural attrition".

"You're just one lucky motherf-cker" - Someone, 5th February 2013

Num num num num.