Poll Poll
Question: Is this a legitimate use of tax payers money?

Yes    
  1 (5.6%)
No    
  17 (94.4%)

Total votes: 18
« Created by: MOTR on: Sep 29th, 2013 at 6:37am »

Brandis & Joyce claim costs for attending wedding. (Read 5426 times)
MOTR

Brandis & Joyce claim costs for attending wedding.
Sep 29th, 2013 at 6:37am

Two of Prime Minister Tony Abbott's most high-profile ministers claimed thousands of dollars in taxpayer entitlements for attending the wedding of close friend and Sydney shock jock Michael Smith.
It was a little less than two years ago and Smith had just left 2UE after a falling out over his attempt to raise allegations about then prime minister Julia Gillard's relationship with a former union official and the misappropriation of funds.

The shock jock did not have a best man. But two close friends spoke: George Brandis, then one of the Abbott opposition's lead attack dogs and now Attorney-General, and deputy Nationals leader Barnaby Joyce. Mr Joyce read a poem called Fair Dinkum Love. Senator Brandis made a bridal speech before dominating the dance floor.

According to travel expenses lodged with the Department of Finance, the duo collectively billed taxpayers nearly $3000 for flights, hire cars and incidental expenses incurred on the trip.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/ministers-claimed-costs-for-wedding-trip-...

Hunt says Coalition accepts IPCC findings

"What does this mean? It means that we need to do practical things that actually reduce emissions."

MOTR

Re: Brandis & Joyce claim costs for attending wedding.
Reply #1 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 6:43am

The disturbing thing is that Brandis thinks this is a legitimate way to spend our money.

Senator Brandis claimed $1700, including more than $1000 on return flights, $143 on a hire car and the overnight ''official business'' allowance designed to cover accommodation and incidentals.

He told Fairfax Media on Saturday that he regarded the wedding as a chance to ''foster collaboration'' over Mr Smith's work covering the then prime minister and the Craig Thomson scandal and it was therefore ''primarily a professional rather than a social engagement''.

''These were both matters of significant national interest on which I spoke frequently in Parliament and the media,'' he wrote in a statement.

The federal Department of Finance's guidelines state MPs are allowed to claim travel and accommodation expenses for official business including ''meetings of a government advisory committee or taskforce'' or ''functions representing a minister or presiding officer''. Meeting with journalists is not a purpose sanctioned by the guidelines.

"What does this mean? It means that we need to do practical things that actually reduce emissions."

True Colours

Reply #2 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 7:15am

How is this different to the Slipper or Thompson frauds?

When can we expect charges to be laid?

Reply #3 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 7:19am

True Colours wrote on Sep 29th, 2013 at 7:15am:
How is this different to the Slipper or Thompson frauds?

When can we expect charges to be laid?

1/ It's not Labor.

2/ There won't be any.

salad in

Reply #4 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 8:08am

It's like I keep saying: we have the most disgusting alleged politicians in the world. Al Capone must be wondering why he didn't register his crime empire as a political party. People expecting to insinuate the transcendent values of justice, honesty, decency and probity into our society via politics haven't made allowances for the Lib-NP, ALP or the Greens political gangs.

The ALP, the progressive party, the party of ideas, the workers' friend, is the only Australian political party to roast four young Australians in roof cavities. SHAME! SHAME! SHAME!

Reply #5 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 8:19am

its a low thing to do...it really is they should be made to pay back double what they have cheated us out of.

Reply #6 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 8:46am

They should each be brought before the appropriate Senate committees and grilled very thoroughly over why they think this is an appropriate use of taxpayers' money. Because it's not, they should then be made to pay it back.

It's not just these two doing this either. Abbott claimed $9400 for promoting his book, a sum of money that he has since repaid.

In Victoria the misuse of Parliamentary entitlements for private purposes is an ongoing major scandal that has resulted in criminal charges being laid against a former Liberal party MP, Geoff Shaw. If convicted of any of the 24 charges, he would lose his seat. If the Napthine Government then lose the by-election in this marginal seat, the government would lose its majority in the Assembly and would lose a confidence vote.

The ALP or Greens are probably doing it too although I am unaware of specific examples that are current.

Remember the major expenses scandal in the UK in 2009? This is what happens when expenses get out of control.

I do not care about party affiliation on this matter. I want all of our MPs, regardless of party, to treat taxpayers' money with respect and not rort their entitlements for personal gain.

MOTR

Reply #7 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 8:49am

Bam wrote on Sep 29th, 2013 at 8:46am:
They should each be brought before the appropriate Senate committees and grilled very thoroughly over why they think this is an appropriate use of taxpayers' money. Because it's not, they should then be made to pay it back.

It's not just these two doing this either. Abbott claimed $9400 for promoting his book, a sum of money that he has since repaid.

In Victoria the misuse of Parliamentary entitlements for private purposes is an ongoing major scandal that has resulted in criminal charges being laid against a former Liberal party MP, Geoff Shaw. If convicted of any of the 24 charges, he would lose his seat. If the Napthine Government then lose the by-election in this marginal seat, the government would lose its majority in the Assembly and would lose a confidence vote.

The ALP or Greens are probably doing it too although I am unaware of specific examples that are current.

Remember the major expenses scandal in the UK in 2009? This is what happens when expenses get out of control.

I do not care about party affiliation on this matter. I want all of our MPs, regardless of party, to treat taxpayers' money with respect and not rort their entitlements for personal gain.

At least Abbott had enough shame to claim it was an oversight.

It would seem Brandis has no shame.

Reply #8 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:00pm

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #9 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:07pm

Where is the conga line on this?

If it was about two Labor politicians they would be spluttering with righteous indignation, yet we don't hear a squeak from them.

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #10 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:13pm

So collaborating with a rightwing shock jock to blacken the reputation of the union movement is official Liberal policy.

What a surprise.

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

Reply #11 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:17pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:07pm:
Where is the conga line on this?

If it was about two Labor politicians they would be spluttering with righteous indignation, yet we don't hear a squeak from them.

To be fair, salad and cods fessed up....onya's

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #12 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:31pm

Bam wrote on Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:00pm:

"Senator Brandis has confirmed he claimed nearly $1,700 on flights, accommodation and a hire car, but says he attended the wedding primarily for work purposes.

He told Fairfax that he used the wedding as an opportunity to collaborate with Smith over his work covering the Health Services Union scandal involving former MP Craig Thomson."
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-09-29/michael-smith-wedding-barnaby-joyce-george...
=========================================
Give us a break, THAT'S WHAT A BLOODY PHONE IS FOR!!!
And, this guy IS NOW THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF AUSTRALIA?
That said, this happened in 2011, which was under Labor watch.
So, irrespective of who is in power, it seems WE ARE FAIR GAME, as far as all Pollies are concerned, just look at the string of both Labor & Liberal Pollies who have been caught (out in Public) with their pants down and then think about how many have tried us on & got away with it???

Reply #13 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 4:52pm

cods wrote on Sep 29th, 2013 at 8:19am:
its a low thing to do...it really is they should be made to pay back double what they have cheated us out of.

Yet....cods..............when it comes to Slipper and Thomson, you seem to have entirely different standards and expectations.

I wonder why these facts did not get Media mention prior to the Election?

You can bet Tony will do SFA because he had his nose in the trough for $9,000 he stole from us to promote his book.

john_g

Reply #14 - Sep 29th, 2013 at 5:17pm

Where are all the Libs going on about this blatant waste of taxpayer money?

Typical, both of you lot are as hypocritical as the other.