Poll Poll
Question: Does Capitalism Exploit Workers?

Yes, ofcause.    
  18 (72.0%)
No, it doesnt    
  7 (28.0%)

Total votes: 25
« Created by: Pantheon on: Oct 29th, 2013 at 9:31am »

Pages: 1 ... 28 29 30 31 32 ... 36
Does Capitalism Exploit Workers? (Read 59656 times)
Chimp_Logic

πολιτικός

Mawson Base
Re: Does Capitalism Exploit Workers?
Reply #435 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 5:46pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 2:00pm:
Grey wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 1:55pm:
It didn't start with banks it start with government.

Government bows to the wishes of banks and corps. When things go wrong it's the governments fault. No worries, the workers always pick up the tab anyway.

Keep it up free capitalists, doing a great job  Grin

http://awesomegifs.com/wp-content/uploads/dead-horse.gif

so you would rather live in a government driven socialist society like north korea and eat grass, then in a capitalist driven market economy like singapore and enjoy the vigor and success of capitalism.

i think you like capitalist society grey  and are happen to be a parasite on the hard work of business which builds all capitalist societies.  i dont see much to eat coming out of the ACT. just empty words.

Singapore is not a capitalist society

educate yourself about the general themes covered in this topic or leave like the smelly putrid scoundrel that you are

Mini Ice Age (2014-2029)
Dr Sircus cures cancer with Baking Soda and Magnesium - Jethro the MENTAL GIANT & his flute madness

ImSpartacus2

Reply #436 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 6:01pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 1:55pm:
Karnal wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 1:45pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 1:37pm:
|dev|null wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 11:12am:
Pantheon wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 11:45am:
|dev|null wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 11:29am:
Why don't you credit your sources?  Ayn Rand?  Yea gods!  Individual rights at the expense of destroying society! Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy

Google....Its really not hard, plus im on my phone and its difficult at best!

Your failure to address the point I made about Rand is noted.

Rand and other such advocates of capitalism attack the very basis of civilisation - collective, co-operative actions to create something which is much greater than the sum of it's individual components.  Without such collective, co-operative action, we would not have cities, we would not have edifices such as the Pyramids, the Parthenon, and so on across the world.  We would not have networks such as the internet.  We originally banded together for protection, now we band together for the synergistic effect of working together as a collective.   Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin

It's funny you mention the Pyramids and Parthenon. Egypt and Greece were slave economies. I thought "progressives" were interested in workers' rights? Hilarious.

Good propaganda, comrade. We progressives are interested in workers rights in developed countries. We're quite happy for workers in developing countries to be exploited so we can buy cheaper and cheaper goods. 

Bangladesh is little more than a slave economy too.

And this is progress.

possibly karmal, but after the recent factory disaster which killed many bangladeshi workers, the greens called for a boycott on the buying of clothes from bangladesh.
result, workers sacked and starvation and poverty.  the greens and socialist alliance nutbags rarely think things thru. they are, in the main, daft, naive and unhelpful.

Wow that"s some real clear thinking there. Bet you wouldn't accept that logic for your children or Australian children.  "Oh no whatever you do dont take any action to rescue them from slave labour, otherwise their jobs will be taken away and they'll starve to death.  Best to keep them in slavery for the rest of their lives".  Bet that helps you sleep in your Calvin Kleins at night. 

ImSpartacus2

Reply #437 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 6:18pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 3:28pm:
Karnal wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 1:45pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 1:37pm:
|dev|null wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 11:12am:
Pantheon wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 11:45am:
|dev|null wrote on Nov 7th, 2013 at 11:29am:
Why don't you credit your sources?  Ayn Rand?  Yea gods!  Individual rights at the expense of destroying society! Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy

Google....Its really not hard, plus im on my phone and its difficult at best!

Your failure to address the point I made about Rand is noted.

Rand and other such advocates of capitalism attack the very basis of civilisation - collective, co-operative actions to create something which is much greater than the sum of it's individual components.  Without such collective, co-operative action, we would not have cities, we would not have edifices such as the Pyramids, the Parthenon, and so on across the world.  We would not have networks such as the internet.  We originally banded together for protection, now we band together for the synergistic effect of working together as a collective.   Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin Cheesy Grin

It's funny you mention the Pyramids and Parthenon. Egypt and Greece were slave economies. I thought "progressives" were interested in workers' rights? Hilarious.

Good propaganda, comrade. We progressives are interested in workers rights in developed countries. We're quite happy for workers in developing countries to be exploited so we can buy cheaper and cheaper goods. 

Bangladesh is little more than a slave economy too.

And this is progress.

Hot Breath's insinuation was that Ancient Egypt and Greece were some kind of workers' paradise. Nothing could be further from the truth.

There was no such insinuation.  Mist, you really have a problem getting your head around logic.  How is referring to the marvels of the Pyramids and the Parthenon "insinuating" that Egypt and Greece were workers' paradise?  You serious?

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #438 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 6:40pm

ImSpartacus2 wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 6:18pm:
There was no such insinuation.  Mist, you really have a problem getting your head around logic.  How is referring to the marvels of the Pyramids and the Parthenon "insinuating" that Egypt and Greece were workers' paradise?  You serious?

Read this part of Hot Breath's post again:

Without such collective, co-operative action, we would not have cities, we would not have edifices such as the Pyramids, the Parthenon, and so on across the world.

So, yes, I am serious.

How much cooperation do you think there would have been between masters and slaves thousands of years ago? Human Rights and workers' rights did not exist. In fact, workers' rights only begin in the 19th century, and Human Rights arrives much later in 1948.

I would even reverse Hot Breath's assertion. I would say such marvels were created by using cheap, expendable labour, that could be replaced at whim without interference from rights advocates.

Chimp_Logic

πολιτικός

Mawson Base
Reply #439 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 6:57pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 6:40pm:

Without such collective, co-operative action, we would not have cities, we would not have edifices such as the Pyramids, the Parthenon, and so on across the world.

So, yes, I am serious.

How much cooperation do you think there would have been between masters and slaves thousands of years ago? Human Rights and workers' rights did not exist. In fact, workers' rights only begin in the 19th century, and Human Rights arrives much later in 1948.

I would even reverse Hot Breath's assertion. I would say such marvels were created by using cheap, expendable labour, that could be replaced at whim without interference from rights advocates.

You say a lot of things without even researching the context of some of these ancient constructions

the Parthenon for example was built out of the vision of the great Pericles who brought Athenians together

western civilisation is almost entirely based upon the ancient Hellenic enlightenment period several thousand years ago.

The Scientific method, medicine, Philosophy, Democracy, Literacy, Theatre, Sporting excellence, Comedy, Poetry, Art, Architecture, Politics, etc all have their origins firmly rooted within this ancient Hellenic period

And of course there is the other side of coin,. Imperialism, colonialism, high tech militarism, fascism, etc also sprout in a very unique form from this epoch.

The Parthenon was very much a long term design and construction project that involved pretty much everyone living within the city Athens and even Greeks from other city states

the Pyramids had a different context because their purpose was essentially to provide a final resting place for the Egyptian Pharaohs and Kings - ie a grave site or burial tomb.

Mini Ice Age (2014-2029)
Dr Sircus cures cancer with Baking Soda and Magnesium - Jethro the MENTAL GIANT & his flute madness

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #440 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 7:03pm

Chimp_Logic wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 6:57pm:

So, yes, I am serious.

You say a lot of things without even researching the context of some of these ancient constructions

the Parthenon for example was built out of the vision of the great Pericles who brought Athenians together

western civilisation is almost entirely based upon the ancient Hellenic enlightenment period several thousand years ago.

The Scientific method, medicine, Philosophy, Democracy, Literacy, Theatre, Sporting excellence, Comedy, Poetry, Art, Architecture, Politics, etc all have their origins firmly rooted within this ancient Hellenic period

And of course there is the other side of coin,. Imperialism, colonialism, high tech militarism, fascism, etc also sprout in a very unique form from this epoch.

The Parthenon was very much a long term design and construction project that involved pretty much everyone living within the city Athens and even Greeks from other city states

the Pyramids had a different context because their purpose was essentially to provide a final resting place for the Egyptian Pharaohs and Kings - ie a grave site or burial tomb.

Why do I have to know the context? How is that related to their slave economy? Are you saying slaves weren't used, and that there were workers' rights in these times?

ImSpartacus2

Reply #441 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 7:09pm

So, yes, I am serious.

OK lets take it from the top. Is it possible to have a society where people co-operate, produce marvels like the Pyramids and the Parthenon and yet the societies in which they work and co-operate are not a workers' oaradise?  If the answer to that is yes (and indeed the true answer is that it is almost never a paradise), then where is the insinuation that Egypt and Greece were a workers paradise?

Chimp_Logic

πολιτικός

Mawson Base
Reply #442 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 8:56pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 7:03pm:

So, yes, I am serious.

Why do I have to know the context? How is that related to their slave economy?

Context tells you whether workers have a choice, whether they can withdraw their labour and skills without retribution or penalty.

A slave works under duress, or force. There are punishments for withdrawing their labour.

Like Australia today. A worker cannot withdraw their labour outside an enterprise bargaining period without penalty. In fact, they incur $6,000 per day fines and eventually imprisonment. The reason for withdrawing their labour or striking is irrelevant. Their union can incure $100,000 per day fines with possible assets and bank accounts frozen.

These laws were only recently introduced in Australia.

Learn about the fascist Corpocracy that you live in before you comment upon other societies that operated under different circumstances and CONTEXTS - some thousands of years ago.

Mini Ice Age (2014-2029)

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #443 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 8:59pm

ImSpartacus2 wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 7:09pm:

So, yes, I am serious.

OK lets take it from the top. Is it possible to have a society where people co-operate, produce marvels like the Pyramids and the Parthenon and yet the societies in which they work and co-operate are not a workers' oaradise?  If the answer to that is yes (and indeed the true answer is that it is almost never a paradise), then where is the insinuation that Egypt and Greece were a workers paradise?      

This isn't going to fool me. Hot Breath's point was quite clear.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #444 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 9:03pm

Chimp_Logic wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 8:56pm:

So, yes, I am serious.

Context tells you whether workers have a choice, whether they can withdraw their labour and skills without retribution or penalty.

A slave works under duress, or force. There are punishments for withdrawing their labour.

Like Australia today. A worker cannot withdraw their labour outside an enterprise bargaining period without penalty. In fact, they incur $6,000 per day fines and eventually imprisonment. The reason for withdrawing their labour or striking is irrelevant. Their union can incure $100,000 per day fines with possible assets and bank accounts frozen.

Learn about the fascist Corpocracy that you live in before you comment upon other societies that operated under different circumstances and CONTEXTS - some thousands of years ago.

This is all a Red Herring.
Ancient Egypt and Greece were slave economies. Harping on about capitalists and their supposed fascism today has no bearing on whether Egypt and Greece were or were not slave economies.

Anyway, it's time for me to bail on this thread, as the lunatics are out in force again. Have a good one.

Chimp_Logic

πολιτικός

Mawson Base
Reply #445 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 9:09pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 9:03pm:
Chimp_Logic wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 8:56pm:

So, yes, I am serious.

This is all a Red Herring.
Ancient Egypt and Greece were slave economies. Harping on about capitalists and their supposed fascism today has no bearing on whether Egypt and Greece were or were not slave economies.

Anyway, it's time for me to bail on this thread, as the lunatics are out in force again. Have a good one.

....the morning mist coward runs away once again. Exposed as a delusional advocate of immoral corporatised capitalist fascism when cornered the great morning must does not stand and fight but rather jumps out of the ring and throws the towel in like a smelly putrid weasel freak.

Go on, get your beauty sleep you tray of crystalised sloth urine

Mini Ice Age (2014-2029)

Grey

Reply #446 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 9:54pm

aquascoot wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 2:00pm:
Grey wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 1:55pm:
It didn't start with banks it start with government.

Government bows to the wishes of banks and corps. When things go wrong it's the governments fault. No worries, the workers always pick up the tab anyway.

Keep it up free capitalists, doing a great job  Grin

http://awesomegifs.com/wp-content/uploads/dead-horse.gif

so you would rather live in a government driven socialist society like north korea and eat grass, then in a capitalist driven market economy like singapore and enjoy the vigor and success of capitalism.

i think you like capitalist society grey  and are happen to be a parasite on the hard work of business which builds all capitalist societies.  i dont see much to eat coming out of the ACT. just empty words.

Empty words you reckon?  Grin You should read what you write. Since when is a fascist monarchical dictatorship an Anarchist society? Or even a socialist one? Do you think everybody enjoys the success of a capitalist society? Capitalism defines success by how much money you have, relative to everybody else. Arfaviking has accused me of being a parasite already. I explained my ways and means which doesn't involve sucking off anything. It was like talking to dummy, unsurprisingly, he still goes on about me bludging off capitalism, as I expect you will. Business doesn't mean a thing, you can do the business being as ethical and generous as can be. Or you can be a cunning man squeezing out the last bit of profit from your customers and the last drop of blood from your workers. I'd guess generosity and ethics aren't things you could work into a sound business model right?

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

Vuk11

QLD
Reply #447 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 10:03pm

Grey wrote on Nov 8th, 2013 at 9:54pm:
Capitalism defines success by how much money you have, relative to everybody else.

Capitalism doesn't define success, people define success and they all have different subjective views. Would you not say the media influences peoples perception of success more? The glorification of money the glorification of celebrities, movies, bias news stories etc??????

I'd guess generosity and ethics aren't things you could work into a sound business model right?

Don't necessarily need to factor in ethics into a business model if there are natural checks and balances that force and incentivze it.

People care for animals which is why there are now products that specifically say "not tested on animals" and products like Free range eggs etc. Jamie Oliver did wonders when he went out exposing fast food companies and they decidedly changed their tune a bit.

Though it's not an absolute but people can only do so much with the information they had.

Chimp_Logic

πολιτικός

Mawson Base
Reply #448 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 10:10pm

capitalism, like other un-natural, inhumane,  inefficient, self regressive, self destructive forms of tyranny and fascist evil cannot, by definition, be morally defended in any society by any individual at any time and under no circumstances whatsoever

Mini Ice Age (2014-2029)

Grey

Reply #449 - Nov 8th, 2013 at 10:16pm

Capitalism doesn't define success

You don't win MONOPOLYtm by helping old ladies cross the street sunshine.

"It is in the shelter of each other that the people live" - Irish Proverb

Pages: 1 ... 28 29 30 31 32 ... 36