Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 
Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi (Read 5986 times)
gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Re: Woolworths getting nasty with Aldi
Reply #45 - Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:37pm

Torpedo wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:31pm:
Sophia wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:10pm:
I think Aldi's prices are amazing, and some of their products that are similar to the other supermarkets, I think are similar, in quality, but better in price, for instance, gluten free flour in a supermarket other than Aldi, is nearly $6, yet Aldi has it for under $3. I consider that Aldi are scrupulous with their products, and would not sell us crap, in fact, this computer I am on at present, I bought nearly 3 years ago, an all in one 22inch touch screen, and it's been brilliant! (Medion brand). It was $1100 at the time, when similar HP brands were $1800. Thank you Aldi  Smiley
Anyway, I do my shopping at 3 or 4 different supermarkets, I don't just go to the same one all the time. Too boring, I like to change course and go to different wilds of the supermarket aisles coz I can  Cool

I like Aldi's products.
Bread, dairy, raspberries! Eggs, cat food (my cat eats only silvester Smiley) ), soaps, baby nappies, hygiene products. You name it. Both quality and price - unbeatable. Not sure about shampoo, I can only use the one from pharmacy anyway, so who cares

Yeah, my cat likes silvester too, of ci\ourse he 'prefers' whiskas which is basically the same stuff, just a different label.

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Torpedo

Reply #46 - Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:38pm

Just as a comparison, woolies's home brand sour cream contains flour, I am sure of it, it just tastes "cloggy", this dry taste, horrible, yet it's still little more expensive than the one at aldi.
Not everything is quality comparison, in fact many things aren't

If GST rises by 5%, then your income must also rise by 5%. Which means you will either become unemployed or underpaid. Choose wisely

Torpedo

Reply #47 - Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:40pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:37pm:
Torpedo wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 11:31pm:
Sophia wrote on Dec 10th, 2013 at 10:10pm:
I think Aldi's prices are amazing, and some of their products that are similar to the other supermarkets, I think are similar, in quality, but better in price, for instance, gluten free flour in a supermarket other than Aldi, is nearly $6, yet Aldi has it for under $3. I consider that Aldi are scrupulous with their products, and would not sell us crap, in fact, this computer I am on at present, I bought nearly 3 years ago, an all in one 22inch touch screen, and it's been brilliant! (Medion brand). It was $1100 at the time, when similar HP brands were $1800. Thank you Aldi  Smiley
Anyway, I do my shopping at 3 or 4 different supermarkets, I don't just go to the same one all the time. Too boring, I like to change course and go to different wilds of the supermarket aisles coz I can  Cool

I like Aldi's products.
Bread, dairy, raspberries! Eggs, cat food (my cat eats only silvester Smiley) ), soaps, baby nappies, hygiene products. You name it. Both quality and price - unbeatable. Not sure about shampoo, I can only use the one from pharmacy anyway, so who cares

Yeah, my cat likes silvester too, of ci\ourse he 'prefers' whiskas which is basically the same stuff, just a different label.

See, my cat is very fussy, he will never ever consume anything low quality. And whiskas, not just little, double the price

If GST rises by 5%, then your income must also rise by 5%. Which means you will either become unemployed or underpaid. Choose wisely

Reply #48 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 5:52am

I've never given my dog Aldi food because I prepare home cooked meals for him.

One time when he was constipated, the vet said to buy a can of Pal, it worked.......straight up. What the heck is in that can?

Next time I will try Aldi canned dog food as a comparison.

Aldi shampoo and conditioner is A1.......it's got a Pantene look alike container, half the price and just as good.

Frances

In a Castle in the Hills
Reply #49 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:09am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 5:52am:
I've never given my dog Aldi food

I wouldn't give Aldi food to a dog either.....

Sure God created man before woman. But then you always make a rough draft before the final masterpiece.

Reply #50 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:43am

Frances wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 6:09am:
Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 5:52am:
I've never given my dog Aldi food

I wouldn't give Aldi food to a dog either.....

Of course not Mrs Andrei, not a bleck dog anyway.

Reply #51 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:16am

no, i wont shop at woolworths. i know 2 dairy farmers who have suicided over impending bankruptcy. they are an evil corporation.
my daughter managed an ALDI for 12 months. awesome company, extra good to their staff. she was on $26 an hour compared to $18 at woolies.
i will not set foot in a woolies or coles again. i will not buy fuel off them, play their pokies or drink their alcohol.
i urge all australians to think hard about $2 milk.  bad karma

Reply #52 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:41am

i usually pick up a road kill roo and cut it up for my fellow. he's as strong as an ox.  same as tinned food but not all those hydroxysulphates

Reply #53 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:05am

aquascoot wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:41am:
i usually pick up a road kill roo and cut it up for my fellow. he's as strong as an ox.  same as tinned food but not all those hydroxysulphates

full of worms though

Reply #54 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:12am

aquascoot wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:16am:
no, i wont shop at woolworths. i know 2 dairy farmers who have suicided over impending bankruptcy. they are an evil corporation.
my daughter managed an ALDI for 12 months. awesome company, extra good to their staff. she was on $26 an hour compared to $18 at woolies.
i will not set foot in a woolies or coles again. i will not buy fuel off them, play their pokies or drink their alcohol.

well we cant all do that but dont forget Aldi is still an overseas company??.. so what do Australians really want??.. we talk on the one hand buy aussie made...and then we have someone saying dont support aussie business

I cant say as I know what farmers are going through but I do watch landline..and the farmer that is surviving is the one that makes the changes..if dairy is n ot the answer for them  what about chickens.. or even sheep I can only assume sheep are dwindling when  I see the price of lamb..its ridiculous... I would say if you hang everything you have on one source you are begging for a fall....they pay people huge sums to get the cheapest prices..its called competition..and its tough..

athos

Re-educate barbarians

Hong Kong
Reply #55 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:00am

cods wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 8:12am:
aquascoot wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 7:16am:

well we cant all do that but dont forget Aldi is still an overseas company??.. so what do Australians really want??.. we talk on the one hand buy aussie made...and then we have someone saying dont support aussie business

I cant say as I know what farmers are going through but I do watch landline..and the farmer that is surviving is the one that makes the changes..if dairy is n ot the answer for them  what about chickens.. or even sheep I can only assume sheep are dwindling when  I see the price of lamb..its ridiculous... I would say if you hang everything you have on one source you are begging for a fall....they pay people huge sums to get the cheapest prices..its called competition..and its tough..

This myth and argument that Woolworths is an Australian company is ridiculous and misleading.
Neither Woolworths nor Aldi are manufacturing industries that produce goods in Australia and export oversees. They both sell variety of products that are produced in Australia and oversees
Only difference is that Aldi sells more quality products from Europe instead cheep crap from British colonies.

Do we need to be always politically correct.
In the world of universal deceit telling the truth is a revolutionary act.

imcrookonit

Reply #56 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:21am

Thank you Aldi for the good fair prices.  Please open more Aldi supermarkets.      Smiley

Reply #57 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:23am

Regardless of the likelihood of success, as someone has mentioned, I can see Woolworths pressuring one or two of its suppliers to launch cases against Aldi on the basis of similarity of packaging.
For instance, Sanatorium"s Weetbix looks almost the same as Aldi's Wheat Biscuits.
Of course, Woollies won't fund the cases or in any way get involved. It will all be a nod & a wink and an understanding that shelf space might be difficult to find if they don't play along.
These people are ruthless.

Reply #58 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:46am

bogarde73 wrote on Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:23am:
Regardless of the likelihood of success, as someone has mentioned, I can see Woolworths pressuring one or two of its suppliers to launch cases against Aldi on the basis of similarity of packaging.
For instance, Sanatorium"s Weetbix looks almost the same as Aldi's Wheat Biscuits.
Of course, Woollies won't fund the cases or in any way get involved. It will all be a nod & a wink and an understanding that shelf space might be difficult to find if they don't play along.
These people are ruthless.

What rubbish !! Aldis doesn't even sell Sanatorium branded stuff. Unless it's a direct copy of the artwork they have no case against Aldis. People go to Aldis to buy Aldis branded stuff at a good price and not some branded stuff at a ripoff price. Coles and Woolies need to learn that its all about value for money !!

Like crook always says drop your prices !!
« Last Edit: Dec 11th, 2013 at 9:55am by Sir lastnail »  

Reply #59 - Dec 11th, 2013 at 10:03am

F*@K WOOLWORTHS!

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6