Changing Beers... OMG! (Read 9098 times)
True Blue...

Re: Changing Beers... OMG!
Reply #45 - Feb 5th, 2014 at 8:16pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 7:59pm:
True Blue... wrote on Feb 5th, 2014 at 7:11pm:
Well,

im so angry I could spit...  Angry

trying to find Cascade Pale Ale on the main land can be a bit of a chore...

but when you find out that they have just dropped the number of stubbies in a Carton, back to 16 stubby carton of beer, but retained the same price as a 24 stubby pack, its all I can do not to fly back down to Tasmania Cascade Brewery and punch one of those CEO's square in the face...  Angry

same price less 8 stubbies... fricken thieves..  Angry

WHAT?  That's cause for war on Tasmania!  There's no such thing as a 'slab' of sixteen!

Bloody Tasmanian convict stock - steal the froth of yer beer they would....

Steal the hangover off the top of yer head while ye're sleeping it off?  Bloody pirates!

Pirates Of The Tasman - Thirsty Man's Half Chest.

Oh - the secret of whiskey is aging it in oak casks..... not in the bottle - doesn't age in the bottle - metho.

Oh I've given them a piece of my mind, don't you worry about that!!

I think I called for the CEOs sacking, or something like that... i'll have to reread my notes  Grin

"Beer is proof that God loves us and wants us to be happy"

Benjamin Franklin

True Blue...

Reply #46 - Feb 5th, 2014 at 8:16pm

Benjamin Franklin

Reply #47 - Feb 6th, 2014 at 3:51pm

Yeah go straight to the top Grin

But that's what all these product makers are doing

downsizing the quantity ... litres/grams/ number per pack

& maintaining or raising the price

Yet we have to listen to all these right wing Tory bastards telling us we aren't being ripped off it's all the fault of workers & their high wages. Roll Eyes Tongue

ian

Reply #48 - Feb 6th, 2014 at 3:54pm

2 words. emu bitter. Everything else is lolly water for girls.

Reply #49 - Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:12pm

I wouldn't eat Emu .... what makes you think I'd drink their sour p1ss? Grin

True Blue...

Reply #50 - Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:24pm

Gnads wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 3:51pm:
Yeah go straight to the top Grin

But that's what all these product makers are doing

downsizing the quantity ... litres/grams/ number per pack

& maintaining or raising the price

Yet we have to listen to all these right wing Tory bastards telling us we aren't being ripped off it's all the fault of workers & their high wages. Roll Eyes Tongue

im not sure what they are paid in the Brewery but they deservedly so should be on above award wages...

when the terrible fires came through tassie back in the ummm, 60s? i think it was.. maybe 50s  Huh Huh Huh the workers rushed to their homes and upon finding them already burnt to the ground rushed back to the Brewery to save it... unfortunately it too was alight and and burnt down... the workers then rebuilt the place and started making beer as usual..

these days people would just walk away and go on the dole.... bugger the company...

so the workers would have free beers for smoko, for lunch, and afternoon smoko... as many as they could drink in the allotted time... people would run from one end of the plant to the other at smoko's  Grin

today, now with OH&S laws etc.. those days are gone  Cry ...but.. the Brewery workers still get a carton of beer with every pay packet...  Smiley

Benjamin Franklin

Reply #51 - Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:32pm

The pyramid workers/builders went on strike when the Egyptians didn't supply beer at the end of the day.... with a life span of 23 they had to drink fast....

Reply #52 - Feb 6th, 2014 at 9:35pm

Reply #53 - Feb 6th, 2014 at 10:27pm

True Blue... wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:24pm:
when the terrible fires came through tassie back in the ummm, 60s? i think it was.. maybe 50s     the workers rushed to their homes and upon finding them already burnt to the ground rushed back to the Brewery to save it... unfortunately it too was alight and and burnt down... the workers then rebuilt the place and started making beer as usual.. these days people would just walk away and go on the dole.... bugger the company...

in the 50's and 60's the workers once employed had a job for life ..... these days the first thing the company does when trying to increase profits is say 'bugger the workers'...   Grin Grin Grin

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #54 - Feb 7th, 2014 at 12:07am

Does anyone know what happened to Red Stripe?

Jamaican beer, smooth as silk, but can't find it anywhere.

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

True Blue...

Reply #55 - Feb 7th, 2014 at 6:19am

John Smith wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 10:27pm:
True Blue... wrote on Feb 6th, 2014 at 4:24pm:
when the terrible fires came through tassie back in the ummm, 60s? i think it was.. maybe 50s     the workers rushed to their homes and upon finding them already burnt to the ground rushed back to the Brewery to save it... unfortunately it too was alight and and burnt down... the workers then rebuilt the place and started making beer as usual.. these days people would just walk away and go on the dole.... bugger the company...

in the 50's and 60's the workers once employed had a job for life ..... these days the first thing the company does when trying to increase profits is say 'bugger the workers'...   Grin Grin Grin

fair point John..

Benjamin Franklin

True Blue...

Reply #56 - Mar 12th, 2014 at 8:22pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jan 30th, 2014 at 7:33pm:
Cooper's Ale now - with the nifty little floaty bits from the tap in Adelaide...

would that be Coopers Sparkling Ale?

I tried some of this recently while out to dinner at one of our local fine restaurants... Smiley

they didn't have the cascade pale ale so the waitress suggested Coopers Sparkling..

I wasn't going to have it but after looking through the list decided to give it a go...

I was about half way through the drink when I noticed the floaty bits throughout the drink...

it was like a Christmas Snow Globe but better...  Smiley

i have since purchased a few stubbies and have really enjoyed them...  Smiley

they use no preservative or chemicals in making it using the "Top Fermentation" method with the secondary fermentation happening inside the bottle...

an excellent drop from 1862  Wink

Benjamin Franklin

Reply #57 - Mar 12th, 2014 at 8:24pm

Seriously you're only on Coopers Sparkling? Welcome to 2003.

Reply #58 - Mar 12th, 2014 at 9:03pm

In my experience the preservative free, good quality stuff does give you slightly less of a hangover. Eating decent food, keeping hydrated and getting sleep is probably more important. If I miss out on too much sleep it can feel just like a hangover. But if you drink too much, there is no avoiding it.

True Blue...

Reply #59 - Mar 13th, 2014 at 6:14am

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 12th, 2014 at 8:24pm:
Seriously you're only on Coopers Sparkling? Welcome to 2003.

1862 even... Wink

Benjamin Franklin