THE NBN WILL NOT COST $90 BILLION (Read 1959 times)
Fit of Absent Mindeness

We need more fits of absent
mindedness

Brisbane
THE NBN WILL NOT COST $90 BILLION
Feb 27th, 2014 at 11:59am

I don't think the Coalition should throw stones in wildly inaccurate houses!

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2013-12-12/coalition-nbn-plan-to-cost-billions-more-t...

$12 billion more, no promise speed and 4 years later while missing out on 27% of the population - SOLD!!!!!

As for the $90 billion claim

http://www.itwire.com/it-policy-news/govenrment-tech-policy/63161-maybe-we-did-o...

Malcolm Turnbull’s Parliamentary Secretary Minister Paul Fletcher has admitted that the Coalition’s estimate of the cost of Labor’s NBN was ‘perhaps a little high’.
Oh … THAT $34 billion! In the lead up to the last Federal Election, Malcolm Turnbull and the Coalition incessantly said that the real cost of Labor’s NBN would be in the order of $90 billion, compared to Labor’s own figure of $39 billion.

Turnbull’s Assistant Minister has now said that NBN Co’s internal review of Labor’s NBN costed it at $56 billion, still high but much closer to Labor’s figure than the inflated estimate the Coalition took to the election.

FOR THE LAST TIME, THIS PROJECT WAS NEVER GOING TO COST THIS AMOUNT AND THE COALITION HAS ADMITTED AS MUCH!

Putting the n in cuts

Re: THE NBN WILL NOT COST $90 BILLION
Reply #1 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:04pm

so the libs admit to deliberately lying with the intention to decieve, and I'll bet not a single rightard, who were soooo so offended by the supposed carbon tax, will come out and condemn the rabbid Monk and his circus fleas for this lie.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #2 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:05pm

For you lefty dole bludgers it won't cost anything.... Cheesy

It's only the 20% of individuals that actually pay net tax that will pay for it.

The opportunity cost of the NBN is cuts to other govt services as well therefore you can double the dollar cost.

Fit of Absent Mindeness

mindedness

Brisbane
Reply #3 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:07pm

Swagman wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:05pm:

It's only the 20% of individuals that actually pay net tax that will pay for it.

The opportunity cost of the NBN is cuts to other govt services as well therefore you can double the dollar cost.

Are you saying that non coalition supporters don't work/pay no tax.

If so, I must be out of the ordinary.

Of course why did everyone keep voting Howard in - it couldn't be because he bought voters with lots of hand outs and encouraged an entitlement mentality - could it?

I always thought that Coalition supporters were against paying tax, and yet you almost wear it as a badge of honor.

Congratulations you pay tax - do you want a cookie?

Putting the n in cuts

Reply #4 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:13pm

you keep telling yourself that, I'm sure everyone reading must think what a genius you are  ..... Grin Grin Grin Grin

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #5 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:21pm

Fit of Absent Mindeness wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:07pm:

I'm saying that a much larger proportion of Lefty supporters do not pay net income tax yes.

It's a fact that the majority of income tax is paid by the minority of people.  20% pay around 70% of the upkeep of Govt.

That means that the other 80% sponge off the 20%.  WHY? because they can.  The 'majority' are not going to vote themselves tax increases.

Congratulations you pay tax - do you want a cookie?

Ditto to you

I always thought that Coalition supporters were against paying tax, and yet you almost wear it as a badge of honor.

I don't know too many people that like paying tax.... Grin  There are plenty of you Truebelievers that reckon OTHER people should be paying more but pay effall themselves.

Progressive taxation is in effect slavery. Sad

mozzaok

Reply #6 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:21pm

3AW down here in Melbourne caters to the more gullible, Liberal voting section of the population, and promote lots of BS  to help dills have their silly beliefs validated.

Just yesterday, I heard Tom Elliot, son of ex Liberal Party President, John Elliot, explaining how bad the NBN is.

He explained that they have spent over 7 billion to run past 3% of the population, so Labor's NBN would cost more than 225 billion.
He also added that a friend of his has it, and it is slower than his old adsl connection, and costs more.

So, lots of lackwits will now believe that load of tripe he dished up to be facts, despite every single aspect of what he said being absolutely incorrect.

It seems very much like AGW denialism, where making up their own facts becomes the way to justify the holding of contrary and obstructionist views.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #7 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:25pm

John Smith wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:13pm:

you keep telling yourself that, I'm sure everyone reading must think what a genius you are  ..... Grin Grin Grin Grin

I don't really give a rat's what they think Smithy.  Some agree, most don't but that's just testimony to me being right... Wink

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #8 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:29pm

mozzaok wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:21pm:
3AW down here in Melbourne caters to the more gullible, Liberal voting section of the population,

So as a listener you are one of those "more gullible, Liberal voting section of the population"?  Cheesy

.........Or did the Centrelink office have the radio on whilst you were in the dole queue? Grin

Fit of Absent Mindeness

mindedness

Brisbane
Reply #9 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:35pm

Swagman wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:21pm:

I'm saying that a much larger proportion of Lefty supporters do not pay net income tax yes.

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/four-in-10-families-pay-no-tax/story-e6frg6...

THE number of families receiving more in handouts than they pay in income tax has jumped by 276,000 over the past four years to a record 4.113 million.

More likely to be families than singles or childless couples.

Please provide data to back up your opinion - of course you won't.

Who needs facts and data anyway - they might get in the way of your world view.

Putting the n in cuts

Grendel

Reply #10 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:37pm

3AW down here in Melbourne caters to the more gullible, Liberal voting section of the population, and promote lots of BS  to help dills have their silly beliefs validated.

Just yesterday, I heard Tom Elliot, son of ex Liberal Party President, John Elliot, explaining how bad the NBN is.

He explained that they have spent over 7 billion to run past 3% of the population, so Labor's NBN would cost more than 225 billion.
He also added that a friend of his has it, and it is slower than his old adsl connection, and costs more.

So, lots of lackwits will now believe that load of tripe he dished up to be facts, despite every single aspect of what he said being absolutely incorrect.

It seems very much like AGW denialism, where making up their own facts becomes the way to justify the holding of contrary and obstructionist views.

Really all totally incorrect?
You can refute it then with some facts eh...  that would be nice.

mozzaok

Reply #11 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:41pm

Swagman wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:29pm:
3AW down here in Melbourne caters to the more gullible, Liberal voting section of the population,

So as a listener you are one of those "more gullible, Liberal voting section of the population"?  Cheesy

.........Or did the Centrelink office have the radio on whilst you were in the dole queue? Grin

Thanks Swagman, for providing an excellent, and somewhat typical, example of the mindset of your average Conservative Political Party supporter, that being, SELF interest, is their only interest.
You see, this section of the population cannot comprehend that intelligent, successful, hard working people, can also have a developed social conscience, along with the ability to empathise with, and desire better outcomes for those less well off than themselves.

Righties however, prefer to falsely categorise those with a social conscience as "dole bludgers".

The fact that more than half the population does not support the same pollies as them, would mean there must be a heck of a lot of dole bludgers out there.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

St George of the Garden

http://tinyurl.com/n
3o8m2x

Reply #12 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:55pm

None of them would have read anything authoritative about the NBN—Lib talking points, the Daily Terror etc.

NBN could be finished for about $20Bn in 5 years.

Increase GDP, employment and exports etc etc etc.

I want Muso as GMod. Bring back Muso!
WWW Friends of the National Broadband Network  

Swagman

Illawarra NSW
Reply #13 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:59pm

mozzaok wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:41pm:
The fact that more than half the population does not support the same pollies as them, would mean there must be a heck of a lot of dole bludgers out there.

Yes indeed there are, as I said non-net income tax payers make up around 80%ish

mozzaok wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:41pm:
You see, this section of the population cannot comprehend that intelligent, successful, hard working people, can also have a developed social conscience, along with the ability to empathise with, and desire better outcomes for those less well off than themselves

Yes I am aware of those people, they are called philanthropists and philanthropists  provide charity.

Charity is given willfully.

Taxation on the other hand is just theft and progressive taxation is theft by duress and is in effect slavery.

Fit of Absent Mindeness

mindedness

Brisbane
Reply #14 - Feb 27th, 2014 at 1:18pm

Grendel wrote on Feb 27th, 2014 at 12:37pm:

Really all totally incorrect?
You can refute it then with some facts eh...  that would be nice.

What I posted earlier:

[url]http://www.itwire.com/it-policy-news/govenrment-tech-policy/63161-maybe-we-did-o...

Malcolm Turnbull’s Parliamentary Secretary Minister Paul Fletcher has admitted that the Coalition’s estimate of the cost of Labor’s NBN was ‘perhaps a little high’.

Oh … THAT $34 billion! In the lead up to the last Federal Election, Malcolm Turnbull and the Coalition incessantly said that the real cost of Labor’s NBN would be in the order of $90 billion, compared to Labor’s own figure of $39 billion.[/url]

Where is your data to backup this 225 billion claim then?

Putting the n in cuts