illegal Workers Rife In Rural Victoria. (Read 2575 times)
imcrookonit

illegal Workers Rife In Rural Victoria.
Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:05am

Illegal workers rife in rural Victoria      Sad

Andrew Rule
    Herald Sun
    March 27, 2014 8:00PM

Illegal fruit and vegetable pickers are rife in rural Victoria, writes Andrew Rule.    

THE man on the line thought he had an Australian vegetable farmer wanting to hire cheap illegal labourers on the black market. He was salivating over the easy money he’d rake off.

He could send people anywhere, he boasted. You want workers in Victoria or Queensland? Or England? He could do that, too.

When he realised he was talking to a reporter out to expose black market “gang masters” — not someone wanting to pay him to pimp cheap workers — he hung up.

It’s a shady business and he didn’t want to be caught. You can bet nothing much has changed since that conversation in 2009. The racket is still going strong on some Australian farms, not to mention building sites.

This week, Emma Field of The Weekly Times broke the first of a two-part special on illegal workers allegedly labouring long hours for low pay on Gippsland properties that produce tonnes of salad leaves.

Part one was carefully worded by the lawyers to say that one of Victoria’s “biggest horticultural enterprises” stands accused of using illegal workers in unsafe work conditions.

Part two, next Wednesday, will expose other properties exploiting the same alleged rort — and accuse compliant politicians and public servants of turning a blind eye to an industry that relies so much on “illegals” that no one seems to want to police it.      Sad

Field has spent months gathering fresh evidence at the East Gippsland end of a racket that is all over eastern Australia.

From Mildura to Bairnsdale, “illegals” have been packed into old houses and charged exorbitant rates for it. I have seen tumbledown dumps at Sale and Swan Hill where 15 people share three bedrooms and one overloaded septic tank.

Shadowy “gang masters” use fleets of vans to pick up the pickers at dawn to ferry them to and from properties. People being paid as little as $13 an hour are stitched up for rent and transport so that their “take-home” pay can be less than $10 an hour.      Sad

In the rare event of Immigration officers raiding them, more “tourists” and “students” fill their place.

Most are Asian, some are from the Middle East. Many are on student visas issued by questionable people for questionable courses. Others are on tourist visas and therefore forbidden to work in Australia.

It all hinges on a loophole: growers and orchardists retain the “contractors” to provide labour and the contractors employ the workers. This puts a “firewall” between growers and workers.

The “illegals” tolerate bad conditions because they fear being deported. But they can be working an angle, too.

Bogus students pay for dodgy courses, hoping to qualify for permanent residency as they work under the radar. It’s migration by stealth, with the silent collusion of everybody who stands to make money. The racket is an open secret. Around Sale, Shepparton, Swan Hill and Mildura, locals quietly point out the shabby, overcrowded houses and the white vans with the darkened windows.   Sad      

Everybody knows why the pickers tend to wear not just hats and sunglasses but other headgear that obscures their faces.

Everyone knows that a house worth between nothing and $200 a week is charged out at $80 a head or more — effectively extorting more than $1000 a week.

In Britain, where 23 Chinese illegal immigrants were drowned while gathering shellfish in 2004, at least the black market racketeers can get up to 10 years’ jail. Here, they seem to get a nod and a wink.

AND those running properties where the suspected illegal workers toil don’t seem to have to endure much more than occasional negative publicity and criticism by frustrated union officials.      Sad

The contractors and owners mostly have the workers bluffed and docile. There have been exceptions.

“It’s the wild west out there in the season,” a contact once told me about the summer picking season in the Swan Hill district. “The pickers are covered up so you see nothing but their eyes and if someone official turns up they scatter and run.”

One farmer up that way was known as a hard man who stood over “illegals”, refusing to pay the agreed amount after weeks of work, knowing they were too frightened of being caught and deported to resist.      Sad   

But he met his match when he tried the same tactics on some Irish, English and German backpackers. They chased him and broke the lights and aerials on his vehicle. Since then, locals say, he hires only non-English speakers.

Another notorious grower, north of Nyah, goes further. He hires illegal workers, doesn’t pay them for several weeks then secretly informs the Immigration Department so the workers get arrested at night and taken away.

The grower gets free labour. The department gets arrests. Everyone’s a winner except the workers. But they keep coming.      Sad

Let’s see what the politicians and bureaucrats say about it when The Weekly Times hits the doorstep with more allegations next week.

Re: illegal Workers Rife In Rural Victoria.
Reply #1 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:11am

maybe put the fruit growers in jail... what do you think crook????..

I mean god these did you call them illegals... dont pay union fees do they.?

King FriYAY II

Reply #2 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:12am

I could take you to places using illegals right now.

I could take you to places that never abide by any OHS rules.

I could take you to places that treat their staff like absolute crap.

Out of sight out of mind…..
« Last Edit: Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:36am by King FriYAY II »  

St George of the Garden

http://tinyurl.com/n
3o8m2x

Reply #3 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:17am

cods wrote on Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:11am:
maybe put the fruit growers in jail... what do you think crook????..

I mean god these did you call them illegals... dont pay union fees do they.?

No, he didn’t call them illegals, the article he quoted did. D’uh! I bet the German and Irish pickers were illegals—visa overstayers.

Maybe they don’t pay tax either.

I want Muso as GMod. Bring back Muso!
WWW Friends of the National Broadband Network  

Reply #4 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:47am

Asylum seekers arriving by boat are not illegals. It is not illegal to seek asylum.

People working in Australia without a valid visa are the REAL illegals.

If Morrison was serious, he would crack down hard on this practice. Why isn't he?

Reply #5 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:54am

Dear Crook,
how come you haven't upgraded yourself to Lord Crook or maybe Sir Crook?

What  if one of those illegal workers has an accident?
Are they protected by "workcover" ?

imcrookonit

Reply #6 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:04am

No Sir Bobby, I will not put myself above the good people.  Crook will be fine.  These workers would not be protected by workcover.      Sad

tickleandrose

Reply #7 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:06am

Well, at the very least the students are trying to earn something with their labour.  It is not like they are picking opium poppies.  I think we need more of these than dole bludgers who wont even do that. 

I once saw a TV show on this topic.  The land owners needed those workers, otherwise their fruit would just rot on the trees. 

And another thing is that if you are granted student visa, I think you can actually work part time anyway - 40 hours a fortnight or something.

Reply #8 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:07am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 28th, 2014 at 8:54am:
Dear Crook,
how come you haven't upgraded yourself to Lord Crook or maybe Sir Crook?

What  if one of those illegal workers has an accident?
Are they protected by "workcover" ?

he is really letting the darkside down isnt he??

it wont be long hes about the only one left...pathetic.

its all abbotts fault anyway and if one gets injured they will be killed and buried and who will be any the wiser....

we have no knowledge of them being here.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

aint that a fact.

Reply #9 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:07am

No Sir Bobby, I will not put myself above the good people.  Crook will be fine.  These workers would not be protected by workcover.      Sad      

Yes - you're not the type to kiss the Queen's bum.

Workers are exploited by Libbo capitalists.

Reply #10 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:09am

tickleandrose wrote on Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:06am:
Well, at the very least the students are trying to earn something with their labour.  It is not like they are picking opium poppies.  I think we need more of these than dole bludgers who wont even do that. 

I once saw a TV show on this topic.  The land owners needed those workers, otherwise their fruit would just rot on the trees. 

And another thing is that if you are granted student visa, I think you can actually work part time anyway - 40 hours a fortnight or something.   

gillard made it legal for fruit growers to bring in pickers from o/seas... was that another pear shaped idea from the left.. that didnt work.

imcrookonit

Reply #11 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:10am

How good it would be, if people were paid no less than the minimum award rates of pay.      Sad

Reply #12 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:20am

tickleandrose wrote on Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:06am:

Predictable baseless dole bludger smear. You obviously don't know that fruit and vegetable pickers are paid a piece rate. The more they pick, the more they earn.

You've also not said a word against these criminals who are using illegal labour to undercut their honest competitors.

Reply #13 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:22am

You provide aid and comfort to the poor. Methinks you are a saint without title.

tickleandrose

Reply #14 - Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:23am

gillard made it legal for fruit growers to bring in pickers from o/seas... was that another pear shaped idea from the left.. that didnt work.

Ah! I remember something along these lines, although I am not sure which government.  There was a ACA segment on this issue before.  On one side, they had fruit growers who talked about how no local Australians wanted to do this despite months of advertising, and that their fruits are rotting.   On the other, they had an Australian youth looking for work, but couldnt find any. 

I guess the government took the fruit grower's words.   But does this only happen in Victoria?  What about other states?
« Last Edit: Mar 28th, 2014 at 9:43am by tickleandrose »