Pages: 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 ... 42
The state of Queensland. (Read 51467 times)

Re: The state of Queensland.
Reply #495 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 7:37am

There are 4 seats still to be 'called.'

Lockyer.  Pauline is back in with a chance.  It is held by the LNP and with 83.9% counted, Pauline is 214 votes behind.  The ABC call it as 'in doubt.'  This does not worry the ALP because if Pauline wins, it is one less seat for the LNP. 

Maryborough.  The ALP look clear.  It is held by the LNP and with 85.3% counted, the ALP are ahead by 831 votes.  The ABC call it as a likely ALP win.

Mount Ommeney.  Held by the LNP and with 85.9% counted, the ALP trail by 367 votes.  The ABC call it as a likely LNP win.

Whitsunday.  Held by the LNP and with 83% counted, the ALP trail by just 88 votes.  The ABC call it as 'in doubt.'

Today, the three minor party people are expected to indicate who they will support.

Edit:

It is clear:

ALP have 43 seats.
LNP have 39 seats.
KAP have  2 seats
Ind. has   1 seat.

Total decided = 85, so those 4 above yet to clarify.

I reckon the ALP have Maryborough, taking them to 44.  I'm pretty confident the Independant, Willington (Nicklin) will support the ALP, giving them the magic 45.

On  seats, the best the LNP can do is 42 assuming they win Lockyer, Mount Ommeney and Whitsunday.  They would then need all three of the 'minor's to get to 45.  Unlikely they will get Willington.

BUT:

Ferny Grove.  The ALP have taken this off the LNP.  It is this seat where the PUP candidate was not qualified.  As at 8.23am this morning, the ALP were ahead by 509 votes with 82.6% counted.  The PUP bloke had 836 votes.  I doubt there will be a by-election.  They will be able to work out how many of that 836 nominated preferences, but who really knows.  The likely result of a by-election when things are so critical would  be very hard to call.

« Last Edit: Feb 5th, 2015 at 8:57am by Aussie »  

St George of the Garden

http://tinyurl.com/n
3o8m2x

Reply #496 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 8:18am

Pauline probably won’t get back in front—independents and minor parties lack the machine behind them manning prepoll booths, garnering postal votes by visiting nursing homes and the like.

I want Muso as GMod. Bring back Muso!
WWW Friends of the National Broadband Network  

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #497 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 8:27am

aquascoot wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 6:48am:
Emma wrote on Feb 4th, 2015 at 11:29pm:
Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on Feb 4th, 2015 at 11:23pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Feb 4th, 2015 at 11:21pm:
Indeed!  During the twelve year drought we suffered here... many governments looked for alternative ways of getting water to the people...

So - when the next twelve year drought cycle comes along.....

Are you still going to criticise desalination and other plants?

During the drought we looked into local history - a friend or two just up the road are descendants of the original settlers here - their family history books show a drought cycle...

Get used to it - this is a country of rain or drought...... and stop criticising governments for trying to ensure water supply to your grand-children...

Good propaganda, Comrade. Should we "progressives" also stop criticising businesses for supplying jobs? I think not - socialism or death! This is progress.

Err umm  PMT2 ?  Go take a Bex and lie down. You are obviously overtired.  Smiley

I reckon PMT 2 could down a bottle of johnny walker red, 10 rohypnols, be water-boarded, sleep deprived for 7 days, have a general anaesthetic and a gun shot wound to the head and he would still whoop your sorry ass in a debate Cheesy Cheesy

Whup my ass?  Why he's just flyin' my shadow... and waiting for the axe to fall.... that's the other shadow he sees above him..

He offers not one solid thing, just his endless finger-pointing rants about 'progress' and comrades who don't exist.  How is that 'debate'?  You can build no foundation for debate on unproven assumptions and arbitrary name-calling.... after that any house of words built upon that shifting sand will collapse instantly of its own accord.

Does he bribe the judges or something?

Reply #498 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 9:28am

Indeed!  During the twelve year drought we suffered here... many governments looked for alternative ways of getting water to the people...

During the drought we looked into local history - a friend or two just up the road are descendants of the original settlers here - their family history books show a drought cycle...

Get used to it - this is a country of rain or drought...... and stop criticising governments for trying to ensure water supply to your grand-children...

Good propaganda, Comrade. Should we "progressives" also stop criticising businesses for supplying jobs? I think not - socialism or death! This is progress.

Err umm  PMT2 ?  Go take a Bex and lie down. You are obviously overtired.  Smiley

I reckon PMT 2 could down a bottle of johnny walker red, 10 rohypnols, be water-boarded, sleep deprived for 7 days, have a general anaesthetic and a gun shot wound to the head and he would still whoop your sorry ass in a debate Cheesy Cheesy

that's because you're just as deluded as he is, therefore his rants actually make sense to you. No one else would even for a minute contemplate calling them debate

polite_gandalf

Reply #499 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 9:51am

Aussie wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 7:37am:

Lockyer.  Pauline is back in with a chance.  It is held by the LNP and with 83.9% counted, Pauline is 214 votes behind.  The ABC call it as 'in doubt.'  This does not worry the ALP because if Pauline wins, it is one less seat for the LNP. 

Maryborough.  The ALP look clear.  It is held by the LNP and with 85.3% counted, the ALP are ahead by 831 votes.  The ABC call it as a likely ALP win.

Mount Ommeney.  Held by the LNP and with 85.9% counted, the ALP trail by 367 votes.  The ABC call it as a likely LNP win.

Whitsunday.  Held by the LNP and with 83% counted, the ALP trail by just 88 votes.  The ABC call it as 'in doubt.'

Today, the three minor party people are expected to indicate who they will support.

Edit:

It is clear:

ALP have 43 seats.
LNP have 39 seats.
KAP have  2 seats
Ind. has   1 seat.

Total decided = 85, so those 4 above yet to clarify.

I reckon the ALP have Maryborough, taking them to 44.  I'm pretty confident the Independant, Willington (Nicklin) will support the ALP, giving them the magic 45.

On  seats, the best the LNP can do is 42 assuming they win Lockyer, Mount Ommeney and Whitsunday.  They would then need all three of the 'minor's to get to 45.  Unlikely they will get Willington.

BUT:

Ferny Grove.  The ALP have taken this off the LNP.  It is this seat where the PUP candidate was not qualified.  As at 8.23am this morning, the ALP were ahead by 509 votes with 82.6% counted.  The PUP bloke had 836 votes.  I doubt there will be a by-election.  They will be able to work out how many of that 836 nominated preferences, but who really knows.  The likely result of a by-election when things are so critical would  be very hard to call.

Is Ferny Grove included in the 43 already "secured" by labor?

Poll Bludger noted a considerable narrowing in whitsunday in favour of labor yesterday - though they are still projected to narrowly lose.

I think the ABC projections are one by one being vindicated. For example Ferny Grove was given to labor from the very beginning. They seemed to be premature, but one by one they are all proving to have been right all along.

A resident Islam critic who claims to represent western values said:
Outlawing the enemy's uniform - hijab, islamic beard - is not depriving one's own people of their freedoms.

Reply #500 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 9:53am

Yes, Ferny Grove has been 'given' to the ALP.

Reply #501 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 9:58am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 8:27am:

Whup my ass?  Why he's just flyin' my shadow... and waiting for the axe to fall.... that's the other shadow he sees above him..

He offers not one solid thing, just his endless finger-pointing rants about 'progress' and comrades who don't exist.  How is that 'debate'?  You can build no foundation for debate on unproven assumptions and arbitrary name-calling.... after that any house of words built upon that shifting sand will collapse instantly of its own accord.

Does he bribe the judges or something?

In the same way karmals praise of Mr Abbott is cutting and satirical (because it is basicly true) ,
then PMT 2's references to feminists, muslims and other victim groups is cutting and satirical (because it is basicly true).

you see, those 2 and myself can see the irony of the idealogues.

We need a PMT2 in parliament to point out that "the emperor truly does have no clothes" Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #502 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:25am

Bam wrote on Feb 3rd, 2015 at 10:36am:
St George of the Garden wrote on Feb 3rd, 2015 at 10:20am:
Not only that, it is the top end of town get all the handouts:

Not all the handouts, but a lot more than they need.

(note: I rearranged the bullet points for ease of discussion)
–diesel fuel rebate
–concessionary tax rate on super contributions, since Howard the super rich can avoid huge amounts of tax
–negative gearing
–concessionary capital gains tax

All of which need to be looked at in the quest for balancing the budget.

–get away with transfer pricing
–“Australia tax”

Multinational taxation is a world-wide scourge. The government have identified it as a problem but they are all talk and no walk. What have they done? Nothing!

–churches not taxed

Abolish the tax-free status of religious institutions. Allow genuine charitable works to be deducted against the tax at full value. Genuine charities would be unaffected (as long as they spend at least 30% of their income on charitable works) but sham religious organisations that do no real charitable works would start being taxed. Hillsong would be a case in point - $50 million income, $2 million in "charity" (at the most), no tax paid.

This is another area where a Royal Commission is needed.

Re: your last paragraph..... Not just Hillsong...... The scam of Halal certification by Islamic organisations leave them for dead. They are making multi millions of dollars from this rort & as a so called "religion" would be raking this in tax free. Globally in the western world this scam is making a conservative estimate of $700 billion. Polititical correctness needs to take a back seat & this racket bought to a halt.

Reply #503 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:27am

aquascoot wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 9:58am:
In the same way karmals praise of Mr Abbott is cutting and satirical (because it is basicly true) ,then PMT 2's references to feminists, muslims and other victim groups is cutting and satirical (because it is basicly true).

Not even close. Karnal mostly keeps his comments relevant and in context. He doesn't just repeat the same thing over and over on every thread. That takes a certain amount of talent.

Misty on the other hand repeats the same crap on EVERY thread regardless of context. That requires ZERO talent, even my budgie can do that.

Reply #504 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:32am

No surprise, but good to hear.  Wellington (Nicklin Independant) has just announced he will support the ALP.

Win Maryborough which is probable, then  the ALP have the magic number of 45.

(Subject to Ferny Grove.)

Reply #505 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:33am

We need a PMT2 in parliament ...

There aren't any vacancies, at the moment.

http://www.canberratimes.com.au/national/public-service/prime-minister-tony-abbo...

Reply #506 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:36am

John Smith wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:27am:
In the same way karmals praise of Mr Abbott is cutting and satirical (because it is basicly true) ,then PMT 2's references to feminists, muslims and other victim groups is cutting and satirical (because it is basicly true).

Not even close. Karnal mostly keeps his comments relevant and in context. He doesn't just repeat the same thing over and over on every thread. That takes a certain amount of talent.

Misty on the other hand repeats the same crap on EVERY thread regardless of context. That requires ZERO talent, even my budgie can do that.

good propaganda comrade.
does your budgie tune in to the leftist elite media Cheesy

Reply #507 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:37am

greggerypeccary wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:33am:

ah, those poor unemployed honkys in broadmeadows.  why are they victimised so.

Reply #508 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 11:26am

Aussie wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 7:37am:

It looks like the ALP will get to 44 seats, one short of a majority.

The independent has already indicated that he will support the ALP.

I expect the KAP members to support the ALP as well, perhaps in exchange for some condition that provides some support for regional Queensland. I don't expect KAP to provide a lot of legislative support, just confidence and supply in the interests of stability.

EDIT: I also expect the KAP to ask for increased staff. The previous government cut back the KAP's staff allowance just because they could.
« Last Edit: Feb 5th, 2015 at 11:37am by Bam »  

Reply #509 - Feb 5th, 2015 at 11:35am

Gnads wrote on Feb 5th, 2015 at 10:25am:
Bam wrote on Feb 3rd, 2015 at 10:36am:
St George of the Garden wrote on Feb 3rd, 2015 at 10:20am:
–churches not taxed

Abolish the tax-free status of religious institutions. Allow genuine charitable works to be deducted against the tax at full value. Genuine charities would be unaffected (as long as they spend at least 30% of their income on charitable works) but sham religious organisations that do no real charitable works would start being taxed. Hillsong would be a case in point - $50 million income, $2 million in "charity" (at the most), no tax paid.

This is another area where a Royal Commission is needed.

Re: your last paragraph..... Not just Hillsong...... The scam of Halal certification by Islamic organisations leave them for dead. They are making multi millions of dollars from this rort & as a so called "religion" would be raking this in tax free. Globally in the western world this scam is making a conservative estimate of $700 billion. Polititical correctness needs to take a back seat & this racket bought to a halt.

Indeed ... I gave a Christian example but I did not intend to imply that it's only Christian churches that are rorting the system.

Pages: 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 ... 42