Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 9
ICAC Starting to bite the Libs (Read 13348 times)
St George of the Garden

http://tinyurl.com/n
3o8m2x

Re: ICAC Starting to bite the Libs
Reply #15 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:14pm

So true.

I want Muso as GMod. Bring back Muso!
WWW Friends of the National Broadband Network  

austranger

Opinionated Sod

adelaide
Reply #16 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:22pm

Both sides of politics must be icacking themselves tonight!   Grin

Any day with a smile in it is a good day

Reply #17 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:40pm

cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:32pm:
Bam wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:11pm:
cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 5:31pm:
totally shameful...I am disgusted...

slush funds where have I heard that before????..

so do you lefties agree that anyone found by either ICAC or a ROYAL to be corrupt /breaking their own rules/stealing/lying/cheating..you name it?..

needs to be hung out to dry..

or are you only after Lin scalps...which is a shame.

but not entirely unexpected..as I do not recall any lefties being sickened by the Obeid corruptions in fact they didnt like any righty talking about it.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

I think you're suffering from the same disease as Sinodinos and others - selective amnesia. There's been loads of condemnation from across the political spectrum denouncing corrupt behaviour in general without regard for political affiliation. You won't find many left-leaning posters defending Obeid.

It is good that ICAC exists to kick over the political rocks to see what hides beneath. Like most posters, I want political corruption brought forth and punished without regard to political affiliation.

We cannot, however, look at the outcome of the latest ICAC hearings without some sense of irony. This is why Abbott's ill-judged tweet gets reposted a bit.

really perhaps you can post some up.. as you seem to have such a good memory you wont have a bit of trouble finding them will you?

Use the search function and look for "Obeid" and "corrupt"

I DIDNT SAY DEFEND>>. read the content..

I SAID SICKENED BY HIS DISHONESTY...

Don't move the goalposts by pretending to be speaking in any other manner than metaphorically.

and no I didnt see any of that....but would like to read what I missed..

You were posting in those threads. You should be well aware that very few people (if any) were defending Obeid, even among the left-leaning posters.

Abbott I am sure would be up front and say well so be it.. if they are crooked weed them out dont care who they are..its sad to think this goes on...

but no one claimed GILLARD OR RUDD knew about what went on in NSW Labor..

Of course not.

Gillard - Victorian Labor MP originally from South Australia.
Rudd - Queensland Labor MP.

No NSW there.

so I assume no one expects Abbott to be aware of what goes on in NSW LIBS.

Abbott - NSW Liberal MP.

Oh look. NSW.

Abbott is more likely to know what is going on in his own branch of his party than Rudd or Gillard knew what went on in other branches. I'm not claiming he knew, but he is on record as wanting to crack down on lobbyists within his own party several months ago. Why is this?

Grappler Truth Teller

Reply #18 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:22pm

cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:33pm:
Aussie wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:26pm:
St George of the Garden wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 6:22pm:
NSW Premier Mike Baird has asked Liberal MP Marie Ficarra to step aside as parliamentary secretary advising the premier after a dramatic opening morning of an Independent Commission Against Corruption inquiry into abuse of electoral funding laws.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/liberal-mp-marie-ficarra-asked-to-step-aside-over-corr...

$5000 seems to be a recurring theme within the LNP.

twice,.. WOW

well its not like $100 million is it???..... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

$5000 that would have been someones lunch money from what I have read.

Maybe so, but it's the thought that counts....... I say ten years each or hang 'em high!

Lobo

Reply #19 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:32pm

Bam wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 7:40pm:
so I assume no one expects Abbott to be aware of what goes on in NSW LIBS.

Abbott - NSW Liberal MP.

Oh look. NSW.

Abbott is more likely to know what is going on in his own branch of his party than Rudd or Gillard knew what went on in other branches.

I'm not claiming he knew
, but he is on record as wanting to crack down on lobbyists within his own party several months ago. Why is this?

I think he may have had a slight inkling of what was going on.....

TONY Abbott has stepped in to take control of the scandal ridden NSW Liberal Party demanding that his most senior political advisor be parachuted in to take control of the branch ahead of a second round of ICAC corruption hearings.
It is understood that Tony Nutt, a special advisor to Tony Abbott will be confirmed Monday afternoon as the new State director of the NSW Liberal Party — a position that has been vacant for six months.
Sources claimed that the Prime Minister and NSW Premier Mr Baird approached Mr Nutt to take on the role to sort out the faction riddled branch, which will be at the centre of a second round of corruption hearings to begin this week into the AWH affair.
The State executive will meet Monday afternoon or Tuesday to confirm the appointment of Mr Nutt, who will have the strong recommendation of both Mr Abbott and Mr Baird.
Mr Abbott is privately furious at the disarray in the NSW branch and the corruption scandal that has not only cost the Liberal Party a premier, but one of Mr Abbott’s most senior frontbenchers, Arthur Sinodinos.

http://www.news.com.au/national/tony-nutt-set-to-be-confirmed-as-the-new-state-d...

Cheesy Cheesy

"What's in store for me in the direction I don't take?"-Jack Kerouac.

Lobo

Reply #20 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:35pm

I feel that there could be some re-structuring of ICAC before years end...

Grappler Truth Teller

Reply #21 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:40pm

Corby Standard of Guilt - if it's in his boogie board bag - it's his!

This reminds me of John Howard and the distance between him and Tony Abbott and Peter Costello when they had a slush fund to do down Pauline Hanson.  When it all came out in public, Wee Johnnie was 'shocked' and threw his hands in the air, saying like The Good Sergeant Schultz:-

"I know NU-THING!  I see NU-THING!".

It was in his boogie board bag, though.....

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #22 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:44pm

Where's our mate labourarecorrupt?

Bet he won't show his face around this thread.

Cods, corruption should be ferreted out wherever it exists. Liberal supporters like your good self need to recognise their party is far from clean.

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

john_g

Reply #23 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:08pm

Labor, Liberal, Liberal, Labor, they're all as crook as one another.

You have to wonder if there are ANY decent politicians left in this country?? Maybe Xenophon and Madigan?

What gets me is how anyone could support either of the major two parties, whilst criticising the other side for doing something that their favourrd side has done as well - hypocrites, all of you, and from both sides.

Reply #24 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:29pm

Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:44pm:

Cods, corruption should be ferreted out wherever it exists. Liberal supporters like your good self need to recognise their party is far from clean.

now now Peter when have I ever said they were??????????, fair go you lefties never stop do you, I am one of the few that never stands up for my own side if they do the wrong thing..

since when have you condemned OBEID I have yet to see it?...

in fact the Obeid threads were avoided by every lefty on here..and if their name him and THOMO were brought up just to remind you guys how bad some of your people have been .. didnt they yelp...

at least give me a bit of credit once in a while ..

O'Farrell where did I make excuses for him??>.

yet THOMO all we got were excuse and C&P from the Independent telling us how honest he was and everyone else was guilty bar him..

thats right even his name was spelt wrong.so he must be innocent.... but no mention of him calling himself Jeff Thompson.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

what do you think should happen to OBEID and Mcdonald.??? throw in tripodi  whilst you are thinking about it.... I would like to know what the left think should happen to them..

their crime was a lot worse than the Premiers and it cost him his job..

those guys have no job to lose do they?

so what punishment would you give them?

Reply #25 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:37pm

john_g wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:08pm:
Labor, Liberal, Liberal, Labor, they're all as crook as one another.

You have to wonder if there are ANY decent politicians left in this country?? Maybe Xenophon and Madigan?

What gets me is how anyone could support either of the major two parties, whilst criticising the other side for doing something that their favourrd side has done as well - hypocrites, all of you, and from both sides.

you do have a point of course..and its terrible really that we are witnessing this in this day and age..

its not as if they dont get enough is it??..

anyway I personally am a liberal thinker..I dont buy the everyone is equal no matter what...

that is unless we are all rich with huge bank accounts.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

the unions guys pay themselves pretty hefty salaries.. more than any of their members would earn anyway..

what was it Williamson was getting..

MICHAEL Williamson defrauded millions from the union protecting some of the state’s lowest paid workers to ensure his private school educated children did not suffer from “financial hardship”, despite his $500,000 salary.

plus perks.. and it wasnt enough..

I dont tar all pollies with the same brush but its good to see them being sorted out and the penalty should be high because of the position of trust that they have had..

thats if they ever want us to trust them again..

we are not hypocrites at all. we just dont give up because of a few rotten apples..

strewth if we did that at every turn... the country would be in a right old state..

get over it sunshine..this way at least we know someone is watching the bastards.

Fit of Absent Mindeness

We need more fits of absent
mindedness

Brisbane
Reply #26 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:54pm

It seems both sides are as corrupt as each other.

Putting the n in cuts

Reply #27 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:00pm

Lobo wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:35pm:
I feel that there could be some re-structuring of ICAC before years end...

is it because of that damn budget emergency again???? bloody labor, wasted all that money now we can't even afford ICAC

Reply #28 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:06pm

cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 9:29pm:
Peter Freedman wrote on Apr 28th, 2014 at 8:44pm:

now now Peter when have I ever said they were??????????, fair go you lefties never stop do you, I am one of the few that never stands up for my own side if they do the wrong thing..

since when have you condemned OBEID I have yet to see it?...

in fact the Obeid threads were avoided by every lefty on here..and if their name him and THOMO were brought up just to remind you guys how bad some of your people have been .. didnt they yelp...

at least give me a bit of credit once in a while ..

O'Farrell where did I make excuses for him??>.

yet THOMO all we got were excuse and C&P from the Independent telling us how honest he was and everyone else was guilty bar him..

thats right even his name was spelt wrong.so he must be innocent.... but no mention of him calling himself Jeff Thompson.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

what do you think should happen to OBEID and Mcdonald.??? throw in tripodi  whilst you are thinking about it.... I would like to know what the left think should happen to them..

their crime was a lot worse than the Premiers and it cost him his job..

those guys have no job to lose do they?

so what punishment would you give them?

when the topic is about liberal corruption, why is it that you invest 5 words on the libs, and another 50 on labor or lefties?

you can pretend you condemn libs, and strictly speaking you do, but your constant attempts to deflect to labor and attacking 'lefties' show you for the true hypocrite you are. All you try to do is deflect deflect deflect

how about just condemning the people mentioned in the OP without mentioning labor, just once?   I'm betting you can't do it you're so rusted on.

Lobo

Reply #29 - Apr 28th, 2014 at 10:08pm

s it because of that damn budget emergency again???? bloody labor, wasted all that money now we can't even afford ICAC

That'll more than likely be the reason given......

Cheesy

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 9