Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5
No Dole Before 25 - Youth Have To Earn Or Learn. (Read 6817 times)
imcrookonit

No Dole Before 25 - Youth Have To Earn Or Learn.
May 3rd, 2014 at 9:03am

No dole before 25: youth will have to earn or learn   Sad

PATRICIA KARVELAS
    The Australian
    May 03, 2014

TOUGH new “learn or earn” rules that will deprive all people younger than 25 from receiving the general unemployment payment and push them onto the lower-paying Youth Allowance are set to be unveiled in the federal budget.    

The Weekend Australian can reveal that the Abbott government’s first budget will contain a huge welfare reform package with a range of measures, including extending by three years the period before which young ­people can apply for the New­start Allowance.      Sad

The government will pitch the change as a measure to force young people into training for “real jobs”.

Currently, young people can apply for Newstart, which pays $510 a fortnight, when they turn 22. Until then, they can receive Youth Allowance, the full rate of which is $414 a fortnight.

The changes will kick in from January 1 next year and will save millions from the budget bottom line.

The latest figures, from March, reveal that the number of Newstart recipients had grown by 7.5 per cent over the previous 12 months, from 682,120 to 733,601. The number of Youth Allowance recipients rose 6.8 per cent, from 106,244 to 113,456.

Under the “earn or learn” welfare crackdown, school-leavers could also face a six-month waiting period before they can apply for Youth Allowance.   Sad      

The changes to unemployment and Youth Allowance eligibility fit into a broader package of welfare cuts and reforms that the Abbott government is preparing as it seeks to overhaul the commonwealth budget and take control over what it has described as a “budget emergency”.

The federal budget, which Joe Hockey will deliver on May 13, will respond to the National Commission of Audit report by accepting some of its proposals but also finding other savings to meet the central target, of both the audit report and the coming budget, of producing a budget surplus by 2023-24.

Healthcare and welfare will be the federal budget’s key targets for long-term fiscal reform.

Where your money goes

The Weekend Australian has learned that controls for the Disability Support Pension will also be tightened in the budget, including rolling reviews of recipients. A senior source said the reviews could occur as frequently as every three months, to determine whether people are still eligible for the payment.

Other changes will include that, from July 1 this year, jobseekers aged 18-30 who have been unemployed for a year or more and are receiving Newstart or Youth Allowance will receive $2500 if they get a job and remain off benefits for 12 months.

A further $4000 will be paid if they are employed for two years. From July 1, jobseekers in receipt of Newstart, Youth Allowance or the Parenting Payment can also receive up to $6000 for relocating to a regional area to take up a job. Up to $3000 will be paid to eligible jobseekers who relocate from a regional area to a metropolitan area to take up a job.

Australia is facing a youth unemployment crisis amid an explosion in the number of young people actively looking for a job and living on welfare payments.

The audit commission called this week for a new rule to tackle youth unemployment by forcing young single people aged 22-30, without dependants or special exemptions, to move to areas of higher employment or lose access to benefits after 12 months on the dole.

It also called for an increase to the income-test withdrawal (taper) rate from 50 per cent to 75 per cent for recipients of Newstart and other related allowances.

The commission argued that the current income-test arrangements mean that a single person with a private income of about $25,000 a year can still access the Newstart Allowance.

“This is almost twice the maximum payment of Newstart Allowance and is relatively high for a safety net payment,” it said.

It is proposed that the income-test taper rate be aligned with that recommended for pension payments of 75 per cent, to “more appropriately target safety net payments”.

Under the new income test, a single person can still earn about $19,000 a year before losing access to Newstart.

The commission has also called for those older than 60 who are on working-age payments including Newstart, the Widow Allowance and Sickness Allowance to receive payment cuts. People older than 60 currently receive higher rates of assistance.

The changes would “make them consistent with those for other recipients”, the commission said. With the bulk of employment services provided through Job Services Australia due to expire next year, the commission recommended the government develop options to improve the structure of the job-matching system to lower average costs per jobseeker.

imcrookonit

Re: No Dole Before 25 - Youth Have To Earn Or Learn.
Reply #1 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:05am

Welfare groups and the National Union of Students have criticised the Youth Allowance as being too low for young people in cities to live outside the family home, and delaying the age of independence.      Sad

Maree O’Halloran, from the National Welfare Rights Network, said young adults should not have to wait until they were 25 to be granted independence from their parents. “There are already many proposed budget cuts which will hit students and unemployed young people, and this one is particularly short-sighted,’’ she said. “The parental means test for Youth Allowance hits families with incomes over $48,000. The reality is many parents will struggle to support adult children financially, the result being hardship all round.”

Reply #2 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:10am

I think one of the main things is to stop the entitlement we are breeding..young people think its a natural, if they dont work centrelink will send them enough to get by on...it isnt right.. it should not be accepted as normal..

if you get something from the govt then you shoul.d have to give something back.. and if that means educating yourself so be it..

it is time volunteer work in a lot of instances was a paid job... for instance meals on wheels..it can be a part time job..its just a thought... but when we have generations of people getting paid NOT to work. I cannot see them volunteering in the future to work for nothing..

Reply #3 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:11am

Welfare groups and the National Union of Students have criticised the Youth Allowance as being too low for young people in cities to live outside the family home, and delaying the age of independence.      Sad

Maree O’Halloran, from the National Welfare Rights Network, said young adults should not have to wait until they were 25 to be granted independence from their parents. “There are already many proposed budget cuts which will hit students and unemployed young people, and this one is particularly short-sighted,’’ she said. “The parental means test for Youth Allowance hits families with incomes over $48,000. The reality is many parents will struggle to support adult children financially, the result being hardship all round.”

do you think its the tax payers job to help people leave home????????

imcrookonit

Reply #4 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:15am

Well there you have have it, a liberal government.  Cut the dole for young people, and get older people to work till 70.      Sad

Reply #5 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:18am

Well there you have have it, a liberal government.  Cut the dole for young people, and get older people to work till 70.      Sad

and a labor govt cut off single mothers pensions  and were raising the retiring age to 67...

why dont you find jobs crook instead of whingeing about what the unemployed dont get..as a unionist through and through thats what you should be doing.I dont think the unemployed join unions do they?

imcrookonit

Reply #6 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:24am

Oh I see, so if labor put the pension age up to 67, and I am not saying that was right.  Its alright for liberal to put it up to 70 is it ????.      Sad 

Reply #7 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:30am

Oh I see, so if labor put the pension age up to 67, and I am not saying that was right.  Its alright for liberal to put it up to 70 is it ????.      Sad 

what I am saying is... not a lot of difference and you tend to not complain about what labor did..

we do notice you know.....its the times mate we are moving on.. it was the same howling when it went from 60 to 65...get over it..its not happening tomorrow..

dont forget the shorter working week...and when you get your way everything will be closed at weekends.. so it will be a 5 day week... also dont forget HARD WORK... whats that anymore..??? even mines are dug by huge machines today... HARD WORK aint what it once was...

Reply #8 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:31am

what a stuid idea ...

not everyone is cut out for university, and there are a shortage of jobs ..... the government is basically handing these kids over to the crime gangs ...

Reply #9 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:33am

Same old blame the victim mentality which put the smirk on Keating's twisted features

Anyone alive back then will always remember the Bankstown Slug sloping through crowds of unemployed youth while taunting them to 'get a job'

Keating, who'd had only one job in his pointless life.  And he'd been sacked from that one job.  For insubordination and arrogance

Went to school to age 13 or 14.  Yet they made him the Treasurer.  Same Treasurer who drove this nation down to the point it's never recovered.  While midget drunkard Hawke seemed to spend most of his conscious moments at Asian racetracks according to the media at the time

Blame the victim

Which is why both pretences of political parties don't want you to know about the Lima Declaration.  Don't want you to know that beginning in March 1975, 30 percent of all Australian jobs and manufacturing were sent to Asia

same Asia which is now buying all that unaffordable real estate

same Asia and other 3rd worlders who now have a new middle class larger than the entire population of the US

Asia, India, etc. have jobs

They have money

They can afford to send their kids to Australian universities

And they can afford to buy the top grades while hard working, intelligent Aussie kids are awarded the dross grades

Oh, Abbott and Hockey don't want you to work out that there ARE no jobs in Australia

Instead, the Mad Monk and Fatboy are pretending there is so MUCH work in Australia that 70 year olds are in hot demand !

And they neglected to educate Aussie kids to know that unemployment rose in Australia simultaneous with the outsourcing of Aussie jobs to the 3rd world

So THEY blame the unemployed and elderly

And the unemployed youth and elderly blame themselves

This isn't right

This stinks

Since March 1975 when the initial 30% of Aussie jobs were despatched overseas, the outsourcing has continued

There are FEW jobs in Australia now.  And nowhere near enough to soak up all those who're desperately seeking work

The few jobs left are given to migrants !

Mum and Dad are supposed to support their kids to age 25

Saving this stinking pretence of government billions so they can send it to the Congo or somewhere

Then what?

What happens when the kids turn 25?

That's right.  There are no jobs waiting for them anyway

So they'll have to go on welfare which wouldn't feed a cat.  And they'll feel like crap into the bargain

So why isn't our government investing in Aussie manufacturing?

Why aren't Aussie jobs being returned to our shores?

Why is there so much generous financial assistance, health and dental care and free accomodation for migrants?

All at the same time as middle-aged Aussies work their guts out in a shrinking marketplace. In order to support themselves and their kids -- kids they've already sacrificed for, raised and educated ?

Do our politicians deserve to be dragged from the panelled suites WE paid for

and given a good kicking

before being jailed for life

for political treachery ?

I think they do

I think they deserve the firing squad -- Hawke, Keating, Howard at least

Instead, those bludgers are living in luxury as reward for destroying our nation

which not so long ago had the greatest quality of life in the world

and which has been deliberately reduced to penury, unemployment, hopelessness and generations of ruined lives

Don't let them blame the victim

Don't buy it

Get angry

Get active

Reply #10 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:41am

One of the best posts I've ever read on this topic.

I don't agree with it all, but do agree in general.

Well said!  Smiley

Reply #11 - May 3rd, 2014 at 9:52am

John Smith wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:31am:
what a stuid idea ...

not everyone is cut out for university, and there are a shortage of jobs ..... the government is basically handing these kids over to the crime gangs ...

Besides that, why should the higher education institutions have to have people that really don't want to be there in the first place?

It's the same as sticking them in the military, which incidentally, is the reason behind this policy, the new 'gap year' that was a failed option a few years back.

Can anyone see the reasoning behind the 'let's get tough on youth' policy? Well.......come on guys, you know you'd be better off in the defense force, it's only for a year (but good luck getting out after one year).

Wot ya gunna do boys and girls? sit back and take it?

Or.........join the revolution!!!!!!!!!!

Reply #12 - May 3rd, 2014 at 10:13am

' It's the same as sticking them in the military'

--------------

Yes and hopefully Aussies see through that now

Especially those Aussies whose children were sent off to kill and die in Afghanistan and the Mid East

Reduce the cream of society to penury, hopelessness and guilt

They've done it before

many times

And parents get a Made in China 'Aussie' bit of rag aka flag

and a portrait of their son and daughter in uniform to sit on the mantelpiece

While frauds and killers who profit from war and lust for it

describe those dead kids as 'heroes'

Small comfort to those left to grieve for life

But hey, bodies are cheap

It's the uniforms which have risen in price.  Last week it was announced that in the past decade or so the cost (to you and I) of outfitting those kids for war has risen from ten thousand dollars to over thirty thousand

But the bodies remain cheap.  Cannon fodder.  Send those unemployed kids off to abbatoirs overseas

to curry favour with USrael.  To protect Australia's backside

But there's no need for it.  Afghanistan did nothing to us.  Nor did Iraq

In any case, the pretexts for those and other wars is revealed now as fraudulent in document dumps in the US

War is profit

Life is cheap

And if those kids emerge relatively ok physically -- their families are often left with mind-scrambled wreckage to deal with.  Or the experimental vaccinations to which 'our troops' were subjected result in birth defects, mental problems, suicides

Abbott's ok.  He has three daughters and none of them look as if they're planning a career in the armed services

Howard's kids are ok.  They're working for Howard's buddies in the US in finance and law -- those nice cushy jobs that pay the most for the least work and least risk

Blair's kids are doing fine, just like Howard's

Bush's kids, Clinton's kid -- all of them.  They'll never have to apply for the dole or die in the dirt in a foreign land with which we 'make friends'  a few years later

I sincerely hope Aussies don't cave to the push to join the armed services just for the sake of a job

In fact I hope Aussies strike against the armed services and refuse to sign up, leaving Abbott scratching for human sacrifices to offer up to the warmongering USrael

Let's take it further:  I hope Aussies refuse to join the armed services and refuse to put another generation of patsies, victims and cannon fodder on the planet

That will leave all those migrants who claim they want to be Aussie citizens.  Let's see them put on a uniform for Abbott and USrael.  Let's see if migrants are prepared to send their kids off to kill and die so warmongers can profit

Somehow I suspect we'll be waiting a long time.  And that will be good, in my opinion

Won't happen, course not.  But be great, wouldn't it, if leaders were forced to lead from the front.  Get Netanyahu and Abbott, Howard and the entire US congress out there leading the charge in some tin-pot uniform against the next contrived 'enemy'

Would be an end to wars, quick smart

Don't send your kids into the armed forces.  It was never noble and it was always to please overseas warmongers -- which is why they have to talk up ANZAC parades and are going to build a new military cemetery

They try to glorify war.  Look at the computer games

The ONLY wars should be staged against the thugs sitting there with their third stolen child's heart stuffed in their rotting chests as they orchestrate the next round of killings

Demand this government and the one that will replace it get this nation back on its feet by re-establishing manufacturing in this country so our kids can find jobs and hold their heads up -- and maybe even hope for the future

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #13 - May 3rd, 2014 at 10:18am

cods wrote on May 3rd, 2014 at 9:10am:
I think one of the main things is to stop the entitlement we are breeding..young people think its a natural, if they dont work centrelink will send them enough to get by on...it isnt right.. it should not be accepted as normal..

if you get something from the govt then you shoul.d have to give something back.. and if that means educating yourself so be it..

it is time volunteer work in a lot of instances was a paid job... for instance meals on wheels..it can be a part time job..its just a thought... but when we have generations of people getting paid NOT to work. I cannot see them volunteering in the future to work for nothing..

Problem is cods if volunteer agencies pay volunteers, then they need to be funded.

Will the government fund them? I doubt it and I speak from experience. So they have to go cap in hand around community organisations.

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

Reply #14 - May 3rd, 2014 at 10:32am

Switzerland is to vote on the proposal to provide everyone 25000 to 30,000 francs per month, whether or not they're working

Australia is touted as a 'rich' nation, one of THE 'richest' nations on the planet

Why can't we provide everyone with a comparable amount per month?

If we did, what would happen?  Would retail improve?  Would there be less drain on the health/mental health systems?  Would the economy improve?

Instead, the current government seemingly wants to penalise those who're old and young and unable to earn their own living -- whilst at the same time, protecting corporations and the rich

Hockey is emerging as a bully, an old fashioned bully with a very cruel streak.  And Abbott - well, I'm beginning to wonder about not only his sanity but also his IQ

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5