Pages: 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12
Disability Support Pensioners to be crucified (Read 13043 times)
austranger

Opinionated Sod

adelaide
Re: Disability Support Pensioners to be crucified
Reply #120 - May 13th, 2014 at 8:06pm

Bobby. wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 7:20pm:
aquascoot wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 5:29pm:
Bobby. wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 8:01am:
Kat wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 7:59am:
Bobby. wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 7:56am:
Ex Dame Pansi wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 7:55am:
Hi Bobby,

That Nazi pic..............is that Scott Morrison on the far left of frame?

I believe it's Mr Himmler.

A rose, by any other name...

A mass murderer who started out by persecuting disabled people:

http://skepticism-images.s3-website-us-east-1.amazonaws.com/images/jreviews/Hitl...

great pic bobby.
looks like the new over-seers for the "green army"

Very true,

Arbeit macht frei

GrinYeah, and look how good that worked for them! Grin

Any day with a smile in it is a good day

Reply #121 - May 13th, 2014 at 8:20pm

It worked well - but I'm still working out the budget.

sherri

Melbourne, Australia
Reply #122 - May 13th, 2014 at 8:32pm

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 8:00am:
And there would be no harm in people having to face regular re-assessment, if their condition is one that can improve.

If their condition was one that could improve, they would have been put on sickness benefits in the first place.

I can't swear about what would happen today, but this was not true in the past for my brother in law. He was the one with brain damage and physical disabilities after a car accident.
He had to go for a medical reassessment every year for a few years, till eventually he was assessed as permanently disabled.
I think that was entirely okay as doctors felt he probably would not be able to work. but it can be hard to completely predict how people will improve with head injuries.

Reply #123 - May 13th, 2014 at 8:37pm

I am still trying to figure out how people with disabilities will fare under the new budget.

They have slugged pensioners.

austranger

Opinionated Sod

adelaide
Reply #124 - May 14th, 2014 at 1:00am

I watched the bit about DSP, and for the life of me I couldn't follow it either.
      The fact that so much obfuscation was used inclines me to suspect the worst though, they're trying to avoid headlines about slugging the defenseless I suppose Roll Eyes
        Like much else with this Government we'll just have to wait and see what they actually do, they've repeatedly shown already that we can't take anything they say at face value, even when we can understand them.  Sad

Reply #125 - May 14th, 2014 at 6:12am

austranger wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 1:00am:
            I watched the bit about DSP, and for the life of me I couldn't follow it either.
      The fact that so much obfuscation was used inclines me to suspect the worst though, they're trying to avoid headlines about slugging the defenseless I suppose Roll Eyes
        Like much else with this Government we'll just have to wait and see what they actually do, they've repeatedly shown already that we can't take anything they say at face value, even when we can understand them.  Sad

Yes - the plight of people with disabilities is not clear from Hockey's budget.

Reply #126 - May 14th, 2014 at 8:14am

Bobby. wrote on May 13th, 2014 at 8:37pm:
I am still trying to figure out how people with disabilities will fare under the new budget.

They have slugged pensioners.

The mantra is: "We don't want to know what's wrong with you ... we want to know what's right with you".

If you're in an Iron Lung ... the Work Nazis will figure out some way you can be useful to the State. 

I can't help smiling though.

In my little neck of the woods there's an extraordinary number of young people I know by sight who for years have been partying on a taxpayer life-style of no work, and congregating daily at the local cafes.

This flock of noisy bludgers may soon disappear from the main-strip after well-over a decade of them infesting the place as methadone 'clients' and ex-cons.

« Last Edit: May 14th, 2014 at 8:22am by Lord Herbert »  

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #127 - May 14th, 2014 at 8:35am

Lord Herbert wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 8:14am:
I can't help smiling though.

In my little neck of the woods there's an extraordinary number of young people I know by sight who for years have been partying on a taxpayer life-style of no work, and congregating daily at the local cafes.

This flock of noisy bludgers may soon disappear from the main-strip after well-over a decade of them infesting the place as methadone 'clients' and ex-cons.

I don't drive as far as I used to lately - too much road rage, so I opt to use public transport if I'm going some distance. I'm shocked to see all the young people who use a pension card for their daily travel. Any parent who supports their child, unless they're physically disabled or mentally retarded, going on a disability pension is not acting in their best interests.

It basically writes them off as contributing members to society. They are denying their children a chance to gain confidence by being amongst people who don't feel sorry for them.
« Last Edit: May 14th, 2014 at 8:46am by mantra »  

Reply #128 - May 14th, 2014 at 8:53am

mantra wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 8:35am:
It basically rights them off as contributing members to society. They are denying their children a chance to gain confidence by being amongst people who don't feel sorry for them.

Welcome back, Lady Mantra.  Smiley

I believe Sheltered Workhouses might be making a return in a big way. There are some around, but not nearly enough to cater for the mentally and physically 'challenged'.

austranger

Opinionated Sod

adelaide
Reply #129 - May 14th, 2014 at 9:05am

In a way I do have a slight sympathy for the young ones, we did it to them in the first place by not teaching them the work-ethic we all grew up with, nor insisting that education was on the same track too.
          However, that being said, it was a choice we as parents all had to make, and I chose to do my best to instil that ethic in my own Fiddlers Three.
          While I was on the Sole-Parent pension I rarely got much actual money from it, I held a part-time job (15hrs pw), started and grew a gardening round and did fancy cakes on commission on the side, I ended up doing about 5-10 per month of those with a minimum charge of $100, up to over $1000 for a wedding cake (depending on just how fancy or large they wanted it, lol)
       I have followed the same approach while on the DSP, I have been on it for just over ten years, and was pushed onto it by Centrelink to begin with, but have only actually been paid money for less than ONE year in all that time, I worked for as long as I could drag my sorry old a*se out that door.
     And YES, every single hour and dollar was reported, and taxed, I've found that if you play a straight bat with life and Gov' Depts you have a much easier road to follow, plus I was setting an example for the kids, they'll learn from what YOU do better than what you say, it's just the way it is.
      As I said though, my sympathy is limited, those youngsters can make a conscious decision to get a job, where that is possible,  and if they choose not to then they deserve whatever they don't get.
       Mine are all full-time workers with multiple qualifications and study part-time still, and have held second jobs whenever they felt the need or had the time, they have even felt guilty doing that because they might be denying someone else a job. I just told them they deserved whatever they got, they worked at getting that job in a competitive market so shut up and get on with it, silly!  Wink
        Also, yes, I do like to brag, I worked hard for that right! Smiley

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #130 - May 14th, 2014 at 9:33am

Lord Herbert wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 8:53am:
It basically rights them off as contributing members to society. They are denying their children a chance to gain confidence by being amongst people who don't feel sorry for them.

Thank you Lord Herbert. I wasn't suspended or banned, but not through lack of trying by my enemies. 

austranger wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 9:05am:
s I said though, my sympathy is limited, those youngsters can make a conscious decision to get a job, where that is possible,  and if they choose not to then they deserve whatever they don't get.

Not necessarily. The jobs aren't there for a start. There are too many desperate experienced people to compete with for the few jobs which are available. However they at least have something to sustain themselves with on Newstart or whatever it's called these days. The DSP makes a basically capable person incapable long term. It is not a solution to unemployment, because long term it can cripple a healthy person - or for those who want to exploit it, makes it easy for them to rort the system by taking on cash jobs.

austranger

Opinionated Sod

adelaide
Reply #131 - May 14th, 2014 at 10:23am

mantra wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 9:33am:
Lord Herbert wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 8:53am:

Thank you Lord Herbert. I wasn't suspended or banned, but not through lack of trying by my enemies. 

austranger wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 9:05am:
s I said though, my sympathy is limited, those youngsters can make a conscious decision to get a job, where that is possible,  and if they choose not to then they deserve whatever they don't get.

Not necessarily. The jobs aren't there for a start. There are too many desperate experienced people to compete with for the few jobs which are available. However they at least have something to sustain themselves with on Newstart or whatever it's called these days. The DSP makes a basically capable person incapable long term. It is not a solution to unemployment, because long term it can cripple a healthy person - or for those who want to exploit it, makes it easy for them to rort the system by taking on cash jobs.

I actually agree with you by and large, that's why I included the rider:-"where that is possible".

Peter Freedman

Wellington
Reply #132 - May 14th, 2014 at 10:37am

Lord Herbert wrote on May 11th, 2014 at 5:03pm:
ian wrote on May 11th, 2014 at 4:51pm:
Kat wrote on May 11th, 2014 at 3:19pm:

I'm not denying that there are rorters, of course there are. There always have been, and likely always will be.

But their numbers, like those of the largely mythical 'dole bludger' have been, and are being deliberately inflated
and exaggerated in an attempt to ensure that Joe Public regards all recips as such and thus feels no sympathy for
them when the cuts and punitive measures are brought in, and will instead enthusiastically welcome the persecution.
simple observation skills would tell you the rorting is enormous, people in wheelchairs have trouble getting disabled parking spots because of all the able bodied people with disability parking permits. Next time you are at a shopping centre stake out the disabled parking bays for half an hour, I doubt you will see one person who doesnt appear perfectly abled. I have done this myself a few times and Herbert is right, the majority are eastern european looking and perfectly able bodied. The disability pension has been rorted for decades by these  professionals, time to put an end to this madness,

Only the day before yesterday I walked down my main street and saw all the Usual Suspect DSP rorters partying as usual in the local cafes. I've seen the same score of faces for years.

I call them The Untouchables. I don't think one of them is an ethnic. I would quite literally pay them $20 to hear their story ~ how in God's name they've managed to avoid work for all these years.

My guess is ...

1) 'Depression'
2) 'Bi-Polar Disorder'
3) 'Alcoholic' (although I've never seen any of them drunk).
4) 'Prone to self-harm'.
5) 'Chronic back pain'

So you know these "Untouchables" personally, do you?

Know their names? Know for sure they are on the DSP?

Or are you just guessing? Like you are guessing about their conditions?

If guesses were horses......well, you know the rest......

God grant me the patience to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can and, above all, the wisdom to tell the difference.

JC Denton

Reply #133 - May 14th, 2014 at 12:19pm

Only the day before yesterday I walked down my main street and saw all the Usual Suspect DSP rorters partying as usual in the local cafes. I've seen the same score of faces for years.

lmao you are so full of sh1t

Annie Anthrax

Take the plan, spin it
sideways

Reply #134 - May 14th, 2014 at 12:22pm

JC Denton wrote on May 14th, 2014 at 12:19pm:

lmao you are so full of sh1t

Welcome back, bestie. You've been missed.

I can't do this, but I'm doing it anyway.

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 9 10 11 12