Hockey on Q&A (Read 2238 times)
rabbitoh08

Re: Hockey on Q&A
Reply #15 - May 20th, 2014 at 1:33pm

Sparky wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:29pm:
Garrett and his electricutions would be a start.

Several inquiries and a Royal Commission not good enough for you?!?!  Let me guess - you won't be happy till he goes on Bolty's show.

Cliff48

Australian Politics />

Reply #16 - May 20th, 2014 at 1:35pm

rabbitoh08 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:33pm:
Sparky wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:29pm:
Garrett and his electricutions would be a start.

Several inquiries and a Royal Commission not good enough for you?!?!  Let me guess - you won't be happy till he goes on Bolty's show.

Lets keep spending millions on RC's until the libs get the result they want.....   #9 anybody?

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #17 - May 20th, 2014 at 1:49pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:31pm:
He believes in equality of opportunity and so he is increasing university fees and cutting education costs.  For that nonsense, I give him a 0.2 out of 10.

How does increasing fees negate equality of opportunity? The same amount has to be paid back by everyone (depending on the band your degree is in of course).

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #18 - May 20th, 2014 at 2:12pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:49pm:
He believes in equality of opportunity and so he is increasing university fees and cutting education costs.  For that nonsense, I give him a 0.2 out of 10.

How does increasing fees negate equality of opportunity? The same amount has to be paid back by everyone (depending on the band your degree is in of course).

How does it elevate equality of opportunity?

And it negates because the ongoing tax burden is still a factor in determining whether one will or won't go to university.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Postmodern Trendoid III

Reply #19 - May 20th, 2014 at 2:28pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 2:12pm:

And it negates because the ongoing tax burden is still a factor in determining whether one will or won't go to university.

You've confused your desire for equality of outcome with equality of opportunity.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #20 - May 20th, 2014 at 2:35pm

Postmodern Trendoid III wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 2:28pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 2:12pm:

You've confused your desire for equality of outcome with equality of opportunity.

Show where i Have said that.

Have a nice day, you clearly misunderstand the difference.  As you misunderstand almost everything in life. How's that phd thesis going?

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

austranger

Opinionated Sod

adelaide
Reply #21 - May 20th, 2014 at 2:37pm

Actually, I thought TJ was trying to replace the normal group of panelists, asking the questions etc that they normally would, and as such didn't do too bad a job.
        Interrupting Hockey wasn't necessarily a bad thing either, given that he was attempting to pad out each answer to use up as much time as possible, to avoid as many questions as he could.

Any day with a smile in it is a good day

Reply #22 - May 20th, 2014 at 3:12pm

Some people lie as they breathe =  Abbott and Truss

Others have a difficult time sounding committed and convincing = Hockey

It's going to become more difficult for Hockey as time goes on.  Trying to sell something you know is disgusting takes its toll.  Hockey's already showing the strain and has to rely already on his alter ego, 'politician Hockey'

Thing is, it's to be suspected is that Hockey reviles his political self just as he knows that budget deserves to be deep-sixed

Reply #23 - May 20th, 2014 at 3:56pm

rabbitoh08 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 12:33pm:
He got some good questions, and did his best to defend the indefensible.  At least he had the guts to face the music.  Unlike his leader.

Right. He started with a hostile, jeering audience, and by the end, he had them eating out of his hand. The applause at the end was warm and genuine.

Hockey has guts, and he gave a great pitch. His leader will never go on Q&A.

Phemanderac

Reply #24 - May 20th, 2014 at 4:50pm

I give Hockey 10 out of 10 for making an appearance, however, that score was not maintained.

I thought he started fairly strongly/confidently, this even though I did not buy some of what he said or agree with other aspects. However, at a mid point in the program, Hockey point blank responded to an audience members comment (I don't recall the specifics) with an old standard "I reject that..." He did attempt to clarify his "rejection" as though realisation of its implications hit him just after the comment left his mouth, but too little too late.

That lost me at that point - he is not the only politician to have "rejected out of hand" comments, views or queries over the years, as such, I am quite consistent in that it would not matter what brand the politician is, "rejecting out of hand" is an ignorant, disrespectful and arrogant response. It basically means the speaker has no good answer.

From that point on, Hockey was on his back foot and his "score" became irrelevant.

As to the show host.

His job is to facilitate questions and answers. Not just answers.

He is not there to bow down to whoever sits there, he is there to guide the show along and to ensure as many questions are asked as is feasible in the allotted time. Further, he has cut people off when there is a full panel in the past in order to allow more questions.

That is what facilitating is. The show is not a policy delivery, reframe or justify platform - it is about questions and answers, something that Joe Hockey is most certainly not alone in apparently overlooking.

Personally, I don't think the single panel version is the best Q and A has to offer to be honest.

To my mind the ABC, particularly Q and A presents mixed views generally speaking so, when K. Rudd, J. Gillard or, in this case J. Hockey have the floor to themselves, then it is not particularly mixed or balanced. I think there should always be a second person on the panel to counter, challenge and, where appropriate, correct a speaker.

On the 26th of January you are all invited to celebrate little white penal day...

"They're not rules as such, more like guidelines" Pirates of the Caribbean..

polite_gandalf

Reply #25 - May 20th, 2014 at 4:58pm

Karnal wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 11:51am:
A superb performance. I give him 9 out of 10.

Thoughts?

To be honest, Hockey was only asked a whole heap of Dorothy Dixers. Not the traditional direct "please, Mr Hockey, explain to us why you are so wonderful" type (although there was one of those), but more along the lines of "My Hockey, I'm an ignorant selfish pensioner who just wants to whinge. Now Please allow me to present a whole heap of misinformed crap so that you can correct me and make you sound clever and wise".

Thats pretty much all it was. Hockey showed up a whole heap of ignorant bogans from Penrith, which gave him a free pass to peddle his "we have to fix labor's mess by hook or crook" crap unchallenged.

Not one question on:

- why aren't super rorts looked at
- why is the levy on the rich so pathetic - and has the government looked into reports that it will only raise about half of what they say it will raise?
- why is the government so determined to axe the mining tax just as it is about to reap in billions in the coming months?
- how much hacking and slashing could the government have avoided if it abandoned its hugely expensive PPL?

A resident Islam critic who claims to represent western values said:
Outlawing the enemy's uniform - hijab, islamic beard - is not depriving one's own people of their freedoms.

polite_gandalf

Reply #26 - May 20th, 2014 at 5:04pm

Cliff48 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 12:28pm:

Worst performance ever by TJ.  I usually like Q&A, but this time TJ was totally objectionable.   He is supposed to be the MODERATOR of the show, not a Current  Affairs interviewer.  He rudely cut Hockey off many times, not allowing the answer to be heard to just interject a new question.

I disagree that TJ is just a moderator - it would be a waste to put such an experienced and good interviewer on that show to have him act as a mere moderator. Especially when its one on one like last night.

Also about his interjecting - I was relieved that there was at least someone trying to test Hockey with the right sort of questions - since the ignorant audience did nothing but serve up Dorothy Dixers for Hockey.

A resident Islam critic who claims to represent western values said:
Outlawing the enemy's uniform - hijab, islamic beard - is not depriving one's own people of their freedoms.

Annie Anthrax

Take the plan, spin it
sideways

Reply #27 - May 20th, 2014 at 5:04pm

PZ547 wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:23pm:
Sparky wrote on May 20th, 2014 at 1:13pm:
I totally disagree with slugging the poor to pay for Labor's F ups. But I admire his guts for going in front of a stacked audience and  an obviously biased Tony Jones.

Well, no-one's going to argue with you about the extent of Hockey's guts

Though equating that to courage is a laugh

Hockey has no choice, has he?

He signed on with the Devil and now must ride it

Anyway, won't matter to Hockey.  He's sitting on $10 million in real estate alone

To me, Hockey gives the impression of a guy who might quit tomorrow

He's weepy

He's looking crook

He's faking every syllable that leaves his lips

He's a guy in torment

and due to his pact with the Devil, he has far greater worries and fears than the survival of LNP

Hockey is damned to hell whichever way he turns

and he knows it

Really? I get a completely different vibe from Hockey. I think he's loving this. Even negative attention is good for those who are desperate for any kind at all.

I can't do this, but I'm doing it anyway.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #28 - May 20th, 2014 at 5:06pm

https://au.news.yahoo.com/a/23664781/hockey-flags-first-term-changes-to-super/

"Treasurer Joe Hockey has been forced to admit that the new $7 Medicare payment introduced in last week’s budget is a new form of taxation - but stopped short of conceding that Tony Abbott’s government had misled voters by previously saying that new taxes would not be introduced.

Hockey was heckled as he appeared on ABC’s Q&A program last night before being cornered into accepting that the new medical payment was, in fact, a tax.

“It's a payment. You can call it a tax," he said. "It comes out of a pocket. It comes out of someone's pocket. A taxpayer's pocket. You want to call it a tax, you can call it anything you want, you can call it a rabbit.""

Reply #29 - May 20th, 2014 at 5:12pm

YAWN if that's all you have.  Grin Grin