100,000 Young Unemployed To Go Without Benefits (Read 1500 times)
imcrookonit

100,000 Young Unemployed To Go Without Benefits
May 22nd, 2014 at 7:18am

More than 100,000 young unemployed to go without benefits

Date
    May 21, 2014

More than 100,000 young people a year will be forced to survive without unemployment payments for at least six months under the Abbott government's controversial welfare changes.      Angry      

A breakdown of the Abbott government's own budget figures, provided to Fairfax Media, reveals it expects nearly 110,000 young people a year to be without work for six months and to be then moved on to a new work for the dole program.

Under the new rules, unemployed people under 30 will have to wait six months before receiving benefits. They would then undertake six months of work for the dole and be paid to do so. If they fail to find work or study during that period they would then face another six months without payments.      Shocked

The move is expected to save the government $1.2 billion over four years and will apply to new claimants from next year, with some exceptions.

Social Services Minister Kevin Andrews has justified the changes to Newstart and Youth Allowance by saying young people "should be learning or earning".

"That's why we're going to tighten access to unemployment benefits," he said.

His office provided a detailed breakdown to Fairfax Media of how the savings will be reached.

A spokeswoman said about 700,000 people would be affected over the next four years by the changes. She said it expected about 200,000 people over that period to enrol in full-time study or training and to try to get student income support. A further 70,000 "would test their eligibility for other payments".

The remaining 430,000 people, over four years, "would serve their waiting period and then undertake work for the dole activities".

National Welfare Rights Network president Maree O'Halloran said the changes would hit middle-income families who would have to support young people, while people without family support faced a grim outlook. "It's inevitable some of these people will become homeless or destitute," she said.      Sad

Ms O'Halloran said young people were already "bearing the brunt" of the changing nature of work. "You're going into a world of contract and casual labour and you don't have the safety net that everyone had before you," she said. "What I see is a tsunami hitting young people in this budget."      Sad

Victorian Council of Social Service chief executive Emma King said the changes would consign 100,000 young people "to a life of poverty and disadvantage".

"We think it's extraordinarily callous that on the governments own predictions that they are going to see 100,000 young people every year who won't have any access to government support for six months."   

Ms King said there was a lack of investment to help young people.

"I think we've heard a lot about people going surfing or young people doing other things, which is really offensive when we see many young people who are desperate to work but find it extremely difficult to have their first job opportunity."

Youth unemployment has risen since the global financial crisis and is now more than 12 per cent. Since 2008 the average amount of time unemployed for young job-seekers has risen from about 16 weeks to nearly 29 weeks, according to a Brotherhood of St Laurence report.

Government figures from September 2013 show that for people under 30 on Newstart nearly three-quarters had moved off the benefit within a year. After six months, 53.3 per cent had exited Newstart.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/more-than-100000-young-unemployed-to-go-without-benefits-20140521-38ovo.html#ixzz32O2S0Q1v

Re: 100,000 Young Unemployed To Go Without Benefits
Reply #1 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:26am

I have two grandsons working in maccas.. one is 14...

it must be devastating to realise you wont get a hand out from the day you leave school...

my god how did we manage??? how did they get through those dreadful depression years...two world wars...and god only knows how many in between   all without a govt hand out.... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

if only we had had a imcrook out there demanding money for nothing.. for us... WOW..

wonder where we would be today? > Shocked Shocked

imcrookonit

Reply #2 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:32am

Well said Cods, maybe you can give them some advice.  Tell them how they will pay their rent, and put food on the table.  Not to worry its only six months.     Huh

Reply #3 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:35am

Well said Cods, maybe you can give them some advice.  Tell them how they will pay their rent, and put food on the table.  Not to worry its only six months.     Huh          

oh look.. I completely forgot..

they didnt pay rent or buy food all those years ago..

what was I thinking. Angry

imcrookonit

Reply #4 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:38am

Yes what were you thinking?  Nothing for six months.  Yes of course, they can live on thin air.    Roll Eyes

Reply #5 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:44am

I don't support anyone being told they will receive nothing.
I also don't support anyone telling the community they will contribute nothing.
All people must be given spots in a work for the dole program and it must be unlimited how long they can stay in it.
there is plenty of work to be done.
I have paddocks of south African fireweed to be cleared.send me a busload of young people.
then on Friday avo , I ring centrelink and tell them to release the funds into the young peoples bank accounts.

they get fit, they get paid, my cows are happy, i'm happy, the taxpayer is happy.

win/win/win/win/win

Reply #6 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:44am

Yes what were you thinking?  Nothing for six months.  Yes of course, they can live on thin air.    Roll Eyes

They forget that in the 1940s, 50s and 60s, jobs were literally falling out of trees.

I suspect it's deliberate, in some cases., sheer ignorance in some others.

Reply #7 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:47am

cods wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:26am:
I have two grandsons working in maccas.. one is 14...

it must be devastating to realise you wont get a hand out from the day you leave school...

my god how did we manage??? how did they get through those dreadful depression years...two world wars...and god only knows how many in between   all without a govt hand out.... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

if only we had had a imcrook out there demanding money for nothing.. for us... WOW..

wonder where we would be today? > Shocked Shocked

A lot didnt - they either died of starvation and the elements or they resorted to crime

Reply #8 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:48am

aquascoot wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:44am:
All people must be given spots in a work for the dole program and it must be unlimited how long they can stay in it.
I have paddocks of south African fireweed to be cleared.send me a busload of young people.
then on Friday avo , I ring centrelink and tell them to release the funds into the young peoples bank accounts.

they get fit, they get paid, my cows are happy, i'm happy, the taxpayer is happy.

win/win/win/win/win

Yes, you get a hard and unpleasant job done for nothing, and they get paid a pittance for doing it.

Yes, everyone wins.

Except the poor bloody worker on his totally inadequate 'dole'.

I can see why you'd like that.
« Last Edit: May 22nd, 2014 at 8:01am by Kat »  

De-registered User

Reply #9 - May 22nd, 2014 at 7:55am

Looks like the concept of live today like there is no tomorrow is coming back to bite this Y generation on the back side.

I am glad I taught my kids the age old concept of saving for a rainy day.

Humans are a wonderful species, they can adapt to all conditions. Its time to toughen up and do whats right for the country!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

imcrookonit

Reply #10 - May 22nd, 2014 at 8:04am

Yes, vote the Abbott government out, at the next election.   Wink

Reply #11 - May 22nd, 2014 at 8:11am

Yes, vote the Abbott government out, at the next election.   Wink

I'm sure they will, if he doesn't get ditched beforehand.

Reply #12 - May 22nd, 2014 at 8:16am

cods wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:26am:
my god how did we manage??? how did they get through those dreadful depression years...two world wars...and god only knows how many in between   all without a govt hand out....

Actually the government provided some essential food items during those bad years.

But you would gladly take us back to those terrible years where mothers had to watch their children die of malnutrition?

tickleandrose

Reply #13 - May 22nd, 2014 at 8:18am

Re Cod:

There is a world of difference between a 14 year old working at the MACCAs during holidays, and a single income family under 30, and the main breadwinner just lost his or her job. 

it must be devastating to realise you wont get a hand out from the day you leave school

Perhaps, you should put yourself - or at pretend to in some real life situations where a young person lost their job.   This policy is absurd and impractical even for the Liberal party.

my god how did we manage??? how did they get through those dreadful depression years...two world wars...and god only knows how many in between   all without a govt hand out....

Guess what, our ancestors even managed to survive the cave man days against wild animals.  However, our society have progressed. 

crocodile

Reply #14 - May 22nd, 2014 at 8:19am

aquascoot wrote on May 22nd, 2014 at 7:44am:

win/win/win/win/win

Why can't you employ people to clear your paddock if it is needed.

Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes.