Coalition's Newstart obligations fuel unemployment (Read 3653 times)

Re: Coalition's Newstart obligations fuel unemployment
Reply #15 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 11:20am

Comparing unemployment to dating? REALLY? Do you go around dating by distributing resumes and application letters to everyone you meet?

I think you might have just given someone an idea for a new 'reality' TV show. Grin

Reply #16 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 11:23am

fractalign wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:58am:
Unemployment can happen to anyone at any time.  Those that are working today, could be the ones that are unemployed tomorrow.      Sad

Its for that reason alone that people should realise why this government is so toxic when it comes to labelling the unemployed as scum. The way this government is expending the 457 no one with a job should feel safe anymore.

This is why everyone with a job should be concerned at the widespread abuse of the 457 visa. Some employers are sacking their entire workforce and replacing them with people on 457 visas. That could happen anywhere, anytime.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #17 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 1:13pm

aquascoot wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 10:25am:
Unemployment is not a government responsiblity .
people are the owners of thier own labour and are free to sell this labour into a labour market.

People are the owners of their own personality and looks and are free to sell their personilty and looks into the dating market.

If you have a dud personailty and are a fatty with acne, you work on improving yourself so that you can aquire a date. you do not whinge to the government.

If you have unattractive features like laziness, poor literacy, poor numeracy or a bad attitude, you work on improving yourself so that you can aquire a job.
you do not whinge to the government.
free self improvement courses are available thru "work for the dole" and i'd suggest those in need of polishing their package partake with enthusiasm

You been reading light too much Honkie!

Fine sentiment - so you are openly advocating that people flog off their labour for $2 an hour if that's what Gina  the market demands?

Stop that - you'll go blind.

Reply #18 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 2:02pm

aquascoot wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 10:25am:
Unemployment is not a government responsiblity .
people are the owners of thier own labour and are free to sell this labour into a labour market.

People are the owners of their own personality and looks and are free to sell their personilty and looks into the dating market.

If you have a dud personailty and are a fatty with acne, you work on improving yourself so that you can aquire a date. you do not whinge to the government.

If you have unattractive features like laziness, poor literacy, poor numeracy or a bad attitude, you work on improving yourself so that you can aquire a job.
you do not whinge to the government.
free self improvement courses are available thru "work for the dole" and i'd suggest those in need of polishing their package partake with enthusiasm

It is, when it's as a direct result of their poor policies.

But feel free to continue to peddle your negative stereotypes.

Grendel

Reply #19 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 2:06pm

Everything you Prog whiners have been saying here was happening under Labor and the GALP.

The current monthly figure is not a result of this governments policies.

The construction phase of the boom has ended and so many people will find themselves out of work adding to those already there.  Most of them were there during the last government.

You people have NO CREDIBILITY.

Reply #20 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 3:14pm

Grendel wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 2:06pm:
Everything you Prog whiners have been saying here was happening under Labor and the GALP.

The construction phase of the boom has ended and so many people will find themselves out of work adding to those already there.  Most of them were there during the last government.

No there was a restriction on how many 457s a company could employ, Abbott and only Abbott made it a free for all, many as you can ship in, jobs for everyone, except your own citizens, they can work for their dole.

Grendel

Reply #21 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 3:32pm

Its time wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 3:14pm:

No there was a restriction on how many 457s a company could employ, Abbott and only Abbott made it a free for all, many as you can ship in, jobs for everyone, except your own citizens, they can work for their dole.

Labor policy re 457s allowed Gina to employ people fro O/S...  or have you forgotten that?

oh and BTW just found out
the ABS changed the criteria for unemployed...
and it is this rather than any huge change in jobs that has caused the increase.

Personally having seen the changes now, I think they are screwing with reality yet again and should have left the criteria as it was. Roll Eyes

Unless of course they want to get really fair dinkum and include people who get only 1 or less hours work a week.  Or actually make the criteria actually reflect the real situation by changing it completely.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #22 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 4:23pm

They've had nearly a year and they hold no responsibility for problems?

Hmmm - the construction phase - kinda give the truth to what I've been saying about this banana republicanism right there.  No solid value at all.

So - when am I going to hear from this government their plan for solid infrastructure and management that will see this country headed the right way?  Would make a nice change from their unemployed bashing and their Labor bashing over the past.

I've been offering stuff here for ages..... when is Tone going to take some up and offer me a finder's fee?

Reply #23 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 4:32pm

Grendel wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 3:32pm:

Labor policy re 457s allowed Gina to employ people fro O/S...  or have you forgotten that?

Howard introduced 457 visas in 1996, or have you forgotten that?

and it is this rather than any huge change in jobs that has caused the increase.

Personally having seen the changes now, I think they are screwing with reality yet again and should have left the criteria as it was. Roll Eyes

Unless of course they want to get really fair dinkum and include people who get only 1 or less hours work a week.  Or actually make the criteria actually reflect the real situation by changing it completely.

A fair point (apart from the unnecessarily large font), though the details are in need of some examination.

A small jump due to reporting methods would be making the statistics closer to the actual numbers. The criteria for reporting is set artificially low and the true number of people looking for work - or more work - is a lot higher than the headline unemployment rate. I find the underemployment numbers to be a more useful measurement.

I think it would be best for the ABS to publish statistics using both criteria for at least 12 months to facilitate a comparison.

Reply #24 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 4:45pm

welcome to globalisation.

labour is a commodity, just like iron ore, wool and computer chips.

we expect free trade in commodities to increase prosperity , so labour is no different.

if gina can source labour at $2 an hour, good luck to her.  the labour protectionist fags all love the cheap trinkets on ebay made in china. they dont be giving a sh*t about local manufacturers.
they love the $1 milk courtesy of woolies cartel, they dont be giving a sh*t about farmers.
so deregulate the labour market and if aussies are smarter and work harder, they can earn more. otherwise, they are just racist cry babies wanting others to work for cheap wages but refusing to do so themselves.
doesnt matter if they accept it or not, they'll accept it when they have nothing to eat but dirt and the power gets cut off.
welcome to the jungle leftards

Reply #25 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:01pm

aquascoot wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 4:45pm:

we expect free trade in commodities to increase prosperity , so labour is no different.

if gina can source labour at $2 an hour, good luck to her.  the labour protectionist fags all love the cheap trinkets on ebay made in china. they dont be giving a sh*t about local manufacturers.
they love the $1 milk courtesy of woolies cartel, they dont be giving a sh*t about farmers.
so deregulate the labour market and if aussies are smarter and work harder, they can earn more. otherwise, they are just racist cry babies wanting others to work for cheap wages but refusing to do so themselves.
doesnt matter if they accept it or not, they'll accept it when they have nothing to eat but dirt and the power gets cut off.

I hope YOU get "globalised" out of work or down to subsistence levels for your income. You deserve it.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #26 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:06pm

I agree...and we should also get cheaper defence forces by offering out tenders and accepting the lowest bidder.
Countries like Vietnam and Cambodia could supply us with all the equipment and personnel that we need for a fraction of the cost of our present army, navy and airforce.

Go the Bunnies

Grendel

Reply #27 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:22pm

Bam wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 4:32pm:
Grendel wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 3:32pm:

Howard introduced 457 visas in 1996, or have you forgotten that?

A fair point (apart from the unnecessarily large font),
Not unnecessary at all it is obvious some here ignore small font writing and skim over small font writing or are just biased and disingenuous... either way the larger font is justified...
though the details are in need of some examination.

A small jump due to reporting methods would be making the statistics closer to the actual numbers. The criteria for reporting is set artificially low and the true number of people looking for work - or more work - is a lot higher than the headline unemployment rate. I find the underemployment numbers to be a more useful measurement. 
you mean the ones I have spoken about before and the casualisation of the workforce?  those ones.

I think it would be best for the ABS to publish statistics using both criteria for at least 12 months to facilitate a comparison.
Would have been simpler to just post I agree....

« Last Edit: Aug 10th, 2014 at 9:06pm by Grendel »  

Grendel

Reply #28 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:23pm

Bam wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:01pm:

I hope YOU get "globalised" out of work or down to subsistence levels for your income. You deserve it.

I was... as were 799 of my workmates...it aint a fun experience.

Reply #29 - Aug 10th, 2014 at 7:03pm

Bam wrote on Aug 10th, 2014 at 5:01pm:

aussie farmers are worlds most efficient.
if the geelong car workers were worlds most efficient, the plant would be expanding.
maybe they need to spend a month on a dairy farm and work 4 am to 8 pm 7 days a week, to see how its done