Brian Ross wrote on Oct 14
th, 2014 at 12:07am:
MumboJumbo wrote on Oct 13
th, 2014 at 6:45pm:
Brian Ross wrote on Oct 11
th, 2014 at 12:55pm:
One should also remember Mr.Jones' public service announcements which rallied support to show beach users at Cronulla the correct Australian attitude towards those of "Middle-Eastern appearance"... Roll Eyes
haha, I love how Alan Jones suddenly gets drawn into a discussion about free speech. To borrow from LTYC, his lips may be sewn to Abbott's arsehole, but he certainly doesn't represent Australia.
I never claimed he did. I'm rather surprised that you're trying to attribute to me the idea of suddenly drawing Allan Jones into the discussion as he was mentioned specifically in the first post in the thread. I merely continued the theme laid out in the two preceding posts, making a point about his contribution to Multicultural tolerance in Australia.
Quote:Brian Ross wrote on Oct 11
th, 2014 at 6:46pm:
John Smith wrote on Oct 11
th, 2014 at 6:09pm:
polite_gandalf wrote on Oct 11
th, 2014 at 2:06pm:
George Brandis proudly boasted recently that holocaust denial will remain "unlawful".
the same guy that said everyone has a right to say what they like, even if they are bigots or you don't like what they are saying????
Unless they are from Hizb Tahrir...
Notwithstanding what these idiots say, your freedom to political communication is Constitutionally protected. There's a whole raft of High Court cases on it.
"Raft"? I'm aware of a handful. Freedom of Speech is not "Constitutionally protected" either because such a right is not named in the Constitution, it is an "implied Right" and one which has only been defined through those High Court cases, therefore to claim that it is "Constitutionally protected" is a complete Furphy.
Quote:But, inciting violence is not protected as such. So f-wits like Hzib Tahrir may not be able to preach their brand of hate here, no.
Have they incited violence? If they have, then they should be charged as such. If they have not been charged, I must therefore assumed that they have not and have merely pointed out the hypocrisy of Brandis claiming he believes in Freedom of Speech yet wishes to limit it for political organisations who's message he disagrees with.
Quote:I will lose a great deal of sleep over it
By all means do so, if you desire. Appears to me you're getting hot under the collar for some reason.
Still here?
Lack of argument, Brian?
All that 'man playing the ball' sort of thing?
Any comment about the double standards regarding 'hate speech', the preachers thereof or the packed audiences in our cities?
Of course, none of our local problems replicate those now showing in overseas nations.
In anticipation, Brian, I will admit that these terrorists are not indicative of the ideals of the 'majority' of Muslims in our country already. That I should not paint all Muslims as the same. We should already know that minorities pose disproportionate problems, that, over time will dissipate into mainstream local mores.
I'm learning, Brian, I'm learning.
Islam is an equal-opportunity genocidal infection.
All they have to is decide which Muslims are true Muslims.
The fate of the rest of us is already decided.
Lucky for me that I hide behind an internet alias - otherwise my connection would be terminated, I'd be being investigated by ASIO (
) and my goats would be questioned (if not abducted).
Heard the latest conspiracy theory?
The 'freedom fighters' are considering injecting the Mujaheddin with Ebola virus and sending them on a holiday to Disneyland.
And you wonder why we bomb the ............. ?
What's the Army point of view?
I reckon the Muslims in this country need to do a little house-cleaning. Just to show they're fair dinkum.
What say?