New Report - Poverty Is Increasing In Australia (Read 3427 times)
imcrookonit

New Report - Poverty Is Increasing In Australia
Oct 12th, 2014 at 5:18am

One in seven Australians living in poverty, according to new report

Date
    October 12, 2014

Poverty is increasing in Australia, with one in seven Australians living below the poverty line, according to a new report.

The Poverty in Australia report, to be released on Sunday by the Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS), also shows one in six Australian children are living in poverty.      Sad

The percentage of Australians and of Australian children living in poverty rose from 2010 to 2012.

The poverty line – defined as 50 per cent of median income – was $400 a week for a single adult and $841 for a couple with two children in 2012.

The report shows 13.9 per cent of Victorians live in poverty with those in non-metropolitan areas most likely to be below the poverty line.

In Melbourne 13.7 per cent of residents were in poverty compared to 15 per cent in Sydney, 13.9 per cent in Brisbane, 13.8 per cent in Hobart, 12.4 per cent in Perth and 11.5 per cent in Adelaide.

Single mother-of-three Vicky Vacondios, who receives Newstart payments and lives in public housing in Reservoir, said most of her income is spent on food, petrol and clothing for her children.

"People are very quick to judge," she said. "I didn't choose to be a single parent."

Ms Vacondios, a former gaming attendant, is trying to start her own business offering mentoring for women trying to escape homelessness and domestic violence.

"There is a lot of stress," she said. "People living in hardship can find it hard to go in to work or get out of bed. There are so many reports about jobs being lost, payments being cut."

The ACOSS report showed Tasmania had the highest poverty rate of any state at 15.1 per cent.

"These findings paint a disturbing picture that we as a community need to confront if we are to reverse the spreading disparity we are seeing on the ground in the daily lives of people across the country," ACOSS chief executive Cassandra Goldie said.

"It will take leadership from our elected representatives and governments who must ensure that addressing poverty is central to public policy making."

The research deducts housing costs such as rent and mortgage payments before calculating median income. This allows a comparison between households' ability to meet basic living costs other than housing.

The ACOSS report, based on analysis of Bureau of Statistics data on income and expenditure for 2011-12, comes days after the release of new figures showing families in outer-suburban, low-income seats were hardest hit by the Abbott government's May budget.      Sad

Research by the University of Canberra's National Centre for Social and Economic Modelling found 15 of the 16 hardest hit electorates are Labor-held seats in Sydney and Melbourne.

Households in Calwell, on Melbourne's north-west fringe, will be $783 a year worse off compared to $249 in Kooyong.

St Vincent de Paul chief executive John Falzon said: "This report, rather than making us feel demoralised, should make us feel determined.

"Especially in the light of the lacerating measures proposed in the 2014 federal budget, this report is an important weapon in our fight for justice."

Thirty per cent of Australians who receive social security payments live below the poverty line, including 55 per cent of those on unemployment benefits. Fifteen per cent of aged pensioners live in poverty.      Sad

Women are slightly more likely to live in poverty than men while single parents, people with disabilities and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders are significantly more likely to live in poverty.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/one-in-seven-australians-living-in-poverty-according-to-new-report-20141011-114o1b.html#ixzz3FrhNWAPx

Re: New Report - Poverty Is Increasing In Australia
Reply #1 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 5:57am

Crook, as wages increase, the poverty line also increases.
There is no doubt the poor today have a much higher standard of living , better healthcare, better education, better housing, better public transport than 30 years ago.
The sad emoticons do nothing to help the poor.
The pessimistic view of the world that these sort of articles endorse are very destructive,
We need to focus on the marvellous opportunities out there.
Cultural malaise, lethargy, jealousy, envy and a sense of "giving up" are the result of your thinking.
Watch some shows on inspirational people.
There's a blind guy in brisbane who is trying to break the world record speed on 230 kph down the straight, on his own , on a motorcycle.
He's not worried about the poverty line and his disability is much greater then most of those who live below it

Reply #2 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 6:10am

my son has a friend hes 47 has a daughter who lives up in QLd with her mother thankfully.. because he doesnt support her...he is a carpenter by trade..has one relationship after another all about him living with her..when shes had enough he gets thrown out and then lives on the floors of his mates sort of like revolving floors..he offers to do odd jobs around the place but never offers money...this has been his life since forever...he leaves bundles of things all over the place.. anywhere he can for years before he reclaims it..he is now almost unemployable thanks to his drinking and his belligerent attitude which is getting worse....he is  on centrelink..

this person is homeless...but whos fault is it???....my son and his partner have stood by him for more than 20 years..[ me too in my way].but enough is enough....he is now threatening to kill himself..he is impossible to talk too as everyone is wrong and only he is right...and he shouts over you so he isnt listening anyway....

I am prepared to help someone if they meet me half way... but how do you help some people??????

I dont know if you call this poverty... I dont I call it self destruction..but he doesnt want the right help...

like a lot of people..

Reply #3 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 7:49am

aquascoot wrote on Oct 12th, 2014 at 5:57am:
Crook, as wages increase, the poverty line also increases.
There is no doubt the poor today have a much higher standard of living , better healthcare, better education, better housing, better public transport than 30 years ago.

Why are you trolling with this clueless horseshit?

The sad emoticons do nothing to help the poor.

How much did you donate to charity in the past year?

The pessimistic view of the world that these sort of articles endorse are very destructive,

It's only destructive to the sheltered conservative mindset and the chances of conservatives winning future elections. Everyone else will want more to be done.

Reply #4 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 7:50am

New Report - Poverty Is Increasing In Australia

Ah well the adults are in charge!

Reply #5 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 7:55am

cods wrote on Oct 12th, 2014 at 6:10am:
my son has a friend hes 47 has a daughter who lives up in QLd with her mother thankfully.. because he doesnt support her...he is a carpenter by trade..has one relationship after another all about him living with her..when shes had enough he gets thrown out and then lives on the floors of his mates sort of like revolving floors..he offers to do odd jobs around the place but never offers money...this has been his life since forever...he leaves bundles of things all over the place.. anywhere he can for years before he reclaims it..he is now almost unemployable thanks to his drinking and his belligerent attitude which is getting worse....he is  on centrelink..

this person is homeless...but whos fault is it???....my son and his partner have stood by him for more than 20 years..[ me too in my way].but enough is enough....he is now threatening to kill himself..he is impossible to talk too as everyone is wrong and only he is right...and he shouts over you so he isnt listening anyway....

I am prepared to help someone if they meet me half way... but how do you help some people??????

I dont know if you call this poverty... I dont I call it self destruction..but he doesnt want the right help...

like a lot of people..

He likely has a mental illness of some kind, possibly undiagnosed. So the right help is getting him support and treatment if he needs it.

If he's talking suicide, act now before it's too late. You don't want to have the rest of your lives to be tainted by the memory of someone committing suicide with clear warnings beforehand, and yet you did nothing while you still could.

Reply #6 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 8:14am

Bam wrote on Oct 12th, 2014 at 7:55am:

like a lot of people..

He likely has a mental illness of some kind, possibly undiagnosed. So the right help is getting him support and treatment if he needs it.

If he's talking suicide, act now before it's too late. You don't want to have the rest of your lives to be tainted by the memory of someone committing suicide with clear warnings beforehand, and yet you did nothing while you still could.

HOW

maybe you didnt read the whole thing..

he wont listen... he wont talk about anything we all have to listen to him..he knows best....hes 47

he has two parents...

what would you do.. knock him out and carry him off and have him signed in????..

what do you know what I have done and more so what my son and his partner have done for 20 odd years...just what would you know?????????...

if this person did commit suicide... which I doubt very much...but.... if he did I will not have a conscience I can assure you... we have bent over backwards for this guy but all the promises he makes never eventuate...he wont accept help?? we have offered to go to AA and seek counselling for him...he refuses...so what would you do??..

they say you can lead a horse to water but you cannot make it drink..

this person is very typical of that..

Reply #7 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 9:08am

With decades of downward pressure on wage results especially for the lowest incomes and topics like ADF offered below inflation increase being more and more common exactly what can anyone expect.

With wage restraint pushed solely at the bottom end each bout produces more people going towards the poverty bracket.

Reply #8 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 9:13am

like a lot of people..

Sad situation Cods - good luck.

I dont know if you call this poverty... I dont I call it self destruction

It is probably both - his self destructive attitudes have put him into poverty.  The result is poverty but he is a big part of the cause. There are a lot of sad stories.

hawil

Reply #9 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 10:36am

One in seven Australians living in poverty, according to new report

Date
    October 12, 2014

Poverty is increasing in Australia, with one in seven Australians living below the poverty line, according to a new report.

The Poverty in Australia report, to be released on Sunday by the Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS), also shows one in six Australian children are living in poverty.      Sad

The percentage of Australians and of Australian children living in poverty rose from 2010 to 2012.

The poverty line – defined as 50 per cent of median income – was $400 a week for a single adult and $841 for a couple with two children in 2012.

The report shows 13.9 per cent of Victorians live in poverty with those in non-metropolitan areas most likely to be below the poverty line.

In Melbourne 13.7 per cent of residents were in poverty compared to 15 per cent in Sydney, 13.9 per cent in Brisbane, 13.8 per cent in Hobart, 12.4 per cent in Perth and 11.5 per cent in Adelaide.

Single mother-of-three Vicky Vacondios, who receives Newstart payments and lives in public housing in Reservoir, said most of her income is spent on food, petrol and clothing for her children.

"People are very quick to judge," she said. "I didn't choose to be a single parent."

Ms Vacondios, a former gaming attendant, is trying to start her own business offering mentoring for women trying to escape homelessness and domestic violence.

"There is a lot of stress," she said. "People living in hardship can find it hard to go in to work or get out of bed. There are so many reports about jobs being lost, payments being cut."

The ACOSS report showed Tasmania had the highest poverty rate of any state at 15.1 per cent.

"These findings paint a disturbing picture that we as a community need to confront if we are to reverse the spreading disparity we are seeing on the ground in the daily lives of people across the country," ACOSS chief executive Cassandra Goldie said.

"It will take leadership from our elected representatives and governments who must ensure that addressing poverty is central to public policy making."

The research deducts housing costs such as rent and mortgage payments before calculating median income. This allows a comparison between households' ability to meet basic living costs other than housing.

The ACOSS report, based on analysis of Bureau of Statistics data on income and expenditure for 2011-12, comes days after the release of new figures showing families in outer-suburban, low-income seats were hardest hit by the Abbott government's May budget.      Sad

Research by the University of Canberra's National Centre for Social and Economic Modelling found 15 of the 16 hardest hit electorates are Labor-held seats in Sydney and Melbourne.

Households in Calwell, on Melbourne's north-west fringe, will be $783 a year worse off compared to $249 in Kooyong.

St Vincent de Paul chief executive John Falzon said: "This report, rather than making us feel demoralised, should make us feel determined.

"Especially in the light of the lacerating measures proposed in the 2014 federal budget, this report is an important weapon in our fight for justice."

Thirty per cent of Australians who receive social security payments live below the poverty line, including 55 per cent of those on unemployment benefits. Fifteen per cent of aged pensioners live in poverty.      Sad

Women are slightly more likely to live in poverty than men while single parents, people with disabilities and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders are significantly more likely to live in poverty.

Read more: http://www.smh.com.au/federal-politics/political-news/one-in-seven-australians-living-in-poverty-according-to-new-report-20141011-114o1b.html#ixzz3FrhNWAPx

How much is Goldie getting paid for being CEO of ACOSS? Maybe she is part of the problem.
Poverty is only relative; although when someone has problems for keeping a car running, mostly necessary to earn a living, the person feels the poverty, while others are driving Toorak tractors.
The politicians wages have been increasing at the rate of 6% per annum, and none of them is complaining, be it Labour, greens or independents.

Former independent MP Ted Mack. Photo: Rick Stevens
Australia's major political parties have become like two mafia families seeking control of the public purse for distribution to themselves, supporters, the special interests who fund them and for buying votes at the next election, former independent MP Ted Mack says.
And their salaries and perks have risen in inverse proportion to the levels of public satisfaction.
''Recent increases bring the basic salary of the Prime Minister to $507,000, compared to the American President at $US400,000 [$417,000], and the English Prime Minister at £142,000 [$240,000],'' Mr Mack said delivering the Henry Parkes Oration on ''The State of Federation'' at the Sir Henry Parkes Memorial School of Arts, Tenterfield, on Saturday.
''Salary packages for MPs have escalated at federal level with the steady creation of new positions and extensions of fringe benefits … state governments have followed suit.''

« Last Edit: Oct 12th, 2014 at 10:43am by hawil »  

Reply #10 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 12:37pm

cods wrote on Oct 12th, 2014 at 8:14am:
Bam wrote on Oct 12th, 2014 at 7:55am:

like a lot of people..

HOW

maybe you didnt read the whole thing..

he wont listen... he wont talk about anything we all have to listen to him..he knows best....hes 47

he has two parents...

what would you do.. knock him out and carry him off and have him signed in????..

what do you know what I have done and more so what my son and his partner have done for 20 odd years...just what would you know?????????...

if this person did commit suicide... which I doubt very much...but.... if he did I will not have a conscience I can assure you... we have bent over backwards for this guy but all the promises he makes never eventuate...he wont accept help?? we have offered to go to AA and seek counselling for him...he refuses...so what would you do??..

they say you can lead a horse to water but you cannot make it drink..

this person is very typical of that..

Part of the problem with mental illness is sometimes it is difficult to convince the sufferer that they have a problem and need to seek treatment. For their friends and family, it can sometimes be too much to deal with. There are organisations that may be able to help.

Reply #11 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 12:41pm

Absolute nonsense again.

Lordy, you people are so goddamn naive.

If people choose to be on the dole rather than on a wage, then of course there's going to be borderline cases of poverty if a rent has to be paid.

But it need not be so.

You simply register with a Casual Work agency and go where they send you for a little work here and there.

Next 1st July 2015 is the official launching of Abbott's Anti-Dole Bludgers Day.

It's when legions of our work-shy will receive letters from their local Centrelink to go in for an appointment with their Jobs Managers (who will all be armed with 'Government Issue' baseball bats).

Half the people on the main shopping street in my suburb will disappear overnight. Dozens of them. The clever ones will declare themselves to be of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander descent, and disappear to Tasmania or Rockhampton.

But the rest of them will soon be handcuffed to a City Council shovel and put to work.

« Last Edit: Oct 12th, 2014 at 6:57pm by Lord Herbert »  

Reply #12 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 12:51pm

What utter nonsense.

She had any amount of time to choose a suitable partner who would be supportive and an asset to the home ~ especially as nowadays there's no stigma attached to slutting around like a bitch on heat with a whole series of boyfriends.

And straight off she starts dropping babies to this fellow, when MOST women and their partners hold out for a few years until they can afford a mortgage on a First Home.

She walked herself right into this Single Mother situation like she was following a Street Directory.

No sympathy from me at all.

Reply #13 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 12:57pm

aquascoot wrote on Oct 12th, 2014 at 5:57am:

Correct.

For years I've noticed the chronic dole-bludgers are never without their cigarettes and cartons of booze, and are the ones lining up at the taxi rank instead of waiting for the bus like the rest of us.

They don't even have to work for their many privileges.

No wonder the ethnicities that are famously lazy have been getting onto leaky boats to get to our shores.

But starting 1/7/15 next year ... their world is going to be turned upside down.

And I hope Abbott gets active with putting a stop to this Single Mothers racket.

Reply #14 - Oct 12th, 2014 at 2:42pm

There are unemployed people out there, right now, that make 100 or more job applications every month. Yet they get nowhere. Why? Employers won't give them a go because the well of jobs has been poisoned. Clueless rightwing filth repeat parroted hate speech, incite hatred, spread misinformation and tell lies just because their views are based on dated misconceptions about the labour market that have not been current for 40 years.

The only reason why rightwingers can still get away with it is because it's not yet illegal to spread hate speech against the unemployed - who as a cohort do not enjoy the same protection of the law as homosexuals, foreigners, women, religious people of various faiths and other groups covered by various anti-discrimination legislation.

It is time this was changed.