***K im cold... >:( (Read 7796 times)
Grappler Deep State Feller

Re: ***K im cold... >:(
Reply #60 - Aug 2nd, 2015 at 2:18pm

Sophia wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 9:24pm:
It has been coldest I remember, and then I find out we had some very cold July days in Melbourne since 1990!
The folk around here are saying, that this is a 'real winter', something we had forgotten what it was like from decades ago.

I think a fireplace has warmth that is unmatched by any other form of heating. Cosy and nice, yes, but, I am actually sick of it, constantly having to lug in the wood, and feed the fireplace to keep it from going out, and then the smokiness and dust in the house.....it's not the cleanest form of heating, not when one relies solely on it.
It's great once the weather warms up and I don't have to tend to it and can turn off the fan.

As for electricity bills, some may remember, we had solar panels put in last year, 20 of them, and it irked me, the electricity bill wasn't a whole lot cheaper, finally had them come to check it at the risk it could cost $200 if nothing was found to be wrong, but lo and behold, they discovered 7 panels were not connected!

Idiots. One whole year not uitilizing 35% solar savings, when the sun shone. I can't keep up with it all....do I have to tell everyone how to do their job as well as pay them?  Roll Eyes

You do, Lols.. you do - they hate it when you 'tell them how to do their job' - but unless you are very clear they'll forget or not do something.  While away the plumber failed to put IN pipes in the slab floor... only waste pipes in by then solid concrete.... and for an island bench....  leccy trian didn't put protectors on the power pole or the inlet to the house - mandatory... concretor set some verandah posts out of line.. now I'm digging holes and setting more posts in - at my age.

Jayzuz!

Reply #61 - Aug 2nd, 2015 at 3:19pm

It has been coldest I remember, and then I find out we had some very cold July days in Melbourne since 1990!
The folk around here are saying, that this is a 'real winter', something we had forgotten what it was like from decades ago.

I think a fireplace has warmth that is unmatched by any other form of heating. Cosy and nice, yes, but, I am actually sick of it, constantly having to lug in the wood, and feed the fireplace to keep it from going out, and then the smokiness and dust in the house.....it's not the cleanest form of heating, not when one relies solely on it.
It's great once the weather warms up and I don't have to tend to it and can turn off the fan.

As for electricity bills, some may remember, we had solar panels put in last year, 20 of them, and it irked me, the electricity bill wasn't a whole lot cheaper, finally had them come to check it at the risk it could cost $200 if nothing was found to be wrong, but lo and behold, they discovered 7 panels were not connected!

Idiots. One whole year not uitilizing 35% solar savings, when the sun shone. I can't keep up with it all....do I have to tell everyone how to do their job as well as pay them?  Roll Eyes

hi Lols...

that is absolutely deplorable.... I would be seeking some sort of compensation from the company you dealt with..

when Labor was throwing tax payers money everywhere to get Australians to install Solar Systems they sent out inspectors to every installation to make sure it was done right..

this was due to them stuffing all their other programs up like Pink Batts etc...

our inspector found a few "small" things that they had to come back and readjust.. like junctions boxes with the screws facing up.. they'd fill full of water on the screw head and rust... etc...

your inverter should have a readout on it and it pays to know what you should be getting on a nice sunny day...

for our 3kw system here in Victoria - during summer - we'll pull around 20KWs a day give or take... we've had as high as 24kw in one day Smiley

a mate of mine has a 5kw and during summer he'll pull over 30kw a day...

so it pays to keep an eye on that...

with all of these non stop cloudy days for months on end now we may end up with a small winter bill for the first time in around 5 years... but we'll see

we have over 7kw for the day so far.. had some nice sun this morning but now... its back to all doom and gloom again.. cold, wet...  Sad

so have the wood heater on again... I was able to get blue gum @ $65 a square meter this year... this is what I use on the weekends to keep warm during winter Smiley

Reply #62 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:10am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 2:18pm:

You do, Lols.. you do - they hate it when you 'tell them how to do their job' - but unless you are very clear they'll forget or not do something.  While away the plumber failed to put IN pipes in the slab floor... only waste pipes in by then solid concrete.... and for an island bench....  leccy trian didn't put protectors on the power pole or the inlet to the house - mandatory... concretor set some verandah posts out of line.. now I'm digging holes and setting more posts in - at my age.

Jayzuz!

Grappler, this is the very reason it frightens me to build our own place, ever, not saying there were never any problems with bought homes Roll Eyes, but even a few short years ago, went to have a concrete driveway put in at a house in Hervey Bay for access to the rear block we had sub-divided, and it was supposed to  be simple and straight, but nope, a comedy of errors, and my faith plummets.
Not even that could be done right.
We were there, having to instruct them, and it was so darn painful.

Next door to us here, wasn't so accommodating, he had a house built, and he was the fussiest person, at one stage, we thought over fussy, but, he had the brickwork pulled down 5 times so it was all a good pattern, the veranda was out by a few centimetres, and he made them pull it down, and they were going to use the same wood, but he said "Can't use that now, it's 2nd hand, so just leave it there.".....and it went on....he has been a lawyer, cop, works in the court system, so he bloody well knows what his rights are, and has the confidence to not have to tolerate shonky work not in accordance to the contract, where most of us seem to just put up with.
The hubby said to him, if we ever get a house built, he will employ him to be the supervisor!  Grin

Reply #63 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 11:28am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 3:19pm:

hi Lols...

that is absolutely deplorable.... I would be seeking some sort of compensation from the company you dealt with..

when Labor was throwing tax payers money everywhere to get Australians to install Solar Systems they sent out inspectors to every installation to make sure it was done right..

this was due to them stuffing all their other programs up like Pink Batts etc...

our inspector found a few "small" things that they had to come back and readjust.. like junctions boxes with the screws facing up.. they'd fill full of water on the screw head and rust... etc...

your inverter should have a readout on it and it pays to know what you should be getting on a nice sunny day...

for our 3kw system here in Victoria - during summer - we'll pull around 20KWs a day give or take... we've had as high as 24kw in one day Smiley

a mate of mine has a 5kw and during summer he'll pull over 30kw a day...

so it pays to keep an eye on that...

with all of these non stop cloudy days for months on end now we may end up with a small winter bill for the first time in around 5 years... but we'll see

we have over 7kw for the day so far.. had some nice sun this morning but now... its back to all doom and gloom again.. cold, wet...  Sad

so have the wood heater on again... I was able to get blue gum @ $65 a square meter this year... this is what I use on the weekends to keep warm during winter Smiley

Yes, thinking of letting them know I want some compensation for the job not being correctly done or checked upon completion. I found out, that these solar systems require a 2 year service/tune at the cost of $200....did anyone know about that?
Well, they can do that service/tune up for free IMO.
I haven't finished with them yet  AngryThe only compensating feeling I have, is that I bargained with this mob (advertises on tv a lot, and phoned us all the time) and got it for $500 less. Smiley but that goes out the window when we don't utilize 35% of power on sunny days eh! sigh....

As we had the solar installed just before last winter, it was difficult to work out what the reading should be on a weak sunny winter day, but when summer came around, it was evident, and with a 5-6 day check of the 'e total' found out something was amiss.

As for wood, $65 a metre is good value, normally you can pay approx $90- 100 and redgum is more. As we have an abundance of trees, wattle, gum, and another (I forgot).....the trees die, or keel over such as last week, we had a huge double gum tree come down in the high winds we had, so there is some more wood for next year (need a year before the wood is good for firewood). Never had to buy wood, some trees die standing, so we leave it upright as it stays dry and ages, until the right time to cut it all down, and store it for the following winter.
We like to replace trees that die or keel over, I like trees, and just wish they wouldn't keel over the way they do of late. It worries me.

I will try and see if I can locate the photobucket to upload a pic.

Reply #64 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:43pm

...........that I bargained with this mob (advertises on tv a lot, and phoned us all the time) and got it for $500 less. but that goes out the window when we don't utilize 35% of power on sunny days eh! sigh.............

sounds like karma to me.

Reply #65 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:57pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:43pm:
...........that I bargained with this mob (advertises on tv a lot, and phoned us all the time) and got it for $500 less. but that goes out the window when we don't utilize 35% of power on sunny days eh! sigh.............

sounds like karma to me.

Yeah, makes me wonder.......as they say, there's no free cheese in a mousetrap!
But the bottom line is, the price vary should not constitute as an excuse for bad workmanship.....their reputation is worth more than that little price reduction!

Reply #66 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm

sounds like karma to me.

although I dont know the details, I have heard countless stories of people who got 'great deals' and found out later they bought a dog.  Long-lasting companies with good reputations  are such because they offer good product and good service, not cheep prices.

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #67 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:13pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm:

sounds like karma to me.

although I dont know the details, I have heard countless stories of people who got 'great deals' and found out later they bought a dog.  Long-lasting companies with good reputations  are such because they offer good product and good service, not cheep prices.

That is absolute blather worthy of a blithering loser like longweekend58.

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #68 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:42pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:01pm:

sounds like karma to me.

my policy is...

is not to pay full price for anything... I've saved thousands...

I went through a solar broker to get my Solar System...

I saved $2000 on the price anyone else was selling them for...

sound too good to be true???

and while other companies were wanted payment before installation.. this company was $100 deposit and payment on installation.. so who could you lose with a deal like that??  Smiley

the system is all top quality although they did bring an inverter that was smaller than what I had ordered which took about 6 months to get changed over... and even then... I had to change it over myself...  Shocked

but im pretty handy like that... the weight of an inverter is incredible... so the hardest part was two of us lifting it up onto the wall...

I've never heard of getting a solar system "tuned"  Huh

I've had mine for 5 years or more now ( I think) and its till going like a rippa... Smiley

Reply #69 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:49pm

meanwhile in Hobart this morning...

they copped a large dose of Global Warming...

temperature at 2pm?

7*  Shocked

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #70 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 2:15pm

Snow is not an uncommon occurrence in Hobart in July-August.

The Mechanic's Peter Heater should work just fine.

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #71 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 2:34pm

I love the winter with my wood stove. Not only does it warm the whole house, I can boil water on it, put a saucepan on and cook something, dry wet clothes near it.

I don't mind the dust or the cleaning or the chopping and fetching wood. In fact it does me good.

Reply #72 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:04pm

Neferti wrote on Aug 2nd, 2015 at 9:19am:
Redmond Neck wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:48pm:
Neferti wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 3:24pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Aug 1st, 2015 at 8:03am:
I've got an LG 2.75HP Split System air conditioner that I'm not too happy with. Weak as piss if you ask me.

I had a techno guy come in and check it for me, but he said it's running okay - and only the DAIKIN brand handles cold mornings okay.  

I have a DAIKIN that I had installed in October, 2006, can't remember the HP but think it is much higher than yours is.  I use it mostly in Winter but it was an extremely hot Summer (2005) that prompted me to get "air conditioning".   I get it serviced annually.  Personally, I wouldn't buy anything LG.  Tongue

I have actually wondered whether I should  install a split system to mainly use to heat the large family room kitchen area of my house during the day time in winter, rather than run the gas central heating to heat the whole house, an added advantage I could also use it on the half a dozen really hot days of summer in the ACT for cooling.

Red,

I got my DAIKIN from Delta Air Conditioning in Fyshwick.  Before I got it I asked for a quote, the guy came and measured the area to be cooled/heated with a little device to get the correct HP needed, so no guess work.  Delta rings me each October to make an appointment for an Annual Service, that costs about $150 but worth it since I use it a lot.

I use it most in Winter but turn it on to cool on those really hot Canberran days ... maybe 3 times in Summer.

Thanks Nef,

I have added that to my spreadsheet of Tradies, Brands etc to use

Reply #73 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:28pm

We got 2 * mitsubishi Electric split systems in.
I did soem research, either daikyns or mistubishis are the best.

1 big one for the main part of the house, one smaller one for our bedroom.
In QLD they are very effective.
These two get the 10/10 rating from me.

ImSpartacus2

Reply #74 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 3:43pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jul 31st, 2015 at 6:25pm:
and im bugger*** sick of it...

you lying Global Warming Bastards told me that it was supposed to be getting warmer but its not...

its bloody getting COLDER and COLDER>...  Cry

im sick of it... its the coldest its been in decades.. Sad

tell me what I have to burn to make the world warmer...

pleassssssssssse...  Sad
The science has explained that in the same way the science has explained how bees are being killed by pesticides.  You irresponsibly (and many would say criminally) reject the first even though you have absolutely no skills expertise or knowledge in the area and emphatically accept the second even though you have absolutely no skills, expertise or knowledge in the area (you keep bees so what) and even though the consensus of the science in Global warming is vastly far greater.  I don't think the scientists are lying.  Its you!!!!! Because its ideologically motivated and nothing to do with the truth of the matter because in this case the truth does not matter to you regardless of the consequences that are at stake if you (who know sh!t about the subject) turn out to be wrong.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 8