August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week (Read 677 times)
imcrookonit

August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week
Aug 3rd, 2015 at 8:49am

About Homelessness Prevention Week
The Salvation Army
Homelessness Prevention Week (HPW) is an annual themed week coordinated by Homelessness Australia.  It is used to raise awareness of people experiencing homelessness and the surrounding issues.

It is held in the first full week of August each year.

It aims to:

Raise public awareness of homelessness and the factors that cause it;
    Celebrate the resilience of young people and convey the message that young people experiencing homelessness are homeless but not helpless;
    Provide information to the general public about how they can help end homelessness.

Why does Youth Homelessness matter?

Young people aged 12 to 25 make up a fifth of our population yet they are over represented in homelessness statistics.  Nationally 42% of those experiencing homelessness are young people.  What does this mean, there are 26,000 young homeless Australians aged 12 -25.

Without appropriate support a young person who is experiencing homelessness is likely to experience a lifetime of disadvantage.   Sad

Youth homelessness is not about young people that simply don't want to live at home.  Two of the main causes are domestic violence (abuse) and relationship or family breakdown. No one chooses this for themselves.   Sad

Accommodation services for young people can only help 50% of the young people that visit them. If a young person goes and stays with a friend this is just a temporary solution.

Re: August 3 - Its Homelessness Prevention Week
Reply #1 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 8:57am

12 to 25?

Look, I can fully understand and appreciate the need to help and support homeless youth.

However my empathy stops when youths turn 18.

They are adults at law after that age.

Priority needs to be directed to those aged under 18 because they are the most vulnerable.

My God, at age 25, I was married with 2 kids on board and I was working my butt off full time.

Reply #2 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:06am

If a young person goes and stays with a friend this is just a temporary solution.

Of course it is. And during this temporary time, such people will have the opportunity to attend a local Centrelink Office where they will be given social worker and case management support. These advocates will also organise one off remedial as well as long term income support and other referral options.

Make no mistake, Australia is a very lucky country.

Reply #3 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:19am

I am sure crook is having open house at his place....he is so generous or is he the one that is always whining and expecting the govt to do everything....???>..

whats your address crook.. I am sure the young homeless will be thrilled to know you are doing more than talking about it. Roll Eyes

imcrookonit

Reply #4 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:32am

I was wondering what your champions the liberal government, are doing about it.   Sad

Reply #5 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:35am

casterate stupid poor people.

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #6 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:27am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 9:35am:

Castrate the uneducated who can't spell. On your bike bonehead.
« Last Edit: Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:41am by Unforgiven »  

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #7 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:29am

Correction: it will be Homelessness Prevention TalkFest Week.

Stratos

Reply #8 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:30am

Eugenics is the answer
- something someone actually said in the year 2015

Pete Waldo wrote on Jan 15th, 2014 at 11:24pm:
Thus killing those Canaanite babies while they were still innocent, was a particularly merciful act

Reply #9 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:54pm

Stratos wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 10:30am:
castrate stupid poor people.

Eugenics is the answer
- something someone actually said in the year 2015

............“Of all the problems which will have to be faced in the future, in my opinion, the most difficult will be those concerning the treatment of the inferior races of mankind.”
― Leonard Darwin ......

Reply #10 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 12:58pm

“Two imbecile parents, whether related or not, have only imbecile offspring.”
― Charles Benedict Davenport

Reply #11 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:02pm

"In order to stabilize world population, we must eliminate 350,000 people per day. It is a horrible thing to say, but it is just as bad not to say it."
- Jacques Cousteau,  1991 UNESCO courier

Reply #12 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:03pm

"I wish very much that the wrong people could be prevented entirely from breeding; and when the evil nature of these people is sufficiently flagrant, this should be done. Criminals should be sterilized and feebleminded persons forbidden to leave offspring behind them... The emphasis should be laid on getting desirable people to breed..."

Roosevelt, “Twisted Eugenics,” in The Works of Theodore Roosevelt, op. cit., National Edition, XII, p. 201.

Reply #13 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:07pm

"Eugenic sterilization is an urgent need ... We must prevent multiplication of this bad stock."
- Margaret Sanger, April 1933 Birth Control Review.

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #14 - Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:16pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 3rd, 2015 at 1:07pm:
"Eugenic sterilization is an urgent need ... We must prevent multiplication of this bad stock."
- Margaret Sanger, April 1933 Birth Control Review.

How did your parents evade that?

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan