Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share (Read 4490 times)
imcrookonit

Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share
Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:15am

Coles, Woolworths, IGA to lose market share to Aldi, David Jones, says Moody's

Date
    August 13, 2015

Coles, Woolworths and Metcash's IGA chain are facing increased competition at both ends of the socio-economic spectrum as discounter Aldi ramps up its Australian presence and department store chain David Jones upgrades its gourmet food offer.   Smiley

Ratings agency Moody's says Woolworths, Coles and IGA supermarkets will continue to lose market share over the next 24 months as Aldi expands into new markets and as David Jones skims off wealthier customers by refurbishing its gourmet food halls.

David Jones targets higher income consumers who are likely to be less price sensitive, spend more in absolute terms.
    Moody's report

"These factors will shake up the strong duopoly structure of Australia's grocery market," Moody's said in a report on Thursday.

"As such, we expect the market share and profit margins of the two incumbents, but Woolworths in particular, to remain under pressure over the next 24 months."   

Moody's expects same-store sales growth at both Coles and Woolworths to come under pressure as Aldi opens 60 new stores over the next 12 months, increasing its store footprint by 16 per cent.   Smiley
Margins squeezed

Woolworths' same-store food and liquor sales, which fell in the June quarter for the first time in 12 years, are expected to remain in negative territory over the next two quarters – falling more than 1 percentage point by mid-2016.

At the same time, Woolworths'  food and liquor margins are expected to fall from 8 per cent in 2014 to around 6.5 per cent by the end of fiscal 2016 as it cut prices on national brands and private label groceries to better compete with Coles and Aldi, Moody's said.   Smiley

"Based on the assumption that private-label comprises around 15 per cent of sales at Woolworths, we estimate that a 5 per cent decrease in private label pricing would result in an EBIT (earnings before interest and tax) decline of around $270 million, or 7 per cent on a reported basis," the ratings agency said.

Moody's estimate is in line with recent forecasts by brokers such as JP Morgan and Morgan Stanley.
Aldi expansion to hurt

Moody's expects Coles' same-store sales growth to weaken marginally – falling from around 3.7 per cent in the June quarter 2014 to around 3.4 per cent in 2016 –but remain in positive territory.

This should enable Coles to maintain or improve margins slightly to around 5.4 per cent by year-end.

Moody's expects the bulk of Aldi's market share gains in South Australia and Western Australia – where the discounter plans to open more than 40 stores over the next 12 months – to come mainly at the expense of IGA supermarkets and other independent retailers. 

"However, we still expect Woolworths and Coles to lose some market share, with the companies unlikely to benefit from opportunities resulting from IGA's weakness," Moody's said.

"Furthermore, we expect Aldi's expansion to boost price competition and reduce comparable-store sales and margins at a time when Woolworths and Coles reported average price deflation of around 1.7 per cent for the January to March quarter," it said.
David Jones' gourmet offering

Last month, David Jones' new owner, South African food and apparel retailer Woolworths Holdings, confirmed Fairfax Media reports that it planned to revamp its food halls and eventually open stand-alone upmarket food stores .

"While we expect that the scale of David Jones food retail, even over the longer term, will be very small in comparison with Woolworths and Coles, it will still lead to further market share losses for the Big Two," Moody's said.

"More importantly, it will mean that they will face increased competition at both ends of the socio-economic spectrum."

"David Jones targets higher income consumers who are likely to be less price sensitive, spend more in absolute terms, and be more profitable than the customers the discounters are targeting," Moody's said.

Read more: http://www.canberratimes.com.au/business/retail/coles-woolworths-iga-to-lose-market-share-to-aldi-david-jones-says-moodys-20150813-giy6x0.html#ixzz3ijPcqRwh

imcrookonit

Re: Coles, Woolworths, IGA To Lose Market Share
Reply #1 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 7:16am

Please open more Aldi supermarkets.   Smiley

Very_Vinnie

Reply #2 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:22am

Very_Vinnie wrote on Aug 6th, 2015 at 9:54pm:
red baron wrote on Aug 6th, 2015 at 5:18pm:
Aldi have gone on record stating that at least 80% of its products are sourced from Australia.

I haven't heard any such undertakings by Coles or Woolworths.

I assume this figure carries the disclaimer "confectionary excluded" ?
Have you bought a chocolate bar from Aldi - marked "Product of Australia, recently ?

https://www.aldi.com.au/en/groceries/chocolate/ 

"Product of Australia" means packaged in Australia - with over 50% Australian grown produce

I've shopped with the Australian Coles - for the most part - all my adult life
I can think of NO occasion I was not offered a range of "Product of Australia" lines - on any food type - be it a can of tomatoes or a packet of breakfast cereal

In FACT, a good bet would be that the NETT number of "Product of Australia" lines offered by Australian owned supermarkets would be HIGHER than  the NETT number of "Product of Australia" lines offered by $18.2 billionaire #personal wealth# Theo Albrecht Jr's Australian operations 

The Friends of Theo Albrecht Jr lobby group suffered a bit of a strategy blow in recent weeks - with Australia's Woolworths chain of 872 outlets #employing 111,000 Australian workers# cutting the price of its home-branded lines to match - and in many examples, under-cut - prices on Albrecht's home-brand equivalents

This is a good move, in the interests of Australian "mums and dads" and large Australian superannuation funds' - as the bulk of Woolworth's shareholders

From EVERY angle, this is a POSITIVE for EVERY Australian

There are those that look at things the way they are, and ask why?
I dream of things that never were, and ask why not?

- Robert Francis Kennedy

Reply #3 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:56am

crook,  aldi work on the ruthlessly efficient employment of minimal staff and the fact all staff must be multi tasked and perform all functions.

dont get me wrong, i like aldi and think it is a good bsuiness model, but i would bet that the retail workers union would be horrified to see you singing aldi's praises as there will be a lot more unemployed retail workers if aldi continue to take market share

Reply #4 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 9:28am

aquascoot wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 8:56am:
crook,  aldi work on the ruthlessly efficient employment of minimal staff and the fact all staff must be multi tasked and perform all functions.

dont get me wrong, i like aldi and think it is a good bsuiness model, but i would bet that the retail workers union would be horrified to see you singing aldi's praises as there will be a lot more unemployed retail workers if aldi continue to take market share

its never fails to amaze me that an australian champions foreigners killing Australian business....but crook does it all the time..he cheered when the book companies went under.... then he has the hide to whinge about penalty rates....what a hypocrite.sad very sad indeed.

I am not even sure if Aldi allow the union.. to be honest I know they pay above award rates...so there must be some catch to it..but like you say.. you never see a staff member stopping even for a second...and its a luxury to have two check outs working.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #5 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:23am

Coles, Woolworths and Metcash's IGA chain are facing increased competition at both ends of the socio-economic spectrum as discounter Aldi ramps up its Australian presence and department store chain David Jones upgrades its gourmet food offer.   Smiley

Well Crook.  By that 'smiley'  Smiley I assume that you are all for extra competition in the grocery market?  Huh

Why then are you so crook on more competition in the Labour market?  Huh

Isn't that a mite hypocritical?  Undecided

Reply #6 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:29am

That's certainly true. But what price does the economy pay in terms of the dividends of market competition by the continued dominance of Wesfarmers & Woolworths across a whole range of retail sectors?
Of course they are not the only companies wielding too high a level of monopolistic competition but they are the standouts. A shakeout is coming and the result will be better for the consumer & the economy.
This I believe.

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #7 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:39am

Aldi is probably just a smart player in the market. Eliminating less profitable goods and loss leaders to 'cherry pick' the highest selling most profitable lines of goods and those with lower volumes and weights.

This process just mimics a large convenience store with lower prices. Aldi customers have to go elsewhere to buy needed goods that Aldi does not stock to complete their shopping.

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #8 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 11:37am

Unforgiven wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 10:39am:
Aldi is probably just a smart player in the market. Eliminating less profitable goods and loss leaders to 'cherry pick' the highest selling most profitable lines of goods and those with lower volumes and weights.

This process just mimics a large convenience store with lower prices. Aldi customers have to go elsewhere to buy needed goods that Aldi does not stock to complete their shopping.

our local Aldi is now almost like a mini Bunnings.. food is right up in the far corners..... the middle of the shop is full of mostly junk items....last week even washing machines and fridges its chaotic..

I bought bananas and I think they were fridge burnt... lets put it this way after a week they were still not ripe...threw them away...I do agree a lot of their food prices are cheaper.. but to me cheaper isnt always the best... and the shopping experience isnt pleasant.. not for me anyway.

imcrookonit

Reply #9 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:25pm

I wonder if its the fact, that Aldi are always cheaper than the other supermarkets.  Is it not good to see, that finally the main players, now have some serious competition.  I don't know about some people, but I think that some of main players, have had it too good for too long.   Sad

Reply #10 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:31pm

cods wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 9:28am:

its never fails to amaze me that an australian champions foreigners killing Australian business....but crook does it all the time..he cheered when the book companies went under.... then he has the hide to whinge about penalty rates....what a hypocrite.sad very sad indeed.

I am not even sure if Aldi allow the union.. to be honest I know they pay above award rates...so there must be some catch to it..but like you say.. you never see a staff member stopping even for a second...and its a luxury to have two check outs working.

So which supermarket is bringing in self serve check outs ? It's certainly not Aldis who employ locals to man their own checkouts Wink

Reply #11 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:32pm

I wonder if its the fact, that Aldi are always cheaper than the other supermarkets.  Is it not good to see, that finally the main players, now have some serious competition.  I don't know about some people, but I think that some of main players, have had it too good for too long.   Sad   

The libbos love monopolies in business and hate real competition that's why they hate renewable energy.

Reply #12 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:37pm

That's absolute rubbish rusty.
The most outspoken people in opposition to the duopoly have come from conservative ranks.
By contrast, it was only last week that the economic genius, Bowen, blasted the idea of improving the competition law by inserting the "effects test".

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #13 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 3:39pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Aug 14th, 2015 at 1:32pm:

The libbos love monopolies in business and hate real competition that's why they hate renewable energy.

...renewable energy isn't competing very well otherwise RETs wouldn't be needed  Undecided

Reply #14 - Aug 14th, 2015 at 3:40pm

Eat your collective hearts out Coles, Woolies and IGA, Aldi is pulling your pants down you robber barons.

You deserve every single thing you get. You have been reaming the Australians for decades, finally a hero comes to destroy the  monopoly you have had to yourselves for far too long.