Poll Poll
Question: Should we have a RC into the Liberal Party?

Yes    
  1 (14.3%)
Definitely    
  0 (0.0%)
All of the above    
  6 (85.7%)

Total votes: 7
« Created by: sir prince duke alevine on: Aug 25th, 2015 at 5:45pm »

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 9 10 
Why we need a Union Royal Commission (Read 6714 times)

Re: Why we need a Union Royal Commission
Reply #120 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 10:57am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 9:46am:
Aussie wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 9:02am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 8:52am:
Armchair_Politician wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 5:39am:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Aug 25th, 2015 at 5:45pm:
Seriously, how many times do we need to talk about the same crap?

The exact same outcomes could've been obtained via normal police investigations.

Or, if we really want to stem out corruption then setup a body at the federal level. But not just looking into unions, but into lobby groups, political groups, industry groups, etc. etc. etc.

It's not like corruption is limited to unions. Tony Abbott himself is a corrupt person - should have an RC into just him?

Oooh - poll time!

Wrong. Police don't have the same powers as a Royal Commissioner. You can choose not to speak to Police but do not have that luxury at a Royal Commission. Try that and you can wind up in jail for contempt.

Yep. Absolutely correct AP.

Doctrine of Separation of Powers. 

Look it up Sir Duke Olive Oil  Smiley

....which has precisely zero relevance to a discussion about the coercive powers of a RC, and the powers of a copper.

I beg your bloody pardon?

These powers are separate and distinct.

Now bugger off and stop pretending you know anything about law.

What powers?

Reply #121 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:01am

mariacostel wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 9:14am:
More ethical posters would see that an RC into Union Corruption should present no problems to anyone other than corrupt unionists. So why would anyone complain about corruption anywhere being discovered and penalised?

And THAT is the real question.

Normally that would be correct. However when we see a political royal witch hunt in progress the outlook is more difficult to support.

More ethical posters would also reject misuse of a royal commission and insist on a legitimate process aimed at the stated intentions and not to be aimed primarily at attacking political opponents.

Reply #122 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:04am

mariacostel wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 9:28am:
Its time wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 9:20am:
More ethical posters would see that an RC into Union Corruption should present no problems to anyone other than corrupt unionists. So why would anyone complain about corruption anywhere being discovered and penalised?

Unite with us on our request for a  federal ICAC then , if Abort was dinkum about stomping on corruption he would've tabled a bipartisan agreement by now , he certainly is looking rather foolish after we seem to be hearing more about Lib  corruption of late .

I'm all for a federal ICAC. Unlike most posters on here, I don't care where the corruption is found, only that it is rooted out. Most here - including you - seem happy to ignore and protect ALP or Union corruption.

I am basically with you on an ICAC process to look at any and all corruption.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #123 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:05am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 10:26am:

yes, there have been many unionists under 'further investigation' or have been charged with corruption linked crimes.

those wanting to stop the RC might be wanting to protect ther known corrupt firends.

List please..................... details.... so far it's a damp squib... with Tony's corrupt mate throwing marshmallows around..... and hoping some stick....

Reply #124 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:09am

Dnarever wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:01am:

Normally that would be correct. However when we see a political royal witch hunt in progress the outlook is more difficult to support.

More ethical posters would also reject misuse of a royal commission and insist on a legitimate process aimed at the stated intentions and not to be aimed primarily at attacking political opponents.

Machinations of a corrupt and despotic state..... if this took place in Guatemala the world would be outraged.  I wonder if Tones and The Krew actually understand how this looks to the rest of the world.....

Add to that the faux pas of ranting about 'racist dog whistling' over concerns raised with the FTA - and putting the idea direct into Chinese heads that Australians are 'racist' ...

.. and where does that leave 'negotiation' with the Chinese other than putting on the knee pads and begging them to forget that idiocy?

Embarrassed Oh I wish maria were here Undecided she'd negotiate us out of this one  Cry

Reply #125 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:17am

" You can choose not to speak to Police but do not have that luxury at a Royal Commission. Try that and you can wind up in jail for contempt."

Ah yes - the old Star Chamber Trick, eh?

Let me get this right - so your legal rights enshrined in history and constitutions worldwide and derived from Magna Carta and so forth, simply vanish the moment someone standing in for Her Majesty says so?

You haven't been following my discussion of Sir Thomas More, have you?

McCarthyism lives - right here and now.... in the breasts of those fanatics who love destroying the Rights of others.....

Sir Thomas More - "Sir, my Silence is no sign of any Malice in my Heart, which the King him­self must Own by my Conduct upon divers Occasions; neither doth it convince any Man of the Breach of the Law: for It is a Maxim amongst the Civilians and Canonists, Qui tacet consentire videtur, he that holds his peace; seems to give his Consent.  And as to what you say, that no good Subject will refuse to give a direct Answer; I did really think it to be the Duty of every good Subject, except he be such a Subject as will be a bad Christian, rather to obey God than Man; to be more cautious to offend his Conscience, than of any thing else in the whole World ; especially if his Conscience be not the Occasion of same Sedition and great Injury to his Prince and Country : for I do here sincerely protest, that I never revealed it to any Man alive."

Reply #126 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:20am

Dnarever wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:04am:

Unite with us on our request for a  federal ICAC then , if Abort was dinkum about stomping on corruption he would've tabled a bipartisan agreement by now , he certainly is looking rather foolish after we seem to be hearing more about Lib  corruption of late .

I'm all for a federal ICAC. Unlike most posters on here, I don't care where the corruption is found, only that it is rooted out. Most here - including you - seem happy to ignore and protect ALP or Union corruption.

I am basically with you on an ICAC process to look at any and all corruption.

I stand not with Maria on this issue - on this issue I stand alone in advocating that all corruption be rooted out, having, as I do, no need for support in such a serious and obvious matter, which matter stands on its own merit without my assistance in any case.

Reply #127 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:22am

What is wrong with this 'royal commission' is that it is deliberately limited to one hand clapping, and is nothing more than an excuse to attack political opponents, and ideological opponents.

I await - without holding my breath - the Royal Commission into all the other side's involvement in these issues.

Reply #128 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:24am

Ahhh...so this is where the poor frightened rabbits are hiding today.

All hoping against hope that a RC doesn't take place. Pathetic!

Reply #129 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:28am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:24am:

You lost me.... who are these rabbits and what are they hiding from?

Reply #130 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:58am

Why we need a Union Royal Commission

Maybe we should have a royal commission into royal commissions ?

Reply #131 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:59am

Lisa Jones wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:24am:

If they stopped it where would we get the comedy ?

Reply #132 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 12:01pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Aug 26th, 2015 at 11:17am:
" You can choose not to speak to Police but do not have that luxury at a Royal Commission. Try that and you can wind up in jail for contempt."

Ah yes - the old Star Chamber Trick, eh?

Let me get this right - so your legal rights enshrined in history and constitutions worldwide and derived from Magna Carta and so forth, simply vanish the moment someone standing in for Her Majesty says so?

You haven't been following my discussion of Sir Thomas More, have you?

McCarthyism lives - right here and now.... in the breasts of those fanatics who love destroying the Rights of others.....

Sir Thomas More - "Sir, my Silence is no sign of any Malice in my Heart, which the King him­self must Own by my Conduct upon divers Occasions; neither doth it convince any Man of the Breach of the Law: for It is a Maxim amongst the Civilians and Canonists, Qui tacet consentire videtur, he that holds his peace; seems to give his Consent.  And as to what you say, that no good Subject will refuse to give a direct Answer; I did really think it to be the Duty of every good Subject, except he be such a Subject as will be a bad Christian, rather to obey God than Man; to be more cautious to offend his Conscience, than of any thing else in the whole World ; especially if his Conscience be not the Occasion of same Sedition and great Injury to his Prince and Country : for I do here sincerely protest, that I never revealed it to any Man alive."

Yes.  Royal Commisions do have coercive powers, including the power to force a witness to answer questions.....in the witness box.  But, there are two things which temper that down a tad.....

1.  The first thing a RC does with a potential witness is gather as many documents (under coercive powers) relevant to whatever it reckons that witness should be held accountable to in some way....even if it is just explanatory.  Then, they will tell the potential witness that their copper investigators will call on them to obtain a statement.  NOW...here is where legal advice is important.  No-one can be compelled to give the copper that statement, or answer that coppers questions.  That means the Counsel Assisting the RC does not know what the person will say when they get in the witness box.  Lawyers very rarely ask questions if they do not already have a very good idea what the answer will be.  Usually, you never put someone in the witness box unless you have a statement from  them.  So, while that person can be compelled to turn up at the RC and there, they are compelled to answer, Counsel Assisting is working in the dark, and will be very cautious.  If you think you could be in the sheet at a RC....do not give the investigator coppers a statement....but otherwise indicate every willingness to attend at the RC where you will answer.

This one is important.

2.  Nothing you say at that RC can in any other proceedings of any kind be used against you by way of evidence, or otherwise, excfept I imaging in a case of alleged perjury.  Let's say that, after a RC, the Commissioner has made adverse findings against you.  That does impact your public reputation (and that is why arseholes like Abbott set them up) but that's where it ends.  So, after the Commission has finished with you, the coppers/relevant authorities have to start fro scratch.  They can come to question you.  You can safely tell them to bugger orf.  Will they then charge you?  That depends on what other evidence they have......which does not include what happened at the RC.  By that I mean, they cannot just charge you, then turn up in Court, and produce the transcript of the RC.  No...they have to start from scratch with their case, just like in any other trial as if the RC had never happened.  Many here will have seen me post that following the Howard/Cole Royal Commission into the Building and Construction Industry which made many many adverse findings against numerous people, not one, not one of them were later even charged by any relevant authority, including ASIC or the coppers or whoever.

Reply #133 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 12:02pm

Is thay why the title of your post says we need a Federal ICAC?

Reply #134 - Aug 26th, 2015 at 12:06pm

mariacostel wrote on Aug 25th, 2015 at 5:11pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Aug 25th, 2015 at 5:06pm:
mariacostel wrote on Aug 25th, 2015 at 4:58pm:
Aussie wrote on Aug 25th, 2015 at 4:57pm:
Here is the entire:

I don't see this as a justification for a RC when whatever it is is uncovered by police work in the first place...and then handed to the RC.

It is an unnecessary middle man.

Wrong. It was uncovered by investigators working with the RC. You are lying.

.. and these investigators are?

Don't know. Don't care. Why do you?

Ah.  But it was you who claimed they were
not
coppers.

Pages: 1 ... 7 8 9 10