Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16
Message To Productivity Commission (Read 8950 times)
RandomCrook

Re: Message To Productivity Commission
Reply #30 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 11:57am

We are lucky the Australian Productivity Commission are idiots, this is a politicians death trap. A better policy is to move weekend penalty rates for hospitality and retail to Monday, Tuesday. The quietest times in that sector.

One could argue that their working roster does not work with this old system that was suited for manufacturing, energy, resources, finance sector.

They wouldn't be poking a hornets nest by suggesting this and still achieve similar results.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #31 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:02pm

RandomCrook wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 11:57am:
We are lucky the Australian Productivity Commission are idiots, this is a politicians death trap. A better policy is to move weekend penalty rates for hospitality and retail to Monday, Tuesday. The quietest times in that sector.

One could argue that their working roster does not work with this old system that was suited for manufacturing, energy, resources, finance sector.

They wouldn't be poking a hornets nest by suggesting this.

Hmm - the point is that Sunday rates are for working while everyone else is recovering from Saturday night frivolities..... ever seen The Walking Dead behind the counters at Woolies on a Sunday?

I worked last night until 1am while all around me were partying wildly..... didn't get to even view one minute of the NRL Final on the big screen TV at the club.... I drove most of the revellers home later in a bus... you reckon I don't deserve the one hour at Sunday penalty rate?

Why would you accept a deal that gives you double time for working on Monday in a restaurant, when that is the day they traditionally close?

Impossible to aqree with your idea.

RandomCrook

Reply #32 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:13pm

I do think you deserve Sunday penalty rates, I survive on it myself. But I'm looking about this from their point of view.

Telling people that they are going to scrap something is a lot different from telling people they are going to move it. It's about pissing less people off.

crocodile

Reply #33 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:19pm

Swagman wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 3:34pm:
Dnarever wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 8:42am:
Swagman wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 8:12am:
ImSpartacus2 wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 8:10am:
Swagman wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 7:46am:
Penalty rates cause unemployment
Cutting worker wages will entrench the recession and cause more unemployment. 

No one would get a wage cut.

Paying people less for more work is a pay cut.

It's not more work, it's the same amount of work.  That's why penalty rates are illogical and a drain on productivity.

And, like anything, such a policy reform would have to be phased in for new employees' contracts. 

If the business has trouble getting workers on a Sunday then it will offer more pay to attract them, in the same way that it may pay one person more than another because they are more productive.  If there's plenty of workers willing to work at single time on Sunday, then the business wouldn't have to pay more to attract them.

Unless of course a Union behaves like a cartel and bans its members and intimidates non members from working on a Sunday without penalty rates, until the business has to either pay an artificial labour cost (penalty rate) or not open at all?  ----> Either way the penalty rate is causing unemployment in this instance.

Just for our edification, could you let us all know how penalty rates drain productivity.

Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes.

Reply #34 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:52pm

RandomCrook wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:13pm:
I do think you deserve Sunday penalty rates, I survive on it myself. But I'm looking about this from their point of view.

Telling people that they are going to scrap something is a lot different from telling people they are going to move it. It's about pissing less people off.

Yes - but moving it to a day when they wouldn't be working anyway is just a sneaky move to get the same result.  They don't run football finals on Monday - all the best entertainment over holidays is not on off days of the week when everyone else is working -  all the best parts of the Royal Easter Show, the New Year's fireworks etc.. are all on Sundays/Saturdays or Public Holidays - this strand of penalty rates is to compensate for losing the chance to do those things, etc.  It's a long-established system and has no need for change.

What IS needed is - as someone here says - more capital productivity -meaning we need to chop off at the knees all this wazste on boards and ceos and such from 'privatisation' and chop off offshore investment that Australia and Australians could invest in for themselves.

Australians are just as capable of taking a business plan to banks and getting the investment capital to develop resource mining etc - allowing offshore companies residing in tax havens to come in and do it is only robbing yourself, without even the chance of getting it back on insurance.

Only a fool would do that, and that sums up the approach of respective governments here over the past thirty plus years.

BOTR.

Reply #35 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:53pm

crocodile wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:19pm:
Swagman wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 3:34pm:
Dnarever wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 8:42am:
Swagman wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 8:12am:
ImSpartacus2 wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 8:10am:
Swagman wrote on Sep 19th, 2015 at 7:46am:
Penalty rates cause unemployment
Cutting worker wages will entrench the recession and cause more unemployment. 

No one would get a wage cut.

Paying people less for more work is a pay cut.

It's not more work, it's the same amount of work.  That's why penalty rates are illogical and a drain on productivity.

And, like anything, such a policy reform would have to be phased in for new employees' contracts. 

If the business has trouble getting workers on a Sunday then it will offer more pay to attract them, in the same way that it may pay one person more than another because they are more productive.  If there's plenty of workers willing to work at single time on Sunday, then the business wouldn't have to pay more to attract them.

Unless of course a Union behaves like a cartel and bans its members and intimidates non members from working on a Sunday without penalty rates, until the business has to either pay an artificial labour cost (penalty rate) or not open at all?  ----> Either way the penalty rate is causing unemployment in this instance.

Just for our edification, could you let us all know how penalty rates drain productivity.

Ban weekend work altogether.. don't bother calling the ambos, cops or firies....

RandomCrook

Reply #36 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 1:09pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:52pm:
RandomCrook wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 12:13pm:

Yes - but moving it to a day when they wouldn't be working anyway is just a sneaky move to get the same result.  They don't run football finals on Monday - all the best entertainment over holidays is not on off days of the week when everyone else is working -  all the best parts of the Royal Easter Show, the New Year's fireworks etc.. are all on Sundays/Saturdays or Public Holidays - this strand of penalty rates is to compensate for losing the chance to do those things, etc.  It's a long-established system and has no need for change.

What IS needed is - as someone here says - more capital productivity -meaning we need to chop off at the knees all this wazste on boards and ceos and such from 'privatisation' and chop off offshore investment that Australia and Australians could invest in for themselves.

Australians are just as capable of taking a business plan to banks and getting the investment capital to develop resource mining etc - allowing offshore companies residing in tax havens to come in and do it is only robbing yourself, without even the chance of getting it back on insurance.

Only a fool would do that, and that sums up the approach of respective governments here over the past thirty plus years.

BOTR.

"Sneaky move to get the same result" what do you think politics is about, without it William Wilberforce would of never been able to implicitly ban slavery, though a lot of bad policies have come in because of it eg Thatcherism/Reganism
Businesses don't care about how you spend your weekends(unless it affects your work ability) or what sports team you support, they are only after the bottom line.
Think about the industry at hand manufacturing, finance, accounting, resources, logistics, ICT, IT and energy. There busy days are from Monday to Friday. So it makes sense to have penalty rates on Sunday and Saturday.
But Hospitality and retail busy times are from Thursdays to Sunday.Therefore it is reasonable that there penalty rates should be Monday, Tuesday.
What's hindering businesses from opening for longer hours and hiring extra staff to churn out more customers is wages, so you won't have to be waiting in an hour long queue for food and beverages for "all the best entertainment over holidays ".

Reply #37 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 1:30pm

Bu if you once open the door to different rules for different groups...................................... where does it end?  Will it lead to such things as a ceiling on super investments before you cop full tax instead of 15%?  I doubt it - such changes in the rules only apply to the peasants.....

Now that's true conservatism - not the rubbish bandied about these days...

Club for a drink with cronies - bit of glad-handing and baby kissing - still deciding if I'll stand next Fed Elect, either as an independent or as a new party member.

RandomCrook

Reply #38 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 1:44pm

It's people like me that's the problem, I complain about these situations.

The thing is they know what they are doing. But I haven't done a single thing or participated in any political event/movements to try to stop them.

So It's people like me to blame for letting dickheads get away with these things.

Reply #39 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 6:54pm

RandomCrook wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 1:44pm:

The thing is they know what they are doing. But I haven't done a single thing or participated in any political event/movements to try to stop them.

So It's people like me to blame for letting dickheads get away with these things.

Good point - but here some of us try very  hard to get the message across in the full knowledge that this site is monitored.

If I stand, there will be endless flak directed my way - all of it false - and that is precisely why I am considering standing at all.  Only question is - am I strong enough to handle it?

We live in a society in which anyone with a free-thinking mid is automatically an 'enemy of the people' - and is set upon as a result.  My opposition to various policy thrusts over the past nearly forty years has lead me into direct confrontation with city hall - and they are all liars.

As I said - am I strong enough to take the attacks I know will come if I stand?

RandomCrook

Reply #40 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 9:06pm

It's not only about being strong enough to handle it.

It's also about how you can make it easier for yourself eg being financially secure for the rest of your life. Friends and businesses that support your cause and spread your message. The amount of time campaigning takes.

But yes strength is still needed to put these bullies in their place, all it takes is a bit of practice and vigor.

I really hope you do take a stand but don't walking into a gun fight with a wooden spoon.

crocodile

Reply #41 - Sep 20th, 2015 at 10:10pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 6:54pm:

Good point - but here some of us try very  hard to get the message across in the full knowledge that this site is monitored.

If I stand, there will be endless flak directed my way - all of it false - and that is precisely why I am considering standing at all.  Only question is - am I strong enough to handle it?

We live in a society in which anyone with a free-thinking mid is automatically an 'enemy of the people' - and is set upon as a result.  My opposition to various policy thrusts over the past nearly forty years has lead me into direct confrontation with city hall - and they are all liars.

What is your platform ? Will you be supporting smaller government and lower taxes ?

Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes.

Reply #42 - Sep 21st, 2015 at 2:23am

crocodile wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 10:10pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 6:54pm:

What is your platform ? Will you be supporting smaller government and lower taxes ?

I will be advocating smaller government and a more even tax regime - one that takes full measure of all who should be contributing tax into revenue, and under the same rules.

You earn - you pay.  There is a lot of room for determining HOW the tax system will operate - and I've been saying for a long time there is a desperate need for a total overhaul and review of taxation as it now works.  For example, a single unit GST would work better than the plethora of taxes and excises now in play.... but that needs some very careful tuning, in regard to those who currently enjoy tax havens (internally to Australia) and those who do not.

What we need now is full import from people who really know how it works.

Reply #43 - Sep 21st, 2015 at 2:28am

In terms of social 'exclusion' or 'exclusion' - these areas need to be looked at very closely - and some very strong fixed lines (not 'guidelines) set in place to determine at what point government ceases to have 'rights' to intervene by exercising the power of the 'law' and of government.  Beyond a certain point the application of these arms of government become tyranny and abuse = read violence by the State for its own ends, and not those of the people.

Pasha: The private life is dead - for a man with any manhood.

Zhivago: I saw some of your 'manhood' on the way at a place called Minsk.

Pasha: They were selling horses to the Whites.

Zhivago: It seems you've burnt the wrong village.

Pasha: They always say that, and what does it matter? A village betrays us, a village is burned. The point's made.

Zhivago: Your point - their village.

Reply #44 - Sep 21st, 2015 at 3:05am

RandomCrook wrote on Sep 20th, 2015 at 9:06pm:
It's not only about being strong enough to handle it.

It's also about how you can make it easier for yourself eg being financially secure for the rest of your life. Friends and businesses that support your cause and spread your message. The amount of time campaigning takes.

But yes strength is still needed to put these bullies in their place, all it takes is a bit of practice and vigor.

I really hope you do take a stand but don't walking into a gun fight with a wooden spoon.

I am proud of saying that the carer benefit I receive for my ex - who has no body else - goes into her bank account to pay for physio, heated pool fees, and doctors and fuel to run around.

I have no great horde of money - indeed I am one of those defined as ' below the poverty line - and still I have no great need for it.

When contending with liars and thieves - state the truth and let the public decide.... like Robert Redford's character in "The Candidate" - at least I'll give 'em a shakeup!

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 16