Poll Poll
Question: One crash, one illegal phone use. Should he resign?

Yes    
  13 (61.9%)
No    
  8 (38.1%)

Total votes: 21
« Created by: Armchair_Politician on: Dec 11th, 2015 at 5:49am »

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10
Shorten Caught Dangerous Driving (Read 5701 times)
AtticusserFincherary

Re: Shorten Caught Dangerous Driving
Reply #60 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:52pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:45pm:
Here ya go.  Shorten put up his hand, and fined (via ticket.)

QED.

He should have contested it.
"I woz wif anovver Union bloke an he woz all fumbs, so I had to text to save me arse, just like an ambo. Ask me lawyer, ees up in Queensland"

lee

Reply #61 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:52pm

BTW, I am a volunteer fire officer. We use a Fire and Rescue truck. The number of times the initial information when we turn out is incorrect, is high.

5km from somewhere. Amended to 5 km from somewhere else on the somewhere road. 25km difference in on case.

AtticusserFincherary

Reply #62 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:54pm

Lawyers and lefties, defenders of all scumbags.

Reply #63 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:54pm

lee wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:52pm:
BTW, I am a volunteer fire officer. We use a Fire and Rescue truck. The number of times the initial information when we turn out is incorrect, is high.

5km from somewhere. Amended to 5 km from somewhere else on the somewhere road. 25km difference in on case.

Via your despatch system (data to a screen on your dash)  or via mobile phone?

mariacostel

Reply #64 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:54pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 10:25am:
John Smith wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 8:57am:
cods wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 8:54am:
for someone who has small children.. I am amazed you make fun of someone phoning whilst driving...

they are the ones most at risk......

and you claim aussies like to see pollies doing stuff like that.. Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

EVERYONE , and I mean EVERYONE who works in a mobile environment in this day and age has answered the phone or read a text message, at some point, while driving. Anyone who says they haven't is lying.

When I was 18, my girlfriend died while using her phone in the car in a collision with a Pantech truck. I didn't yet have my licence at that time but I have NEVER, not once in my entire life, used or even looked at my phone while driving. One time it rang while I was driving and I instinctively looked down at the passenger seat at it for a split second then looked back at the road realising it was dangerous to look down there. From that time on, I always had my phone on silent and if anyone called or texted me, they could wait until I finished my journey. I don't plan on getting myself or someone else killed/hurt because I wasn't giving the road my full attention. I couldn't forgive myself if that happened.

How old are you?

lee

Reply #65 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:56pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:52pm:
Oh....I thought we were discussing the alleged inherent danger of driving while using a mobile phone.  I'll stick to that simple concept.  (Ambos have GPS tracking to every address they are sent to.....~ same as Cabs do ~ no need for any mobile phone use.)

We don't have GPS tracking. I believe it is in the pipeline, but as a volunteer service, we are at the end of the queue. I don't see a date when the law was promulgated.

Reply #66 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:57pm

mariacostel wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:54pm:
Armchair_Politician wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 10:25am:
John Smith wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 8:57am:
cods wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 8:54am:
for someone who has small children.. I am amazed you make fun of someone phoning whilst driving...

they are the ones most at risk......

and you claim aussies like to see pollies doing stuff like that.. Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry Angry

EVERYONE , and I mean EVERYONE who works in a mobile environment in this day and age has answered the phone or read a text message, at some point, while driving. Anyone who says they haven't is lying.

When I was 18, my girlfriend died while using her phone in the car in a collision with a Pantech truck. I didn't yet have my licence at that time but I have NEVER, not once in my entire life, used or even looked at my phone while driving. One time it rang while I was driving and I instinctively looked down at the passenger seat at it for a split second then looked back at the road realising it was dangerous to look down there. From that time on, I always had my phone on silent and if anyone called or texted me, they could wait until I finished my journey. I don't plan on getting myself or someone else killed/hurt because I wasn't giving the road my full attention. I couldn't forgive myself if that happened.

How old are you?

Odd.........that was the first thing which crossed my mind as well.

mariacostel

Reply #67 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:57pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:37pm:
Sure, I can see the latitude quite clearly.  Not dangerous at all if an Ambo does it.....dangerous if 'Shorten' does it.

(I'm not defending Shorten as the Law is clear..........just making obvious commentary on the hypocrisy the Law enshrines.)

Always defending a Labor person no matter what. I guess you support Finnigan?

Reply #68 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:59pm

mariacostel wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:57pm:
Aussie wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:37pm:
Sure, I can see the latitude quite clearly.  Not dangerous at all if an Ambo does it.....dangerous if 'Shorten' does it.

(I'm not defending Shorten as the Law is clear..........just making obvious commentary on the hypocrisy the Law enshrines.)

Always defending a Labor person no matter what. I guess you support Finnigan?

No.....I know nothing about climate change etc.

lee

Reply #69 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:00pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 6:54pm:

Our initial contact is mobile phone and updates are mobile also. Country areas don't have despatch centres. It is all done from Perth. Our Ambo's are also volunteer in the country. There may be despatch centres in large country centres.

And we use our own phones.

Reply #70 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:09pm

lee wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:00pm:

Our initial contact is mobile phone and updates are mobile also. Country areas don't have despatch centres. It is all done from Perth. Our Ambo's are also volunteer in the country. There may be despatch centres in large country centres.

Terrible.  But......it would not be the driver dealing with that.  It will be someone else in the Truck.

Reply #71 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:11pm

If shorten leads labor to the next election the Greens will flog them.

AtticusserFincherary

Reply #72 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:13pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:09pm:
lee wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:00pm:

Terrible.  But......it would not be the driver dealing with that.  It will be someone else in the Truck.

Unless of course that in the case of an ambo, one of them is giving CPR to some poor bastard that's been hit by an ALP politician that was texting someone to save his own arse, while the other is phoning ahead to the hospital.

Not to worry, according to you it's all equal.  Roll Eyes

lee

Reply #73 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:45pm

Aussie wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 7:09pm:

That’s what I said, generally more than one. However, being a volunteer organisation, we can’t guarantee numbers that turn out.

Reply #74 - Dec 11th, 2015 at 8:46pm

Armchair_Politician wrote on Dec 11th, 2015 at 5:40am:
He should stand down as Leader of the Opposition for this. How can he claim to be the alternative Pm when he can't even stop from breaking the law?

Give it a rest.

The last PM was a woman basher.

At least three women have also come forward to say that the last PM raped them.

Pages: 1 ... 3 4 5 6 7 ... 10