Companies Have Tax Questions To Answer (Read 3740 times)
Grappler Deep State Feller

Re: Companies Have Tax Questions To Answer
Reply #15 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 6:21pm

That's because it SHOULD be illegal... it simply isn't possible to operate at a loss year after year and maintain that you are running a business..... especially in the retail sector, where you buy cheap and sell pricey.... and especially when you 'value add' by manufacturing, shipping and selling yourself....

Reply #16 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 6:21pm

mariacostel wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 5:38pm:
The moment I read 'ruling class' I knew the OP was a waste of time. What rubbish is that to assign a class structure to Australian society which is as egalitarian as you will find anywhere on the planet. What is actually meant is 'rich people', successful people' or the 'subject of envy class'.

The Canberra Times is nothing more than a Public Service broadsheet filled with PS drivel and the left-wing envy that usually comes hand in hand.

The dislike and distrust of business that is evidenced here does not provide a nursery for new business. Potential entrepreneurs and new business owners want to think that people will support them as they create jobs and export earnings for the country. But instead, they get this envy culture that seeks to criticise, often with a  great deal of hate and bitterness.

How dare anyone make a loss in business and not pay tax. How dare they make hundreds of millions in profit and pay tax on that while the owners become mega rich?

and we wonder why so many successful people and ideas go to silicon valley as did Australias most successful software company... because as a culture, we despise success and wealth and mock failure.

There is no 'ruling class'.

Spoken like a rusted-on member of the underclass.

Have you met Longy yet, dear?

Reply #17 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 6:32pm

mariacostel wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 5:38pm:
The moment I read 'ruling class' I knew the OP was a waste of time. What rubbish is that to assign a class structure to Australian society which is as egalitarian as you will find anywhere on the planet. What is actually meant is 'rich people', successful people' or the 'subject of envy class'.

The Canberra Times is nothing more than a Public Service broadsheet filled with PS drivel and the left-wing envy that usually comes hand in hand.

The dislike and distrust of business that is evidenced here does not provide a nursery for new business. Potential entrepreneurs and new business owners want to think that people will support them as they create jobs and export earnings for the country. But instead, they get this envy culture that seeks to criticise, often with a  great deal of hate and bitterness.

How dare anyone make a loss in business and not pay tax. How dare they make hundreds of millions in profit and pay tax on that while the owners become mega rich?

and we wonder why so many successful people and ideas go to silicon valley as did Australias most successful software company... because as a culture, we despise success and wealth and mock failure.

There is no 'ruling class'.

How dare anyone make a loss in business and not pay tax.

Yes how dare they - they even make a loss when they meet record income levels year after year. Some of our most successful multi billion dollar companies never make a taxable profit.

Reply #18 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 6:33pm

You mean past PM's wives don't get a free pass on drink driving charges... and a rich man isn't given a soft ride in the courts?  You mean the entire focus of 'law' here for over two hundred years has been to keep the 'lesser people' in line since they are drunken brawlers or no value?

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #19 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 7:26pm

mariacostel wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 5:41pm:
perceptions_now wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 1:15pm:
I re-post the following here, as it is relevant!

perceptions_now wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 1:13pm:
Ikea’s tax bill dwindles despite big sales

Swedish furniture giant Ikea’s poor run of profitability in Australia has continued despite booming sales and a growing store network, with the group again sending tens of millions of pre-tax dollars offshore, significantly shrinking its profit and local tax bill.

While Australians’ love of Ikea furniture, housewares and storage products has never been stronger, with the retailer adding nearly $100 million in sales for the 2015 financial year, the global retail juggernaut cannot seem to get its after-tax profit moving in the same direction.

Ikea’s latest financial accounts, lodged with the corporate regulator and obtained by The Australian, include an impenetrable set of statements for the year to August 31, 2015.

The accounts include a series of unexplained costs and payments that amount to nearly $90m, which stripped away from an otherwise robust gross profit of more than $300m for the year.

The bottom-line results for Ikea Australia reveal net profit for 2015 actually fell to $15.1m, from $21.64m in the previous year, marking a massive 30 per cent slide in profitability for the period. Revenue for 2015 rose to $827.39m, from $733.46m, a gain of 13 per cent.

By the time a ‘franchise fee’ of $27.56m and ‘other expenses’ of $61.83m was applied to the retailer’s gross profit of $300m, Ikea’s profit before tax had been whittled down to only $24.47m. These other expenses do not cover the usual costs of doing business such as wages, advertising, rent and occupancy costs.

In 2014 it was a similar story, with franchise and other expenses totalling $70.9m while an opaque line item titled “payment under risk agreement’’ swiped another $37.06m from Ikea’s before-tax profit.

It is believed all of these payments are sent offshore to more friendly tax jurisdictions.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/business/breaking-news/ikeas-tax-bill-dwindles-...
==============================================
A few observations -
1) If it is so obvious, that Tax on Australian generated Profits are being "evaded", the Why doesn't the ATO take Legal action?
2) If the Proper amount of Tax on Australian generated Profits are being "evaded", because Australian Politicians have not done their job properly in constructing the OZ TAX LAWS, then its past time when they (our Politicians) were given the only message they understand.

Q. What is "THE message" that our Pollies understand?
A. Sack every "incumbent", at the next election & keep doing so,
UNTIL THEY FINALLY GET IT - THE MESSAGE!!!

BECAUSE IT ISNT ILLEGAL!!!  WHY must you be the only person in the country that doesn't yet realise that?  Countries around the globe are working together to find a solution to this problem because it will require a global collaboration.

Please try and keep up with the facts!

Well Longy, it seems your "Reading & Comprehension" still haven't got any better, as you missed, elected not to read or didn't understand the following, which was in my post!

2) If the Proper amount of Tax on Australian generated Profits are being "evaded", because Australian Politicians have not done their job properly in constructing the OZ TAX LAWS, then its past time when they (our Politicians) were given the only message they understand.

Our Pollies & Others, can resolve the Problem/s, IF THEY WANT TO!

mariacostel

Reply #20 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 7:30pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 6:21pm:
That's because it SHOULD be illegal... it simply isn't possible to operate at a loss year after year and maintain that you are running a business..... especially in the retail sector, where you buy cheap and sell pricey.... and especially when you 'value add' by manufacturing, shipping and selling yourself....

New businesses can sometimes take as long as ten years to be profitable. Twitter for example has never yet made a profit.

If it is so easy to make a fortune in retail why don't you have a go and see for yourself why it is the single worst performing sector in the economy.

mariacostel

Reply #21 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 7:31pm

perceptions_now wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 7:26pm:
mariacostel wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 5:41pm:
perceptions_now wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 1:15pm:
I re-post the following here, as it is relevant!

perceptions_now wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 1:13pm:
Ikea’s tax bill dwindles despite big sales

Swedish furniture giant Ikea’s poor run of profitability in Australia has continued despite booming sales and a growing store network, with the group again sending tens of millions of pre-tax dollars offshore, significantly shrinking its profit and local tax bill.

While Australians’ love of Ikea furniture, housewares and storage products has never been stronger, with the retailer adding nearly $100 million in sales for the 2015 financial year, the global retail juggernaut cannot seem to get its after-tax profit moving in the same direction.

Ikea’s latest financial accounts, lodged with the corporate regulator and obtained by The Australian, include an impenetrable set of statements for the year to August 31, 2015.

The accounts include a series of unexplained costs and payments that amount to nearly $90m, which stripped away from an otherwise robust gross profit of more than $300m for the year.

The bottom-line results for Ikea Australia reveal net profit for 2015 actually fell to $15.1m, from $21.64m in the previous year, marking a massive 30 per cent slide in profitability for the period. Revenue for 2015 rose to $827.39m, from $733.46m, a gain of 13 per cent.

By the time a ‘franchise fee’ of $27.56m and ‘other expenses’ of $61.83m was applied to the retailer’s gross profit of $300m, Ikea’s profit before tax had been whittled down to only $24.47m. These other expenses do not cover the usual costs of doing business such as wages, advertising, rent and occupancy costs.

In 2014 it was a similar story, with franchise and other expenses totalling $70.9m while an opaque line item titled “payment under risk agreement’’ swiped another $37.06m from Ikea’s before-tax profit.

It is believed all of these payments are sent offshore to more friendly tax jurisdictions.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/business/breaking-news/ikeas-tax-bill-dwindles-...
==============================================
A few observations -
1) If it is so obvious, that Tax on Australian generated Profits are being "evaded", the Why doesn't the ATO take Legal action?

Q. What is "THE message" that our Pollies understand?
A. Sack every "incumbent", at the next election & keep doing so,
UNTIL THEY FINALLY GET IT - THE MESSAGE!!!

BECAUSE IT ISNT ILLEGAL!!!  WHY must you be the only person in the country that doesn't yet realise that?  Countries around the globe are working together to find a solution to this problem because it will require a global collaboration.

Please try and keep up with the facts!

Well Longy, it seems your "Reading & Comprehension" still haven't got any better, as you missed, elected not to read or didn't understand the following, which was in my post!

Our Pollies & Others, can resolve the Problem/s, IF THEY WANT TO!

No one wants to listen (and no one actually does) to your conspiracy theories about tax laws. If you are so good then go and stand for parliament yourself.

But no... can't do that, can we?  That might mean I have to do something other than whine incessantly and incoherently about it.

mariacostel

Reply #22 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 7:32pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 6:33pm:
You mean past PM's wives don't get a free pass on drink driving charges... and a rich man isn't given a soft ride in the courts?  You mean the entire focus of 'law' here for over two hundred years has been to keep the 'lesser people' in line since they are drunken brawlers or no value?

We all know you got done for an AVO in court and you are STILL whining about it.

Its boring and makes you look like a goose - and a violent one.

Reply #23 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 8:08pm

mariacostel wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 7:32pm:

We all know you got done for an AVO in court and you are STILL whining about it.

Nothing violent inherent in an AVO - it is proof positive of no violence having occurred since it  purports to (while being itself violence and illegal as well as unwarranted) be in place to preclude violence.

Grow up.  Your inability to understand simple concepts makes you look like a goose... and your approach is certainly aggressive if not outright violent.

It may be of little concern to you that people are losing rights in this country to simply go about their daily business.... it is very important to me.

mariacostel

Reply #24 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 8:13pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 8:08pm:

Nothing violent inherent in an AVO - it is proof positive of no violence having occurred since it  purports to (while being itself violence and illegal as well as unwarranted) be in place to preclude violence.

Grow up.  Your inability to understand simple concepts makes you look like a goose... and your approach is certainly aggressive if not outright violent.

It may be of little concern to you that people are losing rights in this country to simply go about their daily business.... it is very important to me.

You go on and on and on and on about law and how evil and inequitable it. Can you not see that your own experience has tainted and biased your viewpoint? And to be frank, the way you seem to have an very loose grip on reality (eg your Apollo 14 flight director relative and other such claims) makes your AVO more likely to be legit.

Reply #25 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 8:31pm

mariacostel wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 8:13pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Dec 28th, 2015 at 8:08pm:

We all know you got done for an AVO in court and you are STILL whining about it,

You go on and on and on and on about law and how evil and inequitable it. Can you not see that your own experience has tainted and biased your viewpoint? And to be frank, the way you seem to have an very loose grip on reality (eg your Apollo 14 flight director relative and other such claims) makes your AVO more likely to be legit.

The experience of millions does not count here?  You really have a very 'sheltered' view of life, and it is obvious your life has been tainted by it to the point of inadequacy to understand simple concepts.  Any imposition by a court of law is violence incarnate and may only be justified, under our Rule of Law, by a genuine act on the part of the person imposed upon... not on some myth that they might do something.

You, and your fellow detractors, have shown not one thing that I've said to be incorrect or false... it is all true... and you would be better served addressing the issues raised in the subject matter.

Companies indeed have a lot to answer for as regards taxation, as do governments for allowing them masses of loop-holes.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #26 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 9:49pm

Do you have an opinion Crook?

Reply #27 - Dec 28th, 2015 at 10:27pm

Mania/Longy retreating!!!  Send in the cavalry..... get on their heels and give them no rest.. no time to regroup.... keep your sword in their back...

stunspore

Reply #28 - Dec 29th, 2015 at 6:54am

In reply to Swag.  Your values are pretty twisted but entitled to your own opinion.  It doesn't make you right when you keep spewing about the unfairness of taxation when you can't acknowledge the concerns of others, especially how the economy and society will work for the vulnerable and poor.

If all companies did was provide jobs and no profit tax -as you libs would like it - might as well be a public sector/government job?

Phemanderac

Reply #29 - Dec 29th, 2015 at 7:01am

Companies do have some big questions to answer regarding them paying their way... Sadly though, we do not have the politicians, public servants, tax office et al with the necessary metal to ask those questions.

This will pass and fade away, until the next article point out that companies STILL have tax questions to answer...

On the 26th of January you are all invited to celebrate little white penal day...

"They're not rules as such, more like guidelines" Pirates of the Caribbean..