Muhammad-Ali (Read 18665 times)

Muhammad-Ali
Jun 4th, 2016 at 10:18am

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/boxing-mma/muhammad-ali-boxing-legend-in-...

MUHAMMAD ALI is taking on his biggest fight yet after being placed on a life-support machine.

The Sun reports that four of the 74-year-old’s nine children have rushed to his bedside, with medics apparently telling them they fear he “is near the end.”

The boxing legend was rushed to a hospital in Scottsdale, Arizona on Thursday after he suffered breathing problems, complicated by the Parkinson’s disease which he was diagnosed with in the 1980s.

According to a report from RadarOnline, the former boxing world champ’s vital organs are “terrible” and he is currently relying on medical help to continue breathing.

There were allegedly discussions over transporting Ali to another hospital in Phoenix.

But doctors called off the move after deciding that it “potentially could be deadly.”

so sad..

Re: Muhammad-Ali
Reply #1 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 10:29am

Back in the 1960s, there was fashion among black Americans in calling themselves Muzlim. It was partly a rejection of Christianity which they saw as the White man's religion. That was when Cassius Clay changed his name. I think it would be fair to ask why they didn't just dump religion altogether, because if they had look carefully into the history of West African slavery, the would have found that their ancestors were almost certainly rounded up by Muzlim slaverers, and sold to the white traders on the coast. And those Muzlim warlords were black. They believed any of their African brothers who were not Muzlim were fair game.

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #2 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 10:38am

A great man and one of my childhood idols.

SAD.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

Reply #3 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 10:48am

Am half way through watching the doco I posted on this subject in Sport earlier- his treatment of Joe Frazier in the Thriller In Manila, will forever be a blight on his career.. an ugly side of Ali that I didn't know existed..

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #4 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 11:06am

Agnes wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 10:48am:
Am half way through watching the doco I posted on this subject in Sport earlier- his treatment of Joe Frazier in the Thriller In Manila, will forever be a blight on his career.. an ugly side of Ali that I didn't know existed..

He was one of the greatest showmen in boxing history, probably the best ever boxer and showman.

He may have crossed the line in attacking Frazier as a human being but that only generated more interest in the fight.

He was also attacking Frazier psyche to affect his game plan.

Ali was probably scared (who knows) he would lose the fight, so he attacked Joe's mind, they do say its 90% between the ears.

Plus Joe made heaps of money where is it.....????

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

Reply #5 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 11:11am

Agnes wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 10:48am:

agnes he was eaten up with racism   I thought the saddest thing was to see where he threw his gold Olympic medal in a river .. we have no idea what it is like to be treated different...in those days blacks still rode in the back of the bus..... he was a very disillusioned man....he thought Frazier acted like an uncle tom to impress the white people.. an d he hated it..

I think its a huge sadness to see this once fine athlete end like this.

Reply #6 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 11:32am

I agree with some of your points, but it is never ok to attack another "brutha" that way- very ugly things he said to Frazier, and Frazier was a good decent man who helped Ali when he was on the bones of his ass...

Anyway ya'll looks like this one as a false alarm,Ali will live to brag another day, recent reports have confirmed.      Smiley

Reply #7 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 11:42am

He had open affairs behind his wives backs, called his opponents gorillas and showed disrespect to people the whole world over. He was a great boxer but an absolute douche. Soon he'll have to stand in front of Mo. I'm sure Mo won't care about the affairs.

Reply #8 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 12:19pm

"No Viet Cong called me a  n i g g e r."

A man of principles who would rather go to jail than violate his principles.

GordyL

Hate Town
Reply #9 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:27pm

Ali registered for the draft on his eighteenth birthday and was listed as 1-A in 1962.[96] In 1964, he was reclassified as 1-Y (fit for service only in times of national emergency) after two mental tests found his IQ was 78[97] (16th percentile), well below the armed force's 30th-percentile threshold.[96] (He was quoted as saying, "I said I was the greatest, not the smartest!")

On the Ning Nang Nong
Where the Cows go Bong!
and the monkeys all say BOO!

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #10 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:32pm

Muhammad Ali has died, NBC news reports

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=11650743
====================================
May he now rest in peace!

Black Orchid

Reply #11 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:36pm

Reply #12 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:40pm

perceptions_now wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:32pm:

So it wasnt a false report as some said- a great man and yes he was a douche but will be sorely missed nonetheless..

Reply #13 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:48pm

Poor bloke - I really liked Ali - I watched all his main fights.

Reply #14 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:03pm

deleted

Reply #15 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:10pm

Muhammad-Ali

The man who said he was the greatest and nobody disagreed.

RIP

Reply #16 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:16pm

"I'm so mean I make medicine sick."

Ironic.

Reply #17 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:35pm

Agnes wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 11:32am:
I agree with some of your points, but it is never ok to attack another "brutha" that way- very ugly things he said to Frazier, and Frazier was a good decent man who helped Ali when he was on the bones of his ass...

True.

It takes a bit of 'mongrel' in ones character to be such a persistent champion as he was.

Mind you, him and his bank manager, and all the Hangers-on were damn lucky Mike Tyson arrived on the scene when he did. Tyson would have creamed him in 3 rounds max.

Tyson was a Natural Born Killer with none of the personality and humour that Clay liked to entertain the media with. Tyson's punch was like being kicked by a draft horse.

"Float like a butterfly and sting like a bee" ... In his hayday Tyson was more dangerous and eratic in his behaviour than that gorilla that just got shot at the zoo.

Reply #18 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:40pm

In my opinion - Ali was the greatest boxer in history -
why?
because when he was at his prime - you couldn't hit him -

he was too fast on his feet & could avoid being punched
by just bobbing his head one way or the other.

Reply #19 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:42pm

Dnarever wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:10pm:
Muhammad-Ali

RIP

Correction: Nobody dared disagree.

Reply #20 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:44pm

Reply #21 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:47pm

yanno- Tony Mundine is always saying this..this may well be Mundine in a few years   Grin Grin Cheesy

Reply #22 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:48pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:42pm:
Dnarever wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:10pm:
Muhammad-Ali

RIP

Correction: Nobody dared disagree.

Mundine did he dared him right to his face-  Grin

Here is Tony being great-

Reply #23 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:55pm

Where is all them white folks waitin' to be World Heavyweight champions?

Reply #24 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:59pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:55pm:

There will never be another Ali.

I watched many matches of his  live.

I was watching history in the making -

I was watching the best!

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #25 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 4:02pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:59pm:

I was watching the best!

ditto

Reply #26 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 4:08pm

"I like the boy!" Bert Newton at the logies.

Reply #27 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 4:11pm

R.I.P.

He was the best

Reply #28 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 4:41pm

Omar Muso ~ (google him.)

"Inna lilahi wa inna ilahi wa raji’un

Once, when I was a child, I got teased by another kid because I had brown skin. The kid told me my skin was the same colour as poo. I went home in tears, and for the only time in my life, I said to my parents that I wished I wasn’t brown. My father sat me down and told me to be proud of my skin and of being Muslim, even if other people put you down for it. I don’t know if it was connected, but soon afterwards he began to show me tapes of a charismatic, handsome black boxer from America, a proto-rapper who spat rhymes and cracked jokes, who drove a pink Cadillac, who stood up for his people and his convictions, all the while dancing on the canvas like no-one before and no-one to come. And he was Muslim, like us, and proud of it! And a poet! And he had even fought in Malaysia once!

I went to the Queanbeyan library and photocopied pictures of him to stick them in my school diary and on my wall. I could never be a boxer, but I could have that unbuggerwithable attitude. Ali taught me to be brave, to stand up for myself, to fight for the underdog, and that even if society was against you, your conviction for what was right would be vindicated by history. That my brown skin was not the colour of poo — it shone brighter than gold. He taught me to be PROUD. It was this man who led me to studying Malcolm X and the Civil Rights Movement in my teens, and in turn to Public Enemy and Ice Cube and hip hop music. I owe so much of my life, my confidence, my personality, to him. Could he have ever known that he would have such an impact on a confused, spectacled half-Asian, half-white kid on the other side of the world? Who knows, but probably, because he affected so many of us around the planet, from Kuala Lumpur to Kinshasa.

I’m not even sure I believe in the concept of a “hero”, but if there was ever a hero in my life, it was Muhammad Ali. But all heroes are human. There were times when I read about the way Ali had treated Joe Frazier, taunting him with a cruelty that went past banter, and I didn’t like him. He could be a flawed human, like the rest of us, but most of the time he seemed superhuman, a radiant being who stood for more than just himself.

Even though it has been a long time coming, I am devastated. I did not cry when MJ or Prince died, but today I wept for the public figure that looms largest over my childhood, my life. I feel like I have lost a family member. Sadly, I never met him. I can’t tell you how many times I wished, that by some trick of fate, I could have. Maybe it’s presumptuous of me to say, but I doubt he would want us to mourn. Apparently, even in ill-health, he never wanted anyone to feel sorry for him, and he knew that he had lived a hell of a life.

On my 18th birthday, my mate Brendan gave me a book of Muhammad Ali quotes and marked a specific page. Apparently, Ali’s favourite story to tell his kids at bedtime was about a slave called Omar. The essence of the story was that even though Omar was a slave, he always had the heart of a king. In the way Ali acted and connected with people, especially poor and downtrodden people, he showed that he also lived by this attitude — seeing the royalty in everyone, no matter who they were.

A fighter, a father, a contradiction, a trash talker, a poet, a leader, a man of faith. The Champ, The Louisville Lip, The Greatest. In life, he danced and danced on ‘em. He will dance on in our memories.

RIP Muhammad Ali."

Reply #29 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 4:52pm

Agnes wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:40pm:

So it wasnt a false report as some said- a great man and yes he was a douche but will be sorely missed nonetheless..

I could not  disagree with you more..

there are not many people in this world who has never heard of Muhammad Ali.....as a boxer he excelled.. his family loved him and many many  people adored him...

R.I.P. you are legend....

Reply #30 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 5:08pm

Ajax wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 4:02pm:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 3:59pm:

I was watching the best!

ditto

Reply #31 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 5:27pm

RIP Cassius Clay.

You were the greatest

No contenders for your crown thus far. Smiley

Reply #32 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 5:35pm

Floats like a butterfly .............

Look at his footwork here. Beautiful jabs while backing away .........

Keep in mind Cleveland was called 'The Cat'

Reply #33 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:09pm

cods wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 4:52pm:

there are not many people in this world who have never heard of Muhammad Ali.....as a boxer he excelled.. his family loved him and many many  people adored him...

Quite right Cods.

it's a sad day - but we all have to go sometime.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #34 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:22pm

He was the greatest.. a pain in the ass but the greatest nonetheless.

Super Nova

Everywhere
Reply #35 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:22pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 5:35pm:

Great link. What a fighter. He was so much smarter than the average boxer. Super fast. Rarely got hit.

Reply #36 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:33pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:09pm:

there are not many people in this world who have never heard of Muhammad Ali.....as a boxer he excelled.. his family loved him and many many  people adored him...

Quite right Cods.

We really are not disagreeing- he was a douche to Joe Frazier, but I liked him very much- I do not like the way he treated Frazier, it was cruel and very public, some say he it was all trash talk in the lead up to the fight but he hurt Frazier and Frazier was there for Ali when he was down and out- it really hurt Frazier, it was nasty and very personal.. that was between them and I only just today found out about it. 

Ali was a legend there is no doubt, a good man too- he had integrity for the most part and fought for equality amongst his own, that is why I was so surprised when I found out how he hurt Frazier. Frazier answered the taunts with his fists and punched the sh it out of him Grin  Frazier had Ali's measure I think. Ali was jealous. Wink

I love Ali- he was the greatest but he was intimidated by Frazier and he let it show.

« Last Edit: Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:44pm by Agnes »  

Reply #37 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:37pm

Super Nova wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:22pm:

Great link. What a fighter. He was so much smarter than the average boxer. Super fast. Rarely got hit.

That was a great fight.
Cleveland Williams was lucky the ref stopped it when he did.

Reply #38 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:47pm

Frasier slugs it out with Ali and ..

Reply #39 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 8:13pm

A nice tribute video:

Reply #40 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 8:27pm

Quite right Cods.

Speak for yourself.

Reply #41 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 8:31pm

Quite right Cods.

very true....he was only 74 though and its sad his last years were spent in such ill health...I am pretty lucky really..

I have told my lot they will have to kill me with an axe...I take that many pills.. this body can never give up.

Reply #42 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 8:47pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:37pm:

That was a great fight.

i thought cleveland was unlucky it was not stopped in the previous round.

Alis footwork was like a ballerina.
throwing great jabs while backing away.

ask a boxer about that.

ian

Reply #43 - Jun 4th, 2016 at 9:34pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 8:47pm:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:37pm:

That was a great fight.

i thought cleveland was unlucky it was not stopped in the previous round.

Alis footwork was like a ballerina.
throwing great jabs while backing away.

ask a boxer about that.
They rubbish Mayweather for the same tactics, some people seem to think boxing is all about trading punches.

Reply #44 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 12:30am

14 punches in 3 seconds?

Go to 1:19

Reply #45 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 12:42am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 12:30am:
14 punches in 3 seconds?

I could not count them.
They were mostly clean crisp knockout punches though.

Any one of those lands on me and I'ld be out cold.

Reply #46 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 7:01am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 12:42am:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 12:30am:
14 punches in 3 seconds?

I could not count them.
They were mostly clean crisp knockout punches though.

Any one of those lands on me and I'ld be out cold.

They weren't Mike Tyson type punches but they did the trick.

Ali was certainly quick.

Reply #47 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:10am

They are burying him "on Friday".

So did he recant his faith at the last moment?

Muslims have to be buried within 24 hours.

Reply #48 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:12am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 7:22pm:

Yes .... but he could talk the talk & walk the walk

unlike a certain home grown goose that has made the claim that he is the best .... across 2 sports.  Grin

Reply #49 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:16am

Gnads wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:12am:

unlike a certain home grown goose that has made the claim that he is the best .... across 2 sports.  Grin

I've always suspected he was fed those lines by person or persons as yet unknown. These pithy quips rolled out of him at exactly the right time when the media was crowding around him with a score of microphones at the ready.

The Heartless Felon

Reply #50 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:19am

I forget which fight it was but there was talk of reducing the size of the ring.
Ali responded "I don't care how small the ring is; I'll fight that bum in a telephone booth!"

R I P

Reply #51 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:23am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:16am:
Gnads wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:12am:

I've always suspected he was fed those lines by person or persons as yet unknown. These pithy quips rolled out of him at exactly the right time when the media was crowding around him with a score of microphones at the ready.

No it was all him:

Reply #52 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:27am

Reply #53 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:44am

You have to admit that for a bloke that never got hit

the Parkinsons sure said different

RIP Ali

Reply #54 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:00am

Gnads wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:44am:

RIP Ali

His brain was put in a blender by all those punches he received, and no doubt at this very moment research scientists are probably examining slices of his brain tissue under microscopes just as they did with Einstein.

Boxing is all very passé, of course, having been replaced by the hugely popular Mixed Martial Arts fights ... 'UFC ... 'UFC Fight Night' ... 'Bellator ... 'UFC on Fox' ... 'Ultimate Fighter' ... etc. That's all I watch nowadays.

I couldn't even tell you who the world heavyweight boxing champion is.
« Last Edit: Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:10am by Lord Herbert »  

Reply #55 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:28am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:00am:

RIP Ali

His brain was put in a blender by all those punches he received, and no doubt at this very moment research scientists are probably examining slices of his brain tissue under microscopes just as they did with Einstein.

Boxing is all very passé, of course, having been replaced by the hugely popular Mixed Martial Arts fights ... 'UFC ... 'UFC Fight Night' ... 'Bellator ... 'UFC on Fox' ... 'Ultimate Fighter' ... etc. That's all I watch nowadays.

After Ali - there wasn't the same excitement about boxing.

You sort of had the brutal Tyson era & then I lost track of it.

GordyL

Hate Town
Reply #56 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:30am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:28am:

RIP Ali

Tyson Ear a?

On the Ning Nang Nong
Where the Cows go Bong!
and the monkeys all say BOO!

Reply #57 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:41am

It was that idiot Bill Mordey who bought up the television rights to boxing on Free-to-Air TV that put a stop to it for a lot of people. My brother switched to Pay TV ... and then discovered if he wanted to watch a big fight he had to pay extra to have it uploaded to his TV.

Within hours he had the technician come over to take away the box on the outside wall. What a rort. 

Reply #58 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:45am

GordyL wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:30am:

RIP Ali

Tyson Ear a?

Yes - it's brutal to bite someone's ear off.

Reply #59 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:46am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:41am:

It was that idiot Bill Mordey who bought up the television rights to boxing on Free-to-Air TV that put a stop to it for a lot of people. My brother switched to Pay TV ... and then discovered if he wanted to watch a big fight he had to pay extra to have it uploaded to his TV.

Within hours he had the technician come over to take away the box on the outside wall. What a rort. 

I know.
I'd love to watch all international rugby events but you gotta pay nowadays.

Reply #60 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:52am

I had the privilege to meet Muhamed Ali when  he was in Australia for the Logies. Remember the famous incident when Bert Newton said, "I like the boy." An unintended insult but Ali deflected it with humour and grace.

However when I briefly met Ali at Sydney Airport he was charming and totally approachable. He spoke to total strangers like he knew them personally.

He was grace and dignity personified..a humble great man. The aura around him was unbelievable, he projected greatness without trying.

Reply #61 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 11:10am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:46am:
I know.

Are the rumours true that a lot of those scrum-downs are Gay pornographic?

Reply #62 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 11:26am

Please keep this site on subject we don't need trash like you trotted out Lord Herbert. Start up your own post but don't desecrate this one with crap.

R.I.P. Muhamed Ali

Reply #63 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 11:31am

red baron wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 11:26am:
Please keep this site on subject we don't need trash like you trotted out Lord Herbert. Start up your own post but don't desecrate this one with crap.

R.I.P. Muhamed Ali

Love that one.  ...
« Last Edit: Jun 5th, 2016 at 11:49am by Agnes »  

Reply #64 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 11:33am

Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 11:10am:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:46am:
I know.

Are the rumours true that a lot of those scrum-downs are Gay pornographic?

forgiven

namaste

Reply #65 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 3:57pm

go to 9:00 if you want to see the end only.

Reply #66 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 4:15pm

Watch from 3:27.

the ref has to stop the fight:

Reply #67 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 6:20pm

Is it better to be able to avoid being hit than being able to land a KO?

Reply #68 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 6:24pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 6:20pm:

In his case yes- he was well known for wearing them out for best part ( dodging and diving) of the fight and then going in for the kill when they had nothing left in the tank. Smart.

Reply #69 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 6:27pm

Some really good stuff from Ali's biographer.  Contains many descriptions of some great moments.

Reply #70 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 6:29pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 6:20pm:

No one else has ever done that - he was super human.

Reply #71 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:23pm

I never knew he met the Beatles.
he's 6'3" tall =  191 cm & he towers over them.

Reply #72 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:33pm

I just found this on the internet-

Mentally challenged cases may view him as an idol because he finished as the bottom of his high school class (#376 out of #391) and scored IQ 78 (classified as "borderline retardation") on the army's IQ test and yet achieved world fame ("I didn't stay in school like I should. I don't have the education. I have common sense how to make it. I have no education in books of writin' ")

That's why he said silly things. He was retarded.

ian

Reply #73 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:46pm

Not the best . Henry Cooper effectively beat him twice and was a better boxer.

Reply #74 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:29pm

Tyson admits he couldn't have beaten Ali in his prime:

go to  4:08

Reply #75 - Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:30pm

thanks for all the great clips guys..

he was one of a kind..

poke like a butterfly
sting like a bee

your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see!!

Reply #76 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 6:21am

Tyson admits he couldn't have beaten Ali in his prime:

go to  4:08

Reply #77 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 7:48am

ian wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 8:46pm:

How? the two fights I saw Cooper was beaten by TKO because Clay found his weakness ... left eye cut .. hammered it  ..... end of

first in 5 rounds, second in 6

how did cooper effectively beat him?

Reply #78 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 10:10am

What are you smoking?

Racist hate has twisted your mind.

Reply #79 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 8:05pm

End of the fight  29:42

Reply #80 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 8:37pm

GordyL wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:27pm:
Ali registered for the draft on his eighteenth birthday and was listed as 1-A in 1962.[96] In 1964, he was reclassified as 1-Y (fit for service only in times of national emergency) after two mental tests found his IQ was 78[97] (16th percentile), well below the armed force's 30th-percentile threshold.[96] (He was quoted as saying, "I said I was the greatest, not the smartest!")

But of course. Not only  was he a Negroid, he was a dirty Muslim.

And they all have IQs under 81.

Pathetic.

Reply #81 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:03pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Jun 5th, 2016 at 9:30pm:
thanks for all the great clips guys..

he was one of a kind..

poke like a butterfly
sting like a bee

your hands can't hit
what your eyes can't see!!

Apologist.

Reply #82 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:04pm

Karnal wrote on Jun 6th, 2016 at 8:37pm:
GordyL wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:27pm:

But of course. Not only  was he a Negroid, he was a dirty Muslim.

And they all have IQs under 81.

Pathetic.
he did.

Reply #83 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:06pm

Last night I cut the light off in my bedroom, hit the switch, and was in the bed before the room was dark.

ian

Reply #84 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:21pm

Gnads wrote on Jun 6th, 2016 at 7:48am:

How? the two fights I saw Cooper was beaten by TKO because Clay found his weakness ... left eye cut .. hammered it  ..... end of

In the first fight  Alis trainer admitted to cheating by delaying the round after Cooper knocked him out on his feet  by 6 seconds and by using smelling salts on him. The fight was Coopers on TKO or points if not for that. The 2nd fight was stopped because of Coopers cuts yes, but he was ahead on points. Ali did not out box him.
« Last Edit: Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:26pm by ian »  

ian

Reply #85 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:23pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 6th, 2016 at 10:10am:

What are you smoking?

Racist hate has twisted your mind.
Nothing to do with race, despite that enormous chip on your shoulder.

Reply #86 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:25pm

ian wrote on Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:21pm:

In the first fight  Alis trainer admitted to cheating by delaying the round after Copper knocked him out on his feet  by 6 seconds and by using smelling salts on him. The fight was Coopers on TKO or points if not for that. The 2nd fight was stopped because of Coppers cuts yes, but he was ahead on points. Ali did not out box him.

Ken Norton beat Ali - he even broke his jaw.

ian

Reply #87 - Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:26pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 6th, 2016 at 9:25pm:

In the first fight  Alis trainer admitted to cheating by delaying the round after Cooper knocked him out on his feet  by 6 seconds and by using smelling salts on him. The fight was Coopers on TKO or points if not for that. The 2nd fight was stopped because of Coopers cuts yes, but he was ahead on points. Ali did not out box him.

Reply #88 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 12:36pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 4th, 2016 at 2:48pm:

"really liked him"?

You don't like Muslims, Booby.

Remember?

Reply #89 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 12:42pm

So apart from the fact he lost in the 2nd fight cause he was cut, he won the fight. Thanks for rewriting the rules.

Also in the first fight, Cooper was in his prime wheres Clay was young. To me its like claiming Max Mirnyi was a better tennis player than Roger Federer because Max beat Roger in the4th round of Wimbledon 2002.

Reply #90 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 12:42pm

In the first fight  Alis trainer admitted to cheating by delaying the round after Copper knocked him out on his feet  by 6 seconds and by using smelling salts on him. The fight was Coopers on TKO or points if not for that. The 2nd fight was stopped because of Coppers cuts yes, but he was ahead on points. Ali did not out box him.

But in Nortons next fight he lost to Ali.

Reply #91 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 12:46pm

You are saying Ali still beat Cooper despite suffering severe concussion. Just exemplifies Cooper couldn't finish off a concussed Ali and couldn't prevent Cooper's own face from being battered by a concussed Ali.

Cooper was a brawler hoping to get lucky by landing a wild king hit.
« Last Edit: Jun 7th, 2016 at 12:55pm by Laugh till you cry »  

Reply #92 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 1:36pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 12:42pm:

But in Nortons next fight he lost to Ali.

I know that.

Reply #93 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 1:48pm

"really liked him"?

Remember?

Reply #94 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 2:49pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 1:48pm:

"really liked him"?

Remember?

Wrong! Bobby loves dead Muslims.

Reply #95 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 8:44pm

More comments ...

link

Reply #96 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:02pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 8:44pm:
More comments ...

link

To me - he wasn't a true Muslim -

he was just being anti-establishment.

Reply #97 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:07pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:02pm:
More comments ...

link

Bobby now appoints himself as a judge of who is a true Muslim.

Reply #98 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:11pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:07pm:
More comments ...

link

Bobby now appoints himself as a judge of who is a true Muslim.

That's right,
please change that scary avatar.

Reply #99 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:31pm

More comments ...

link

He wanted Black women to be killed for having sex with white guys ...

Cassius was a great boxer and a fine fellow in many ways, but even so, like most people, he had his little foibles of character.

ian

Reply #100 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:34pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 12:46pm:

You are saying Ali still beat Cooper despite suffering severe concussion. Just exemplifies Cooper couldn't finish off a concussed Ali and couldn't prevent Cooper's own face from being battered by a concussed Ali.

Although you have something in common with Muhammed Ali in as such you have both been punched in the ring a few times you know nothing about boxing.

Reply #101 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:36pm

ian wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:34pm:

Although you have something in common with Muhammed Ali in as such you have both been punched in the ring a few times you know nothing about boxing.

ian has taken too many TKOs and is punch drunk. ian, time for you to throw in the towel.

Reply #102 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:48pm

Reply #103 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 10:13pm

Watch the video above.

Ali's speech was already slurred in 1981

ian

Reply #104 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 10:23pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:36pm:
ian wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 9:34pm:

ian has taken too many TKOs and is punch drunk. ian, time for you to throw in the towel.
Why would I throw in the towel when Im ahead on points?

Reply #105 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 11:17pm

Reply #106 - Jun 7th, 2016 at 11:28pm

How did Ali stand up & fight after this one?

Reply #107 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 12:45am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 11:28pm:
How did Ali stand up & fight after this one?

How did he stand up after it ?

Reply #108 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 1:52am

Love the way the "Compare Health Insurance" advert comes up at the end of the video.

Reply #109 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 2:16am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 10:13pm:
Watch the video above.

yes, so what ?

he was a beautiful guy.

Reply #110 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 2:26am

oops

Reply #111 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 2:31am

Ali is right on the button here.

You'ld have to be crazy to not want to be with your own kind

Reply #112 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:24am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 8th, 2016 at 2:16am:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 7th, 2016 at 10:13pm:
Watch the video above.

yes, so what ?

he was a beautiful guy.

But if you watched the video the Mayo clinic had stated he was OK.

It was obvious that he wasn't.

The video again:

Reply #113 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:35am

Ah, I see.
I was unaware a clinic said he was ok.
He was deteriorating.

Reply #114 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 12:40pm

"Ali was a kind and decent man." A man of principles who refused to kowtow to the establishment.

https://www.wsws.org/en/articles/2016/06/06/pers-j06.html

Who will follow the example of Muhammad Ali’s principled stand in our day?
6 June 2016
The death of former heavyweight boxing champion Muhammad Ali, who, in his day, was a symbol of protest and resistance, has prompted the inevitable and instinctive effort by the establishment to appropriate his legacy for their own cynical uses.

It is hard to believe that more than half a century has passed since the first bout between Cassius Clay (Ali’s birth name) and Sonny Liston in February 1964 and more than 40 years have come and gone since Ali’s astonishing comeback.

Ali was a great athlete, but one could reasonably argue that he made his chief mark on history and popular consciousness by his courageous opposition to the Vietnam War. A product of rebellious times, Ali earned the admiration and respect of tens of millions around the globe for his act of protest.

After upsetting reigning heavyweight champion Liston in February 1964 at the age of 22, the boxer aligned himself with the black nationalist Nation of Islam and changed his name to Muhammad Ali. He defended his title numerous times, before announcing in 1966 that he would not serve in the US military and then refusing induction into the armed forces a year later.

Ali explained at the time: “My conscience won’t let me go shoot my brother, or some darker people, or some poor hungry people in the mud for big powerful America. And shoot them for what? They never called me black person, they never lynched me, they didn’t put no dogs on me, they didn’t rob me of my nationality, rape and kill my mother and father... Shoot them for what?... How can I shoot them poor people, Just take me to jail!”

Ali’s boxing license was immediately suspended and his title stripped from him by the cowardly, “patriotic” boxing authorities. He was widely vilified by sports writers, generally among the stupidest and most superficial members of the journalistic fraternity. The venerable Red Smith claimed that the fighter had made himself “as sorry a spectacle as those unwashed punks who picket and demonstrate against the war.” Another sports writer-sage, Jim Murray of the Los Angeles Times, termed Ali a “black Benedict Arnold.”
Ali was convicted at a trial in June 1967 and sentenced to five years in prison. For four years, when he was at the height of his physical powers and his case was winding its way through the courts, Ali was unable to fight. The US Supreme Court finally tossed out his conviction in 1971. During his suspension he toured the country, speaking at hundreds of colleges and universities in opposition to the war in Vietnam and on other social issues. Ali would regain his boxing license and go on to take back his heavyweight title, lose it in the ring, and then win it back a record third time.

By all accounts, his noisy, self-promoting and occasionally cruel outbursts aside, Ali was a kind and decent man. In an often barbaric sport, he exhibited great gifts, remarkable grace and elegance, and enormous physical courage. Moreover, Ali had a devilishly sharp wit. He was not only impressive in the ring but could hold his own in the company of experienced interviewers and antagonists, and even best them.

ian

Reply #115 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 2:48pm

9 children by 5 different women tells me all i need to know about his personal character. and he was a liar.

Reply #116 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 3:27pm

ian wrote on Jun 8th, 2016 at 2:48pm:
9 children by 5 different women tells me all i need to know about his personal character. and he was a liar.

How he kept winning fights in between all that bedroom activity is something of a mystery. Flat out in the bedroom but kept vertical in the ring. Drug testing wasn't so sophisticated in those days .......

Reply #117 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 3:36pm

Well said.  I have never watched Boxing but recall seeing him on TV telling everyone "I am The Greatest". I always thought he was a poseur.

Still RIP, I suppose. Why is there so much whoo haaa about it?  Clinton giving the Eulogy and so forth?  Roll Eyes

Reply #118 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:14pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:35am:
Ah, I see.
He was deteriorating.

It doesn't say much for the Mayo clinic.

They should be sued for $100 million.

http://www.mayoclinic.org/

Patient care and health information

More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you.
Find out why Mayo Clinic is the right place for your health care.

Reply #119 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:20pm

Ian shuns procreation except the anally simulated type? Ian has never told a lie?

Reply #120 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:30pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:14pm:
Ah, I see.
He was deteriorating.

More than 3,300 physicians, scientists and researchers from Mayo Clinic share their expertise to empower you.

I am quite 'critical' of the health industry overall.
People often forget they run a very successful business.

Reply #121 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:44pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:30pm:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 8th, 2016 at 7:14pm:
Ah, I see.
He was deteriorating.

I am quite 'critical' of the health industry overall.
People often forget they run a very successful business.

Watch out for a lawsuit against the Mayo clinic -

it is predicted.

Reply #122 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 8:50pm

Reply #123 - Jun 8th, 2016 at 11:58pm

I watched all the collection of Parkinson interviews tonight, and now I remember why I lost interest in Ali. When he was Clay, he was already self made champ, a bit mouthy in a vain way, but I found it amusing. When he changed name and beliefs, he seemed more mouthy than ever,  angry, humiliating, I felt a different opinion at that point. Then somehow, later in his life, he mellowed, and got parkinsons, then I felt more tolerant of him. But mainly, was always aware if him and how he was doing. He really was very quick and energetically cheeky and confidently in the boxing ring.   But I just read in this thread he had 9 kids to 5 wives?! Now I wonder, is that  why he changed religion! And yet, did he still fool around behind the wives backs? It brings me to a conclusion, same as what that great golfer Tiger Woods did, had a wife & kids, and about 11 mistress's. Where am I going with this? The more f... buddies...the better at sport? Geez I wonder now!
« Last Edit: Jun 9th, 2016 at 9:53am by Sophia »  

Reply #124 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 5:50am

I didn't know that but -
yes it is true - Ali married 4 times & had at least 9 children.
Does that make him a bad person?

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/06/04/muhammad-alis-tangled-love-life-leave...

Behind the immortal legend of Muhammad Ali lay a distinctly mortal private life that saw the great boxer married four times and have at least nine children – including two love-children - leaving behind a complex and divisive family legacy that threatens to tarnish his memory.

Reply #125 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:29pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 9th, 2016 at 5:50am:
I didn't know that but -

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/06/04/muhammad-alis-tangled-love-life-leave...

Behind the immortal legend of Muhammad Ali lay a distinctly mortal private life that saw the great boxer married four times and have at least nine children – including two love-children - leaving behind a complex and divisive family legacy that threatens to ta rnish his memory.

Thanks for that link, fascinating reading.
No it doesn't make him a bad person, it just added a more interesting profile to his fascinating life story. I sure hope he had his will in order, but somehow, I think we will hear more of where and who his estate will end up.
There were the boxing battles of his life, the battle with Parkinson's disease, now he has died, the battle of the will continues in his name.
« Last Edit: Jun 9th, 2016 at 2:32pm by Sophia »  

Reply #126 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:32pm

I didn't know that but -

He was a tinted Muslim, Booby.

I thought you didn't like tinted Muslims.

Reply #127 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:51pm

He was never a true Muslim

he was manipulated by Malcolm X.

He said himself ... "I said I was the greatest, not the smartest".

The only thing that  he did as a Muslim was had many wives and children

never heard though that he was "the greatest" cocksman.

Reply #128 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:52pm

Gnads wrote on Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:51pm:

Ah.

Reply #129 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 2:48pm

Muhammad was pilloried and denigrated by the Ozpolitic knockers.

He was the greatest boxer, and a great human being as well.

Reply #130 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 2:51pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:52pm:
Gnads wrote on Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:51pm:

Ah.

Gnads has wrested the mantle of judging who is a good Muslim from Bobby.

Gnads is omni-testicular, omniscient and omnipotent. Bobby is a loser.
« Last Edit: Jun 9th, 2016 at 6:49pm by Laugh till you cry »  

Reply #131 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 5:39pm

Sophia wrote on Jun 9th, 2016 at 12:29pm:
I didn't know that but -

Behind the immortal legend of Muhammad Ali lay a distinctly mortal private life that saw the great boxer married four times and have at least nine children – including two love-children - leaving behind a complex and divisive family legacy that threatens to ta rnish his memory.

Thanks for that link, fascinating reading.
No it doesn't make him a bad person, it just added a more interesting profile to his fascinating life story. I sure hope he had his will in order, but somehow, I think we will hear more of where and who his estate will end up.
There were the boxing battles of his life, the battle with Parkinson's disease, now he has died, the battle of the will continues in his name.

Yes - very true.

Reply #132 - Jun 9th, 2016 at 8:05pm

George Foreman Reacts To The Death Of Muhammed Ali

Reply #133 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 12:54am

Thousands attending Muhammad Ali funeral. Bobby and other Ozpolitic Ali knockers will be despondent.

http://abcnews.go.com/US/thousands-expected-muhammad-alis-funeral-louisville/sto...

Thousands of people gathered today in Louisville, Kentucky, to pay their respects to Muhammad Ali, chanting the boxing legend's name as a funeral procession drove through his Kentucky hometown.

Reply #134 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:30am

he has had a good send off.. very dignified as he deserved...

Reply #135 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:32am

cods wrote on Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:30am:

Yes I saw it - great speeches.

maybe he is the most famous person who ever lived?

Reply #136 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:32am

Reply #137 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:36am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:32am:

its what you leave behind after your visit bobs that counts...if he hadnt been so sick I am sure his legacy would have been HUGE...he will always have a place in history.

Reply #138 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 11:04am

Why is it Ali can call another black man a gorilla and still be adored by the media and a little mentally challenged white girl can't? Ali said white people were his enemy, obviously some black people were also.

Reply #139 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 11:04am

Angry

Reply #140 - Jun 11th, 2016 at 11:04am

Bobby and Cods were knockers of Ali. Are they now faking it?

Reply #141 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:28pm

cods wrote on Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:36am:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 11th, 2016 at 10:32am:

its what you leave behind after your visit bobs that counts...if he hadnt been so sick I am sure his legacy would have been HUGE...he will always have a place in history.

Yes Cods,

did you see the
"what's my name"  fight?

Muhammad Ali gave Ernie Terrell a very good beating in the ring for calling him Clay in an interview,
and he kept asking him during the fight "what's my name ?"
The rumor says that Ali could have ended it in a few rounds but he wanted to keep punishing Terrell so
he beat him up for 15 rounds.

« Last Edit: Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:53pm by Bobby. »  

Reply #142 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:32pm

Laugh till you cry wrote on Jun 11th, 2016 at 11:04am:

Sir Booby despises tinted Muslims, but now he pretends to worship Ali.

Booby doesn't know if he's Arthur or Martha.

Reply #143 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:39pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:32pm:

Sir Bobby despises tinted Muslims, but now he pretends to worship Ali.

sir Bobby doesn't know if he's Arthur or Martha.

Greggy doesn't know if he's a man or a woman.

What's my name Greggy?

Reply #144 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:44pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:39pm:

What's my name Greggy?

Sir Booby The Muslim Lover.

Dustwun

Igloo
Reply #145 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:47pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:44pm:

What's my name Greggy?

I reckon if he was a young man in2015 he'd have gone to fight with ISIS.

Reply #146 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:51pm

Dustwun wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:47pm:

What's my name Greggy?

And Sir Booby would still love him.

Reply #147 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:52pm

Greggy - watch the "what's my name fight"  -

that's what should happen to you for not addressing me by my correct name.

Reply #148 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:54pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:52pm:

Sir Bobby The Muslim Lover      Undecided

Reply #149 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 6:26pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:54pm:

There is only one Muslim I ever admired - Muhammad-Ali.

What's my name Greggy?

Reply #150 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 6:27pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 6:26pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:54pm:

There is only one Muslim I ever admired - Muhammad-Ali.

What's my name Greggy?

You said they were all bad, Booby.

Reply #151 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 6:29pm

What's my name Greggy?

Reply #152 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 6:30pm

Dustwun wrote on Jun 12th, 2016 at 5:47pm:

What's my name Greggy?

Bobby was never a young man. His arteries and heart hardened during birth.

Reply #153 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 6:36pm

Ali slaps him in the pre-fight publicity.
He says he's gunna punish him.

Reply #154 - Jun 12th, 2016 at 11:49pm

Mahummad Ali and George Foreman- Ali was a cocky bastard, but then he had reason to be..

Reply #155 - Jun 19th, 2016 at 9:51am

I watched all 3 parts of this:

Muhammad Ali - One Punch Too Many - part 1

Reply #156 - Jun 19th, 2016 at 12:35pm

Ali should not have fought again after 1974.

It was all about making money & risking his health.

Reply #157 - Jun 19th, 2016 at 10:34pm

Tune in to the last round at 1:00:00

Muhammad Ali vs Oscar Natalio Bonavena 1970-12-07

Reply #158 - Jul 9th, 2016 at 10:58pm

Ali at the best I've ever seen.
Muhammad Ali vs Cleveland Williams 1966-11-14
Start at 14:00

Reply #159 - Jul 10th, 2016 at 7:31pm

Bobby. wrote on Jul 9th, 2016 at 10:58pm:
Ali at the best I've ever seen.
Muhammad Ali vs Cleveland Williams 1966-11-14
Start at 14:00

Is anyone following this?
It's an amazing career of the most famous sportsman in history.

Reply #160 - Jul 20th, 2016 at 10:19pm

Ali was intelligent & courageous -

this is a great interview

Published on Aug 6, 2014

Muhammad Ali comments on the ups and downs of his boxing career, race relations and his religious beliefs.

Reply #161 - Jul 28th, 2016 at 6:44am

This fight was interesting.
Ali starts out by clowning around & looks hopeless but it's all a hoax.