Does any one here keep a couple of chickens? (Read 2955 times)

Re: Does any one here keep a couple of chickens?
Reply #15 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:28am

Lord Herbert wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 8:55am:
But then the second hen showed up again from - I guess - under the house where it had been brooding.

you might want to be careful about where you let them brood . They might be laying eggs under there and if you don't get them out, you'll end up attracting mice and rats, and they might even smell you out of house if you leave them there long enough.

Reply #16 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:45am

I keep deer in my backyard but one of them managed to get out yesterday.

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/police-investigate-after-deer-killed-by-car-on-busy-ro...

The Heartless Felon

Reply #17 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 11:27am

Herb, some types of kitty litter are made of DE. Check the packet...

Reply #18 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:34pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:34pm:
Dad had this crazy idea that we have a rooster and a hen run about our yard, in the middle of suburbia. I never got an idea how that worked. The first night, Dad found out that roosters crow at 4am in the morning. Dad had to plonk it under the upturned bin at night to keep it quiet. Our dog enjoyed following both hen and rooster around the yard each day.

Other than that, I had no interest in having them around the house.

I would never have a rooster at my place because of the noise.

Reply #19 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:46pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 10:28am:
you might want to be careful about where you let them brood . They might be laying eggs under there and if you don't get them out, you'll end up attracting mice and rats, and they might even smell you out of house if you leave them there long enough.

Thank you for your concern, John, but with 3 cats on the property there's no problemo with mice or rats, and now with 3 chickens there's no problem with slugs, snails, lawn beetles or Curl Grubs. 

The 'brooding' was false brooding with a hen that cost me $3 because it's past its egg-laying years.

Reply #20 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:53pm

Herbs Menagerie !

I have visons of Herb crawling on his belly under the house to collect the eggs!

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #21 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:56pm

The Heartless Felon wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 11:27am:
Herb, some types of kitty litter are made of DE. Check the packet...

Interesting.

I'll check that out next time I go to Coles or Woolies.

Finally settled on a 4.5kg packet of Food Grade Diatomaceous Earth from E-bay : $56.

It had better last a good while or I'll be looking for a cheaper alternative ... (ie. wring the chook's neck and throw it on the barbie with a couple of snags).

The only place they stock this Diatomaceous Earth is in Queensland, and one place in Victoria. Nothing in NSW ... and so the postage cost is a huge addition to your purchase.

Meeeanwhile, I've bought some 'Pestene Insect Powder' to tide us over until the DE arrives. Kills mites, lice, and fleas.

$32 for only 500g Nett.

I must be bonkers.

Reply #22 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 1:05pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 12:53pm:
Herbs Menagerie !

I have visons of Herb crawling on his belly under the house to collect the eggs!

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

So have I! -- and THAT's why it's not going to happen! My crawling-under-the-house days are over - Thank God!

The 'crawl-space' only allows for crawling on hands and knees over very broken and sharp-edged rubble the bloke who built this place dumped under there. I've been under there about 5 times in all, and each time came out with Redbacks, Funnel-Web Spiders, angry-looking centipedes, and Nameless Nasties hanging off my ears.

Lionel Edriess

Reply #23 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 3:20pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Sep 30th, 2016 at 9:06pm:
We can talk about the miraculous uses of Food Grade diatomaceous earth.

Any takers?

codsey-baby?  Cool

DE is commonly used as a pool filtration medium. As it does not decompose, it's probably a good idea to stay away from it. If you get a lung-full, it will outlast you. If you insist on using it, wear a mask when handling it - the dust is very fine.

Perhaps you could research hydrated lime, that's what worked for me. It's particularly good for areas such as underneath your house and where chooks like to fluff in the dust. It kills lice and fleas, both eggs and mature insects.

Both products should be readily available at Bunnings, or the DE at a pool shop.

I'd go the lime route.

If you get what I used to call 'sticky-fleas' (they 'clump' and don't move much) on the chook's legs, a dip of the affected areas, or a brush with the ol' sump oil also does the trick. Best to keep the oil off the plumage.

Hope this helps.

Toughen up, Australia!

Reply #24 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 8:16pm

Lionel Edriess wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 3:20pm:
DE is commonly used as a pool filtration medium.

There are several grades of DE, with Food Grade being the safest and the most used for worming poultry, with Pool Grade being a big no-no for anything other than pool filter systems.

There's also an 'ordinary' grade of DE that is okay for using externally on poultry, grain in silos, fleas on dogs and cats, and for killing mites in hutches and coups. Also very good for adding to dust-baths used by poultry which then helps to kill the mites and lice more effectively.

Both products should be readily available at Bunnings, or the DE at a pool shop.

I've phoned around, and Bunnings doesn't stock it in NSW any more, and I wouldn't go anywhere near the coarse Pool Grade DE.

If you get what I used to call 'sticky-fleas' (they 'clump' and don't move much) on the chook's legs, a dip of the affected areas, or a brush with the ol' sump oil also does the trick. Best to keep the oil off the plumage.

These egg-clusters have to hatch first before DE is effective on them, and so I'll try your sump oil if I can find any sump oil, that is, because I don't own a car.  Smiley

Thanks Lionel.

Mortdooley

Texas Gulf Coast
Reply #25 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:45pm

I don't know about other countries but here it is available in Feed Stores. Anywhere livestock supplies are sold here will usually carry it or will get it if they want your business.

The only difference between a Communist and a Democrat is the spelling.

Black Orchid

Reply #26 - Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:56pm

Be careful with that stuff Herbert and I think it is available at feed stores and some major pet stores.

Not Bunnings because that is a hardware store!

Reply #27 - Oct 2nd, 2016 at 5:45am

Black Orchid wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:56pm:
Be careful with that stuff Herbert and I think it is available at feed stores and some major pet stores.

Not Bunnings because that is a hardware store!

I've phoned up Pet Barn and they'd never heard of the stuff.

Bunnings, dearest Orchid, includes huge nurseries where the only tools are the fools paying exorbitant prices for some of their plants ...  Smiley Tongue

Reply #28 - Oct 2nd, 2016 at 6:02am

Black Orchid wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 9:56pm:
Be careful with that stuff Herbert ...

Thank you, Orchid.

I'll be using a surgeon's mask while I apply it to the feathered girls (if I can catch them).

But here are a few notes off the Web with regard to the health risks of breathing in Food Grade Diatomaceous Earth :

"Inhalation of diatomaceous earth may cause temporary respiratory irritation such as sneezing, coughing, difficulty breathing, eye, nose and throat irritation or bloody nose. This means that workers exposed to crystalline silica on a daily basis for many years may be at risk, but casual contact is not likely to be hazardous.

"After inhalation of amorphous diatomaceous earth, it is rapidly eliminated from lung tissue. However, crystalline diatomaceous earth is much smaller, and it may accumulate in lung tissue and lymph nodes. Very low levels of crystalline diatomaceous earth may be found in pesticide products.
Is diatomaceous earth likely to contribute to the development of cancer?

When mice were forced to breathe diatomaceous earth for one hour each day for a year, there was an increase in lung cancers. When rats were fed silica at a high dose for two years, there was no increase in cancer development.

"When guinea pigs were forced to breathe air containing diatomaceous earth for 2 years, there was slightly more connective tissue in their lungs. When researchers checked before the 2-year mark, no effects were found".

jmjcare

Reply #29 - Oct 4th, 2016 at 7:33pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Oct 1st, 2016 at 8:55am:
[quote author=Black_Orchid link=1475223175/2#2 date=1475235053]
DIATOMACEOUS EARTH is fossilised 'hard-shell' algae from millions of years ago, and isn't really an 'earth' but a composite of little corpses.

Try here that's where I got mine

http://www.ozfarmer.com/organic-natural-insecticide-diatomaceous-earth-fines?sea...