How to get Lefties off taxpayer funded WELFARE (Read 2916 times)

How to get Lefties off taxpayer funded WELFARE
May 19th, 2017 at 7:47am

Make Lefties on unsustanable unproductive taxpayer funded WELFARE work for UBER!!!!  Brilliant!!

A moving alternative to picking fruit.

The Lefties home away from home.

Uber helping unemployed Australians avoid Centrelink
A Current Affair  By A Current Affair 7:20pm May 18, 2017

VIDEO: Unemployed to Uber

Ride-sharing apps are allowing people to avoid going on welfare if they lose their jobs by making ends meet driving people around.

When Melbourne grandmother Janet Rowe, 59, lost her job as a tram driver, she hit rock bottom.
"I felt useless," Ms Rowe told A Current Affair.
"Very depressed, trying to apply for so many positions and getting no return."

Approaching 60, most of her job applications were rejected.

But she said felt relief after going into business for herself through Uber.

"I felt the weight had lifted off my shoulders and I was just overwhelmed. I was so happy."

Janet Rowe has been enjoying the financial security of driving for Uber after losing her job as a tram driver

Andrew Franz lost his job four years ago.
He said he has applied for "probably over 1000" jobs in that time.

"I couldn't pay the bills, I was at the end of my tether, I didn't know what to do," Mr Franz said.

He, too, now drives for Uber.

"Instead of sitting at home moping, worrying about where the next dollar comes from, I'm earning money," he said.

One in seven drivers employed by Uber was unemployed before they started driving for the ride-sharing app

Kevin Salter, 53, lost his job as an IT worker last December.
Four months later he started driving for Uber in Brisbane and now earns between $20-30 an hour.

"It's great to be your own boss, you get to go online whenever you want, you stop when you want," Mr Salter said.

Uber says of its 55,000 drivers in Australia, one in seven were unemployed prior to joining.

In Queensland, the figure is even higher, with one in three drivers previously unemployed.

Money magazine editor Effie Zahos says Uber isn't the only social platform creating new jobs.

"It can enable you to get off the welfare system," Ms Zahos said.

"You may think, 'I don't have a skill.' Well think again. Going on to websites like AirTasker, if you can put together a bed from Ikea, say, you've got yourself a job."

© Nine Digital Pty Ltd 2017

Read more at http://www.9news.com.au/national/2017/05/18/18/40/uber-helping-unemployed-austra...

crocodile

Re: How to get Lefties off taxpayer funded WELFARE
Reply #1 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:01am

You must be taking the piss, surely. There's about 800,000 unemployed. Just what we need - another 800,000 taxi drivers.

Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes.

Reply #2 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:06am

I briefly saw this story on ACA last night

Ubber must have paid for that bullshit. Biggest load of crap I've seen in a while

I know several Uber drivers and their biggest complaint is that there are to many people doing now and their slice of the pie is dwindling to a point where it's no longer worth it for them.

Reply #3 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:08am

Uber drivers are the modern day sharecroppers.

stunspore

Reply #4 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:13am

Assumption is that "lefties" are on welfare.  That's highly unlikely - since if that was case, then from all the rhetoric, one assumes that there will be enough voters to put a left-winged party in government permanently.  Far more likely these are coalition voters who got fooled by coalition propaganda.
What a bunch of sad sheep.

Reply #5 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:24am

Gee the Lefties are really excited by their opportunity to change their status of dole bludger.

And my devoted STATUS SYMBOL TROLLS MM & Paw S just cannot stay away from me their hero.

Well it is easier than picking fruit.

But Lefties U better get in now before the state govt ups the insurance costs and before UBER introduces driverless cars which believe it or not don't have a driver!!!

And Lefties don't forget the complimentary bottle of water for every passenger and the mints and the IPhone charger.

And look the other way when your car bills come in and tax wants your GST.

UBER driverless car

Reply #6 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:28am

No need to drive uber with all the jobsun groth ... Oh wait

Reply #7 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:44am

LW have you got a driver's licence and have you been a good boy and have you got an iPhone with a dash mount ?

Don't forget your dash camera in case someone sets you up.

Reply #8 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:51am

Utterly ridiculous and totally tedious.

Reply #9 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:54am

yuliar is confused ... first he claims all the unemployed can get jobs driving for Uber then he puts up a photo of a driver less car

you do realise that driver less cars have no drivers, right?  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #10 - May 19th, 2017 at 8:57am

You reckon?

Reply #11 - May 19th, 2017 at 9:06am

crocodile wrote on May 19th, 2017 at 8:01am:
You must be taking the piss, surely. There's about 800,000 unemployed. Just what we need - another 800,000 taxi drivers.

Don't forget about 1,500,000 underemployed and up to a million hidden unemployed. About 3 million people are not able to participate fully in the workforce and this is a massive drag on the economy. Create jobs with a job guarantee and abolish unpaid overtime, and the economy will be boosted, as would workers' wages, more taxes will fix the Budget and we would all be better off.

Now all we need is a government that actually has the balls to create the million or more full-time jobs that we need rather than use empty three-word slogans.

crocodile

Reply #12 - May 19th, 2017 at 9:29am

Bam wrote on May 19th, 2017 at 9:06am:
crocodile wrote on May 19th, 2017 at 8:01am:

Don't forget about 1,500,000 underemployed and up to a million hidden unemployed. About 3 million people are not able to participate fully in the workforce and this is a massive drag on the economy. Create jobs with a job guarantee and abolish unpaid overtime, and the economy will be boosted, as would workers' wages, more taxes will fix the Budget and we would all be better off.

Now all we need is a government that actually has the balls to create the million or more full-time jobs that we need rather than use empty three-word slogans.

What do you define as "unpaid overtime" in precise terms.

Very funny Scotty, now beam down my clothes.

Reply #13 - May 19th, 2017 at 10:05am

Sounds like the Lefties are looking up how to apply for UBER.

Make sure you get your flu shot before starting and make sure nobody says you should have gone to SpecSavers.

And you will need an iPhone charger as the iPhone battery doesn't last for long.

stunspore

Reply #14 - May 19th, 2017 at 10:41am

juliar wrote on May 19th, 2017 at 8:24am:
Gee the Lefties are really excited by their opportunity to change their status of dole bludger.

And my devoted STATUS SYMBOL TROLLS MM & Paw S just cannot stay away from me their hero.

Well it is easier than picking fruit.

But Lefties U better get in now before the state govt ups the insurance costs and before UBER introduces driverless cars which believe it or not don't have a driver!!!

And Lefties don't forget the complimentary bottle of water for every passenger and the mints and the IPhone charger.

And look the other way when your car bills come in and tax wants your GST.

http://multifiles.pressherald.com/uploads/sites/4/2016/09/1059502_859082-Uber-Au...
UBER driverless car

Again Juliar chose to not debate and instead attack fellow posters and being abusive.