Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees (Read 3555 times)
Secret Wars

Re: Australia agrees to pay $70 million to detainees
Reply #45 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:58pm

John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:46pm:
Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:35pm:
John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:28pm:
Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:22pm:
Oversight in the  contracts that Labor would have signed.

https://ci.memecdn.com/8302507.jpg

It is amusing that you think safeguards, oversight and performance standards in contracts are desperate. 

Then again, that may have been the issue. Rushed contracts without oversight to fix a political problem. 

Apart from the meme, (desperate much yourself  Grin) you got anything substantive to offer?  No opinion on what happens to the first country shoppers that try it on under the next Labor government?

Or is that too close to criticising your footy team?   Smiley

you realise that you can't just make crap up about imaginary contracts and expect to get away with it, right?

My statement

When were the contracts signed and the oversight initiated?  I don't know but I am sure you do

Maybe you are right, maybe Labor didn't do any contracts, therefore no oversight, no performance criteria. 

Maybe the whole lot was just done on a handshake and a wink.

I assumed there would be contracts but maybe that assumption was a mistake.  Wink

Reply #46 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:59pm

Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:58pm:

It is amusing that you think safeguards, oversight and performance standards in contracts are desperate. 

Then again, that may have been the issue. Rushed contracts without oversight to fix a political problem. 

Apart from the meme, (desperate much yourself  Grin) you got anything substantive to offer?  No opinion on what happens to the first country shoppers that try it on under the next Labor government?

you realise that you can't just make crap up about imaginary contracts and expect to get away with it, right?

My statement

When were the contracts signed and the oversight initiated?  I don't know but I am sure you do

Maybe you are right, maybe Labor didn't do any contracts, therefore no oversight, no performance criteria. 

I assumed there would be contracts but maybe that assumption was a mistake.  Wink

Keep digging that hole.

Secret Wars

Reply #47 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:01pm

Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:47pm:
Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:41pm:
Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:34pm:
The problem would have not existed had it been left to Labor.

Bwahahahahaha the problem existed because of Labor.  They lost control of the borders. As things go its not complicated. 

What a load of rubbish. A few refugees as we see multiplied a hundred fold across the world does not indicate such a situation. It was just a political vote catcher in the form of a scare campaign.

You are right, it was a scare campaign and Labor left themselves vulnerable to it. it was political suicide for Labor to not regain control of the borders after losing it. 

And it was more than a few, it was a lot and the trend was going up and with increasing velocity. That's just history. The situation could not go on, the Australian people would not tolerate it.

Secret Wars

Reply #48 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:09pm

Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:59pm:

My statement

Keep digging that hole.

No hole.  Governments want stuff done and spend public money that's what they do, sign contracts.  If they want poo done in other countries they sign bits of paper dealing with obligations and payments.  I am sorry you and John are so divorced from reality that you do not believe this.

It is my assumption that if the contracts were a bit better we would not be in this mess.  But yeah, that's an assumption, I haven't seen the contracts bu there were contracts and Labor signed them.

Reply #49 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:16pm

Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:01pm:

Bwahahahahaha the problem existed because of Labor.  They lost control of the borders. As things go its not complicated. 

What a load of rubbish. A few refugees as we see multiplied a hundred fold across the world does not indicate such a situation. It was just a political vote catcher in the form of a scare campaign.

You are right, it was a scare campaign and Labor left themselves vulnerable to it. it was political suicide for Labor to not regain control of the borders after losing it. 

And it was more than a few, it was a lot and the trend was going up and with increasing velocity. That's just history. The situation could not go on, the Australian people would not tolerate it. 

And you were so frightened. "stop the boats"

Please tell me nobody really swallowed that load of BS.

Boat arrivals has been a vote catcher since the children overboard lie. It is a fictitious issue built by stacking lies on top of lies for electoral gain. There is no problem there never was.
« Last Edit: Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:22pm by Dnarever »  

Reply #50 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:17pm

Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:09pm:
Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:59pm:

My statement

Keep digging that hole.

No hole.  Governments want stuff done and spend public money that's what they do, sign contracts.  If they want poo done in other countries they sign bits of paper dealing with obligations and payments.  I am sorry you and John are so divorced from reality that you do not believe this.

It is my assumption that if the contracts were a bit better we would not be in this mess.  But yeah, that's an assumption, I haven't seen the contracts bu there were contracts and Labor signed them.

The contention isn't if there is a contract just that you know what is in it.

Secret Wars

Reply #51 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:23pm

I have made it clear several times I have not seen any contracts.  But I ain't the idiot denying that labor signed contracts.

My contention is that a contract with some oversight and performance provisions might have prevented a lot of the crap. 

But it was labor that signed the contracts and I seem to recall a press conference with Rudd and the PNG Prime Minister doing exactly that.

Secret Wars

Reply #52 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:28pm

Dnarever wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:16pm:
Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 9:01pm:

And you were so frightened. "stop the boats"

Please tell me nobody really swallowed that load of BS.

Boat arrivals has been a vote catcher since the children overboard lie. It is a fictitious issue built by stacking lies on top of lies for electoral gain. There is no problem there never was.

I accept that there was no problem for the likes of you and John Smith,  but there was an electoral problem and Labor knew it.  That's why they fixed it.

And happily borders will remain secure...until Labor gets in again.  Do you reckon if a few country shoppers wash up when Labor gets in again they are going to try and go soft again, or once bitten and all that?

It's not my issue if you cannot accept political reality.

Francis

Reply #53 - Jun 14th, 2017 at 11:53pm

You have to  be dead set kidding  me?

The "private " company  "contracted" too the job should  wear all the costs / blame.

Ffs. ..fight it in the courts you gutless liberals. ...and if you  don't  win than just change  the laws and don't  pay!

If it was one your Chinese  backers at risk you would  risk it for them.

This country  is a sad shell of what it was and 2% of what  it could  have been  because  these criminal  we elect  as leaders

No tenemos miedo!

Emma

OZ
Reply #54 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 2:55am

John Smith wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:18pm:
Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 8:09pm:
You and your fellow travellers did all this, you allowed and aided and abetted the virtue signalling that encouraged the country shoppers, you allowed the legislation that locked them up and you allowed the legislation that meant they could never ever settle here.

rubbish. I always said they should fly them over to the mainland. That way there was no risk of drownings.
I never supported labors asylum seeker policy, I only ever supported it over the libs since it was the best option available off the two . You have to play with the cards you're dealt, not the cards you wish you had.

here here Smiley

live every day

Reply #55 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 3:56am

Secret Wars wrote on Jun 14th, 2017 at 10:23pm:
I have made it clear several times I have not seen any contracts.  But I ain't the idiot denying that labor signed contracts.

My contention is that a contract with some oversight and performance provisions might have prevented a lot of the crap. 

But it was labor that signed the contracts and I seem to recall a press conference with Rudd and the PNG Prime Minister doing exactly that.

Indeed.. you've seen no contracts, yet you say Labor signed them.

Now it's 2017 - at what point does the LNP accept responsibility?   Roll Eyes

Reply #56 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 7:30am

Does that mean they piss off back home after they get their money?

Francis

Reply #57 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 8:18am

Its now 90 million  and no doubt  going to keep going  up.

It should be paid out of the pollies who signed the deals pension

No tenemos miedo!

Reply #58 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 8:22am

i'm a bit surprised they didnt fight it in court.

if they lost, they could go to the australian taxpayer and say, we now have to increase the medicare levy by .5 % to cover the big cash payouts to people that the majority of the population probably dont want to pay big cash pay outs too.

it sets the liberals up on the side of the battling ozzie taxpayer and leaves the alliance of slater and gordon, the judiciary and the left wing intellectuals exposed to a huge political back lash.

i would even think that the voters would support a winding back of power for the judiciary.

it appears that the judiciary have plenty of people out on bail causing mayhem and the government could pin the whole fiasco on the legal system (which is hardly popular) and could, maybe, reign in some of the legal fraternity and give the power back to the people.

thats how i would have played it.

if the liberals are truly the "noble right' then they would have been

more persistent
unapologetic
willing to stand up for their principles.

this is really 'weak sauce' beta male activity from turnbull.

but the guy likes to catch public transport for gods sake.

thats about as beta male as you can get  Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #59 - Jun 15th, 2017 at 7:52pm

aquascoot wrote on Jun 15th, 2017 at 8:22am:
i'm a bit surprised they didnt fight it in court.

if they lost, they could go to the australian taxpayer and say, we now have to increase the medicare levy by .5 % to cover the big cash payouts to people that the majority of the population probably dont want to pay big cash pay outs too.

it sets the liberals up on the side of the battling ozzie taxpayer and leaves the alliance of slater and gordon, the judiciary and the left wing intellectuals exposed to a huge political back lash.

i would even think that the voters would support a winding back of power for the judiciary.

it appears that the judiciary have plenty of people out on bail causing mayhem and the government could pin the whole fiasco on the legal system (which is hardly popular) and could, maybe, reign in some of the legal fraternity and give the power back to the people.

thats how i would have played it.

if the liberals are truly the "noble right' then they would have been

more persistent
unapologetic
willing to stand up for their principles.

this is really 'weak sauce' beta male activity from turnbull.

but the guy likes to catch public transport for gods sake.

thats about as beta male as you can get  Cheesy Cheesy

yes, weak decision to give OUR money to illegals.