Oh Dear! (Read 1266 times)

Oh Dear!
Oct 17th, 2019 at 8:58am

the plumbing has broken down... well if i am honest its been on the blink for some  while...you know the two flush option well only one flush has been working for a while....ok ok I kept putting off getting the plumber in well this morning pushed down the button and it stayed down...on finally getting the bloody thing off it sort of fell  into many pieces......so am now down to manual flushing... great  as long as I dont get any visitors that is....lucky I have a son in law who knows all sorts of people...

Captain Nemo

Re: Oh Dear!
Reply #1 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 9:08am

Speaking of which ... I needed to replace an old flush unit on a 26 year old Caroma toilet and tried the Fluidmaster Bottom Entry Toilet Inlet Valve from Bunnings.

Only $20.

Worked really well.  Cool

The 2025 election could be a shocker.

Reply #2 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 9:24am

Hey Codsy, when we renovated our master bathroom I put in a wall hung in wall cistern jobby that cost a packet.

At the same time I was renovating the laundry downstairs and put in a dunny on sale at Bunnings, $60.00

The expensive one has gone bung 4 times and is so complicated I can't do it myself. The cheap one hasn't missed a beat.

Reply #3 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 10:34am

Gordon wrote on Oct 17th, 2019 at 9:24am:
Hey Codsy, when we renovated our master bathroom I put in a wall hung in wall cistern jobby that cost a packet.

At the same time I was renovating the laundry downstairs and put in a dunny on sale at Bunnings, $60.00

The expensive one has gone bung 4 times and is so complicated I can't do it myself. The cheap one hasn't missed a beat.

I went to Bunnings a while back  and the guy there told me he was a tradie and he wouldnt attempt to put one of them in himself...he advised a plumber  I think it was about $60..... just getting the dumbarse plunger off was enough it has short and long push thingies and one side wouldnt budge at all...it has a wire coil round it and thats now all over the place...lolol....I guess I am going to have to pay... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes...you are lucky to be so handy gordy

Reply #4 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:05am

I live in other people's homes and don't pay rent.

Reply #5 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:14am

cods wrote on Oct 17th, 2019 at 10:34am:

I went to Bunnings a while back  and the guy there told me he was a tradie and he wouldnt attempt to put one of them in himself...he advised a plumber  I think it was about $60..... just getting the dumbarse plunger off was enough it has short and long push thingies and one side wouldnt budge at all...it has a wire coil round it and thats now all over the place...lolol....I guess I am going to have to pay... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes...you are lucky to be so handy gordy

I can do a fair bit myself, mostly from watching tradies at reno projects.

Last week I had a big sliding door and 2 windows replaced and I'm refitting the reveals and architraves. Good fun and lots for trips to Bunnings.

Replacing the valve in a dunny is pretty easy actually. Take a photo of it, go to Bunnings then watch Youtube Smiley

If you can't do it the plumber will charge the same minus the markup he'd have put on the part.

Reply #6 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:14am

Jasin wrote on Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:05am:

So you're not a rent boy?

Reply #7 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:52am

Gordon wrote on Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:14am:

Nope. Was up until 4 months ago.
The best things in life are 'Free'.

Reply #8 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 9:54pm

Last week I had a big sliding door and 2 windows replaced and I'm refitting the reveals and architraves. Good fun and lots for trips to Bunnings.

Replacing the valve in a dunny is pretty easy actually. Take a photo of it, go to Bunnings then watch Youtube Smiley

If you can't do it the plumber will charge the same minus the markup he'd have put on the part.

I wish !!!!   plumber came wouldnt you know the toilet is an Imperial  they dont manufacturer it any more   he could use a universal ....so far   $242.. call out fee... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

thats just to be told the cost of doing the refit... $440.......[its the whole kit and caboodle not valves]so thats $682 for the refit...  or   I could pay $990 for a whole new suite.....

I have a second quote $330 for refit...or $700 for a suite fully installed....

I am thinking a brand new one for $700....

you are very lucky you are so handy and of course have all the tools.......I am coming back as a plumber...sheeeeeez $242 for not striking a blow..

Reply #9 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 10:07pm

Next time I'm in Canberra Cods.
I can pop in an fix ya pipes for ya. Wink Cheesy
You don't have to pay a dime,
but you do have put me up for a night, or two... or three  Wink

Reply #10 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 10:11pm

Just buy the whole cistern at Bunnings ($50)and get your son to fit it. Its a couple of screws and screw on pipe connections. Replacing just the valve is actually more difficult.

Reply #11 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 10:37pm

He is a squatter. When the owner finds him living in their vacant property they chase him out.

Reply #12 - Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:03pm

he lives where he wants too- he doesnt explain to anyone
« Last Edit: Oct 17th, 2019 at 11:10pm by Agnes »  

Reply #13 - Oct 18th, 2019 at 6:53am

Jasin wrote on Oct 17th, 2019 at 10:07pm:
Next time I'm in Canberra Cods.
I can pop in an fix ya pipes for ya. Wink Cheesy
You don't have to pay a dime,
but you do have put me up for a night, or two... or three  Wink

so kind......I do have a big dog...who sleeps in the spare bed is that OK?

Reply #14 - Oct 18th, 2019 at 11:04am

cods wrote on Oct 17th, 2019 at 9:54pm:

I wish !!!!   plumber came wouldnt you know the toilet is an Imperial  they dont manufacturer it any more   he could use a universal ....so far   $242.. call out fee... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

thats just to be told the cost of doing the refit... $440.......[its the whole kit and caboodle not valves]so thats $682 for the refit...  or   I could pay $990 for a whole new suite.....

I have a second quote $330 for refit...or $700 for a suite fully installed....

I am thinking a brand new one for $700....

you are very lucky you are so handy and of course have all the tools.......I am coming back as a plumber...sheeeeeez $242 for not striking a blow..

If I was plumber I'd only work in new installs. The guys who do home repairs regularly get a schitshower.