Re: Corona virus
Reply #1365 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:28am

rhino wrote on Mar 2nd, 2020 at 11:42pm:
heres an interesting statistic
In Australia, influenza on average causes 3,500 deaths, about 18,000 hospitalisations and 300,000 GP consultations each year.
If we get anywhere near this I may think about taking a little precaution but some of you people need to calm your tits.

Shhhhh. It doesn't fit the narrative.

Apparently the 6pm propaganda last night said to "stock up on supplies".
Way to boost the economy.

Reply #1366 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:40am

rhino wrote on Mar 2nd, 2020 at 9:23pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 2nd, 2020 at 8:26pm:
rhino wrote on Mar 2nd, 2020 at 6:20pm:
Sounds like Lostnail is hoarding toilet paper in preparation for the pandemic. Lol, what a loser.

What stage are you at whino ? Still stuck in first gear are you ? Cheesy LOL

I bet you the pollies have got their bunkers all decked out with a years supply of food and dunny roll Wink

https://www.azquotes.com/vangogh-image-quotes/26/19/Quotation-Arthur-Schopenhaue...

I will just go my way and watch you idiots panic. Where are you posting from, under your bed?

It's hilarious to watch.

Reply #1367 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:41am

Captain Caveman wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:28am:
In Australia, influenza on average causes 3,500 deaths, about 18,000 hospitalisations and 300,000 GP consultations each year.
If we get anywhere near this I may think about taking a little precaution but some of you people need to calm your tits.

Really?

Jesus Christ   Roll Eyes

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #1368 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:43am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 7:34am:
Mr Sad,
I was prescribed Tamiflu but even 5
different chemists could not get it.
It was during a previous flu outbreak.

Apologise for calling me a liar.

I could play the game so many of those I don't agree with on here and be like "where did I say you were a liar" and then claim since I didn't use that word exactly you can't prove it blah blah but I won't do that.

Just given so many of the posts you've made to "prove" a point that has no basis in reality or in some cases don't prove your point, just mention a word in common or even disprove what you're saying, I had trouble believing your claim.

That is to say that you should still share you opinion and theories (technically hypotheses) but walk back a little from the line of claiming, without evidence, that these things "must" be.

That and the idea you needed Tamiflu means you were quite sick and nobody wants that.

So I'll cool my jets a little and while I may have some disbelief in the claim, I will apologise for the assertion that you're lying just because I have trouble believing it.

That wasn't fair and I'm sorry.

The other parts of that post, however, do you have any information that I've missed on how widespread the use is of the anti-HIV medication and a mix of Tamiflu being accepted treatments (or even separately) for COVID-19?

I've seen papers on it being used to see if it helps, but no trails or anything proving its effectiveness etc.

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #1369 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:46am

Please tell me they didn't actually say that...

I've always had about a months worth of emergency food etc for my family given we live in QLD.

We make sure to rotate what's in there out and replace it as needed, but you know, there are a few 50L plastic containers worth of food under one of the beds in the guest room and a few boxes of water in the garage, but we put that together over a number of weeks to avoid mainly such a big bill but also emptying shelves even though we do this ever winter outside of the usual storm seasons etc, but if everyone is trying to do that, now, it's not good.

I think it's good to be prepared but this overreaction is nuts.

Reply #1370 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 9:11am

KangAnon wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:46am:

Please tell me they didn't actually say that...

I've always had about a months worth of emergency food etc for my family given we live in QLD.

We make sure to rotate what's in there out and replace it as needed, but you know, there are a few 50L plastic containers worth of food under one of the beds in the guest room and a few boxes of water in the garage, but we put that together over a number of weeks to avoid mainly such a big bill but also emptying shelves even though we do this ever winter outside of the usual storm seasons etc, but if everyone is trying to do that, now, it's not good.

I think it's good to be prepared but this overreaction is nuts.

It has happened every time we have had heavy rain & there's a mention of a minor to moderate run in the river....... for decades.

I live in a suburb that gets cut off from the CBD & majority of the city. Last flood they helicoptered in some milk & bread ...... some of the ferals around here were fighting over it at the local shop.

always have a few loaves of bread in the freezer & UHT milk in the pantry.

Reply #1371 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 9:23am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:41am:

Really?

Jesus Christ   Roll Eyes

I'm going down to a Woolworths in the CBD in a couple of hours.

I'll see if the office workers here in Perth are panic buying or not.

I'll check out the hand sanitiser section.

Reply #1372 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 9:25am

KangAnon wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:43am:
Mr Sad,

I could play the game so many of those I don't agree with on here and be like "where did I say you were a liar" and then claim since I didn't use that word exactly you can't prove it blah blah but I won't do that.

Just given so many of the posts you've made to "prove" a point that has no basis in reality or in some cases don't prove your point, just mention a word in common or even disprove what you're saying, I had trouble believing your claim.

That is to say that you should still share you opinion and theories (technically hypotheses) but walk back a little from the line of claiming, without evidence, that these things "must" be.

That and the idea you needed Tamiflu means you were quite sick and nobody wants that.

So I'll cool my jets a little and while I may have some disbelief in the claim, I will apologise for the assertion that you're lying just because I have trouble believing it.

The other parts of that post, however, do you have any information that I've missed on how widespread the use is of the anti-HIV medication and a mix of Tamiflu being accepted treatments (or even separately) for COVID-19?

I've seen papers on it being used to see if it helps, but no trails or anything proving its effectiveness etc.

I accept your apology.
I have read on internet in many places
that Coronavirus patients have been given
powerful anti-viral AIDS drugs.
This could be because the doctors were doing
everything they could think of to help the patient
or maybe it's because the Coronavirus has
similar if not identical proteins to HIV.
Whether it helped or not is unknown as
obviously such action is not a double blind
scientific test.

Reply #1373 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:07am

Looks like the stock market is on the way up again today.

Whether it is just a "dead cat bounce" remains to be seen, of course.

Well, at least I've had my remaining super pension transferred to cash investments - I even gained an extra $800 from the switch.

Don't think I'll be changing it back to the "default" low/medium risk investment option anytime soon though, if ever.

Reply #1374 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:10am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 9:25am:
KangAnon wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 8:43am:
Mr Sad,

I accept your apology.
I have read on internet in many places
that Coronavirus patients have been given
powerful anti-viral AIDS drugs.
This could be because the doctors were doing
everything they could think of to help the patient
or maybe it's because the Coronavirus has
similar if not identical proteins to HIV.
Whether it helped or not is unknown as
obviously such action is not a double blind
scientific test.

And reference.

Reply #1375 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:11am

There are trials trying all sorts of antivirals to see if they work.

Reply #1376 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:11am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 9:23am:

If you go to the Woolies at Enex100 in the Terrace at lunch time you'll probably find a line of customers from the checkouts almost to the back of the store.

Not just talking about panic buying either - its ALWAYS been like that in Woolies Enex100 at lunchtimes speaking from my own experience.

Reply #1377 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:12am

I popped up the shops yesterday arvo and a few lines were sold out.
Back today and it's back to normal apart from hand sanitiser.

Some product supply will be disrupted because their packaging comes from China.

Reply #1378 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:13am

Gordon wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:12am:
I popped up the shops yesterday arvo and a few lines were sold out.
Back today and it's back to normal apart from hand sanitiser.

Some product supply will be disrupted because their packaging comes from China.

Give it time, people will be idiots once again.

Reply #1379 - Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:21am

Carl D wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 10:11am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 3rd, 2020 at 9:23am:

If you go to the Woolies at Enex100 in the Terrace at lunch time you'll probably find a line of customers from the checkouts almost to the back of the store.

Not just talking about panic buying either - its ALWAYS been like that in Woolies Enex100 at lunchtimes speaking from my own experience.

Yes, that's my store, but I never go there at lunch time.

I usually go at 9.30 or around 11 to 11.30.

I'll go down at 9.30 and check it out - I'm curious now.

Pages: 1 ... 90 91 92 93 94 ... 150