Pages: 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 ... 150
Corona virus (Read 191349 times)

Re: Corona virus
Reply #2130 - Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:04pm

Johnnie wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 8:23pm:
It looked like there were very long dole queues on the news tonight, bludgers.

There might be a few cheap BMW's around from the yuppie community.

Are you even in the same page with what this virus and lockdowns has created?

Why.... do you think there were long queues?

A.  They all were employed and the business had to close doors because of people needing to do social distancing? Eg: pubs, restaurants, coffee shops, etc

Or

B.  They were sole traders, working on their own esteem and risk needing people to serve their services on, such as.....mechanics, plumbers, builders,   Photographer, Pilates teacher, dance instructor, hair dresser, masseuse, house hostessing such as Nutri metics etc

Or

C.  They had a small shop considered non essential and had to close. Ummm, shoe shop, $2 shop, clothes shop, material/patchwork shop, book store.

Or

D.  These people were already unemployed and decided it was fun to join in the queue.

Reply #2131 - Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:11pm

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 7:29pm:
Sophia wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 12:33pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 12:19pm:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 12:13pm:
I want to know whats going to happen with real estate. Are ppl still buying/selling?

I heard the market was tanking.. sort of like the ballast tanks in a submarine about to dive... hold on to your hats....

A place we are very interested in, but due to this catastrophe, we have shied away from doing any borrowing/bridging finance.
Whew, lucky or we would have been cactus to try and sell ours if we had signed up for anything.

We have pulled back and putting it all on hold.
In the meantime we will get our property ready for when the time comes.

The house we liked, has just dropped it’s price by $85,000 !

Which means all house prices will drop including ours.

Had we signed clad iron contract a few weeks ago, and settled in 2-3 months, Who knows how much our property would have fallen in price or if it could even sell due to all restrictions!

If anyone wanted to buy from interstate, to see it, they would have to self isolate 14 days first!

Then go back to their state, and self isolate again for another 14 days!

So real estate will hit a slump like everything.
My instinct says so.
And what essential services will be open for it?
Auctions are going online now.
Okay for properties already inspected.

How do people inspect homes on the market?
I heard, that inspection can take place but only not allowed to touch anything or open draws/cupboards.

But rules are changing by the minute so who knows the iron clad answer?
Cross the bridge when we come to it.

Hard choice - hold on to what you've got.... I commented to the ex that if I had the spare I'd be looking to buy shares as they go down...  keep an eye on that prospect - it might work to your benefit.

Thanks Mr. Grappler, I know what you mean about an opportune time for buying shares, buy in gloom etc.
I think it is yet to fall even more.
We have not reached the tip of this iceberg yet.

And it may be a slow recovery thereafter.
I’m not knowledgeable enough to understand shares, it’s only money written on paper, and worth only the paper it’s written on.

With shares you have to be on that ball with their ups and downs and when you buy and sell and buy again.

Who can I trust to tell me what to do with my money and shares?

I was under the impression some  types of shares were overpriced?

« Last Edit: Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:17pm by Sophia »  

Reply #2132 - Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:12pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 8:07pm:
Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 8:02pm:
Gordon wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 8:01pm:
Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 7:59pm:
Garglung with salt does nothing for coronavirus

A salt gargle is good for a sore throat, and having a sore throat would make you more susceptible for the virus to take hold.

Only if you do nothing else like handwash

An irritated throat would be a much more hospitable place for a virus to take hold.

What's been down your throat that irritated it so much?

I'm curious.

Reply #2133 - Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:22pm

Wouldn't mind an M3.

Reply #2134 - Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:36pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:04pm:

A.  They all were employed and the business had to close doors because of people needing to do social distancing? Eg: pubs, restaurants, coffee shops, etc

Or

B.  They were sole traders, working on their own esteem and risk needing people to serve their services on, such as.....mechanics, plumbers, builders,   Photographer, Pilates teacher, dance instructor, hair dresser, masseuse, house hostessing such as Nutri metics etc

Or

C.  They had a small shop considered non essential and had to close. Ummm, shoe shop, $2 shop, clothes shop, material/patchwork shop, book store.

Or

D.  These people were already unemployed and decided it was fun to join in the queue.

The mechanics plumbers and builders are essential services the singer song writer café latte worker/owner are not.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #2135 - Mar 23rd, 2020 at 11:38pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 9:11pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 7:29pm:
Sophia wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 12:33pm:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 12:19pm:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 12:13pm:
I want to know whats going to happen with real estate. Are ppl still buying/selling?

I heard the market was tanking.. sort of like the ballast tanks in a submarine about to dive... hold on to your hats....

A place we are very interested in, but due to this catastrophe, we have shied away from doing any borrowing/bridging finance.
Whew, lucky or we would have been cactus to try and sell ours if we had signed up for anything.

We have pulled back and putting it all on hold.
In the meantime we will get our property ready for when the time comes.

The house we liked, has just dropped it’s price by $85,000 !

Which means all house prices will drop including ours.

Had we signed clad iron contract a few weeks ago, and settled in 2-3 months, Who knows how much our property would have fallen in price or if it could even sell due to all restrictions!

If anyone wanted to buy from interstate, to see it, they would have to self isolate 14 days first!

Then go back to their state, and self isolate again for another 14 days!

So real estate will hit a slump like everything.
My instinct says so.
And what essential services will be open for it?
Auctions are going online now.
Okay for properties already inspected.

How do people inspect homes on the market?
I heard, that inspection can take place but only not allowed to touch anything or open draws/cupboards.

But rules are changing by the minute so who knows the iron clad answer?
Cross the bridge when we come to it.

Hard choice - hold on to what you've got.... I commented to the ex that if I had the spare I'd be looking to buy shares as they go down...  keep an eye on that prospect - it might work to your benefit.

Thanks Mr. Grappler, I know what you mean about an opportune time for buying shares, buy in gloom etc.
I think it is yet to fall even more.
We have not reached the tip of this iceberg yet.

And it may be a slow recovery thereafter.
I’m not knowledgeable enough to understand shares, it’s only money written on paper, and worth only the paper it’s written on.

With shares you have to be on that ball with their ups and downs and when you buy and sell and buy again.

Who can I trust to tell me what to do with my money and shares?

I was under the impression some  types of shares were overpriced?

Same with that property - it may well fall further, and if you have finance lined up - sort of a general thing (I'd avoid bridging for the costs) for the chance of a property coming up - you might be able to scoop it for a good price.

I expect all these markets to recover once this crisis is over, so you might be on a winner if you can have the money standing by.  Hard with the banks and their reaction to the royal commission, which was really only more of the same - tightening things up for the little person while it's business as usual for the big vulture on the block.

After all the furore over fees and such - I copped an overdraw fee of $15 - that used to be $10 - so I canceled my bank car insurance policy I had with them that caused it, and got a far cheaper policy (with Woolies).

Was it worth $15?  Not in a lifetime... but stoopid is as stoopid does........ for $15 - actually $5 - they lost $550 a year.  Can't train fools or parasites who imagine that they will always make money out of the unwary.

Reply #2136 - Mar 23rd, 2020 at 11:45pm

Ho-hum - as I said - the effect of salt gargling rinsing is to diminish the number of bugs in your upper respiratory system that may develop further if allowed to remain unchallenged, and thus allow your body's natural defences to act against a smaller swarm.  If you catch the little bastards in your nose or mouth or throat, they won't get your lungs, capisce?  And they don't like salt anyway or the alkali in soap. Most bugs don't... and as an aside, pure oxygen kills gangrene.... by directly killing golden staph that is the root cause...

I didn't say warm salty water (repeats for the slow ones) was a cure-all for CV, but is a very effective and ancient aid to your body's natural defence systems, cutting bugs off at the pass so to speak.

But you go your own way on this.......

Reply #2137 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 8:17am

Bias_2012 wrote on Mar 23rd, 2020 at 1:03pm:
Keep social distance from Angela Merkel, she's being tested after coming in contact with infected doctor

Is that good news or bad?  Wink

Reply #2138 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 8:27am

Or

Or

Or

One thing for sure is the Govt has f*#ked up on is doubling the fortnightly payments for those already possibly long term, unemployed on Jobstart/newstart.

There are no jobs to find at any rate. Especially now ... there are less & getting lesser.

When there are those in the queues who have just lost their jobs(increasing our unemployed) & they are going to take a while before they are assessed & able to access any assistance(dole).

Then the bloody MyGov site crashes at the slightest increase in pressure.  Roll Eyes

We are not equipped to adequately handle any crisis.

Like a bunch of chooks with their heads cut off.

Reply #2139 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 8:28am

Gnads wrote on Mar 24th, 2020 at 8:27am:

Or

Or

Or

One thing for sure is the Govt has f*#ked up on is doubling the fortnightly payments for those already possibly long term, unemployed on Jobstart/newstart.

When there are those in the queues who have just lost their jobs(increasing our unemployed) & they are going to take a while before they are assessed & able to access any assistance(dole).

Then the bloody MyGov site crashes at the slightest increase in pressure.  Roll Eyes

We are not equipped to adequately handle any crisis.

Like a bunch of chooks with their heads cut off.

As i understand it, the waiting times have been temporarily suspended.

Captain Nemo

Reply #2140 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 9:24am

Food for thought ...

The 2025 election could be a shocker.

Reply #2141 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 7:22pm

"You’ll also get the payment if you get one of the following Department of Veterans’ Affairs payments:

Veteran Service Pension
    Veteran Income Support Supplement
    Veteran Compensation payments, including lump sum payments
    War Widow(er) Pension."

Free advice... but you only get one bite, so if you're copping disability plus centrelink, you'll only get $750.

I'm happy with $750, then another $750 in July.

Reply #2142 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 7:26pm

Doesn't matter who the stimulus and upkeep for rising costs due to hoarders goes to - it will still be spent, and with the clubs and pubs closed, there will be a lot of kids better fed, methinks.

No social distinctions please and no social slurs... there are no class in those unemployed.... and those in Nojobville can use the money, even more than those recently cast on the dead pile....

Reply #2143 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 7:27pm

And they updated their flag

Reply #2144 - Mar 24th, 2020 at 7:33pm

Pages: 1 ... 141 142 143 144 145 ... 150