Reply #525 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:30pm

Gordon wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 9:16pm:
Thanks to...

Africans rooting monkeys gave the world AIDS
Moozlims rooting camels gave the world MERS
Chinese eating bats gave us SARS and CORONA

Yep

Severe acute respiratory syndrome (SARS) is a viral respiratory disease of zoonotic origin caused by the SARS coronavirus (SARS-CoV). Between November 2002 and July 2003, an outbreak of SARS in southern China caused an eventual 8,098 cases, resulting in 774 deaths reported in 17 countries,[1] with the majority of cases in mainland China and Hong Kong[2] (9.6% fatality rate) according to the World Health Organization (WHO).[2] No cases of SARS have been reported worldwide since 2004.[3] In late 2017, Chinese scientists traced the virus through the intermediary of civets to cave-dwelling horseshoe bats in Yunnan province.[4

Re: Corona virus
Reply #526 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:32pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 9:41pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 9:20pm:
Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 9:18pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 9:02pm:
Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:56pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:49pm:
Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:47pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:45pm:
Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:43pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:42pm:
Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:41pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:33pm:
Mr Hammer wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 8:30pm:
9news

The outbreak was initially linked to a market in Wuhan where exotic animals are known to be sold as food.

Animals sold as food?

My god!

Next thing you know, people will be eating cows.

No muppet. It's linked to eating "exotic " animals.

Are you telling me Australians don't eat exotic animals, Jocko?

Are you sure you want to go down this path?

What animals do Australians eat routinely that you would consider exotic Pecca?

Why did you introduce the word "routinely"?

I'm curious.

Because exotic animals are eaten routinely in China. look it up.

Is backpedalling an Olympic sport?

If so, you'd qualify for Tokyo.

In China shoppers  can buy loads of different animals to eat. frogs, snakes, bats, dogs, cats, monkey's , bugs, all sorts of furry critters etc etc. Australia doesn't do that. The article I supplied from 9news claims that Chinese authorities believe that is how the virus was spread. And in particular they are looking at the consumption of bats. Take your argument up with the Chinese Pecca?

Well, I'm not going to argue with Channel 9 "News", Jocko.

When you bring out big guns like that, I have to admit defeat.

Just promise me you won't quote ACA next - I couldn't handle the humiliation.

It's all over the media muppet. stop being lazy and look it up yourself.

I admit defeat, Jocko.

I can't argue with Channel 9 "News".

If you quote "I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here" next, I'm gonna look a real fool.

Bats can pass on several viruses to humans Pecca. I don't know why you find it so unbelievable?

Yeah he ought also look up Lyssa virus ...... courtesy of the biggest bats ... flying foxes/fruitbats.

Reply #527 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:33pm

<*|*>

SadKangaroo

#FightStupid

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #528 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:34pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 3:38pm:
The evidence below points to Chinese scientists who have grafted
parts of the AIDS virus onto the Corona virus to make a biological weapon.

https://www.biorxiv.org/content/10.1101/2020.01.30.927871v1.full.pdf

Kusuma School of biological sciences, Indian institute of technology, New Delhi-110016, India. 2Acharya Narendra Dev College, University of Delhi, New Delhi-110019, India

Abstract:We  are  currently  witnessing  a  major  epidemic  caused  by  the  2019  novel  coronavirus  (2019- nCoV).  The  evolution  of  2019-nCoV  remains  elusive.    We  found  4  insertions  in  the  spike glycoprotein (S) which are unique to the 2019-nCoV and are not present in other coronaviruses.  Importantly, amino acid residues in all the 4 inserts have identity or similarity to those in the HIV-1  gp120  or  HIV-1  Gag.      Interestingly,  despite  the  inserts  being  discontinuous  on  the  primary amino acid sequence, 3D-modelling of the 2019-nCoV suggests that they converge to constitute the  receptor  binding  site.    The  finding  of  4  unique  inserts  in  the  2019-nCoV,  all  of  which  have identity  /similarity  to  amino  acid  residues  in  key  structural  proteins  of  HIV-1  is  unlikely  to  be fortuitous in nature. This work provides yet unknown insights on 2019-nCoV and sheds light on the evolution and pathogenicity of this virus with important implications for diagnosis of this virus.

fortuitous

happening by chance rather than intention.

In plain English -
HIV - AIDS - amino acids were attached to this corona virus by scientists.
It's a bio weapon.

Not even close.

As suggested, get the info from the paper and try it out here,

https://blast.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/Blast.cgi?PAGE=Proteins

He's right...

But you've already chosen to believe that this is a man made weapon and I suppose nothing will change your mind, but I could suggest you take your "bat-poo" conspiracy to the Fringe where it belongs.

Reply #529 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:37pm

Bobby, I take everything into account.
That wasn’t your specific question.
I am very aware about the alleged  lab testing on virus as bio warfare.
It does not surprise me but I will neither confirm nor deny it.

What can we do about it?
Discuss, agree and/or bicker all we like.
« Last Edit: Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:51pm by Sophia »  

Reply #530 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:39pm

SadKangaroo wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:34pm:
Not even close.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EPo3PoeX4AEHpQO.jpg

But you've already chosen to believe that this is a man made weapon and I suppose nothing will change your mind, but I could suggest you take your "bat-poo" conspiracy to the Fringe where it belongs.

Why should the scientists at the:

Kusuma School of biological sciences, Indian institute of technology, New Delhi-110016, India. 2Acharya Narendra Dev College, University of Delhi, New Delhi-110019, India

lie to us?

Reply #531 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:41pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 8:19am:
Gordon wrote on Jan 29th, 2020 at 9:16pm:
Thanks to...

Africans rooting monkeys gave the world AIDS
Moozlims rooting camels gave the world MERS

GIven that we don't even know when the jump from simian to human occurred, not sure how you can possibly know the transmission of HIV
GIven MERS is respiratory, and a corona virus,  the most likely transmission was respiratory

If we go on the same token, Aussies rooting birds gave us MVE.

Not anywhere near the same token. So give yourself an uppercut.

MVE - In nature, these viruses move in cycles between birds (especially water [highlight]birds) and mosquitoes. Humans can only catch MVE or Kunjin viruses after being bitten by an infected mosquito. These viruses cannot be caught directly from birds or other people.[/highlight]

https://healthywa.wa.gov.au/Articles/J_M/Murray-Valley-encephalitis-and-Kunjin-v...

Reply #532 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:46pm

Sophia wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 5:46pm:
Setanta wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 5:15pm:
Gordon wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 4:52pm:

Yeah, my son tells me before it even gets on the news like the one I posted last night. He works in emergency at GCUH.

I used to work for Melbourne Ambulance, as Data processor with all the reports from ambo drivers, I would know before it was news.
Some were quite tragic, would always stop me mid typing, and just feel sad.

Anyway, re: the plane situation with domestic flight from Melbourne to Gold Coast, I just told my daughter, whom will be flying from Melbourne to Gold Coast next week, to wear nose mask and glasses.
And she said she definitely will.
Now we won’t know who is infected until 14 days later.

In airplanes the air goes round and round. So just people sitting near the person tested positive does not make sense to me.
Recirculated air!
The air used to be cleaner in planes when smoking was permitted.
https://www.traveller.com.au/reader-letters-visiting-parliament-a-shambles-gs3vd...

Surely you jest Lols?

I'd never get on a plane if that was still allowed.

Reply #533 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:51pm

Sophia wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 6:00pm:
Setanta wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 5:52pm:

Yeah, my son tells me before it even gets on the news like the one I posted last night. He works in emergency at GCUH.

I used to work for Melbourne Ambulance, as Data processor with all the reports from ambo drivers, I would know before it was news.

Anyway, re: the plane situation with domestic flight from Melbourne to Gold Coast, I just told my daughter, whom will be flying from Melbourne to Gold Coast next week, to wear nose mask and glasses.

In airplanes the air goes round and round. So just people sitting near the person tested positive does not make sense to me.
Recirculated air!
https://www.traveller.com.au/reader-letters-visiting-parliament-a-shambles-gs3vd...

Carrying some alcohol wipes/handwash(above 60%) might be an idea too. Alcohol apparently kills it.

I will giver her a bottle of Spumante to drink  Smiley
She had those wipes that kill 99% germs, and hand sanitizer in gel and spray. Plus once she gets to house after getting off con x ion shuttle, she is washing all her clothes worn, and showering.
If she still should be unlucky, can’t say she didn’t try to protect herself.
I used to look at the odd random person or two wearing masks, but now it’s not so amusing and in fact more accepting to see.

Not glasses..... ineffective.

She will need goggles.

That will look real cool.  Grin

Reply #534 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 5:04pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:39pm:
SadKangaroo wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:34pm:
Not even close.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EPo3PoeX4AEHpQO.jpg

Why should the scientists at the:

lie to us?

Why do you assume they aren't, Bobby?

I'll give you two words: carnivorous journals.

It is a clue as to why crap science like this gets published.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #535 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 5:06pm

Brian's a doctor of divinity.  He'll save us.

Reply #536 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 5:07pm

Pedro Curevo wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 8:45am:
Cannot blame the Chinese people for the virus, it is a wake up call for everyone to the over development and disregard for the natural world and environment.

Keeping animals locked in cages to make a buck with no regulation is a lesson in where contagions are spawned, and that happens globally in meat eating societies not just China.

A exception would be India which is mostly vegetarian and they revere animals albeit gastro problems occur from lack of sanitation.

Australia is not immune to animal cruelty and yet Animal activist are frowned upon if they protest outside a piggery...all goes to show the food industry has to be regulated as it is a global world where a virus or pathogen can be spawned in one country and rapidly spread to deemed safe countries.

And so they should be .... outside a piggery? Bullshit they were on the property... they trespassed onto a feedlot & abattoir.

These businesses are not roadside.

They are f..kwits ..... the animals here are a farmers livelihood & are well treated. Angry

Reply #537 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 5:13pm

Gnads wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:51pm:
Sophia wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 6:00pm:
Setanta wrote on Jan 30th, 2020 at 5:52pm:

Recirculated air!

Carrying some alcohol wipes/handwash(above 60%) might be an idea too. Alcohol apparently kills it.

I will giver her a bottle of Spumante to drink  Smiley
She had those wipes that kill 99% germs, and hand sanitizer in gel and spray. Plus once she gets to house after getting off con x ion shuttle, she is washing all her clothes worn, and showering.
If she still should be unlucky, can’t say she didn’t try to protect herself.
I used to look at the odd random person or two wearing masks, but now it’s not so amusing and in fact more accepting to see.

Not glasses..... ineffective.

She will need goggles.

That will look real cool.  Grin

okey dokey, got it!  Smiley I think this will suffice.

Reply #538 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 5:15pm

Sophia wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 11:36am:
So last night, my daughter and I did our Woolies food shopping.
First we get those complimentary wet wipes to wipe supermarket trolley handle.
Then we notice a lot of empty shelves ????
Daughter says products from China all heavily marked down and no restock?? hence empty shelves.

Then when we go through check out, my daughter didn’t say anything until out of ear shot, but that young (white) check out girl, was sniffling a lot and handling our food stuff!
Daughter says when home we wipe everything down!!

So think if that, your stuff is touched by check out whom has touched all other stuff touched by all other customers.
Germs United!!!

We'll be fu*^ed now .... everything comes from China.

A good example as to why this country should not have gone down that road of putting all it's eggs in the Chinese basket.

And a good time to start reinvestment in restarting Australian manufacturing.

Reply #539 - Feb 1st, 2020 at 5:20pm

Gnads wrote on Feb 1st, 2020 at 4:46pm:

Recirculated air!

Surely you jest Lols?

I'd never get on a plane if that was still allowed.

There's a point to what I wrote about the smoking on planes, the air was taken in from outside, whereas now, it just recirculates.

I never liked the smoking compartments either, when I used to travel by train, there was a smoking one, and non smoking, in my younger years, when I used to smoke, I still never went into the smoking carriage.
Stunk my hair and clothes otherwise.
Now the ban on smoking most places makes it more pleasant.
I can't believe how much cigarette packs are now!
There was someone in front buying a 3 packs for about $120 or so.
Like, that's more than my grocery shopping I had in the trolley!
So glad I gave up decades ago.
Saved heaps. And my lungs!  Smiley

Pages: 1 ... 34 35 36 37 38 ... 150