Pages: 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 ... 92
Hows the panic buying going? (Read 82729 times)

Re: Hows the panic buying going?
Reply #870 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:18am

Gnads wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:13am:
They are having problems with the suppliers & logistics.

it's logistics that are the problem ... a coles guy was saying this morning that they've had a 50% increase on their biggest days at christmas ... and they start preparing for christmas six months in advance. This was shoved on them, almost without warning 3 weeks ago and it hasn't let up.

We produce enough food for 75m people, we only have about 25m. If people calmed down there would be more than enough.

Reply #871 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:18am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:15am:
Just rang my local butcher to check if I could get some mince .....

they're rationing everything ..... I have an order for 1kg of mince for tomorrow.

We have plenty of everything they said ... we won't run out.

BS .... supply & logistics have failed under pressure.

Lucky it's not a military conflict ......... it would be turn the clock back 80 yrs ... war time rationing.

Mind you ... a few more weeks & that's just what it maybe like.

Some serious thought into restarting industries in Australia should be had if we are to learn anything from this.

We produce enough food in Australia to feed three times the population we have.

Don't panic.

I'm not panicking

It doesn't matter that we have enough to feed 3 times our population .... it can't be delivered.

Reply #872 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:19am

Gnads wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:18am:

they're rationing everything ..... I have an order for 1kg of mince for tomorrow.

Lucky it's not a military conflict ......... it would be turn the clock back 80 yrs ... war time rationing.

Some serious thought into restarting industries in Australia should be had if we are to learn anything from this.

Don't panic.

I'm not panicking

It doesn't matter that we have enough to feed 3 times our population .... it can't be delivered.

It'll be delivered.

Reply #873 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:19am

Setanta wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:17am:
John Smith wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:08am:
Setanta wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:05am:
John Smith wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 6:36pm:
Setanta wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 6:20pm:
John Smith wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 5:42pm:
Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 3:21pm:
I gather Woolies are advertising for staff to stack shelves of a night, paying peanuts so only monkies will apply no doubt!

coles announced they're going to hire an additional 5000 to help stock shelves and deliveries

I'll bet choo choo still won't apply Roll Eyes

Nothing to apply for here.

so drive to Byron, or tweed, or even Ballina. Don't look for excuses.

None in Byron, Ballina or Casino either, no car to drive to Tweed so haven't looked there. If there ever were 5000 put on they must have been in the big cities. Here where I know people that work at Coles, current staff are talking up the nightfill jobs.  Perhaps you think they do FIFO for nightfill.

Found 3 in 3 seconds

one in alstonville ... which I believe is even closer to you. You've not had much practice at looking for work have you?

Edited:
3 Coles jobs in Ballina NSW | Jora
au.jora.com › Coles-jobs-in-Ballina-NSW
Team Member – Coles Alstonville. new. Coles Group–Alstonville NSW. about 20 hours ago Save. Customer Service Agent - Online Delivery (Driver) – Coles Ballina. new. Coles Group–Ballina NSW. 6 days ago Save. Brand Activators - Far North Coast of NSW Region. new. Strikeforce AMC–Lismore NSW. Missing:coles. 1 day ago Save.

And none of those are nightfill. Don't have a truck license.

so you can only do nightfill? Cheesy Cheesy no wonder you haven't found a job in 10 yrs

and you don't need a truck license to drive a pantek.

Reply #874 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:22am

Gnads wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:18am:

local and state legislation prevented deliveries from large trucks outside of business hours. That is changing or has been changed. Qld govt, for example, dropped that law last night now allowing deliveries 24hrs a day if needed. The supply companies will get on top of it sooner rather than later.

Reply #875 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:30am

John Smith wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:19am:
Setanta wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:17am:
John Smith wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:08am:
Setanta wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:05am:
John Smith wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 6:36pm:
Setanta wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 6:20pm:
John Smith wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 5:42pm:
Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 3:21pm:
I gather Woolies are advertising for staff to stack shelves of a night, paying peanuts so only monkies will apply no doubt!

coles announced they're going to hire an additional 5000 to help stock shelves and deliveries

I'll bet choo choo still won't apply Roll Eyes

Nothing to apply for here.

so drive to Byron, or tweed, or even Ballina. Don't look for excuses.

None in Byron, Ballina or Casino either, no car to drive to Tweed so haven't looked there. If there ever were 5000 put on they must have been in the big cities. Here where I know people that work at Coles, current staff are talking up the nightfill jobs.  Perhaps you think they do FIFO for nightfill.

Found 3 in 3 seconds

one in alstonville ... which I believe is even closer to you. You've not had much practice at looking for work have you?

Edited:
3 Coles jobs in Ballina NSW | Jora
au.jora.com › Coles-jobs-in-Ballina-NSW
Team Member – Coles Alstonville. new. Coles Group–Alstonville NSW. about 20 hours ago Save. Customer Service Agent - Online Delivery (Driver) – Coles Ballina. new. Coles Group–Ballina NSW. 6 days ago Save. Brand Activators - Far North Coast of NSW Region. new. Strikeforce AMC–Lismore NSW. Missing:coles. 1 day ago Save.

And none of those are nightfill. Don't have a truck license.

so you can only do nightfill? Cheesy Cheesy no wonder you haven't found a job in 10 yrs

and you don't need a truck license to drive a pantek.

There's that 10 years again Roll Eyes. Cool, I'll actually try that one then.

Reply #876 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:33am

I dont understand this. We went to every shop in the area and no toilet paper anywhere. No ginger either - dunno why theres a run on ginger in this area. Its ridiculous. Why hasnt it been restocked? the pensioners didnt get any either.

Reply #877 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:34am

Imagine if our forum Dole Bludgers rushed out to get a job like they did Toilet Paper 🧻

Reply #878 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:39am

Don't panic.

and if it comes to rationing... then it will be much fairer..

blight on us it may well be!!!!! Angry Angry Angry....

but if the only way to stop them fighting in the toilet paper aisle then so BE IT...

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:19am:
It'll be delivered

of course it will we have freight trains lying idle
we have huge  cargo planes lying empty

and how did they manage 100 years ago????... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

is there no COMMONSENSE left in this world.???

Reply #879 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:41am

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:34am:
Imagine if our forum Dole Bludgers rushed out to get a job like they did Toilet Paper 🧻

Businesses are closing ... there will be more lining up for the dole.

« Last Edit: Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:48am by Gnads »  

Reply #880 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:41am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:33am:
I dont understand this. We went to every shop in the area and no toilet paper anywhere. No ginger either - dunno why theres a run on ginger in this area. Its ridiculous. Why hasnt it been restocked? the pensioners didnt get any either.

the logistic for deliveries will be in chaos spot   get a reality check  most little shops would only get one big delivery a week....now they are being emptied every day.... maybe speak to your local find out when their trucks next come in.....if you have a pensioner in the home   you may get special treatment.. this is where shopping local could benefit you...give it a try.

Reply #881 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:42am

Maybe they will pay in toilet rolls!

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #882 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:44am

Gnads wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:41am:

Businesses are closing ... their will be more lining up for the dole.

no workers no income tax...even centrelink would have its limits......the trick is to calm down...imagine stocking up with 2 years supply of toilet paper then you get the virus and cark it?...... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

I leave all my toilet paper to my dearest beloved...

money to the cats home.. Grin Grin Grin

Reply #883 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:45am

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:42am:

Maybe they will pay in toilet rolls!

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

you could be given a choice...

imagine winning the biggy     a million dollars or 12 toilet rolls... Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #884 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:46am

cods wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:39am:

Don't panic.

and if it comes to rationing... then it will be much fairer..

blight on us it may well be!!!!! Angry Angry Angry....

but if the only way to stop them fighting in the toilet paper aisle then so BE IT...

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:19am:
It'll be delivered

of course it will we have freight trains lying idle
we have huge  cargo planes lying empty

and how did they manage 100 years ago????... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

is there no COMMONSENSE left in this world.???

Where? Besides that most regional towns in NSW & QLD have had their ability to accept rail freight removed .... with line closures & removal of siding/station infrastructure i.e. Goods sheds & station yards.

Pages: 1 ... 57 58 59 60 61 ... 92