Pages: 1 ... 61 62 63 64 65 ... 92
Hows the panic buying going? (Read 82487 times)

Re: Hows the panic buying going?
Reply #930 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 11:56am

Last I went to supermarket, Woolies had no potatoes but heaps of pumpkin and sweet potatoes, are people shy about pumpkin and sweet potato?
Win for me. I have cut up the pumpkin in pieces and frozen it.

Went to post office then into my local IGA next door to get their freshly squeezed orange juice, and saw heaps of potatoes! I bought 2 kgs @ $3.99 kg.
So my orange juice and potatoes are like gold. I also got 2 more grain free cat food tins, the types Oh Fussy One likes! Seems to be eating more than usual!! Weather getting cooler here now.

Reply #931 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 11:57am

Flliip

Reply #932 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 12:24pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 11:56am:
Last I went to supermarket, Woolies had no potatoes but heaps of pumpkin and sweet potatoes, are people shy about pumpkin and sweet potato?

Went to post office then into my local IGA next door to get their freshly squeezed orange juice, and saw heaps of potatoes! I bought 2 kgs @ $3.99 kg.
So my orange juice and potatoes are like gold. I also got 2 more grain free cat food tins, the types Oh Fussy One likes! Seems to be eating more than usual!! Weather getting cooler here now.

Sweet Potato is far underrated... i think most people have never even tried it...

We have it nightly.... More Sweet potato and less potatoes and you’ll be healthier...

Cooler??

Did you get a summer?

Someone was saying the other day that we only had 9 days over 30*....

Pfft... Global Warming my arse...  Roll Eyes

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #933 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 1:08pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 12:24pm:

Sweet Potato is far underrated... i think most people have never even tried it...

We have it nightly.... More Sweet potato and less potatoes and you’ll be healthier...

Cooler??

Did you get a summer?

Just when you're coming to the table and not being your usual moronic grumpy ignorant old man as I'm reading your posts over the past few pages about to thank you for the advice you go and do this...

Oh well, was good while it lasted.

Reply #934 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 5:51pm

KangAnon wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 1:08pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 12:24pm:

Cooler??

Did you get a summer?

Just when you're coming to the table and not being your usual moronic grumpy ignorant old man as I'm reading your posts over the past few pages about to thank you for the advice you go and do this...

Oh well, was good while it lasted.

So all it took was "pffft -global warming my arse"?

Grin unreal - triggered much.

Reply #935 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 3:42am

Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:07am:

8 rolls to last you a year?

Are you on a self ration of one sheet per bowel motion?  Grin

Isn't your house fly screened?

Yes Rocky can be such a dive when there's been a bit of rain & water laying about....... and there always seems to be stagnant water laying about on the sth side ... especially between the caravan Park on the highway (Gladstone Road) & the railway line.

And the Swamp & Woolwash areas always stink.

I've been there many times when the mozzies can carry you away so outbreaks of Dengue would not be uncommon.

I have been having this argument online with local facebook groups. I read someone saying that a roll of toilet paper would last him and his friend 2 days between them. Some counter with the argument that a family of 5 could see toilet paper gone within the day.

I was always confused about that. I live alone. I had 3 rolls of toilet paper (among a packet of 8 originally) still to be used. I started opening the packet sometime early last year. But, I have noticed that I don't need to wipe my arse more than twice a day. I noted that the morning coffee would get me going. Same with the black tea. But, unless I have downed a large glass of watered down prune juice (or have the runs), I am not using up a heap of toilet paper per movement.

If people can break off three sheets of paper and fold, they need not towel off/wipe more than 3 times. Someone told me to use wet wipes to start. Because the wet wipes do 90% of the cleaning. The last wipe could be the usual toilet paper. However, the wet wipes have a reputation for clogging up the sewerage. So, I will be back to using toilet paper.

I started using lemongrass body wash or lemongrass bars of soap to counter the mosquito bites. They have cut down on the number of mosquito bites I get. My neighbours will probably complain soon about the number of mosquito coils I have going downstairs. Upstairs, I have mosquito plugins that work from dusk to sun up.

It was only a month or more ago that we were looking at dry duck ponds and dry creek beds. I hope the Kershaw Gardens has recovered from its dry spell.

Reply #936 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 3:47am

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 3:21pm:
I gather Woolies are advertising for staff to stack shelves of a night, paying peanuts so only monkies will apply no doubt!

Pfft! If I had my teenaged days to live over again, I would apply for nightfill. They paid more than what I was getting for my first job.

Reply #937 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 5:55am

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 21st, 2020 at 3:42am:
Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:07am:

8 rolls to last you a year?

Are you on a self ration of one sheet per bowel motion?  Grin

Isn't your house fly screened?

Yes Rocky can be such a dive when there's been a bit of rain & water laying about....... and there always seems to be stagnant water laying about on the sth side ... especially between the caravan Park on the highway (Gladstone Road) & the railway line.

And the Swamp & Woolwash areas always stink.

I've been there many times when the mozzies can carry you away so outbreaks of Dengue would not be uncommon.

I have been having this argument online with local facebook groups. I read someone saying that a roll of toilet paper would last him and his friend 2 days between them. Some counter with the argument that a family of 5 could see toilet paper gone within the day.

I was always confused about that. I live alone. I had 3 rolls of toilet paper (among a packet of 8 originally) still to be used. I started opening the packet sometime early last year. But, I have noticed that I don't need to wipe my arse more than twice a day. I noted that the morning coffee would get me going. Same with the black tea. But, unless I have downed a large glass of watered down prune juice (or have the runs), I am not using up a heap of toilet paper per movement.

If people can break off three sheets of paper and fold, they need not towel off/wipe more than 3 times. Someone told me to use wet wipes to start. Because the wet wipes do 90% of the cleaning. The last wipe could be the usual toilet paper. However, the wet wipes have a reputation for clogging up the sewerage. So, I will be back to using toilet paper.

I started using lemongrass body wash or lemongrass bars of soap to counter the mosquito bites. They have cut down on the number of mosquito bites I get. My neighbours will probably complain soon about the number of mosquito coils I have going downstairs. Upstairs, I have mosquito plugins that work from dusk to sun up.

It was only a month or more ago that we were looking at dry duck ponds and dry creek beds. I hope the Kershaw Gardens has recovered from its dry spell.

My own stash has lasted quite a while but this household has a lot of ppl. Some use a lot and some dont but the ones that do want to take everyone elses stash.

Reply #938 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 5:57am

News item last evening said the reason supermarkets are not able to keep up with demand is because local councils prevented supply trucks from loading bays outside business hours

Gladys has now allowed trucks to access loading bays outside business hours

that means more stock will reach the shelves and hopefully, once people see that, they'll stop panic buying and normality will return

at the same time, the mainstream media is still trying to hype up the fake virus and Morrison's playing his designated role of Australia's hoaxer in chief by creating rules for 'social distancing'

anyway, should be more truck unloading very soon followed by more food and less panic hoarding

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #939 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 6:32am

I can almost hear the whining about how we should have had the AuschtraliaKart so rationing could be applied.  Went to the supermarket this morning and saw all the ways people get around limits on toilet paper... travel in pairs or more and each one gets a pack. Only 8 packs available and they are not cheap... price gouging. $8.50 each...  Three weeks ago I bought a 36 pack for $14.

No checks to see if you're on pension etc - some of those people look younger than me, and at 70 many say I look 55....

Bravo Woolies - get onboard with the parasites... make sure you get your prime cut for your shareholders.

Reply #940 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 6:33am

PZ547 wrote on Mar 21st, 2020 at 5:57am:
News item last evening said the reason supermarkets are not able to keep up with demand is because local councils prevented supply trucks from loading bays outside business hours

that means more stock will reach the shelves and hopefully, once people see that, they'll stop panic buying and normality will return

at the same time, the mainstream media is still trying to hype up the fake virus and Morrison's playing his designated role of Australia's hoaxer in chief by creating rules for 'social distancing'

anyway, should be more truck unloading very soon followed by more food and less panic hoarding

Truck left at 7 am this morning, heading back to the depot empty.

Reply #941 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 6:39am

Besides which - that's bullshit, since the problems are caused by idiots running around like headless chooks and hoarding.  You don't need extra trucks to maintain supply when people remain sane.

There will just have to be some enforcement of rationing... when I went up this morning for six items, I saw the same faces as I've seen every time I've been there.  I mostly buy one or two things - they get a heap every time.

Dumb as...

Reply #942 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 6:53am

It's not a fake virus.....  you tell that to the Italians.

The hysteria is definitely media manufactured but it's no hoax.

Reply #943 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 7:05am

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 21st, 2020 at 3:47am:
Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 3:21pm:
I gather Woolies are advertising for staff to stack shelves of a night, paying peanuts so only monkies will apply no doubt!

Pfft! If I had my teenaged days to live over again, I would apply for nightfill. They paid more than what I was getting for my first job.

me too unsub....its not rocket science after all is it?...

I did what they called the Lazy Tray at Joe Lyons corner stores in London.. clearing tables in other words...I think I made $3..back in those days it wasnt worth $3.

I think we are job snobs theses days.

Reply #944 - Mar 21st, 2020 at 7:34am

Got down early at Coles -
there were about 100 people in a queue.
We all got a pack of dunny rolls and
I got a large pack!
There was plenty of fruit and veges and I actually
managed to get a piece of rump steak and some sausages!

That's a nice way to start the day.
I feel like I've won a lottery.

Pages: 1 ... 61 62 63 64 65 ... 92