Pages: 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 92
Hows the panic buying going? (Read 82035 times)

Re: Hows the panic buying going?
Reply #210 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:43pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 2:11pm:
Carl D wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 1:30pm:
I seem to be having trouble attaching 2 photos to my previous post so here's the more recent one.

Great photos of before and after!
Notice no red phone box anymore.
Maybe Dr. Who found some use for them  Smiley

Dr Poo in his Turdis needs toilet paper

Reply #211 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:45pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:43pm:
The whole thing about dunny paper is mostly a beat up.

The truth is, because it's a bulky item which supermarkets can't keep much stock of, and because they all use just-in-time logistics, even a small uptick in demand breaks the normal supply chains.

Simples really.

Not true. Just heard someone from Costco saying the car parks are full of people in the monning waiting for the next shipments from the warehouse !

Reply #212 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:58pm

I managed to buy a 12 pack at Aldi this afternoon, still probably about four left.

So maybe the panic is not as much as claimed in  some areas.

I will sell them to you cods if you get caught so to speak,

50% mark up seems fair!  Wink

Reply #213 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:59pm

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:58pm:
I managed to buy a 12 pack at Aldi this afternoon, still probably about four left.

I'd say sell them to Aussie, but, meh...  Grin Grin Grin

Reply #214 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:00pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:45pm:
Gordon wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:43pm:
The whole thing about dunny paper is mostly a beat up.

The truth is, because it's a bulky item which supermarkets can't keep much stock of, and because they all use just-in-time logistics, even a small uptick in demand breaks the normal supply chains.

Simples really.

Not true. Just heard someone from Costco saying the car parks are full of people in the monning waiting for the next shipments from the warehouse !

I didn't say there is not a higher demand, but I just explained why toilet paper is easily effected in this way.

Reply #215 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:01pm

They go at $100 for 4 rolls on Ebay.

Reply #216 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:02pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:01pm:

They go at $100 for 4 rolls on Ebay.

As they said in "The Castle" 

"Tell him he is dreaming!"

Reply #217 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:05pm

That's a rip-off, cods.

Just rinse your toilet paper after using it, and hang it on the Hills Hoist.

All good.

Reply #218 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:06pm

GPs ‘going to Bunnings’ to find face masks amid global shortage

Australian GPs are heading to Bunnings to buy face masks as “workarounds” for coronavirus protection, after a worldwide shortage has left them and their dental counterparts “dangerously ill-equipped”.

There is limited access across the globe to medical supplies including gloves and masks, the World Health Organisation’s (WHO) director-general Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus said.

“We are concerned that countries’ abilities to respond are being compromised by the severe and increasing disruption to the global supply of personal protective equipment, caused by rising demand, hoarding and misuse,” he said.

“Shortages are leaving doctors, nurses and other frontline health workers dangerously ill-equipped to care for COVID-19 patients.”

Royal Australian College of General Practitioners president Harry Nespolon said GPs are not being supported with equipment including masks and medical gowns for an anticipated surge of patients at under-pressure hospitals.

“I’ve certainly heard of GPs going to Bunnings to try and buy masks,” he told the ABC today.

“We would rather that healthcare facilities had healthcare-standard masks and that we don’t have to resort to workarounds.”

In a statement to news.com.au today, Bunnings chief operating officer Debbie Poole said the company apologised to customers if they had been unable to get what they need immediately.

“We are working hard to get stock to relevant stores as quickly as possible to meet customer demand and our suppliers have been a huge support in making this happen,” she said.

Last month, the Australian Dental Association said it was aware that a shortage of masks “is currently a real issue” for dental practices due to the impact of coronavirus.

The ADA this week estimated dental practices across the nation would run out within four weeks and has urged the federal government to intervene.

People in the US have also been snatching up face masks despite pleas from health officials.

Nancy Foster, head of quality and patient safety at the American Hospital Association, said patient and treatment rooms in hospitals always have a sink and soap to wash hands.

But there are no good alternatives to masks for nurses and doctors.

Earlier this week, Prime Minister Scott Morrison assured the public there was no need to rush out to the shops.

“Australians should continue to go about their lives in their normal way and just exercise common sense in the same way you would during a severe winter season, where there may be an outbreak of flu or something like that,” he said.

He also shared a video to his official Facebook page on Tuesday titled, “Use common sense”.

Dr Tedros said masks are vitally needed to protect health workers fighting the coronavirus epidemic however prices have surged six-fold and the cost of ventilators has tripled.

He said WHO had shipped more than half a million sets of personal protective equipment to 27 countries, but warned that “supplies are rapidly depleting”.

“We can’t stop COVID-19 without protecting our health workers,” he said.

The coronavirus outbreak marks the second time in recent months Australians have rushed to Bunnings.

The household hardware chain ran out of dust face masks in December as bushfire smoke plagued NSW despite experts warning they were “close to useless” against finer particles.

As of Thursday morning, there were 50 confirmed cases of coronavirus detected in Australia.

Two people have died and a 50-year-old aged care worker was diagnosed earlier this week.

https://www.adelaidenow.com.au/lifestyle/health/gps-going-to-bunnings-to-find-fa...

Reply #219 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:07pm

Hi Nail,
they said on 3AW that many dentists can't work as they have no face masks -
the hoarders bought all the N95 masks.

Reply #220 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:07pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:40pm:
Mr Hammer wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 3:33pm:
It's probably been mentioned but people ( particularly Chinese) are buying up ass paper to sell in China. China is in a ass paper crisis. That's where the panic buying started and stupid people got swept along with it.

Nah. Slope heads use a bum gun.

Lips Sealed Lips Sealed Lips Sealed

Reply #221 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:12pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:06pm:
The coronavirus outbreak marks the second time in recent months Australians have rushed to Bunnings.

The first time was when snags & buns at sausage sizzles were half price.

Reply #222 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:27pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:07pm:
Hi Nail,

The surgical masks are only useful if you have a virus so you don't sneeze and spit at others ! People are buying the wrong masks !

Reply #223 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:34pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:27pm:
Hi Nail,

The surgical masks are only useful if you have a virus so you don't sneeze and spit at others !
People are buying the wrong masks !

Most people are morons.

Reply #224 - Mar 5th, 2020 at 5:12pm

Bobby. wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:34pm:
Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 5th, 2020 at 4:27pm:
Hi Nail,

The surgical masks are only useful if you have a virus so you don't sneeze and spit at others !
People are buying the wrong masks !

Most people are morons.

most people are morons bobby.

i told karnal that he should kneel before his refridgerator and weep tears of joy because NOBODY who ever walked the earth for the preceeding 10's of 1000's of generations ever had a source of food available like that.

the availablility of fresh running hot and cold water.
the fact that most australians have never missed a meal.

the likelihood we could achieve a system like that is a FREAKING MIRACLE.

failure is the norm
hunger is the norm

success is rare, hard to maintain and fragile.

there is a cosmic law that if you dont appreciate things, they will be taken from you.

western christian capitalist males constructed this MIRACLE and the chodes who have never missed a meal dont appreciate that extrtaordinary effort.

they call for revolution and call for socialism.

they may get these things

they may get to eat childrens body parts like the marxists in russia in 1920.

hopefully they will come to their senses and bow before the noble capitalists that built this miracle and quit with the extraordinary ingratitude

Pages: 1 ... 13 14 15 16 17 ... 92