Pages: 1 ... 42 43 44 45 46 ... 92
Hows the panic buying going? (Read 82754 times)

Re: Hows the panic buying going?
Reply #645 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 5:19pm

flip

Reply #646 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 5:33pm

Carl D wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 3:44pm:
Rivervale IGA in Kooyong Road had about half a dozen toilet roll packs left when I was there about 4 hours ago.

Still don't need any so I didn't buy any.

Might have been the 9 rolls per pack ones, I didn't have a close look so I'm not sure.

So......

I am always a supporter of my 'corner store' run by South African Husband and Wife from Zululand.  They get re-supplied every Thursday.  Last Thursday, the vultures swooped and wiped (nifty pun there) out the dunny paper in minutes.

This morning TIB and I were down to 6 rolls.  (Gordon will tell you that is not an issue because Indians wipe their arses with their bare hands.  As usual, he is an idiot.)

Off I go to the Corner store at around 11.00 am, expecting that the vultures would have repeated the dose.

No!

Instead, the shelves were almost full with rows of single (wrapped) rolls.  On each shelf was a sign telling customers to be reasonable and to think of others.  I took three, grabbed the other stuff I wanted, went to the check out where male Proprietor was.

I congratulated him.  One of his comments was that if anyone is unreasonable 'we will make them reasonable.'  But, here is the thing.

His normal suppliers said they had none to provide him with.  So.....very early this morning, he drove at least a 300 k round trip to a warehaouse he knew of and obtained those single wrapped rolls. 

Well done, Howard!

Support your corner store!

Reply #647 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 6:53pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 3:15pm:
Bobby. wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 3:03pm:
Just got back from Coles - still no dunny rolls.

No dunny rolls in either of the two Woolies stores in the CBD today.

No aspirin, paracetamol, hand wash, or hand sanitiser either.

Pasta and rice shelves were about 70% empty.

People are idiots.

We're doomed.

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #648 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 5:55am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 6:53pm:
We're doomed.

HB.

Reply #649 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 6:11am

KangAnon wrote on Mar 13th, 2020 at 5:55am:
We're doomed.

HB.

https://i.imgur.com/qJukahN.jpg

Yep.

A truly disgraceful chapter in out history.

I literally shake my head in disbelief when I go into the supermarket now.

Humans can be such horrible creatures.

Reply #650 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:12am

Aussie wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 5:33pm:
Carl D wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 3:44pm:
Rivervale IGA in Kooyong Road had about half a dozen toilet roll packs left when I was there about 4 hours ago.

Still don't need any so I didn't buy any.

Might have been the 9 rolls per pack ones, I didn't have a close look so I'm not sure.

So......

I am always a supporter of my 'corner store' run by South African Husband and Wife from Zululand.  They get re-supplied every Thursday.  Last Thursday, the vultures swooped and wiped (nifty pun there) out the dunny paper in minutes.

This morning TIB and I were down to 6 rolls.  (Gordon will tell you that is not an issue because Indians wipe their arses with their bare hands.  As usual, he is an idiot.)

Off I go to the Corner store at around 11.00 am, expecting that the vultures would have repeated the dose.

No!

Instead, the shelves were almost full with rows of single (wrapped) rolls.  On each shelf was a sign telling customers to be reasonable and to think of others.  I took three, grabbed the other stuff I wanted, went to the check out where male Proprietor was.

I congratulated him.  One of his comments was that if anyone is unreasonable 'we will make them reasonable.'  But, here is the thing.

His normal suppliers said they had none to provide him with.  So.....very early this morning, he drove at least a 300 k round trip to a warehaouse he knew of and obtained those single wrapped rolls. 

Well done, Howard!

Support your corner store!

my local IGA has a 2 pk limit.. and they dont usually have a great stock anyway...but now shelf empty...I am happy to see them making money   people usually buy more than toilet paper............well I do!

Reply #651 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:14am

greggerypeccary wrote on Mar 13th, 2020 at 6:11am:
We're doomed.

HB.

Yep.

A truly disgraceful chapter in out history.

I literally shake my head in disbelief when I go into the supermarket now.

Humans can be such horrible creatures.

I think its amusing.....a shop in Amerika is selling toilet rolls with a free diamond......we need to laugh at ourselves.....who knows laughing  may get us through this!

Reply #652 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:19am

My whole family has woken up with headaches, cough, sniffles.

Daughter is staying home from school, I just cancelled my rounds, wife is about to make some chicken soup.

Lucky we have a good stock of supplies so I don't have to go to the shops spreading whatever it is we have around.

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #653 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:47am

Gordon wrote on Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:19am:

Daughter is staying home from school, I just cancelled my rounds, wife is about to make some chicken soup.

Lucky we have a good stock of supplies so I don't have to go to the shops spreading whatever it is we have around.

We might not see eye to eye on a lot of things, but I hope you're all ok.

Netflix and Soup.

Reply #654 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:52am

Didnt Tom Hanks visit Bondi Beach?

Reply #655 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:55am

We're doomed.

HB.

Very emotional meme, SK, but it's total BS. Let me dismantle it for you.

Firstly, children are only having very mild symptoms so it would actually be the child going to the supermarket to buy stuff for the parents.

But for the sake of the argument, lets take the image, as unlikely as it is at face value.

Child is sick and dad runs to the supermarket for supplies. The dad would also have been infected, so now he's gone shopping and spread it to others.

This pandemic has been coming down the pipe for months and anyone with half a brain stocked up weeks and weeks ago. Every Govt in the world is guilty of neglect for not telling people to stock up and prepare to isolate themselves.

There are limited amounts of respirators in hospitals so what will save lives is to do what's called 'flattening the curve'. That means people social distancing NOW and slowing the spread so less people get sick at once, which means a better ratio of respirators to patients.

Prepping for a pandemic is like steering an oil tanker. You have to take action way before you get there.

There's a big difference to being prepared and panicking. The people who WILL be panicking are those who were too lazy or stupid to prepare in time.

Reply #656 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:58am

Redmond Neck wrote on Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:52am:

Didnt Tom Hanks visit Bondi Beach?

He visited the beach, I've spoken to people who said hi to him. His wife and Tom? did something at the Opera House, my daughter went to a classical concert with people who attended.

I reckon we've all got a mild cold but I won't leave the house today except to go fill the car up.

Reply #657 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:58am

Hang in there Gordon and Co, and good luck!

Maybe its just the flu

Anyway keep us informed!

Reply #658 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 8:05am

I think if anyone reads Bobby  they too will end up with whatever is going.....does anyone else feel when in the company of negative people they end up feeling the same way....negative and blue.....

some people only look of the gloomy side of life..

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #659 - Mar 13th, 2020 at 8:10am

Gordon wrote on Mar 13th, 2020 at 7:55am:
We're doomed.

HB.

Very emotional meme, SK, but it's total BS. Let me dismantle it for you.

Firstly, children are only having very mild symptoms ...

Sorry to cut you off, it wasn't meant as a serious commentary of the current situation.

Thank you for clearing it up, however.

Pages: 1 ... 42 43 44 45 46 ... 92