Pages: 1 ... 52 53 54 55 56 ... 92
Hows the panic buying going? (Read 82477 times)
KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Re: Hows the panic buying going?
Reply #795 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 7:25am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 7:14am:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 10:33pm:
Coles onboard as well:-

https://au.news.yahoo.com/coles-dramatic-online-shopping-move-amid-buying-frenzy...

Online orders to be restricted to the 'vulnerable'.

Sad, innit?  So many selfish people with no idea, and dumb as dog schitt following a rumour and beat-up.

It's all crap.
A seniors card is not enough to get into Coles at 7am.
It needs to be a blue card which is for pensioners.
I know someone who got there at 7am
and by the time they got to the dunny paper
area the few rolls were all gone.

Coles didn't have 1 potato left and shelves
were still empty.

Perhaps people shouldn't be posting on the Internet that we're all doomed?

Reply #796 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 7:59am

https://au.news.yahoo.com/coles-dramatic-online-shopping-move-amid-buying-frenzy...

Sad, innit?  So many selfish people with no idea, and dumb as dog schitt following a rumour and beat-up.

It's all crap.

were still empty.

Yes .... it's no use opening early for pensioners to be able to shop without hassle when there's still no stock ......

what sort of arseholes are Coles & Woolies?

Reply #797 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 8:07am

UnSubRocky wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 12:53am:
The mosquitos have been swarming lately in town. People had been buying up mosquito coils and other insect repellent. I got a couple of mosquito coil packets tonight on my grocery shop. I did note that lemongrass body scrub has helped in reducing the number of mosquito bites I received. My Peaceful Nights mosquito zapper plugins have been doing wonders. But I have noticed that my electrical outlets have differing power outputs. So, my plugins are having little effect on some areas of the house and considerable effect on others.

I did mention that I bought an 8-pack of toilet paper the other week. 8pm at night and no one else around. The shelves were modestly stocked. I bought a pack to last me the rest of the year.

I stocked up on some citronella tea light candles for the toilet room. A large citronella candle for downstairs during the really cold nights. Last year, we had a dengue fever plague. People were buying up coils and whatever they could to ward off the mosquitos. I made a home-made mosquito burner. I lit it downstairs in a drafty, yet enclosed, part of downstairs. It actually kept upstairs that little bit warmer, whilst it killed off the mosquitos anywhere near downstairs.

The price of food was up this week. Perhaps there is a bit of price gouging. Or the farmers were unable to produce enough this year. I had my first $300 grocery spend this year. A normal shop would be about $150. I doubt the extras I got this week amounted to more than $100.

At least petrol prices have come down a little.

8 rolls to last you a year?

Are you on a self ration of one sheet per bowel motion?  Grin

Isn't your house fly screened?

Yes Rocky can be such a dive when there's been a bit of rain & water laying about....... and there always seems to be stagnant water laying about on the sth side ... especially between the caravan Park on the highway (Gladstone Road) & the railway line.

And the Swamp & Woolwash areas always stink.

I've been there many times when the mozzies can carry you away so outbreaks of Dengue would not be uncommon.

Reply #798 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:04am

Just heard that city folk are raiding country towns and stripping their shops bare. What a bunch of scumbags !!

Reply #799 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:12am

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:04am:
Just heard that city folk are raiding country towns and stripping their shops bare. What a bunch of scumbags !!

Yeah well that's where the majority of  scumbags live.

Reply #800 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:18am

Doesn't surprise me.

About a week ago I posted about people driving from Perth down to the country town of Harvey and back (300km round trip) to clean out the local IGA of toilet rolls, etc..

Most people really are idiots these days and it will only get worse.

Reply #801 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:20am

Sounds like BS.

My neighbour just got back from a local Adli/Coles and some stuff is sold out but more than enough to make substitutions .

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #802 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:23am

Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:12am:

Hmm - lot of people in the shops I've never seen before - could be something in what you say.

Meanwhile:-  WILD scenes at Woolworths for early opening hour?  All those oldies racing in on their walking sticks and walkers..  anyway silly headlines aside:-

https://au.news.yahoo.com/wild-scenes-at-woolworths-supermarket-as-elderly-queue...

"Images showing elderly customers lining up outside supermarkets early on Tuesday morning highlight the desperate need of groceries for Australia’s most vulnerable.

It was the first day of Woolworths making its first opening hour exclusively for elderly and disabled customers to buy their essential groceries.

Pictures shared from around Australia on social media showed eligible people in long queues as they flocked to stores before the 7am opening time.

“I feel sad watching this,” one woman tweeted, sharing a photo of elderly customers filing into a Woolworths while it is still dark outside.

“How as a society have we forced pensioners to shop in the dark at 7am,” she wrote.

Elderly customers arrive to find empty shelves

Speaking to Yahoo News Australia, Judy Lewis, 80, from Melbourne said she and her 86-year-old husband, David, arrived at the Glen Huntly Woolworths store in Melbourne at 6am this morning, just to be safe.

Ms Lewis explains despite being right at the doors before the store opened, she had no such luck getting the essentials she and her husband needed.

She said maybe the first 20 people in line were able to get their hands on toilet paper, the toothpaste and toothbrushes were almost gone, there was barely any fresh produce or meat.

“It was almost like a sick joke,” she said."

Reply #803 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:24am

My wife stopped at an Aldi in brissie across from her workplace yesterday, and was able to get everything on the shopping list quite easily. No paper on the list.

I think it's only in some areas that this is a problem. It's self perpetuating. Go into a store today and find the shelves empty, you'll buy twice what you need when you go tomorrow

Reply #804 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:33am

Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:23am:
Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:12am:

Hmm - lot of people in the shops I've never seen before - could be something in what you say.

Meanwhile:-  WILD scenes at Woolworths for early opening hour?  All those oldies racing in on their walking sticks and walkers..  anyway silly headlines aside:-

https://au.news.yahoo.com/wild-scenes-at-woolworths-supermarket-as-elderly-queue...

"Images showing elderly customers lining up outside supermarkets early on Tuesday morning highlight the desperate need of groceries for Australia’s most vulnerable.

It was the first day of Woolworths making its first opening hour exclusively for elderly and disabled customers to buy their essential groceries.

Pictures shared from around Australia on social media showed eligible people in long queues as they flocked to stores before the 7am opening time.

“I feel sad watching this,” one woman tweeted, sharing a photo of elderly customers filing into a Woolworths while it is still dark outside.

“How as a society have we forced pensioners to shop in the dark at 7am,” she wrote.

Elderly customers arrive to find empty shelves

Speaking to Yahoo News Australia, Judy Lewis, 80, from Melbourne said she and her 86-year-old husband, David, arrived at the Glen Huntly Woolworths store in Melbourne at 6am this morning, just to be safe.

Ms Lewis explains despite being right at the doors before the store opened, she had no such luck getting the essentials she and her husband needed.

She said maybe the first 20 people in line were able to get their hands on toilet paper, the toothpaste and toothbrushes were almost gone, there was barely any fresh produce or meat.

“It was almost like a sick joke,” she said."

Furthers my resolve that the early opening time for the elderly is an empty PR promise if there is not enough stock for people to get what they need ...

which includes toilet paper.

They say there are no logistics or supply problems
... I say BS.

Insects & viruses have us by the balls.

Reply #805 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:46am

Carl D wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:18am:

Doesn't surprise me.

About a week ago I posted about people driving from Perth down to the country town of Harvey and back (300km round trip) to clean out the local IGA of toilet rolls, etc..

Most people really are idiots these days and it will only get worse.

I'm honestly surprised, and more than a little ashamed, at how stupid people are acting.

I saw a woman get hysterical yesterday over a 4-pack of toilet paper.

Reply #806 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:49am

Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:33am:
Furthers my resolve that the early opening time for the elderly is an empty PR promise if there is not enough stock for people to get what they need ...

which includes toilet paper.

They say there are no logistics or supply problems
... I say BS.

Insects & viruses have us by the balls.

nah ... it's new to all. Woolworths and Coles will learn. It's not easy getting a company that size to change how it does things so dramatically and get it right the first time. They're just struggling to restock the shelves in time.

Coles is now advertising for an additional 5000 casual workers just to try and keep up with stock levels and deliveries.

Reply #807 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 11:51am

I imagine woolies and coles will have a first quarter record.
If not it will be bloody close.

Imagine if we actually had a war happen on our soil... these same idiots would be first to die.

Reply #808 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 12:41pm

Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 7:59am:

It's all crap.

were still empty.

Yes .... it's no use opening early for pensioners to be able to shop without hassle when there's still no stock ......

what sort of arseholes are Coles & Woolies?

The supermarkets need extra staff to do restocking.
Has it happened yet?

There are no potatoes left in woolies either but.... heaps of sweet potato and pumpkin galore!!

What’s wrong with people?

I love pumpkin and sweet potato.
That’s a good find for fresh food for moiye!
Peel, cut it up in bags and freeze.

The frozen vege freezer section totally empty.

I have 2 fridge freezer full and I’m quite happy to chill out at home.
Got lots to do.
Finish reading a book or two.
Sew/mend clothes in the waiting-to-be-fixed pile.
Watch heaps of dvds and Netflix.
Cook as usual but try out new recipes I have been meaning to do.

Tidy up clutter. Sort stuff to give to op shop.
Finish painting walls around new kitchen.

All that stuff delayed  Grin

Reply #809 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 3:27pm

Found out how people from as far as Melton coming over to our local supermarkets here, IGA etc.
It’s about an hour and half trip through Melbourne city to get here!

Am I going over to their area??
No not at all!!
How desperate are they!

Pages: 1 ... 52 53 54 55 56 ... 92