Pages: 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 ... 92
Hows the panic buying going? (Read 82579 times)

Re: Hows the panic buying going?
Reply #810 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 3:38pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 12:41pm:
Gnads wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 7:59am:
Bobby. wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 7:14am:
Grappler Deep State Feller wrote on Mar 16th, 2020 at 10:33pm:
Coles onboard as well:-

https://au.news.yahoo.com/coles-dramatic-online-shopping-move-amid-buying-frenzy...

Online orders to be restricted to the 'vulnerable'.

Sad, innit?  So many selfish people with no idea, and dumb as dog schitt following a rumour and beat-up.

It's all crap.
A seniors card is not enough to get into Coles at 7am.
It needs to be a blue card which is for pensioners.
I know someone who got there at 7am
and by the time they got to the dunny paper
area the few rolls were all gone.

Coles didn't have 1 potato left and shelves
were still empty.

Yes .... it's no use opening early for pensioners to be able to shop without hassle when there's still no stock ......

what sort of arseholes are Coles & Woolies?

The supermarkets need extra staff to do restocking.
Has it happened yet?

There are no potatoes left in woolies either but.... heaps of sweet potato and pumpkin galore!!

What’s wrong with people?

I love pumpkin and sweet potato.
That’s a good find for fresh food for moiye!
Peel, cut it up in bags and freeze.

The frozen vege freezer section totally empty.

I have 2 fridge freezer full and I’m quite happy to chill out at home.
Got lots to do.
Finish reading a book or two.
Sew/mend clothes in the waiting-to-be-fixed pile.
Watch heaps of dvds and Netflix.
Cook as usual but try out new recipes I have been meaning to do.

Tidy up clutter. Sort stuff to give to op shop.
Finish painting walls around new kitchen.

All that stuff delayed  Grin

Still no potatoes from Coles this arvo.
I bought 6 of the nice washed creme potatoes
from the fruit shop next door.  Smiley

Reply #811 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 3:39pm

flip page

Reply #812 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 5:20pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 17th, 2020 at 12:41pm:
The supermarkets need extra staff to do restocking.
Has it happened yet?

Coles is advertising for an additional 5000 casual to help with stocking and deliveries

https://au.finance.yahoo.com/news/coles-announced-measures-keep-stores-060502348...

Reply #813 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 6:21pm

Reply #814 - Mar 17th, 2020 at 9:58pm

Australians slam 'scumbag' hoarder who stripped shelves clean of toilet paper, nappies and hand sanitiser before offering single loo rolls for $5 and a 24-pack for $100

Social media user slammed for selling his massive stash of toilet paper
    He is offering one roll for $5 or a 24-pack for $100 on Facebook marketplace
    His post was inundated with angry comments from other users
    Shelves have been stripped bare of toilet paper amid coronavirus pandemic
    Coronavirus cases in Australia surged to 452 on Tuesday with five deaths
    Experts fear Australia could face a worse situation than Italy in just three weeks

Furious Australians have slammed a hoarder for stripping shelves clean of toilet paper, nappies and hand sanitiser to sell for inflated prices online. 

The man took to Facebook on Tuesday afternoon to offer single rolls for $5 and 24-packs for $100 but was met with a furious response.

'Inbox me for toilet paper, Hand sanitiser, nappies, baby formula and antiseptic wipes. Lots of stock. Happy to express post, no pickups,' the man wrote.

Dozens of people hit back at the man - whose post came as COVID-19 cases surged and doctors warned Australia faced a worse coronavirus crisis than Italy.

At least 3,500 medical professionals and experts signed an open letter pleading with the Australian government to take a tougher stance against COVID-19.

Among them was intensive care specialist Greg Kelly, who made the terrifying prediction that at least 12,000 people could catch the deadly virus by April.

As public anger at hoarders, panic-buyers and toilet paper profiteers boiled over, the Facebook seller was inundated with angry comments over the post.

'You're a piece of garbage,' one Facebook user wrote.

'No wonder the rest of us can't buy any. You're a selfish a******,' another added.

'Should be ashamed of yourself. Clearly you're not. Hopefully you'll realise that what you're doing is a disgrace knowing the elderly, the disabled and mums and children,' a third wrote.

Some claimed the man was simply trolling while others believed his post to be genuine but he was hiding his identity behind a fake profile.

'There are many names for people like you,' another angry social media user wrote.

Coronavirus cases in Australia surged to 452 on Tuesday, almost doubling in just two days, and sparking fears tens of thousands could be infected within weeks.

Dr Kelly predicted the number would rise to 750 by Friday, and 12,000 by April 4, meaning hundreds could die.

'With access to intensive care the death rate from COVID-19 is likely less than 1 per cent, but in an overwhelmed system without access to intensive care the death rate approaches 4 per cent,' Mr Kelly explained.

As shelves continue to be stripped bare in the midst of the COVID-19 crisis fights and unruly behaviour in supermarkets have become commonplace across the country.

On Monday Woolworths announced it will close supermarkets early this Wednesday so it can restock.

'We want to slow the panic down,' Woolworths managing director Claire Peters said.

'We understand that our customers' priority is to be prepared, but the vast majority of our food is grown or manufactured in Australia so there is not a concern with supply. What we have is a spike in demand.' 

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-8120217/Australians-slam-scumbag-offeri...

Reply #815 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 5:23am

The hoarding of food and toilet paper has lead me to believe that all the average HUMAN does is eat and schitt. Am I wrong?

Reply #816 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:20pm

You’ve got it all wrong aia...

Toilet paper is how we protect ourselves from Coronavirus..

Reply #817 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:25pm

What we have now is arseholes from the city driving out to country towns and stripping the shelves bare...

Meanwhile others have taken advantage and are running “Coles” Bus tours...

Aresholes charge people to take them on a bus to the country to raid Coles Supermarkets and return home again..

chimera

Armidale
Reply #818 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:26pm

The second on the left is the only person who does it correctly.

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #819 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:29pm

AiA wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 5:23am:
The hoarding of food and toilet paper has lead me to believe that all the average HUMAN does is eat and schitt. Am I wrong?

Pretty much right....

Grappler Deep State Feller

Reply #820 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:31pm

chimera wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:26pm:
The second on the left is the only person who does it correctly.

The CoronaBurqa Mk II ...

This is the Mk I...

Reply #821 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:33pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:25pm:
What we have now is arseholes from the city driving out to country towns and stripping the shelves bare...

Aresholes charge people to take them on a bus to the country to raid Coles Supermarkets and return home again..

I was stunned when I was told people came from Melton to Mount Evelyn to raid our IGA store!
That’s like an hour and half drive from other side of city!

And this is going to be life as we know it in Oz.

Reply #822 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:58pm

Sophia wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:33pm:
President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 18th, 2020 at 12:25pm:

I was stunned when I was told people came from Melton to Mount Evelyn to raid our IGA store!
That’s like an hour and half drive from other side of city!

And this is going to be life as we know it in Oz.

They have now forced the NON panickers to start panicking...

When you walk into a store and see all the shelves empty, of everything, then you need to start hoarding yourself...

Our daughter recommissioned her Freezer so we could put in extra food which we did yesterday...

Our only fridge at the moment is the one in our caravan as we are building our new house out in the country and are living in the shed that we built... living off grid..

To ad insult to injury (literally) the Mrs has a broken arm (fell through the ceiling 😂) and was yesterday our trying to do a bit of shopping with one arm..

As i was saying on here around 2 years back... it was time to get a gun 🔫...

In the US there are lines outside of some Gun shops a mile long..

Reply #823 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 1:04pm

apparently

bakers must all have a virus that prevents them from baking bread

abbatoirs must all have a virus that prevents them from putting meat in the cold shelves

growers must all have a virus that prevents them from picking already grown fruit and veggies

paper mills must all have a virus that prevents them from producing toilet rolls

Coles warehouses must all have a virus that prevents them from stocking shelves

so from now on, people must find a way of making meals from icing sugar and imported hot sauces which are the only things remaining on the shelves

chimera

Armidale
Reply #824 - Mar 18th, 2020 at 1:07pm

1. Put water in mop bucket with rollers.
2. Wire a sponge onto a stick.
3. Use sponge.
4. Clean sponge through rollers.

Pages: 1 ... 53 54 55 56 57 ... 92