Pages: 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 ... 92
Hows the panic buying going? (Read 82549 times)

Re: Hows the panic buying going?
Reply #900 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 6:01pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 1:58pm:
Hay mcwoman.. If you ask nicely I’ll send you one of these that I just got delivered so that you can wipe the dribble off your chin  Grin

i hope you've ordered more moronic. You're so full of poo that one box won't see out the day

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #901 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:54pm

John Smith wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 12:30pm:
KangAnon wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 12:09pm:
I had to do a run today for some friends who are on a flight home now.

you're a good mate to have. Keep it up! Wink

It's going to be a long 6-8 months.

We need to come together like we did for the bushfires.

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #902 - Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:59pm

President Elect, The Mechanic wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:34am:
Imagine if our forum Dole Bludgers rushed out to get a job like they did Toilet Paper 🧻

They'd probably encounter the same thing as with the Toilet Paper, not enough jobs to go around, a big part in why they're unemployed in the first place, and it's only going to get worse sadly Sad

I have a stake in a cafe, looks very much like all that money is about to go down the drain because there hasn't been enough takings to even cover the rent this week, let alone pay etc.

The business has a bit of capital behind it and I'm meeting with the other two owners to decide what to do, well "meeting", aka Zoom, tomorrow.

I have a feeling they're just going to close up and throw in the towel.  6+ months with a possible lockdown coming...

As much as I want to keep things going so the 9 staff will still have jobs, at least if we pull the pin now we can pay out all their entitlements because that's all been put aside, but we'd have to dip into that to keep trading if we can't even meet rent...

Just a total poo position to be in.

Marla

Weed is my Jesus

Colorado
Reply #903 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 5:55am

KangAnon wrote on Mar 19th, 2020 at 10:54pm:
It's going to be a long 6-8 months.

We need to come together like we did for the bushfires.

Some people do.

I know progress has no patience but something's got to give

Reply #904 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:02am

I had to do a run today for some friends who are on a flight home now.  They've been stuck overseas in locked down counties on their transit home.

They'll be going into 2 weeks quarantine and their houses are already empty of perishables.

The whole family were overseas for their eldest family members 80th birthday, now they're all coming back to quarantine.

It's been hard to get them supplies.  I'll have to keep going every day with the restrictions in place...

I can only buy for 6 of them, I don't know who else will help out the other 30 over 5 other households.

same here sad.. my daughter has a posting in of all place Laos..shes there with husband and 10 yr old son..govt has sent all bar essential staff back home.
son in law and grandson arrive back today and will go into a rental for 14 days...so we will do the Uber run...as you say  its bad enough shopping your yourself   now its others..if it keeps up we will surely have to bring in a form of rationing.. odds and evens was fine for equal sharing at the petrol pump...... but there is nothing equal about whats going on...went to woollies and not one POTATO in sight...I couldnt help but think it was the first time in my life where there were no potatoes for sale in a supermarket.......

what the hell is happening to us?

Reply #905 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:05am

thats lovely marla...but at times like this  the best and the worst seem to come to the surface...

lets hope this time round the BEST WIN OUT..

all the best marla...

chimera

Armidale
Reply #906 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:08am

The prime minister of the Netherlands told citizens on Thursday there is no shortage of toilet paper.
"But there's enough in the whole country for the coming 10 years," he said. "We can all poop for 10 years."

Reply #907 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:22am

chimera wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:08am:
The prime minister of the Netherlands told citizens on Thursday there is no shortage of toilet paper.
"But there's enough in the whole country for the coming 10 years," he said. "We can all poop for 10 years."

its comforting to know we are not the only MORONS fighting for toilet paper....

has anyone found out WHY the morons are hoarding t/p?.......

at least I havent seen any fights in the rice and pasta aisle......YET!

Reply #908 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:29am

George Orwells doublethink. There is a shortage obviously.

Reply #909 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:39am

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:29am:

THERE IS NO SHORTAGE OF FOOD OR TOILET PAPER IN THIS COUNTRY

the problem is

how do you get MORONS to believe that? Angry

macman

australia
Reply #910 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:40am

cods wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:02am:
I had to do a run today for some friends who are on a flight home now.  They've been stuck overseas in locked down counties on their transit home.

They'll be going into 2 weeks quarantine and their houses are already empty of perishables.

The whole family were overseas for their eldest family members 80th birthday, now they're all coming back to quarantine.

It's been hard to get them supplies.  I'll have to keep going every day with the restrictions in place...

I can only buy for 6 of them, I don't know who else will help out the other 30 over 5 other households.

same here sad.. my daughter has a posting in of all place Laos..shes there with husband and 10 yr old son..govt has sent all bar essential staff back home.
son in law and grandson arrive back today and will go into a rental for 14 days...so we will do the Uber run...as you say  its bad enough shopping your yourself   now its others..if it keeps up we will surely have to bring in a form of rationing.. odds and evens was fine for equal sharing at the petrol pump...... but there is nothing equal about whats going on...went to woollies and not one POTATO in sight...I couldnt help but think it was the first time in my life where there were no potatoes for sale in a supermarket.......

I don't know about you Codsy but I feel really different now about "being an aussie" and all the tradition that supposedly carried. What I  have witnessed in supermarkets in the last 2 months has left me totally disgusted. The worst part. the majority were aussies.  Sad Sad Sad

Reply #911 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:46am

cods wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:39am:

the problem is

There is a shortage. Ppl cant get it. You are confusing the cause with the fact. It is a shortage if ppl cant get it at all. the cause is greedy idiots.

Reply #912 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 7:08am

macman wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:40am:
cods wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:02am:

I don't know about you Codsy but I feel really different now about "being an aussie" and all the tradition that supposedly carried. What I  have witnessed in supermarkets in the last 2 months has left me totally disgusted. The worst part. the majority were aussies.  Sad Sad Sad

its bloody embarrassing.. now they talk about BUS LOADS of MORONS going grocery shopping....how true it is I dont know.... but if it is the case.. they need to be reported   filmed and shamed...

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:46am:
cods wrote on Mar 20th, 2020 at 6:39am:

the problem is

There is a shortage. Ppl cant get it. You are confusing the cause with the fact. It is a shortage if ppl cant get it at all. the cause is greedy idiots.

good grief.....THERE IS NO SHORTAGE....

the MORONS do not realise that....

they havent worked it out most is produced in this country ALWAYS HAS BEEN   we have so much livestock why would you hoard meat???????...

bread even! bakeries are going full bore...

cow produce MILK 24/7...and we have an abundance of cows....

yesterday I went to woollies Western Creek and it had not 1 potato in the store... Angry Angry Angry

no bread no meat no toilet paper  I expected....

but NO POTATOES   was a bit gobsmacking.

and I know it isnt because we have stopped growing them Angry Angry

Reply #913 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 7:12am

Stop calling me a moron you silly "women"

There is a shortage. If you cant get it - thats a shortage.

shortage
/ˈʃɔːtɪdʒ/
Learn to pronounce
noun
a state or situation in which something needed cannot be obtained in sufficient amounts.
"a shortage of hard cash"

KangAnon

The Sandstorm is coming
🎵Doo doo doo doo🎵

Mianjin (Brisbane)
Reply #914 - Mar 20th, 2020 at 7:17am

It's semantics...

There isn't food on the shelves because people are panic buying and hoarding creating a "shortage" at the retail level.

An artificial shortage.

There is plenty of food and future food, there is no wholesale shortage.

Many people don't know the difference, nor care if they can get their hand on 10 2kg bags of potato.

Some people like to push hysteria, the sort of thing that leads people to go do more panic buying.

I know this forum is full of dickheads and morons, I just didn't realise how many who would get kicks out of doing that.  Add another fu
ckw
it to the list.

I don't normally say something, but there was a line of 20 people at the Deli at Woolies.  The guy in the front of the line was taken everything.  And I mean everything.

He took all the Chicken breast, all the thigh, all the beef mince etc.  I told him that there are all these other people behind him, looked at the poor 16 year old behind the counter packing it all up for him and asked her to get her manager in a calm and friendly voice as I could.

The guy pushed me out the way, tells me to shut up, he has a family to feed and I thought I'd be on ACA or the video of what would happen next would go viral.

I don't want to throw down over bloody chicken but it almost came to that...

In the end, all his meat was taken off him, he was given enough for a family of 6 for a few nights and then there was some left for everyone else.

You could tell from the tear lines on her face, the 16-year-old behind the counter had been having a bad day and this guy had made it worse.  There are limits on what you can take, but before I got there he must have said something.

It's tough on everyone, but the selfish people like him, arsehole.

I saw him furiously driving around the car park when I was leaving, I assume looking for someone to have a confrontation with.

Pages: 1 ... 59 60 61 62 63 ... 92