Pages: 1 ... 33 34 35 36 37 ... 123
Melbourne back in 6 week lockdown July 7 (Read 68100 times)

Re: Melbourne back in 6 week lockdown July 7
Reply #510 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:55pm

Dnarever wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:47pm:
Bobby. wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:34pm:
https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/victoria-hit-with-300-new-coronaviru...

Victoria has recorded its most deadly day in the COVID-19 pandemic after six people were killed by the virus.

Three were aged in their 90s and
three were aged in their 80s.

OH that's ok then ???

No - it's not alright.

Reply #511 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:56pm

24th July 2020.

Victoria records 300 new Covid-19 cases and six deaths

https://www.theguardian.com/australia-news/live/2020/jul/24/coronavirus-live-upd...

as PM provides update on national cabinet meeting

Fears grow over pressure on Victoria’s aged care sector, while NSW records seven new cases and Queensland records two. Follow the latest news and updates

Victoria records 300 new coronavirus cases

Victoria’s aged care system on verge of collapse amid Covid-19 surge, doctors warn

Reply #512 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:58pm

KangAnon wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 9:58am:
Bobby. wrote on Jul 23rd, 2020 at 3:41pm:
Masks:

Just got back from a large shopping center
in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne.
I only saw 3 people who weren't wearing a mask:

One was a Middle Eastern looking young bloke in a
fruit and vegetable shop - touching and squeezing fruit.

Another was a guy pushing a bicycle into the center.

Lastly there was a massively obese woman on a mobility scooter
stuffing her face with food in the food court.

It seems that the message hasn't reached all people.
There was a security guard there who walked right
past the woman on the mobility scooter and did nothing.

I must admit, when I'm at the Fruit and Veg shop/section, for any of the loose items, I've started using the bag that I intend to store them in around my hand to sample them, as if I was picking up dog poo.

Sometimes you gotta check the Avas to see how ripe they are before you decide to buy them, to be on the safe side, even if I've used hand sani, I will still bag my hand so I don't have to touch the produce.

I also try to browse with my eyes and only pick things up when I'm sure I want to buy them as much as possible.

It's an extra thing to worry about and it takes more time... but what can we do right?  Someone has to do the right thing and set an example.  I only started bagging my hand after seeing someone else do it to be honest...

It's difficult to know what to do.
Example - I like to smell apples to make sure they
have a nice strong apple smell -
otherwise it can mean they've been in cold storage for 6 months or more.

Reply #513 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:58pm

KangAnon wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 10:55am:
greggerypeccary wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 10:07am:
KangAnon wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 9:58am:
Bobby. wrote on Jul 23rd, 2020 at 3:41pm:
Masks:

Just got back from a large shopping center
in the eastern suburbs of Melbourne.
I only saw 3 people who weren't wearing a mask:

One was a Middle Eastern looking young bloke in a
fruit and vegetable shop - touching and squeezing fruit.

Another was a guy pushing a bicycle into the center.

Lastly there was a massively obese woman on a mobility scooter
stuffing her face with food in the food court.

It seems that the message hasn't reached all people.
There was a security guard there who walked right
past the woman on the mobility scooter and did nothing.

I must admit, when I'm at the Fruit and Veg shop/section, for any of the loose items, I've started using the bag that I intend to store them in around my hand to sample them, as if I was picking up dog poo.

Sometimes you gotta check the Avas to see how ripe they are before you decide to buy them, to be on the safe side, even if I've used hand sani, I will still bag my hand so I don't have to touch the produce.

I also try to browse with my eyes and only pick things up when I'm sure I want to buy them as much as possible.

It's an extra thing to worry about and it takes more time... but what can we do right?  Someone has to do the right thing and set an example.  I only started bagging my hand after seeing someone else do it to be honest...

I take similar precautions now, but I seem to be the only person doing it.

I work in the city and have a Woolworths right near my office, so I do a small shop every day (rather than a large weekly shop).

The store provides hand sanitiser, and sanitiser wipes to clean the baskets, but I hardly ever see anyone using them.

I use them both every time I enter the store, but the people in front of or behind me very rarely use them.

Frustrating.

I'm more annoyed by the people who are in a way trying to do the right thing but doing the wrong thing in practice.  Like, when you enter the story, there is one hand sanitiser bottle or auto dropper to the left or right and some wipes for the basket/trolley.

So naturally, if multiple people need to use it, you have to wait in line.  So I'm there waiting in line, get to the bottom, take the wipe and some hand sani and before I can even start working into the store, someone else who is entering just reached in from of me rubbing their arm against me to squeeze some out.

And I said to the old guy, "nice social distancing there mate" and his response made me smile, I'm not sure why, I think it's just one of those situations where all you can do is laugh, he said "piss off ya prick" haha...

He was trying to do the right thing but in the end, was still a piece of poo and he'd have been better off doing nothing.

Queensland is in for one hell of a second wave.

The number of asymptomatic cases that will have already come in from NSW already, it's just a matter of time with this non-existent social distancing.

The problem is even before COVID, we're (and I'm speaking for QLD) a largely lazy, uninformed, dirty. "she'll be right" sort of people who don't like being told what to do and don't have time for things like being polite.

When you add mask-wearing, social distancing, the requirement of good hygiene and self-isolation when sick to the list, it's all too much to ask of us.

We've been incredibly lucky, but it won't last forever.  That luck has made us complacent and just give up on social distancing.  Even with the stickers on the ground, people aren't staying the right distance apart waiting at the checkout or takeaway joints.

So my advice to QLDers on the forum and social media etc, don't get all cocky and rude to your souther state friends and family about how they're failing with COVID.  We're the Florida of Australia, our 2nd wave will be much worse.

I know you're probably tired of hearing this, but we really are all in this together.

Why would you be cocky when you have hundreds of Vics & NSWmen falsifying declarations & not isolating & disappearing all over the state?

As for being in it together it seems that's right .....

only it's southerners obviously not caring if they are spreading the virus .... because of an attitude that if we've got it ... you're gonna get it too.  Roll Eyes
« Last Edit: Jul 24th, 2020 at 2:11pm by Gnads »  

Reply #514 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 2:13pm

Bobby. wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:55pm:
https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/victoria-hit-with-300-new-coronaviru...

Victoria has recorded its most deadly day in the COVID-19 pandemic after six people were killed by the virus.

OH that's ok then ???

No - it's not alright.

So there was no point ?

Reply #515 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 2:30pm

Dnarever wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 2:13pm:
Bobby. wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 1:55pm:

OH that's ok then ???

No - it's not alright.

So there was no point ?

Are you looking for someone to beat up?

You're the sort of drongo who
starts fights in public bars.

Reply #516 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 4:14pm

I got back a short while ago from a large supermarket
and shopping area and I'm pleased to report that
absolutely everyone was wearing a mask.

Reply #517 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 4:48pm

What I have noticed is that Melbourne news reporters are breaking the law -
they are at work and are therefore required to wear a face mask
but they are not following the law.

When will the police raid them and fine them $200 each?

Reply #518 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 5:24pm

People like this are the reason why we're never going to rid ourselves of this virus.

Woman 'incredibly selfish' for refusing to answer questions at Melbourne police checkpoint

https://www.9news.com.au/national/coronavirus-conspiracy-theorist-criticised-by-...

Victorian authorities have labelled a woman "incredibly selfish" after she appeared to refuse to tell police where she was going at a Melbourne vehicle checkpoint.
The woman, known as Eve Black, appeared to boast about dodging one of the police roadblocks in a video she uploaded on Facebook - but it has since been taken down - where she refused to provide the officer with details of where she was travelling.
"I don't need to answer your questions," Ms Black said to police.

"No license, no questions of theirs were answered. They work for us, not the other way around.
"You're being taken advantage of by a system designed to fail you. And they've done such a good job, that you don't even see it.
"I don't believe there's a pandemic. It's a SCAMdemic. Know your rights."

Police Minister Lisa Neville told reporters today police knew the woman and they would "go and seek her out".
"She may not have realised the police officer was wearing a body worn camera," she said.
"I'm sure she'll be looking forward to a knock on the door from Victoria Police members."

Let's hope so - and, I hope she gets a hefty fine as well.

Reply #519 - Jul 24th, 2020 at 7:17pm

Carl D wrote on Jul 24th, 2020 at 5:24pm:
People like this are the reason why we're never going to rid ourselves of this virus.

Woman 'incredibly selfish' for refusing to answer questions at Melbourne police checkpoint

I hope she gets a fine.

Reply #520 - Jul 25th, 2020 at 2:20pm

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-07-25/coronavirus-australia-live-news-covid-19-...

Summary of today's Victorian press conference

The daily Victorian press conference has finished.

Here is the summary of today's press conference:

Victoria has recorded
357 new infections

Five more people have lost their lives

20,313 tests were conducted yesterday

There are 3,995 active cases

313 of these are health care workers

536 of these are in aged care facilities

There are 229 Victorians in hospital
    42 of those in hospital are receiving intensive care.

Reply #521 - Jul 26th, 2020 at 7:10am

OH that's ok then ???

are you saying that the same level of tragic loss surrounds the death of a 90 yo as the death of a 20 yo ?

Reply #522 - Jul 26th, 2020 at 7:26am

aquascoot wrote on Jul 26th, 2020 at 7:10am:
are you saying that the same level of tragic loss surrounds the death of a 90 yo as the death of a 20 yo ?

Yes.

And, even more so since most 90 year olds would have more family (related family, and especially children, grandchildren, etc.) than a 20 year old.

(I see you're gradually slipping back into your usual 'routine' of saying you wouldn't mind seeing the elderly 'sacrificed' to COVID-19 for the sake of the economy).

Reply #523 - Jul 26th, 2020 at 7:41am

OH that's ok then ???

Covid kills 20 yer olds.

More importantly, the untimely and voidable death of anyone, anywhere along their life's journey is tragic.

Reply #524 - Jul 26th, 2020 at 8:32am

Carl D wrote on Jul 26th, 2020 at 7:26am:

Yes.

And, even more so since most 90 year olds would have more family (related family, and especially children, grandchildren, etc.) than a 20 year old.

(I see you're gradually slipping back into your usual 'routine' of saying you wouldn't mind seeing the elderly 'sacrificed' to COVID-19 for the sake of the economy).

no i'm not saying that but lets get real.

i ahve been to plenty of funerals for the very elderly.
usually people reminisce, the mood is a bit sad but also people remember the good times, the good innings that people have, people are brought together. its moving but not catastrophic.

i have been to 2 funerals of people in their 20's , one a motorcyle death, one a suicide.

they were traumatic events
i dont most people slept that night
there was no joy
people were specchless.
these were both about 15 years ago and those mothers and fathers are still somewhat demolished. the borthers and sisters and friends opf those young people never got over it.

the level of human suffering with the death of a 20 yo is way more then with the death of a 90 yo.

you can siganl your virtue and so can the politicians but i stand by my assertion.

Pages: 1 ... 33 34 35 36 37 ... 123